Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Nantahala - Steps from Lake and an Awesome Theatre Room

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS THEATER ROOM! Newly built, beautiful cabin on Lake Nantahala. This magnificent lake front, custom home has a covered decks, three bedrooms, three bathrooms, a movie theater, a fireplace and a hot tub – all just steps from the lake. The natural beauty and peacefulness of the property are unsurpassed.

The home features extensive decking for you to enjoy beautiful scenery surrounding Lake Nantahala. In the evenings, enjoy the new furnishings by the stone fireplace, watch a movie in the theater room, play a game of pool or just enjoy the peacefulness of the night. Then, retire to one of the comfy accommodations available: choose from either the master bedroom with a King size bed and whirlpool tub, the second bedroom with a queen size bed, or the third bedroom with Queen size bed and bunk beds.

After a good night's rest, you’ll be ready for tomorrow's big adventure. This luxury rental has a private bath for each bedroom and lake and mountain view out of every room. Granite counters and tiled floors in showers and bathrooms, granite kitchen counters, and stainless appliances.

Our cabin is the perfect place to relax on the deck or in the hot tub overlooking the lake. Nantahala is an outdoorsman’s paradise with whitewater rafting, kayaking, canoeing, camping, mountain hiking, and biking. Boat rentals are available at a nearby marina, or you may wish to bring your own boat and tie it to your private dock! A short stairway leads to the beautiful clear waters of Lake Nantahala.

This is the perfect place to relax and unwind while you escape the fast-paced lifestyle and demands of the big city. Nantahala is within driving distance to most cities in the Southeast. Nantahala is just two and a half hours from downtown Atlanta; one hour from Highlands, North Carolina; and one and a half hours from Asheville, North Carolina.

Keywords: Cabin Lake Nantahala

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About The Owner

Robert Newton is one of the owners of Newton-Mingus Construction. Charles Mingus is his partner. Robert lives nearby in the Nantahala Community. He is a licensed contractor and a Teacher at Nantahala School. Robert and Charles own and built this newly completed cabin on Lake Nantahala. This cabin is just one of many beautiful cabins they have built from start to finish.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why The Owner chose Topton

We chose to build on Lake Nantahala because there is so much natural beauty surrounding it. Residing in Nantahala helped with the decision to build. This cabin is in the perfect spot to enjoy the lake. It is semi secluded in a cove. We knew we would enjoy this cabin and wanted to share it with others.

What makes this cabin unique

Our cabin sits just steps from the beautiful Lake Nantahala water. Nantahala Lake shoreline is 97% Forest Service, so it is not over-crowded with tourists.


Topton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub ...
  • cinemas
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing


3.7/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
7% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
23% Complete
Lake Nantahala - Steps from Lake and an Awesome Theatre Room
average rating of 3.6923077 based on 13 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay and we will be back. It was nice that the WiFi was sketchy because it kept our kids outside and active. The lake was amazing and wished the dock was better since bringing our boat was the biggest activity for us. Expect some critters and cobwebs but we loved the cabin.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beulaville, NC

Beautiful property on the lake. Needs a good thorough dusting!!!

  • 3 of 5

The property is gorgeous, but it lacks in housekeeping! When we went in our first impression was great, but after a walk through we noticed it was unusually dusty! Most of the outside windows on the main floor had cobbwebs on them! This shouldn’t be if it’s keep up constantly! Whomever is responsible for housekeeping should notice this! It seems to not be rented every week and if this is the case someone needs to make sure housekeeping is dusting at least prior to someone’s arrival! The stove top needs to be cleaned correctly, not just wiped! The ceiling fan blades in the loft seemed to have not been wiped down in forever! We swept and also vacuumed the rugs on the floors after we arrived, not contacting the owners because we wanted our space after a day’s drive! Everyone loved the theatre room and pool table! If these minor things are addressed then it would be a great place to vacation if you are just planning on not venturing out much and want to enjoy the scenary!

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Ft lauderdale FL

Loved it. It was everything that we could of hoped for.

  • 5 of 5

Extremely quit and very spacious. We stayed here for three days and let me tell you. This cabin has everything that you need. One of the days we spent here it rained all day. But that didn't stop us. We played pool watch football on the huge screen TV. There was so much to do inside that we didn't have to go out. And to end it all on our last day of our stay it snowed. It was the first snow of the year. We will differently be coming back.

P.S. if you guys every sell this home I want it lol.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Initial impression was not bad but we were very disappointed.

  • 1 of 5

The photos looked great and we called the owner to make sure that certain things were in place as we needed to make sure that there was a dock to keep our boat overnight. She confirmed that there was and only that there was quite a bit of stairs from the dock to the house. We did not mind that and proceed with our booking. Upon arrival we discovered that the dock was inaccessible and damaged and in very dangerous condition. By the time we wanted to start dinner, we discovered that the grill could not be used either. Apart from the bottom that was rusted through it was disgustingly dirty. Most of our meals were planned around using the grill, which caused a problem. There was so many other issues which left us in embarrassment in front of a family that we were hosting from South Africa. I'm not one to write bad reviews, and I was waiting for the owner to get back to me and give them a chance to explain. She has not responded to my emails and enquires during the weekend of our trip and sent her photos which I had no response to. We were there during weekend of 15 Sept. and I think we have given them ample time to respond.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. However, there are things you forgot to mention. We offered to bring you a new grill the afternoon you contacted us, You said the next day would be fine. We brought and set up a new grill for you the next day. The problem with the dock was that it had not been let down to the water level. It was a simple fix and I sincerely apologized about that and sent someone to fix it. I live away from the cabin, but will be making frequent trips from now on instead of relying on the housekeeping to inform me of things regarding the cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Pleasant View

Could use some minor improvements but overall stay was enjoyable

  • 3 of 5

If you've ever stayed in the Nantahala area, you know that cell service is scarce at best. We arrived at the cabin to realize there was no electricity. (probably due to storms the day before) Because there was only a cordless phone at the cabin, the only way to contact the owner/or power company was to drive back down the road until we saw someone who was home and ask to use their phone. Things worked out though and power was restored within 2 hours. Later in the stay we had a medical emergency and realized when we called the doctor, that we could not give a callback number because we didn't know it. An information book would have been super helpful with general information about the area and cabin. We ended up having to call an ambulance and first responders were actually incredibly fast which was surprising since it's such a remote area.

The pots/pans in the kitchen needed to be replaced and there was not Pyrex or casserole dishes but we made good use out of the crockpot bowl.

Most of the towels for the cabin were left wet in the dryer but I don't think they had been there too long so I just continued to dry them. The oven had a ton of greese in the bottom of it. I'm glad I checked before preheating or it could've been bad.

Something was wrong with the overhead lighting in the lower bedroom so all you could use was a floor lamp which wasn't great.

These were all minor things though. The cabin and setting are beautiful. The cove was nice and quiet. This area is absolutely breathtaking! We love Nantahala!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The property sat on the Beautiful Nantahala Lake

  • 5 of 5

The owners were extremely helpful with our last minute reservations due to Hurricane Irma. Thank you for your hospitality!! We cannot wait to return to spend some quality summer time in the Lake.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

Holidays are $350 a night. Please email or call for Holiday rates. Holidays include but are not limited to Christmas, Thanksgiving, week of July 4th, Labor Day.

Summer rates include all taxes and fees. Total charge for a week in summer is $2389 ($89 for damage protection).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties