check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sebastiano Zafalon

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, italian

Beautiful Gaffaro Apartment in Dorsoduro with Canal View

64 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Santa Croce Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 4

This charming second-floor apartment was completely restored and refurbished in 2004. Features Italian marble floors, hand-cut mosaic detail in the bathroom, Venetian chandeliers.

Master bedroom with full-size double bed, parquet flooring, fitted wardrobe, Venetian chandelier. Sofa bed in living room pulls out to double bed.

The kitchen is fully fitted and is divided from the living room by a worktop and breakfast bar. Living room has sofa and dining table for 6.

It has air conditioning, floor heating and internet wi-fi.

Our apartment is located in the university district and just two bridges from Campo Santa Margherita which is noted on Public Places ''60 of the Worlds Greatest Places'' list and it is the largest square in Venice and a popular hangout for Venetians young and not so young. It has a great choice of restaurants and cafes and a vegetable and fish market. You can sit in the sun and enjoy a coffee or a cocktail and watch the world go by.

The Gaffaro apartment (named after the bridge it overlooks) is conveniently located for your arrival and departure as it is a short walk from the train station and the bus station at Piazzale Roma. You can walk to Rialto in 15 minutes and get to St. Mark's square in 20 minutes by taking the vaporetto at San Toma'.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sebastiano Zafalon (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, italian

About Sebastiano Zafalon

I'm a venetian that still leaves and works in Venice, with a wife and three kids.

Sebastiano Zafalon purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Sebastiano Zafalon chose Venice city center

Me and my wife lived in this apartment untill 2008, so we made it as we liked and everything has been recently renovated. It is in a central and residential area of Venice, Dorsoduro, where you can find all the shops for your needs, from the organic products to the baker, butcher, pharmacy, etc...

What makes this apartment unique

The view! from the three windows in the living room/kitchen you can enjoy the view of three canals passing by the apartment with all sorts of boats, private/gondolas with singer/working boats. You don't even need to go out, just by a bottle of cool Prosecco and enjoy Venice from you holiday home!

Reviews

5
based on 64 traveler reviews

Beautiful Gaffaro Apartment in Dorsoduro with Canal View
average rating of 5.0 based on 64 reviews
5

Second visit

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time staying at this apartment, that's how much we love it. The location and views are fantastic and Sebastiano is a superhost who is very helpful and accommodating. Don't look any further and book this fabulous apartment, everything about it is perfect. Thank you Sebastiano and if we ever go back to Venice we will definitely book your apartment again.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much! I hope to see you again and maybe in the meantime come and visit your beautiful country. Ciao and take care, Sebastiano
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best apartment in which we have stayed in Italy!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful apartment with a fantastic view over two canals that are quiet. The neighbourhood is peaceful yet 5 minutes walk to a big piazza with cafes and 15-20 min walk to the Academia. The apartment is clean and beautifully renovated and the kitchen is well-equipped and easy to cook in.

Sebastiano met us and explained how everything worked and oriented us to Venice on a map. My wife and I were very happy here away from the crowds of Venice but close enough to walk to many sights. The boat along the Grand Canal leaves from the train station or Piazza Roma which is a lovely 10 minute walk. We would love to return to this place and spend more time in Venice,

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much. Ciao , Sebastiano
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our best apartment experience in Italy!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for one week. Sebastian greeted us and took the time to explain everything in the apartment and to orient us to the area.

This is a dream apartment. The view on the two canals is wonderful.

The apartment is newly renovated and is well furnished and very clean. There is plenty of storage and the kitchen is excellent and well equipped. The location is great-in a quiet neighbourhood but 5 minutes walk to a big piazza with cafes and 15 minutes walk to the Academia. The train station is a 5-10 minute walk and so it is easy to get home or to go anywhere from there by boat on the Grand Canal. We would love to return to this place for a longer stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David and Alice, thank you very much for your nice review. I hope to see you again in Venice. Ciao, Sebastiano
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hobart, Tasmania
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

First, our apologies Sebastiano for the delay in adding our review -- I kept waiting for HomeAway to prompt me and it never happened. Still, it has given us a few extra months to think about our stay. Our view, however, has not changed: it is the perfect place to stay in Venice, especially for the novice finding their way in this most beautiful of cities in this most beautiful of countries. We (couple celebrating our 30th anniversary) were lucky to be able to stay for a full four weeks, which gave us the opportunity to settle a little, to learn the surrounding neighbourhoods, and to relax a bit in Sebastiano's wonderful apartment. We shopped, we cooked, and we sat and stared from the dinner table at the always-changing, always fascinating view of the canals below. It allowed us to watch the daily routines (littlies on their three-wheel scooters, always with a parent or a grandparent, students on the way to uni, the delivery barges offloading food and lots and lots of wine) and the tourists with their maps and their bewilderment and their smiles.

The apartment is exactly as described. Exactly. The location is perfect, even though some may feel it is too close to Piazzale Roma. Believe me, it is quiet and safe and picturesque, and you will come to value the short walk to P. Roma and the array of vaporettos (vaporetti?) you can catch there. You will also value the large and very good Co-op supermarket there, especially if you are able to stay long enough to do some shopping and cooking. It is an easy walk to Rialto, to the bustling Campo S. Margharita, and to the truly wonderful Frari basilica, our favourite building among so many other amazing buildings.

Sebastiano is the perfect host, who met us and helped us lug our (way overpacked) luggage up the 34 steps to the apartment. His advice was reliable and his English is very, very good. Our fond hope is that Sebastiano continues to make the apartment available for a couple more years at least, as we will be back for more, and the thought that we could settle back into this jewel of an apartment is both exciting and comforting.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David and Christine, thank you very much for you review. I really hope to see you again in Venice, expecailly becouse I need more of you delicious honey!!!!! Ciao and take care, Sebastiano
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Brisbane Australia
5

in the heart of Venezia

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Sebastian’s apartment for a week in Mid Nov 2015 at the start of our month in Italy for our 25th wedding anniversary. The location was excellent with easy access to all the facilities and sights of Venezia, and numerous restaurants and wine bars in the surrounding streets and squares. The apartment was an ideal size for two persons with the under floor heating keeping the rooms at a very pleasant temperature despite the chill in the outside air. The views down the canals from the apartment were excellent for watching the comings and goings of Venetian life. Sebastian was a very good host meeting us on arrival, helping us with luggage and providing us an extensive briefing on the immediate locale and the broader area around Venezia. Sebastian went out of his way to assist us – for example helping arrange a local sim for my cell phone and allowing us to take an Italian phrase book from his library for the rest of our travels in Italy. While it is a 20-30 min walk to Rialto/San Marco area, we were pleased to be away from these heavily touristic areas and we found a myriad of ways to get where we wanted to go by ambling semi-lost through the laneways and alleys, with exquisite cameos of Venezia around every corner. We strongly recommend a day trip to Burano Island. Venezia was one of the highlights of our trip and we would definitely return to Sebastian’s apartment when we come back.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Brendan and Louise, thank you very much for your nice review. ciao and take care, Sebastiano
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Lovely apartment, lovely visit to Venice

  • 5 of 5

We loved the Gaffaro apartment. We always stay in apartments now, when we travel, and this was one of the nicest. It's close to the train station but still very quiet. The apartment is on the 3rd floor (top) (corner) and overlooks a beautiful set of canals and bridges. The kitchen is well set-up (although we didn't cook), good bed, nice bathroom. Sebastiano was very helpful.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Friends, thanks you very much for your review. See you soon and take care, Sebastiano
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Venice Marco Polo
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Cafè noir
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Venice Lido golf club
Nearest Train
500 Metres
Venice Santa Lucia
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Ae Cravate restaurant
Nearest Ski
100 Kilometres
Alleghe/Falcade ski resort
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Venice Lido Beach
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: shopping

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santa Croce Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
high season 2016
Mar 26 2016 - Nov 6 2016
4 night minimum stay
$185
$1,113
$2,810
 
 
mid season 2016
Nov 7 2016 - Dec 23 2016
3 night minimum stay
$157
$944
$2,248
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
$185
$1,113
 
 
low season 2017
Jan 9 2017 - Feb 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$146
$899
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,113
$3,034
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $45

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Santa Croce Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • Town
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Notes:
Kitchen in oak with black marble surface and breakfast desk with stools. air conditioning system is new, it has been chenged the 11/JUly/2011

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties