check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Beautiful Large Mid-Century Flat with Views

32 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Berkeley Hills Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Take this opportunity to spend a week to several months in a beautiful one bedroom flat in our comfortable mid-century home in the Berkeley Hills. With 1400 sq ft and an open plan of living, dining and kitchen, all looks out to a view of the bay, the hills, San Francisco and Oakland. The bedroom suite is tucked behind with a hot tub deck. All is on one level, several steps off the street.

We are conveniently located half-way between Tilden Park, the Gourmet Ghetto and UC Berkeley/downtown. There is easy access by foot or bus and BART. Several walkways between streets will help you get down quickly to the bus on Euclid and the Vine-Shattuck gourmet shopping and eating.

This flat would be ideal for a couple who would enjoy the quiet, verdant setting with the opportunity for indoor-outdoor living . There is a large deck off the living space which gets morning and afternoon light and another more private deck with a hot tub off the bedroom. You will find quality appliances and furnishings to make your stay as pleasant and convenient as possible.

Book a long or short term rental now to enjoy the mild temperatures and gorgeous Bay Area setting with many potential excursions to natural wonders such as Lake Tahoe, Yosemite National Park, Mt Lassen or Shasta, as well as closer attractions such as Napa Valley, Monterey Bay, Mendocino or Pebble Beach.

Keywords: Flat

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

About The Owner

My husband and I are retired and interested in traveling and volunteering in other countries. We have raised our family here but now find that we have the ability to wander farther afield. Our son,who is a graduate student at CAL, lives on the property and is your host, on our behalf.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1999

Why The Owner chose Berkeley

We chose to buy and live in the San Francisco Bay Area for its diversity of geography, people, theater, art and music. We have loved living in Berkeley for the past 30 years. We offer part of our home so others may enjoy the temperate climate and wonderful opportunities to explore California from this unique location.

What makes this apartment unique

It is a quiet here, above the city, but within walking distance to many fine restaurants and shops as well as public transportation to San Francisco and beyond. We also love the southwest orientation of the house allowing us to enjoy the sun as it rises and sets with glorious views. Halfway up the hill between Tilden Park and the commercial area we enjoy great views, sunsets and walks.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have had a terrific stay at the flat. It is simply perfect, and we have absolutely no complaints. We are already talking about next year and considering a longer stay perhaps. Of course the fabulous weather we've had has made it even more appealing. Reading on the deck, looking at that spectacular bay view, breathing in the intoxicating scents of so many exotic plants, and walking the delightful neighborhoods have been wonderful, not to mention the proximity to Tilden, Redwood, and Pt. Pinole parks. Julian talked about Briones, which we're actually planning to hike in today. The kitchen is wonderfully supplied with plenty of utensils and dishes and even spices. You have a real gem here!
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

5
based on 32 traveler reviews

Beautiful Large Mid-Century Flat with Views
average rating of 4.96875 based on 34 reviews
4

Beautiful Berkeley Hills View

  • 4 of 5

Loved the spacious flat with beautiful views of Berkeley.The balcony area was really pretty. Appreciated having parking in the driveway. The flat is located up in the hills of Berkeley so driving around the narrow streets that are lined with parked cars can be tricky. But the spectacular views once you reach the flat and go inside make it worth the drive! Really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lafayette, Louisiana
5

Everything and More

  • 5 of 5

I can't say how much we enjoyed staying at this beautiful flat. We visit the East Bay regularly and this flat is by far the best place we have stayed. Spacious, beautifully furnished, fully stocked with everything we needed to feel comfortable and at home, and the Fabulous Views!! Liz and Julian were easy to work with in finalizing our arrangements. We hope to make this flat our preferred residence in future visits.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! You will be welcome anytime you would like to return..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic "Sky Pad" in the Berkeley Hills

  • 5 of 5

Amazing views night and day; Bay Bridge and The Golden Gate at the same time, yo!; indoor-outdoor living with privacy and greenery, including a magnificent giant sequoia perfectly framed in a yard below; close to everything-Berkeley; tastefully and practically appointed; off street parking (in a quiet area); good climate control; well-maintained and solid feeling. My wife manages the cleaning of vacation rentals as it turns out, so it's pretty challenging for any place to survive her white glove tests, and, yes, there were a couple nicks for this or that in this place too, but, really, this is a very fine accommodation – a slick little haven tucked into the Berkeley hills above the Rose Garden, in the midst of the famous Berkeley trails and near Tilden Park. The feeling is calm and "above the fray," but, with the city lights below, also urbane and enjoyably stimulating. The flat is cozy without losing its cosmopolitan flair. We nicknamed it "The Sky Pad" because that's what it felt like. For us, the other bonus with this place is that it's is very reasonably priced compared to the other places we like in town, like The Claremont, The Hotel Shattuck Plaza, Berkeley City Club, and Berkeley Faculty Club on campus. Owners are available, but not hovering. We didn't need their help beyond getting the lock code on the door, and they did not interrupt our reverie. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and, even though we like to "sleep around," it will be very hard not to be drawn right back to this place on future visits to Berkeley. This is a special place that hit all the right notes for us! It was so good, I almost want to keep it a secret.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

40th getaway-

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this place clearly not knowing exactly what we would find. Boy did we find a gem!

This place has everything you could possibly want or need. We had a number of meals and most breakfasts on the patio- it was such a neat place we wanted to be there rather than always being out!

We took hikes into town, and while they were steep, it made for a very enjoyable work out.

Great bed- great linens....they had a French Press which is one of our staples!

Bottom line- we hope to be able to retreat here again someday- it is a magical property.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington, Delaware
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

This was one of the nicest places i have ever stayed. The veiwes were amazing, the kitchen was perfect and the room was cozy. The hot tub and the deck was by far the best parts of the house. Cant wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington, Delaware
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

This was one of the nicest places i have ever stayed. The veiwes were amazing, the kitchen was perfect and the room was cozy. The hot tub and the deck was by far the best parts of the house. Cant wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

WE are halfway up the hill in the North Berkeley residential area, within walking distance of Tilden Park and a shopping area/restaurant area (the Gourmet Ghetto).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Berkeley Hills Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$150
$980
$3,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Berkeley Hills Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Solar electric

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties