check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Steve Gunn

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Spacious, quiet, ocean views, clean, comfortable, relaxing

32 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Yachats House Rental Photos and Description

2-story: living-dining-kitchen upstairs. 3 bedrm, 3 bathrm + sunrm. Sleeps 8.

Relax and rejuvenate in our quiet, spacious, 2-story, 3-bedroom, 3-bath house located just 1 block from miles of uninterrupted sandy beach to Waldport and the 804 rocky shore path to Yachats. The spacious upstairs open kitchen/dining/living room offers multiple views of the shoreline. Sounds of the ocean waves will lull you into a deep and restful sleep.

The front yard and private backyard are a birder's paradise full of flowering plants, an herb garden, and bird houses.

Full of games, puzzles, and toys, the secluded "Pirate's Den" delights kids. For outdoor use, enjoy yard and beach toys.

Peak rate: $140/ night for the first 2 guests. $20/night for each additional guest. $10 cleaning fee per person.

Off-season rate: $115/ night for the first 2 guests. $20/night for each additional guest. $10 cleaning fee per person.

Yachats is known as the "Gem" of the Oregon Coast. We are located 1 mile north of Yachats.

The address is 111 Trout Street, Yachats, OR 97498

Keywords: House, vacation house, beach house, coast house, house with a garden, house with views.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Steve Gunn (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Steve Gunn

I have been an Oregonian since 1974.

Steve Gunn purchased this house in 2008

Why Steve Gunn chose Coastal Oregon

Yachats is the most beautiful spot on the Oregon coast. From upstairs you have views of the ocean to the west and the north.

The Whales' Nook is located at:

111 Trout Street

Yachats, OR 97498

What makes this house unique

Peaceful, sound of the surf, bird watching, carefree living, spacious house that has been recently remodeled. We use only non-toxic products for cleaning and washing.

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Staying at the Jama House was like being home. We all had plenty of space to enjoy "alone time". It was close enough to hear the ocean yet far enough off Hwy 101 tonot hear traffic. We will be back.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 32 traveler reviews

Spacious, quiet, ocean views, clean, comfortable, relaxing
average rating of 4.875 based on 33 reviews
5

The property is just as great as it looks in the photos

  • 5 of 5

I recently spent a repeat visit to the Whale's Nook with a friend from the Portland area. She was so impressed by the awesome location - close to the beach and the 804 trail. We walked into town and had a delicious meal at the Brewery, visited the kitchen and book shops, as well as the Mercantile. We were soaked by our walk back, but got great hot showers with great shampoo and soap provided. We were tempted to build a fire in the new woodstove with the wood already piled nearby, but opted for a movie in the living room instead. We both enjoyed cooking in the well-stocked kitchen, having a cozy spot to sit and watch the ocean when it started raining out, and getting a good sleep in the very comfortable beds. There was a new bird feeder hanging outside the living room window, and we loved the nuthatches within close viewing. I always look forward to coming back to this spot; Steve is a great host and makes sure everything is just right for our stay, including leaving slippers and extra umbrellas! Thanks so much.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon
4

Beautiful Yachats

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at your beach home. The house is roomy, comfortable and very clean. We had plenty of room with our four grandchildren. The kitchen is well-stocked, the beds comfortable and the views amazing. The only thing that was somewhat awkward is having to carry groceries and suitcases up a rather steep flight of stairs because the kitchen and one bedroom are on the upper level.

We loved the close proximity to the trail and the beach. Yachats has been a favorite spot for several years. It was the busiest we have ever seen it. I hope the quaint little beach town doesn't change too much.

We hope to return next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved Whale's Nook Again

  • 5 of 5

I have rented this property I guess four times, and every time I love it more. It is so clean and cared for, and very comfortable. Just walk in and my vacation physically and mentally begins at the door. Being north of town on the 804 trail is magical, and forces one to get some exercise to walk all the way into town, which is about 30-40 minutes, but a very enjoyable inspiring and beautiful 40 minutes. If one does not want to walk, the view of the ocean in two directions from the living room relaxes. When we were sitting in the brewery downtown enjoying a local beer, we were already planning our next trip back to the Whale's Nook.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Whales' Nook and I look forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this comfortable well-equipped house very near the beach for the second summer in a row. We knew already that it was a great place to stay but now it is even better. The improvements included a brand new, very comfortable mattress in the upstairs bedroom where we like to sleep. The downstairs had been remodeled significantly and was very lovely with new light wood panelling and new windows. The house was as well stocked as before with wonderful cooking equipment and plenty of dishes. The house was very clean just as it was the year before. It is obvious the owner takes pride in this property and understands its value. It is in a pleasant, relaxing setting with a beautiful backyard full of lovely plants and birds. We even got to watch tree swallows raise their young in a birdhouse which was on a high platform that made for easy viewing from the kitchen table on the top floor. It is a very nice place to stay and you couldn't ask for more.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Whales" Nook and I look forward to having you back, hopefully next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eugene OR USA
5

A Fantastic place to stay on the Oregon Coast

  • 5 of 5

You couldn't ask for anything more. It is only 1/2 block to the beach and walking path along the shore. The rooms were immaculate and well maintained. The kitchen was the best I've ever seen with every imaginable pan, plate and utensil. The living area was spacious and comfortable for the six of us. The sun room was the perfect place to read or take a nap. It's a very short drive to downtown Yachats. We enjoyed the artists colony a stones throw from the house. We would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Whales' Nook and I look forward to your return trip.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Decatur, GA
5

Great house, wonderful location, amazing value

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 8 adults thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Whales' Nook. The house was comfortable and spacious, the kitchen had everything we needed for wonderful home-cooked meals, and the living room - with sounds and sights of the ocean (including a lovely sunset) - was a great place for hanging out. The house was stocked with beach toys, slippers, and games for the yard. The beach was a short and easy walk from the house, making it convenient for different members of our group to come and go throughout the day. In addition to beach access, the 804 trail at the end of the block provided an easy hiking path along the coast and into the town of Yachats, as well as access to lovely forest walks. The owner, Steve, was a pleasure to work with, very flexible and accommodating. The only negative, reported by one member of our group, was that the sofa bed mattress was uncomfortable (too thin to cover the bar of the sofa bed) - perhaps some extra foam padding could be provided or the mattress could be upgraded. However, the other 7 members of our group who slept on regular beds, all found our beds to be quite comfortable. All in all, this house was truly a bargain, with its spectacular location and wonderful amenities. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy, I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Whales' Nook and I look forward to having you back as guests again. Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Cape Perpetua

Walk the 804 trail to town or the 7 mile stretch of beach to Waldport. The Yachats area offers many hiking and beach-combing opportunities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Yachats House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak
May 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$140
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$140
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $40
Refundable damage deposit $100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Yachats House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 full bathrooms including 1 shower and 2 tub/shower combinations.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3) Twin or Single Beds (1) Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • tennis
Notes:
High chair, iron, and ironing board.

Partner Offers