Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ski at Timberline! Walk to the Slopes from This Spacious Home!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

Our home here in Timberline WV, might not look like much from the picture, but inside you will find it is very family friendly. Our home lives and flows perfectly for big families, or several couples to share. The large stone wood burning fireplace dominates the upstairs family room, features vaulted open ceilings, and flows into a large dining area and fully stocked kitchen.

Our home sleeps up to 14 persons with 2 large bedrooms and a full bath upstairs; one bedroom with a queen bed, the other with 2 singles. On the main level you will find a bedroom with a king sized bed and another full bath. Downstairs in the basement you will find a room with a double bed and a half bath, and a separate room with 2 sets of bunk beds (4 twins). The huge family room also has a futon and pull out queen sofa bed, as well as a large tv, a variety of VHS movies, and games to play. If you are skiers, you will find it's quite convenient to come in from the slopes, and sit to take off your gear right in the locker room. Rubber mats keep the floor safe and there's plenty of storage for everyone's ski gear.

You will love this home!

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Kathy Colville
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 31, 2017

About Kathy Colville

Hi, I'm Kathy and I have 2 beautiful grown daughters, two adorable grandaughters, and two handsome grandsons as well. We live in Northern Virginia and love to ski. In 1999 we wanted to go skiing to welcome in the millennium, and we came across this charming home, right on the slopes in Canaan Valley at the Timberline resort. We fell in love. It was such a warm family home. Since that time, my family and friends have spent the beginning of every new year in this home. We have it set up to accommodate lots of family and friends. The downstairs is perfect for kids of all ages to hang out and watch tv or play games, while upstairs is the quiet area near the fireplace. We have it stocked with all cooking accessories you could need, and the hot tub outside is perfect for relaxing after a busy day of skiing. I think your family will love this home as much as we do!

Kathy Colville purchased this house in 1999

Why Kathy Colville chose Davis

We bought the ski home in this area because it was just a short & scenic 2.5 hour drive from our home in Northern Virginia. The slopes offer many gentle runs, as well as more challenging ones. Canaan Valley is one of the first areas to get snow and it is usually plentiful, at least for the east coast.

What makes this house unique

We love to cook, bake and eat. We play family games at the dining table enjoying the cozy fire in the stone fireplace in the living room, or we are relaxing with a glass of wine in the hot tub on the covered deck. Skiing is right outside our door, but after the ski season is over, white water rafting, hiking, mountain biking and ATV's trails are also fun family spring and summer activities located just minutes from our home.

Guestbook comments from the manager

I just wanted to let you know what an awesome time my group and I had at the place this weekend. The house is even nicer than the pictures suggest; everyone was very impressed. We'll certainly be in touch to book for next year!



Thanks again,



Kevin
Feb 2011
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Northface House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 4 bunk bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 queen
  • King size beds (1) On main level, Queen size Beds (1) Upper level, Double Beds (1) lower level, Twin or Single Beds (1) Upper level, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon & pull out couch in lower level family room, Bunk Beds (2) lower level
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Ski at Timberline! Walk to the Slopes from This Spacious Home!
average rating of 4.45 based on 43 reviews
5

Great location, very clean and spacious

  • 5 of 5

Convenient location and floor plan is perfectly suited for a large group. House was very clean and kitchen was equipped with all the basic equipment. Owner was responsive, friendly and great to work with to organize a family ski trip. We plan to reserve again next ski season.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad our home worked so well for your group! We look forward to having you back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property was as described and well kept.

  • 4 of 5

We came for a ski vacation, but with 70 deg. temps we ended up biking and hiking at Blackwater Falls and Dolly Sods forest. Still had a great time. Saw a great band at the Purple Fiddle. That place was the highlight of the trip.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you made the most of your "ski trip", and hope you'll come back for a future visit!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We had a fabulous Super Bowl weekend!

  • 3 of 5

Our family weekend in Canaan at Kathy's house was perfect for our Super Bowl party. The access to the ski slopes was the biggest perk where the family could come and go without having to drive. The house had a great floor plan to accommodate our large group and the "boot" room was fantastic. I didn't want to give a review because I couldn't give a five star review for such a fun weekend! The negatives were a hot tub that didn't work, no firewood provided as specified in the review, the kitchen oven did not work adequately when cooking for a group of 12, and I have never had a rental where I had to wash things in the kitchen before using then. The house is very nice, it just needs a facelift. Kathy was very easy to work with and very prompt with all transactions. Sorry for the less than glowing review.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you couldn't give us 5 stars, and this is the first review I have had saying the kitchen was inadequate. We have owned the home for over 15 years, and have always used it for our big extended family, however, We continue to have trouble keeping big pots and pans from being taken, and try to continually restock. The firewood is a concern, as we always provide your first starter wood. We no longer provide full access to firewood, again, as tenants were allowing all the firewood to go to surrounding tenants. Please let me know if you did not get your starter firewood, as that was supposed to be provided. Also, I am so sorry you had to wash dishes before you used them. My housekeeper does not go back through all the cabinets, to wash all the utensils, pots, pans and dishes. Sometimes tenants put away dirty items. As far as the hot tub. I understand that it stopped working for you, but I only got a call that it was not working on your last day. Our hot tub is a convenience item and we try hard to keep it running smoothly. Thanks to your advice, we discovered it was the breaker, and had that replaced, so it is now in perfect working order. Thank you again, and I hope you will consider staying with us again. Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Time

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our family. Loved having the locker room to store all of our snowboarding gear. The fireplace was nice to have going all weekend. Wish there was more snow for us, but relaxing in the hot tub was OK. We had a great weekend! We will definitely schedule another trip.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you all had a great time despite the lack of snow, and hope you will consider our home the next time you visit the Timberline area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and great place for a family get together

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful, warm home to have a family gathering. Plenty of bedrooms and large common area so weren't crowded at all(there were 8 of us).

Mud room was ideal for shedding the ski gear without bringing it into the living area. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice fall stay at Hogwarts.

  • 5 of 5

The. House was great. Everything was clean and well kept. Beds were comfortable and. The hot tube was a real plus for the kids.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice comments! So glad you had a great time, and hope you will consider our home for your next stay in the Timberline area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
Timberline Lodge
Nearest Restaurant
Timberline Lodge/Fireside Grill

Fantastic sledding at Blackwater State Park. Zip Lining, Horseback riding and Mountain Biking right at Timberline Four Seasons Resort during the warmer months.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Northface House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer/Fall
Apr 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$840
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July weekend
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$620
Flat fee
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$620
Flat fee
 
 
Columbus Day Weekend
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$620
Flat fee
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
Winter
Dec 1 2017 - Mar 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$266
From
$333
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,495
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas holiday
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
New Years
Dec 30 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
Martin Luther King
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
Presidents Day
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$333
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $500
Housecleaning & hot tub $150

Refundable reservation/security deposit due at time reservation is confirmed.
If scheduled stay is reserved less than 30 days in advance, the full rental amt is due at the time reservation is confirmed, otherwise 1st half is due 60 days in advance, & 2nd half is due 30 days in advance.
Rental fee is all inclusive; there are no add'l charges for tax,cleaning, or linen rental (all linens included).

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties