Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Yet Central. Nature Path to Water. Stunning View. New.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Our newly built summer home sits in the heart of Anne's land and overlooks miles of river and rolling hills.

The cottage allows you to lounge in privacy in our large octagonal great room or relax in the comfortable living room.

Vivid and tasteful colors accentuate the interior pine boards that decorate the majority of the walls.

Large windows face the view, allowing natural light in as well as allowing for appreciation of the stunning panoramic view.

The cottage is specially designed to allow for both maximum entertainment and for calm and serenity.

For this reason, the large octagonal great room is set off from the main building by a porch.

This way, those who want to entertain in the night or get up very early would not be disturbing those who are sleeping in their bedrooms. Perfect for early rising children and parents who want to make the most of their vacation nights.

The 1600 sq. ft, two story, two tier decked cottage is nestled like a gem, tranquilly overlooking Clinton's rolling emerald fields, ending in a spectacular view of the winding Southwest River.

On your private natural path leading towards one of the warmest rivers on P.E.I. you can hear numerous species of songbirds and watch fantastic displays of wildlife.

After you descend to a waterfront deck for your enjoyment, feel free to use our two person kayak..

A gazebo beside the cottage houses a breathtaking view and river breeze. The cottage sits on its own private two acre lot.

The 250 sq. ft back deck and 400 sq. ft front deck are comfortable and perfect for daytime pleasures as well as evening stargazing.

Between the two decks and the gazebo it is easy to find sun or shade all throughout the day.

The cottage is a thirty minute drive from the Island’s capital, Charlottetown, or a twenty minute drive from the city of Summerside, both of which are great for entertainment, fine dinning and for some great shopping.

With a short ten minute drive you will be in the heart of Cavendish, the tourist Mecca of Prince Edward Island with all of its great attractions such as Anne of Green Gables and Cavendish beach; featuring miles of walk able sand dunes stretching out into the ocean.

The cottage is only minutes away from the many secluded sandy beaches and world famous golf courses.

Also it is only two minutes driving or fifteen minutes walking to the village's fishing pier which features a seafood restaurant offering PEI lobster among other local seafood treats.

There are many beautiful country churches and places of worship within a short driving distance.

The cottage is only twenty five minutes from the only remaining drive-in theater in Eastern Canada. Deep sea fishing excursions and water sport locations are also very close to the cottage.

Keywords: Cottage, Summer home, house, vacation,

More Details

Owner
Greg J MacArthur
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2017

About Greg J MacArthur

My name is Greg MacArthur, I have lived in PEI all of my life, and love living in the country and being close to the water. I have two great children, and own a picture framing business. I can't get enough of PEI summers and can often be seen sailing in my catamaran to the sandy Cavendish dunes.

Greg J MacArthur purchased this cottage in 2009

Why Greg J MacArthur chose Prince Edward Island

I have owned this lot for years and only this last year decided to build this beautiful cottage on it. The view is the biggest reason for the cottage. On PEI, there are few spots where you can see quite this much.

What makes this cottage unique

It's great for relaxing and privacy, and at the same time not far from all the fun things going on in this part of the island. If I want to go to the beach or to the buzzing Cavendish boardwalk, I can be there in minutes. If I want to have a quiet day with nature, I can go for a long walk through the green paths leading to the private beach, or go for a sail through the winding southwest river.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Greg, we enjoyed our stay in your lovely cottage, with the fantastic view. Your warmth and hospitality was appreciated.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

New London Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • River ...
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private Yet Central. Nature Path to Water. Stunning View. New.
average rating of 4.25 based on 16 reviews
5

Beyond our expectations!!!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful place! Our family had such an awesome time! The building is very nice and it is set facing one of the most picturesque views I've ever seen. We had no problems and the owners were super helpful in answering any questions we had. We also liked how the place was so private and peaceful.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The kids had fun playing at the cottage and we were very close to many attractions.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was perfect for our family of four. We enjoyed having the outside space. The owners were quick to get back to us and I was so impressed when they dropped off coolers, lawn chairs and smore marshmallow roasting sticks after we called them to see if they had any. This made us feel right at home and showed that they were very interested in helping us have the best vacation possible!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful property

  • 3 of 5

Nice spot. A few things i didnt like was the balcony off the master bedroom felt anything but safe. Lots of bugs, mostly beetles, even in beds. No AC so it was too hot in the afternoons. Wi-Fi did not work during our stay. Good things- well stocked. Kitchen had all dishes and appliances youd need. Has a bbq. Gorgeous sunsets nice little fire pit. Books to read, piano and guitar to play. Overall i enjoyes my stay but eouls not return for the price. My wife freaked about all the bugs inside at night

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were absolutely shocked to read about the complaints in this review. We have been living in and renting this cottage for many years and have never, even once heard of bugs being in the beds! We were so surprised and horrified to hear this that we contacted previous renters and the ones currently in the cottage now to ask if they ever experienced this. They all told us that they had never seen a bug in any of the beds, and that bugs in the house were not a problem at all. As with any building, we do recommend that renters do not slide back the screens on windows or leave doors open, as this could result in bugs getting inside. Had the renters contacted us about this during their stay we would have rushed out and addressed the situation immediately. We were also surprised about the Wi-Fi issue. If this renter had contacted us we would have immediately rushed to fix it. We encourage all renters to tell us if there are any issues and if the Wi-Fi went down for some reason, we could have got up and running right away. The building is very safe and we were confused by the complaint about safety. Regarding the AC, we are clear in our listing that there is no AC, however, our other renters have never had a problem with heat because there are many windows, fans, and a nice breeze coming off the water towards the cottage. All in all, we are glad that this renter found it to be an enjoyable stay overall, but we would have really appreciated being contacted about these complaints during their stay. We could have addressed their concerns. We make a point in our rental agreement to encourage renters not to hesitate to contact us. We even give each of our personal cell phone numbers so we can be reached any time by call, email, or text. We even make a point to drop by during each renters stay, just to ask if everything is going well and if there is anything we can do to improve their stay and we did so with this renter as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Canada
5

AMAZING STAY!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time during our stay. There was lots of space for everyone to spread out in the house and wonderful grounds for the kids to play on. It is close to Cavendish for lots of shopping fun at the boardwalk and many other activities. It was a quick jaunt into Kensington too for some odds and ends of groceries. We had a wonderful view overlooking the river and got to go out on the boat with Greg for tons of fun exploring. It was close to French River beach where we enjoyed the beautiful sandy beaches and warm water.

The stay was amazing and relaxing. Any questions we had were promptly answered by the owners who were happy to help us or recommend beaches or restaurants. It is definitely a place we plan to go to again!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Kilometres
Charlottetown
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Black Horse Pub
Nearest Ferry
50 Kilometres
Northumberland Bay Ferries
Nearest Golf
5.7 Kilometres
Red Sands Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
New London Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
French River (though rental sits by a small beach)
Car: recommended

Located in the Heart of PEI. A beautiful country setting with rolling hills and winding rivers, only a few minutes drive from all of the fun and sights of Cavendish.

Other Activities: Shopping, kayaking, boating, parasailing, spa, mini golf

Golf: This is the best area for golf! You can't go far without finding some of the best golf courses on the Island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $79.57

$500 deposit required to book your stay. Full payment must be received one month prior to arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties