check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

TONY CHISHOLM

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town

26 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Historic Old Town House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Location, location. This charming, renovated bungalow offers one of the best locations in Niagara on the Lake. Just 1 short block from beautiful Queens Royal Park on Lake Ontario and 1 block from the many stores and great restaurants on Queen Street. See: thetowncottage.ca for more details.

This bright, spacious bungalow offers three bedrooms and one full newly renovated bathroom. The cottage has a modern, fully equipped, "open concept" kitchen with adjoining dining room. The living room, with its large comfy couch and wood-burning fireplace make it an ideal place to relax. The bathroom has been newly remodeled. A wide porch on the front is an ideal place to watch the horse carriages passing on the street while enjoying a glass of wine from one of the many nearby wineries. It is pet friendly (dogs only please) with an enclosed yard.

A private, stone patio with table, offers an outdoor entertaining/eating area equipped with a BBQ. The newly renovated home is just a short walk to all 3 Shaw theaters, golf course, marina and historic Fort George. Niagara Falls is just short 20 min drive or bike ride along the Niagara Parkway bike path. The Town Cottage is regularly inspected and has a license from the town. Please see our site at thetowncottage.ca for 2 videos of the cottage and what to do in the area.

The National Geographic Traveler Magazine just rated Niagara-on-the-Lake as one of the top “Historic Destinations” in Canada and number 52 in the world !

The survey was put together by a panel of 280 well traveled experts.

Their report states in part: “Niagara-on-the –Lake may be the most beautiful small city in Canada. Quite touristy, but it has done a great job of preserving its charm….”

The Town Cottage is a perfect spot to enjoy historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, any time of year. Everyone loves the cottage!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
TONY CHISHOLM (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About TONY CHISHOLM

We live in Niagara on the Lake and enjoy the whole of the magnificent Niagara penninsula. The combination of beautiful homes, world class restaurants, excellent live theater at the Shaw Festival and the many world class wineries make Niagara on the Lake a very unique Canadian village. It has the title of the Prettiest Small town in Canada. Living nearby in the town allows us to meet and personally greet our cottage guests to answer any questions and be on hand to provide any help during your stay.

For our US friends, travel to Canada can lower costs thanks to a low value Canadian dollar. US visitors can deduct over 30% from their costs in Canada.

TONY CHISHOLM purchased this house in 2008

Why TONY CHISHOLM chose Niagara-on-the-Lake

A wonderful town for visitors to see and enjoy the best of Canada! We live nearby and love to provide personal service for our guests. Many rentals in town are owned by absentee owners who can't provide this personalized service.

What makes this house unique

The Town Cottage was recently redecorated and up-graded. It's warmth and coziness combined with the fantastic historic location, make it a very special home. Most visitors come for the world class live theatre at the Shaw Festival. Others to tour the interesting variety of wieries and excellent restaurants. Still others to stroll and take in the sights in this beautiful historic village. The spectacular restored Georgian houses on either side of the Town Cottage date from 1815 - some of the oldest in Canada. See: thetowncottage.ca

Reviews

5
based on 26 traveler reviews

Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
5

Great getaway in the heart of Niagara-on-the-Lake!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely cottage. It was our home away from home for a long weekend in the Niagara area. We also appreciated that the owner, Tony, took the time to welcome us upon arrival. The cottage was in a great location, just a short walk to the city center and easy drive to the main roadway connecting to Niagara Falls. They were also dog friendly, which allowed us to bring our furry family member. Thanks Tony for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London, Ontario
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time that we've stayed at The Town Cottage. The location is great only a block from the main street and we could walk to anywhere we wanted to in Old Town. This time my wife's parents stayed with us for a couple days for Christmas and then my wife and I enjoyed a few quiet days.

We walked to Treadwell's for an excellent meal one evening and were also walking distance to the grocery store to pick up a few things.

Tony was a great host meeting us on arrival making sure we knew where everything was and then the place was ours for the week. The house is great and the fenced in yard was ideal for us to bring our little chihuahua. Would definitely stay again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

September Break

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful 4 day break. The Town Cottage is as advertised. The location is great, walking distance to restaurants, the water front and the shops. Everything that we needed for our stay was provided at the cottage. We celebrated my birthday with dinner at the Charles Inn (at Barb's recommendation) just a short walk away, an excellent meal and service. Niagara on the Lake is beautiful in September and we plan to return in the spring. Thanks again Tony and Barb

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect birthday vacation

  • 5 of 5

3 sisters took our mom to NOTL for her 70th Birthday. We had a marvelous time and this cottage contributed highly to the overall great experience. Lots of character, great location, clean, comfy, and everything you need in a home away from home. We road bikes, ate at fabulous restaurants, toured wineries, and went to the theater all without needing a car. I have rented many houses off VRBO over the last several years, and this won wins the prize in terms of having every single little thing I happened to look for, even a teapot. Thanks Tony for helping me make my mom very happy.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW, thanks for the terrific review. We try very hard to make sure the home has everything you might need. The fact that you can walk to almost everything in town without needing a car is certainly a big bonus for our guests who spend a lot of time driving to Niagara-on-the-Lake. We also like to meet all our guests when they arrive to answer questions and help them initially find what they need in town. We feel this is an important personal touch. Thanks, Tony
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Halifax, Nova Scotia
5

WONDERFUL IN EVERY WAY

  • 5 of 5

We so much enjoyed our stay at the Town Cottage that the only way to describe this lovely property is "perfect". We couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived. Beautifully decorated, and nothing has been overlooked. Kitchen is a dream and amenities in the bathroom are a nice touch. The bedrooms were nicely done and very spacious. The patio outside was a lovely place for breakfast in the morning and a glass of wine before heading out in the evening. Location is within walking distance of everywhere. A block to the main street, a lovely stroll to the lake, minutes from Shaw.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pickerington, Ohio
5

50th Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I went over Memorial Day week and had a fantastic time. We biked, we hiked and we rode the JetBoat through rapids. The town pretty much shut down around 9:00 pm - it was absolutely lovely and we will be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
The Exchange Brewery- Angel Inn & Irish Harp
Nearest Golf
0.2 Kilometres
Niagara on the Lake Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Queen Elizabeth Way
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Kilometres
Epicurean/Stagecoach/Zees/Charles Inn/Giardino
Nearest Beach
0.1 Kilometres
Queens Royal Park
Car: recommended

Niagara on the Lake just a few miles from Niagara Falls is called the prettiest small town in Canada. It is steeped in history and historic buildings. The Town Cottage is located in the heart of the historic old town just one block from the main street and one block from a park on Lake Ontario. The perfect location to walk the old town and access wonderful and unique restaurants, wineries and the many unique stores of Queen Street.

There are 3 live theaters in walking distance from the cottage - world class live theater. As well the town offers jazz concerts, classical music, outdoor concerts,many wineries, historic sites, off-leash park, outdoor community swimming pool in the summer, helicopter rides, horse and buggy rides, nature trails, behind the scenes theater tours,, tennis courts, and Luxurious spas -3 within walking distance, where you can pamper yourself, have a massage, manicure, pedicure etc.

Take a Whirlpool Jet Boat ride up the mighty Niagara River, a real thrill ! Cycle rentals are available, they’ll deliver them to the house. Cycle along the Niagara Parkway, a beautiful ride all along the river, and its very safe for cyclists. The horse and buggy rides will pick you up at the house if you like, or you can start your ride outside the Prince of Wales Hotel, which is just a minutes walk from the house.

Take time to walk around the town, off the main street, you’ll see beautiful homes, English style gardens and be in awe at the variety of flowers and plants. No matter what time of year its just the prettiest place to visit. The town gardens are in flower earlier in the Spring.

We have thousands of acres of vineyards where different varieties of grapes are grown, producing world-class wines and a specialty of the area ‘Ice Wine’. This region is also the fruit basket of Ontario growing, raspberries, blueberries, peaches, apricots, pears, apples, and vegetables etc. You can stop at one of the many fruit stands by the side of the road and pick up some wonderful locally grown produce.

Join us for all these wonderful activities and many more!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Historic Old Town House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High (summer) season
May 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$242
From
$273
Fri,Sat
$1,591
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$242
From
$273
Fri,Sat
$1,591
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $61 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $61 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Payment Terms -50% deposit at time of booking by credit card and 50% a week before arrival. Note: the deposit is refundable (except for 5%) up to 30 days before your stay.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Historic Old Town House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • River ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1Recently renovated bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (2) Two new Queen sized beds, Double Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Wonderful downtown location just a block from the Niagara River- Within walking distance from all Shaw theatres.

Partner Offers