check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Don Tracy

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Sandbridge Beach Retreat with Great Screened Porches

8 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sandbridge Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

The house is located on the 'Third Row' of Sandbridge. It is a short walk to the beach. Sandbridge has a white sandy beach and fun surf. It is not too rough, but has ample waves for boogie boarding and surfing fun. Pitch your umbrella and enjoy the day.

Cathedral ceilings and large windows provide an open, outdoorsy feel. Rough cut cedar walls and pine floors throughout. Living area opens up to a screened breezeway. The breezeway has wonderful sea breezes and shady areas throughout the day. Plenty of deck furniture makes it a wonderful place to gather. Master Bedroom/Bath (QB) is off the main living area. Bedroom 2 (QB) and Bedroom 3(2 sets of tw bunks) and 2nd bath are separated from the main part of the house by the breezeway. There is also an ocean side sun deck with a table and chairs and umbrella. It is a great place to sunbathe, and is shady and cool in the evenings.

Situated on a large sandy lot surrounded by sea grasses, bayberry and wax myrtle, the property has a secluded, beachy atmosphere. Enjoy bird watching and gorgeous sunsets over Back Bay.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Don Tracy (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Don Tracy

We bought our house in Sandbridge from friends. We had visited many times and liked the open floor plan with the screened breezeway and high ceilings. We call it 'the house of porches' because it has so many places to enjoy sitting 'outside'. We like the fact that we can enjoy the ocean and bay without leaving the house. The short walk to the white sandy beach beach is another reason we chose the house. This photo was taken of us at the house in 1981, when we were newlyweds.

Don Tracy purchased this house in 1994

What makes this house unique

The house is just a short walk to the wide sandy beach. A beautiful white sand beach, surf, and summer water temperatures in the mid to high 70's give Sandbridge every amenity that makes US mid-Atlantic beaches so enjoyable. It has nice surf without being too rough. The waves are big enough for a fun day of boogie boarding and surfing. If a playground for smaller children is desired, Little Island Park is a mile or so down the road. It has a public guarded beach, picnic areas, a bath house, and playground equipment. If a nature walk is your preference, Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge is just a little further down the road from Little Island.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello! Don & Loraine,

We've returned home after a very enjoyable week! The house met our needs and provided a comfortable environment for family togetherness. The proximity to the beach was great!! Thank you for the hoagie/sub and beer! The beverage refrigerator is very helpful.

I'm sorry I did not get to meet you this year. Maybe next year I will!!



Thank you so much,
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

Sandbridge Beach Retreat with Great Screened Porches
average rating of 4.875 based on 12 reviews
4

Comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in Virginia Beach very much and we would stay at this property again as it offered reasonable value for the area. The owners are helpful and friendly. The location is perfect - the beach is just steps away and is not very crowded at all, even during high season. The layout is terrific as two of the bedrooms are separated by a breezeway and are not part of the main building which affords a larger family lots of space and privacy. The furnishings were comfy and well laid out for the space. The A/C units are efficient and noiseless which I was overjoyed about because we were staying during a heat wave. I had a couple of tense moments trying to haul loads of laundry down the stairs and along an uneven route to the laundry room, which was inconvenient and a bit dangerous - a laundry chute would be a welcomed addition if feasible/possible. The house itself is almost 50 years old and while charming, could really use some updates (kitchen and bathrooms). Minor repairs are needed to the sliding doors going out to the sun deck (we chose not to use the sun deck for fear of doing further damage to the door that didn't want to budge) as well as the French doors leading to the bunk beds (doors stick and are hard to close; locking mechanism seems to be broken and my daughter cut her hand on the sharp protrusion from the door knob). Finally, a propane BBQ would be much cleaner and more convenient. We ended up cooking everything on the stove because we didn't want to take the time to wait for charcoal or deal with having to clean it out and wipe it down afterwards. But truthfully, these complaints are minor and did not significantly detract from a terrific week in the sun.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Jessica

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation due in large part to this house... It was accommodating and unique. The beautiful screened porch and breezeway made the place a pleasure to stay in! Close to the beach (especially when cutting thru the backyard neighbors' yard).

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another great stay

  • 5 of 5

This is the third year our family has stayed at the house and every time has been wonderful. We love the location, close to the beach and biking distance to Back Bay and False Cape. The house is comfortable and has everything we need for our stay. It's nice to sit in the breezeway with a cool drink and a good book. The bedrooms each have their own air conditioning unit so everybody can adjust temperatures to their liking (and they are quiet). The kids love the bunk beds and having a bathroom right across the breezeway. The owners are easy to work with and accommodating of special circumstances. We asked to leave our trailer at the house after checkout time while we participated in a beach clean up and they were more than happy to let us do so. Love this place and plan to go back again next summer.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Chardon OH and Philly PA
5

Chardon/Philly Families

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation and really enjoyed the house. We liked that the house was split into two sections with the breezeway in between. Our three-year-old grandson was able to take his afternoon naps while we enjoyed normal conversations in the living room. The walk to the beach is only five minutes, a bit longer with a toddler, so that was wonderful. Considering we were there for the July 4th holiday, there were very few people on the beach. We never had to fight for beach space like in the Carolina's. Each day we saw ospreys and porpoises feeding on several schools of fish...totally cool! A caution to everyone: The sand is very HOT in the afternoon...need to wear shoes to the beach. Thank you, Don and Loraine, for a beautiful beach house to enjoy for a week!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation in Sandbridge!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in Sandbridge! Lovely beach. Warm water. Nice waves. Very family oriented. House was exactly as advertised. Very comfortable and nice easy to work with owner. Was a little surprised not to find any sponges, paper towels, dishwashing detergent when we arrived.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
5

Loved every day, long to return!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time with the family at this home and appreciated its history and the care the owners obviously have for this property. We were all very pleased with the short commute to the beach (about 5 minutes) and general calm of the entire town. We were blessed with great weather and a serene environment. Don was incredibly communicative and had no issue jumping on the phone when we experienced a minor issue that he helped resolve almost immediately. Look forward to returning as soon as we can!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sandbridge Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 15.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sandbridge Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , Two sets of Twin BunkBeds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Linen package available for $100 per week. Includes sheets and pillowcases for all beds plus bath towels, hand towels, and wash cloths for 8. Enclosed outside H&C Shower.

Partner Offers