Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

"Making Waves" Oceanfront/Pet Friendly/Less then 10 Steps to Beach off deck!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Folly Beach,3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8, Open Floor Plan, Pet Friendly

You can't get much closer to the Ocean then this private home located at 1569 East Ashley, Folly Beach SC. "Making Waves" is the perfect choice for anyone looking for breathtaking sunrises, dolphin viewing off the deck, toes in the sand just mere steps off the private deck and a tranquil stretch of beach to explore.

"Making Waves" is a spacious and open home with spectacular views! The living area, kitchen and dining room are all ocean facing....making you feel as if you are on the beach even when in the home. This home is three bedrooms and can comfortably sleep 8 guests. Eight guests at any time is the maximum capacity for this home.

More Details

Property Manager
Michael Ray
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

If you want to wake up to the beach right outside your door...this is the home for you. No long boardwalks to navigate. This home has a sundeck that makes you feel as if you are sitting on the beach, with 2 loungers, a picnic table, small 2 person bistro and adirondack chairs. Enjoy your morning coffee while watching the sun rise and relax with the gentle morning breeze. This house is clean and very comfortable. Great open floor plan. Managers are easy to work with and always accessible.
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1323 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Outside Shower - outdoor shower , Has hot water
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , (Twin over Double Bunk Bed and separate Twin bed)
  • Bedroom #1- Queen Bed Bedroom #2- Queen Bed Bedroom #3- Twin over Double Bunk bed and separate Twin Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
If there are any items you wish to have waiting on you at the time of your arrival, please let us know. We can provide you with several reputable local businesses that offer golf carts, beach chairs and umbrellas, fishing charters and sunset cruises, paddle boards and surf boards.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

"Making Waves" Oceanfront/Pet Friendly/Less then 10 Steps to Beach off deck!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 43 reviews
5

Great family stay ay 1569

  • 5 of 5

This was our 10th year at Folly and the second time we have enjoyed staying in this cute house. It is a great location - 4 houses past the Washout - with an open lot on one side. We always bring our boat and although the driveway is short, it was easy to park two trucks and a 20' boat on a trailer and still leave the area right under the house, which is paved and very clean, open for the kids to play safely on scooters and wagons. The house doesn't have a screened porch but has a spacious deck that gets the ocean breeze. We set up a cabana on the deck for some extra shade and spent a lot of time there when we wanted a break from the sand. The hose and shower right outside the door into the house kept everything sand free for the 2 weeks we were there. There has been an impressive amount of beach erosion in the past couple of years but there is a wide expanse of beach at low tide and a nice strip of beach at high tide, unlike some of the homes right now that end up with no beach at all. We hate the erosion problem is occuring but actually loved the ocean being steps from our door.

The house itself was perfect for our family of 5. The open living area has comfortable couches and arm chairs and a flat screen as well as a connecting eating area. There are windows all the way across the front.

The kitchen is open and has a center bar and decent appliances and plenty of supplies. We found all the beds to be comfortable and simply but tastefully decorated. The AC is one of the best we have experienced at Folly and easily keeps up with summer heat.

We didn't have any problems so we only met Mike as we were packing up to leave and it's obvious he and Diane would be available and responsive to any requests or concerns.

We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
16 1
3

Great location, child and dog friendly, but a sad house.

  • 3 of 5

When I review places we rent I tend to lay it all out so others know what they are getting. And of course a lot depends on what you're looking to get. During high tide the house really is steps from the water. And when the tide is out, there is a wonderful amount of nice flat sand. Low tide is great for looking for shells or flying kites. There are lots of walkers, runners and dog walkers. The house is far enough away from the main streets for peace and quite .The house needs a lot of attention. The washer and dryer either have mold or need a scrub. The walls need to be repaired and painted badly throughout. The Jack and Jill bath has what looks like rusty water stains running from the light fixture over the sink mirror. And the shower curtain (not the plastic liner) was moldy. I called the property managers and they were very nice and VERY quick to respond and brought a new curtain to us right away and extra blankets. The crooked little kitchen is stocked well, the fridge is old and on the smaller side , but works. The furniture needs to be replaced. One chair is soiled so we used a quilt from one of the beds to cover it and you sink halfway to the floor in all of them. We used the throw pillows to try and level them. The beds are comfy. The deck has some newly replaced boards, but is so rough and splintered you can't walk in your bare feet or hold on to railing. I read many reviews before booking this house. I was disappointed in its condition after all the great reviews, but the location is good. Wanted to give 3 1/2 but couldn't work it on this site.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate feedback and take guests concerns very seriously. This home has had many recent positive five star reviews and we were unaware of some of these issues. We were shocked and surprised when informed the shower curtain had some mildew on the bottom of it. We had just replaced the liner and unfortunately missed that the fabric curtain needed to be laundered, there was indeed some minor mildew on the bottom of the curtain. We immediately purchased another and installed it that day. Cleanliness is very important to us and while we missed this detail, we appreciate it being brought to our attention. The home's walls were all repaired and repainted from ceiling to floor in Jan. of 2016 and now it appears it may have some scuffs and in need of touch up paint in some parts, which we will address promptly. We are glad the beds were found to be comfortable and inviting....we know how important a good nights sleep is and we make sure all beds are prepared with 100% cotton linens. A lot does depend on what you're looking for when picking your vacation home. We always strive to offer very clean, comfortable homes. The location of this home can't be beat. Wonderful stretch of beach. Great open deck that leads right to the sand and offers a private area to enjoy the views. A pet friendly, front beach family home that is relaxing, comfortable, inviting and very clean is our goal for our guests. We will continue to strive to do our best in reaching these goals and value guest feedback in helping with that process.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great New Year's

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time celebrating New Year's on the beach with family. The ocean view from the house was amazing. The house was clean and all went off with out a hitch. Would definitely recommend to anyone and will do again soon...

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful weekend, just what we hoped for.

  • 5 of 5

It's a charming house, right on the beach. We had six adults and one teen and there was plenty of room, seating, and dishes for all of us. It's a great place to enjoy sun, sand, and the village of Folly Beach.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a great time!

  • 5 of 5

The beach house was perfect for our week stay in October. Hope to stay there again!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we've had the pleasure of staying at this particular property, and we loved it even more this time around. The new flooring and living room configuration really makes a difference! This property is so convenient, especially if you have pets; it is the only property we can find on the beach that will allow our dogs to stay with us, which is the best part about vacation. Relaxing to the sounds of the ocean with our pups napping on the deck is a luxury that we cannot find anywhere else. The home is also cozy and spacious, with plenty of space and a well-stocked kitchen for all our needs. I certainly hope the new owners continue to rent it out as we hope to keep coming back each year. Our only regret was we didn't stay longer!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Folly Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Fling
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$320
From
$385
Fri,Sat
$1,950
 
 
Spring Tides
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$378
From
$412
Fri,Sat
$2,225
 
 
Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 12 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,225
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning/Linens $150
Pet Fee $75
Tax Rate 17.0%

No Events.
No Events/Weddings.
Must be 25 years or Older to Rent.
Maximum Occupancy is 8 unless discussed prior to reserving.
Pets considered with a 75 fee per animal.
Deposit Returned within 30 days of departure provided there are no damages.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Car: necessary

Oceanfront House. Located at 1569 East Ashley. Minutes away from Historic Charleston, Golf, Boating, Fishing (Off-Shore, In-Shore and Pier), Surfing Arts Festivals (Spoleto, Piccolo Spoleto, Moja), Southeastern Wildlife Exposition, Historic Carriage Tours, The Citadel, Charleston Southern University, The College of Charleston, Medical University of South Carolina, Plantations and Gardens (Middleton Place, Drayton Hall, Magnolia, Boone Hall), Charlestowne Landing, Fort Sumter, Fort Moultrie.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties