Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front/View Condo

Bedrooms 1
Space 720 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3-4)

RENT DIRECT FROM THE OWNERS AND SAVE!!! There's nothing more relaxing than sitting on the lanai watching the palm trees sway in the afternoon breeze while enjoying the fabulous ocean view; the swells breaking over the reef where green sea turtles play. October through April you can see the whales as they breach and teach their young, that’s right, whale watching is possible from the lanai!

Located on the second floor, the Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea) Resort includes a Sparkling Tile Pool, Hot Tub, and Kiddies Pool, these pools also have beautiful murals of whales and turtles. Putting green, shuffleboard, and volleyball court, as well as barbecue facilities are also on the grounds. Our guests are welcome to use the two public tennis courts located south of Kauhale Makai. Laundry facilities are on nearly every floor of the resort. In addition, a concierge next to the front quest for booking events and attractions.

This condo is furnished with granite kitchen counters, electric appliances, tile flooring and bathroom separated from the lavatory; everything one would need for a 'home away from home. We lament sleeping on poor beds while on vacation, with visions of our bed back home. This is why we have a King-size 'Pillow Top bed manufactured by Custom Comfort Mattress Company in the bedroom. We are sure you will appreciate a good sleep while on vacation. In addition, should you tire of the ocean views, there is high-speed wireless internet for our guests to surf the web or access their e-mail through our WiFi router allowing you to connect your own laptop. The entire condo has been furnished and decorated with island furniture and art, and there is, CENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING! From the moment you walk through the door you will know you are in Paradise. Sorry, but no pets are allowed (resort rules). This is a NON-SMOKING unit.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 16, 2017

About The Owner

We have been coming to Hawaii several times each year during the past decade for business and thought; maybe we should invest in our retirement plan now. That was 2002 and we never looked back since. Maui continues to be the one place we can let our shoulders drop and let the tension of work and daily stresses melt away. Our children ask to come to Maui every chance they get. All seasons and through all weather conditions, we have found our sanctuary from the busy, stresses of everyday life. We hope you find our little piece of paradise as enjoyable as we do.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2002

Why The Owner chose Maui

Maui is our favorite Hawaiian island, Molokai is probably the most serene, but too small to accommodate vacation renters.

What makes this condo unique

While on the mainland, we long for our morning ritual of a cup of coffee on the lanai; watching whales and the parade of boats making their way to Molokini for snorkeling trips. Every evening the sky is a tapestry of color as the sun sets and paints the clouds with the most vibrant colors and shapes as a backdrop to the palm trees keeping in rhythm with the island breeze.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our month at your condo is coming to an end.We have thoroughly enjoyed it here.Your unit is very comfortable and well stocked.We were just wondering if it is important to be out of the unit by 11am.on our departure day--Dec.11th.Our flight is very late leaving.Thanks again for our wonderful stay!!Graeme and Harolyn
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 12


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub with shower and water closet (Toilet) are separate from the Lavatory for privacy.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Custom Comfort Mattress Company Pillow Plush., Sleep Sofa (1) 1 twin size in living room with linens in the upper cabinet of wall unit, Murphy Beds (1) Queen side tilt. Includes enough storage and closet space for two people comfortably.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Putting Green and Shuffle Board in the central courtyard area.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front/View Condo
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 72 reviews
Houston, TX, USA

Really great stay!

  • 4 of 5

Mike and Alicia! Thanks for the lovely condo. We had a very comfortable stay. When we arrived everything was in place. The location is really great, and we enjoyed spending time at the accessible beach behind the complex. The kitchen was very well equipped, though we did not use much as there were plenty of affordable resturants in the area with a veriety of choices to choose from. Thanks again.

Priya and Gaurav.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Michael and Alice responded very quickly when we needed to get in contact with them. The price was great and would recommend family and friends to stay here!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great location. Close to the beach, restaurants, shopping and the grocery store. Great for 3 people but a tighter squeeze with 4. Large fridge and good appliances in the kitchen. If you're staying long, you'll need to buy extra toilet paper and paper towels for the room. TV in the bedroom is outdated and the remote was broken. Blowdryer was also broken. I emailed the owner but he was non-responsive.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were unable to locate the email you mentioned sending, but appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We have removed the hair dryer as an amenity as this, along with Boogie Boards, are high maintenance items and need replacement far too often.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Couldn't be better

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place, clean, didn't see any bugs, nice view (the complex is set back from the ocean, but nothing between the condo and ocean but lawn/grass) Great sunset views. Condo had everything needed for a great vacation. My one issue was handled with a phone call. I don't think you can beat the price anywhere. Now if your expecting kanapalii type rooms forget it, but for this price you get a nice, clean, comfortable place to call home. If I'm staying on Maui, I'll return here!

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Loved the condo and our time on Maui. Location was great, the condo was clean, kitchen was fully equipped for cooking, and I'm sure it's the most affordable place with a King Bed on the Island!! Very pleased with everything.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada


  • 1 of 5

Dirty no air conditioning 56 days

Replaced filthy toilet seat shower rod and curtains no vacuum no mop no. Beach stuff all broke and left in a storage container we replaced non working bedroom lamps The owner was here on Thanksgiving and the place was left filthy with a non working air conditioner knowing we were renting for two months. He didn't clean up at all. The maids do some but this place needed major cleaning. we spent two days washing floors and walls and ornaments we covered the furniture with sheets badly needs total update as in painting working air etc etc. The price was low and I guess this is how the owner justified the filth be ware we had a high damper on our 56 night stay knowing we had to return to this place at night. We will never stay here again!!

Beware with VRBO/HomeAway as we sure did not get what we saw and read on thier site. The sun set never got to our side good thing with no working air conditioner . Also you could not sleep past seven with the construction right next door. We could not close our patio doors when we went out as with no air the place would cook. Could not sit on The lanai. We hid our valuables as best as we could.The place was always damp. The small tv in the living room had to be cranked. The construction was not mentioned when we booked. The pool is cold and no hot tub until around five pm when they turn it on. I can't possibly rate this place as a rating would indicate some satisfaction and beleave me there was non of that. I guess the first guest will have a clean place after we got through. I have lots of pictures and witnesses. We hung out at our friends condo.


  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the time providing this feedback. When this guest contacted me about their lamps and cleanliness concerns, we made accommodations promptly. Unfortunately the parts for the A/C needed to be ordered from the mainland, and am still awaiting for these items to arrive for repairs. We strive to make our guests stay enjoyable, and have done so with good ratings prior to this guests stay. Please consider our overall rating and the rental rate while reading this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kahului Airport (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Who Cut the Cheese
Nearest Ferry
21.5 Miles
Nearest Golf
1.7 Miles
Elliair Maui Golf Club
Nearest Train
22 Miles
The Sugar Train attraction is in Lahaina
Nearest Motorway
0.6 Miles
Piilani Hwy 31
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Stella Blues
Nearest Beach
1.9 Miles
Kalama Beach Park
Car: recommended

Whale watching (In Season)


Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Registration $15
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.41%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties