check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Mike Ray

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Rays' Riverfront Retreat on the Upper Truckee R. Near Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra

34 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

South Lake Tahoe House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12) on 1 acre-Riverfront property

Life on the river is truly amazing! Rays Riverfront Retreat is a 2,700 sq ft newly updated home on a large acre lot backing up to the Upper Truckee River. Come enjoy the large private swimming hole directly behind the home. Sit on the deck looking out to the river and enjoy gorgeous mountain, river and meadow views. The home is centrally located between all three major south shore ski areas: Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra at Tahoe and three great golf courses. Just a short drive to the nightlife, gambling and world class entertainment provided at Stateline by Harvey's, MontBleu, Harrah's and the Horizon Casino.

The home features 5 spacious bedrooms; including two master bedrooms with king beds and private baths, two bedrooms with queen beds (one with an additional single bed), one room with single bunk beds and a large loft with a sofa/queen bed. The 3.5 newly remodeled baths include dual head showers, jetted tub and heated floor. The home uses a high efficiency tankless water heater. (Never run out of hot water!) There is a large garage and large driveway for four additional cars. A large deck overlooks the backyard lawn leading to the river.

Come home to a warm log fireplace after a great day of Lake Tahoe recreation. The large dining room table expands to seat 10 and the kitchen includes all the amenities of home. Ray's Riverfront Retreat is the true embodiment of the Lake Tahoe lifestyle.

***Please note:

- We do not allow any wedding related activities on our property.

- This is a smoke-free property. Absolutely no smoking inside or anywhere on the property.

- We do not allow any pets.

Keywords: House, Ski cabin, Summer cabin, Quiet getaway, Riverfront Property

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mike Ray (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

About Mike Ray

I have been skiing around Tahoe for over 40 years. A couple of years ago, my family and I realized a longtime dream of owning a vacation home in Lake Tahoe. When looking for this home, we wanted a place that felt like a peaceful mountain retreat. Our family loves the outdoors and all the fun recreation that goes with it; and this vacation home let's us enjoy all of it. We have put a lot of love and effort into upgrading the house into a comfortable and welcome place to enjoy. We hope you enjoy it too.

Mike Ray purchased this house in 2009

Why Mike Ray chose South Lake Tahoe

When we found this property on the Upper Truckee River, we knew we found the right place. It is a beautiful property with a historic ranch on the other side of the river and awesome mountain, river and meadow views. This house is not crammed onto a small lot like so many homes in Tahoe. This home is on an acre with a big deck that overlooks the large grassy area next to the river. We also chose this area because the property is close to Kirkwood, Heavenly and Sierra at Tahoe ski areas. All the amenities of South Lake Tahoe are also nearby.

What makes this house unique

This is one of only a few properties with a home directly on the Upper Truckee River. Swimming in the river and just hanging out and enjoying the beautiful scenery without having to drive anywhere make this property unique. The beautiful beaches of Lake Tahoe are a short drive. Skiing and snowboarding at Kirkwood, Heavenly, and Sierra at Tahoe ski resorts. Backcountry skiing, snowmobiling, hiking, biking (Mr. Toad's Wild Ride mountain bike trail is nearby), golfing, all the recreation a mountain enthusiast could want. Fall colors in Hope Valley are just 10 minutes away.

Reviews

4.8
based on 34 traveler reviews

Rays' Riverfront Retreat on the Upper Truckee R. Near Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 34 reviews
5

Great experience, great memories!

  • 5 of 5

Dear Claudia and Mike,

We had a wonderful time at your house. It is comfortable, well divided and perfectly organized. Spacious but cozy at the same time. All of us agreed that we had a positive experience being together for the long time for that reason. The beds were all comfortable and the bathroom beautifully remodeled. The jacuzzi: even for our muscles after a day of skiing!! The two boys had a great time playing in the game room. The garden is amazing and we hope there will be another time to come during the summer to appreciate it even more!

On behalf of all of us, thanks for the good memories!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great family getaway

  • 5 of 5

We booked this house for a family get away for my brothers, myself, and our families. The owner contacted us after we booked and touched base with me , which was very helpful. He was able to answer any questions and provide information about the area. The backyard and river access were spectacular! We spent every evening on the back patio while the kids played in the back yard. The house was comfortable and roomy. We loved the fact that the house was close to town but that after a day of fighting the crowds around the lake we were able to retreat to this more secluded, serene area. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place awesome views

  • 5 of 5

Loved the property. Rooms were clean and very roomy. Loved that you had a ps1 upstairs. Brought back old memories. Back yard was amazing with the river and mountains for a great view. Would recommend this property for friends and family and will probably be back also.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fun family weekend.

  • 4 of 5

We rented the house for the beauty of the property which was perfect. Met family there for a reunion and it was perfect. The property is amazing and locations was convenient.

The has is large and spacious meeting all our need for a big group of 8. My only disappointment was the shortage of towels and wash clothes for the bathrooms. The beds had limited pillow with no spare linens.

but, these small short coming couldn't dampen the experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the stay for your family reunion. For clarification, as is typical with a home rental, we supply one set of towels per guest for their stay and the beds are completely made up with one set of linens. The home has a washer and dryer for the guests if they need to clean any towels or linens. If by any mistake there is something not correct at the house or if our guests have any questions, we always encourage them to contact us immediately so we can make sure our guests have a great experience staying at our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beautiful House! Disrespected by Owner!

  • 1 of 5

I have been hesitant to write a review because I've only seen glowing reviews...which was not our experience, I don't want to scare anybody off on what has potential. I just want to share my experience. We arrived on June 3, 2016 we were excited since we have been to Lake Tahoe once before and our experience there was amazing. We specifically picked this property because it had a large acre in the back so i thought it was perfect for the kids to ride their quads. The home has poor phone reception so we were not able to make or receive any phone calls with our cell phones, the day of our arrival i received a voicemail and it was from the owner, he accidentally left a message on my phone that was intended to be for his neighbor who called him to let him know we were riding quads on his property. On the voice message he was telling her he was not OK with us having the quads and that he was going to come down and kick us out if any damage was done (which was NOT) ... I immediately called him back and apologized, I was given home rules and instructions and NO WHERE ON THERE DID IT SAY WE COULD NOT USE QUADS. I told him we would put them away and they will no longer be used. What i got back from him was pure screaming and disrespect. I understand he was upset because its his property and I would be too if someone was doing something in my home that I didn't agree with, but after apologizing all I got was more and more screaming threatening us telling us he was going to come down and throw us out. As a female I have never in my life felt so disrespected. The rest of our trip we felt uncomfortable, we felt like we were being watched by the neighbor at all times and we were just waiting for the owner to show up and kick us out. If anyone is looking into renting this property make sure you go over all rules and specifications of what is not acceptable with the owner.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please take this review for what it is, an attempt to damage our home’s nearly perfect reviews by guests that completely disregarded and disrespected not only our property, but also the peace and solitude of our neighbors. Please read the other reviews to get accurate and unbiased opinions. Shortly after these guests arrived at our property, I received a text from a neighbor that the guests were driving a large and noisy quad on the lawn in our backyard. I was completely flabbergasted that someone would have the audacity and total disrespect of our property to do such a thing. As the reviewer stated, they had that intent all along. At no time did they do what any reasonable and respectful renters would do; ask if it was okay to run a motor vehicle in my backyard (or for that matter, do any other activities that are potentially harmful and dangerous), of which the answer would have been an obvious, NO! They had plenty of opportunities to ask leading up to their rental period. (Three hours earlier, I had contacted them by phone to get them to respond to a required email that they had failed to do.) Once the guests were contacted, they were told to immediately stop and put away the quad. They were also told that if there was any damage to the property, they would be liable for the damage and evicted as is allowed by County code and stated in the contract. Their response was again flabbergasting; I was told repeatedly that because the house rules didn't specifically say they couldn't ride quads in our yard, that they they thought they could. After a stern warning and inspection of the property, they were allowed to complete their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

This house was in great condition and so close to restaurants and ski resorts!

  • 5 of 5

There are plenty of rooms and a huge dining table. We loved the backyard as well as the sledding gear available! Whenever I had a question, Mike was very prompt in his response! We are definitely going to book this house on our next Tahoe trip. The game room was a nice bonus as we had kids and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook! Thanks to the Ray family!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
South Lake Tahoe Airport or Reno/Tahoe Intl-66 mi
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Lake Tahoe Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1.1 Miles
Several nearby restaurants in Meyers or SLT
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Sierra at Tahoe
Nearest Beach
Our backyard or Lake Tahoe (9 miles).
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Tahoe
Nearest Point of Interest
Stateline
Nearest Point of Interest
Sierra at Tahoe Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Heavenly Valley Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Kirkwood Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Echo Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Mr. Toad's Wild Ride
Nearest Point of Interest
Fly fishing lakes and streams

Photos

Rates & Availability

Christmas Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
May 27 2016 - Sep 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$455
Fri,Sat
$2,450
 
 
Labor Day Weekend 2015
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,450
Flat fee
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 16 2016 - Nov 19 2016
2 night minimum stay
$290
From
$335
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 
 
Early Winter 2016
Nov 20 2016 - Dec 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
$310
From
$375
Fri,Sat
$1,850
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 25 2016
2 night minimum stay
$900
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas Week 2016
Dec 20 2016 - Dec 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
$460
$2,750
 
 
New Years 2017
Dec 27 2016 - Jan 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$515
$3,075
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 5 2017 - Apr 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$360
From
$440
Fri,Sat
$1,900
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 16 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$330
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Memorial Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$365
$1,800
 
 
Summer 2017
May 29 2017 - Sep 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 
 
4th of July Weekend 2017
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$2,450
Flat fee
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,475
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$375
Fri,Sat
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Fees: $160 Cleaning Fee, $59 Property Protection Fee, 10% Lodging Tax

Holiday rates slightly higher.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Lake Tahoe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , Master Bath with dual-head glass shower
    2nd Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , 2nd Master bath with whirlpool tub
    Upstairs Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Downstairs Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • All bathrooms are newly remodeled and beautiful.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master with bathroom/dual head shower.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2nd Master w/bath-whirlpool tub-can be locked off or shared.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen bedroom overlooking river and mountains.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Large Queen bedroom with extra single bed.
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Loft with queen sofa-bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 bunk bed
  • All bedrooms are large, spacious and with large windows with great views. Nicely appointed furniture and bedding with plenty of closet space.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Large 1 acre property across the river from the historic Celio Ranch. River has swimming hole and beach. Ski Resorts nearby (Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra) or stay and enjoy the beautiful scenery in the backyard. The house has two master bedrooms with king beds. The second master bath can be locked off or shared with others.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties