Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

"Making Waves" Oceanfront/Pet Friendly/Less then 10 Steps to Beach off deck!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,323 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Folly Beach,3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8, Open Floor Plan, Pet Friendly

You can't get much closer to the Ocean then this private home located at 1569 East Ashley, Folly Beach SC. "Making Waves" is the perfect choice for anyone looking for breathtaking sunrises, dolphin viewing off the deck, toes in the sand just mere steps off the private deck and a tranquil stretch of beach to explore.

"Making Waves" is a spacious and open home with spectacular views! The living area, kitchen and dining room are all ocean facing....making you feel as if you are on the beach even when in the home. This home is three bedrooms and can comfortably sleep 8 guests. Eight guests at any time is the maximum capacity for this home.

More Details

Property Manager
Michael Ray
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

If you want to wake up to the beach right outside your door...this is the home for you. No long boardwalks to navigate. This home has a sundeck that makes you feel as if you are sitting on the beach, with 2 loungers, a picnic table, small 2 person bistro and adirondack chairs. Enjoy your morning coffee while watching the sun rise and relax with the gentle morning breeze. This house is clean and very comfortable. Great open floor plan. Managers are easy to work with and always accessible.
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1


Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1323 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Outside Shower - outdoor shower , Has hot water
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , (Twin over Double Bunk Bed and separate Twin bed)
  • Bedroom #1- Queen Bed Bedroom #2- Queen Bed Bedroom #3- Twin over Double Bunk bed and separate Twin Bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
If there are any items you wish to have waiting on you at the time of your arrival, please let us know. We can provide you with several reputable local businesses that offer golf carts, beach chairs and umbrellas, fishing charters and sunset cruises, paddle boards and surf boards.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

"Making Waves" Oceanfront/Pet Friendly/Less then 10 Steps to Beach off deck!
average rating of 4.688889 based on 46 reviews

Great family stay ay 1569

  • 5 of 5

This was our 10th year at Folly and the second time we have enjoyed staying in this cute house. It is a great location - 4 houses past the Washout - with an open lot on one side. We always bring our boat and although the driveway is short, it was easy to park two trucks and a 20' boat on a trailer and still leave the area right under the house, which is paved and very clean, open for the kids to play safely on scooters and wagons. The house doesn't have a screened porch but has a spacious deck that gets the ocean breeze. We set up a cabana on the deck for some extra shade and spent a lot of time there when we wanted a break from the sand. The hose and shower right outside the door into the house kept everything sand free for the 2 weeks we were there. There has been an impressive amount of beach erosion in the past couple of years but there is a wide expanse of beach at low tide and a nice strip of beach at high tide, unlike some of the homes right now that end up with no beach at all. We hate the erosion problem is occuring but actually loved the ocean being steps from our door.

The house itself was perfect for our family of 5. The open living area has comfortable couches and arm chairs and a flat screen as well as a connecting eating area. There are windows all the way across the front.

The kitchen is open and has a center bar and decent appliances and plenty of supplies. We found all the beds to be comfortable and simply but tastefully decorated. The AC is one of the best we have experienced at Folly and easily keeps up with summer heat.

We didn't have any problems so we only met Mike as we were packing up to leave and it's obvious he and Diane would be available and responsive to any requests or concerns.

We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
16 1

Perfect beach house!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great experience at this lovely and very clean beach cottage! Can't beat the view or location.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your visit! Great family home for a wonderful little family. So glad the weather warmed a bit and you were able to venture around the Island!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Making Waves - great Folly getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Had a fantastic stay at Making Waves! Great location! Right on the beach & perfect distance to town or the park at end of the island. House was plenty of space for 6 adults. Well maintained, clean, & well supplied. Owners great about communication & prompt return of deposit.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you found the home to be very clean, comfortable and inviting. We want guests to feel relaxed and at home during their visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Iowa City, IA

Spring Break getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time during our stay. We had 4 adults and a two year old. Lots of room for the little one to run around. Close enough to drive in to Charleston to see the sights and still leave plenty of time to enjoy the beach. House was very clean and well stocked. The only improvement would be the weather (a little chilly during our stay) 😉

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So very glad this home met your expectations! Great home, great location, clean and maintained. Hope you can make it back for a visit when weather is a bit warmer. March can be a little cool at times, but luckily this home has great views from inside too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, child and dog friendly, but a sad house.

  • 3 of 5

When I review places we rent I tend to lay it all out so others know what they are getting. And of course a lot depends on what you're looking to get. During high tide the house really is steps from the water. And when the tide is out, there is a wonderful amount of nice flat sand. Low tide is great for looking for shells or flying kites. There are lots of walkers, runners and dog walkers. The house is far enough away from the main streets for peace and quite .The house needs a lot of attention. The washer and dryer either have mold or need a scrub. The walls need to be repaired and painted badly throughout. The Jack and Jill bath has what looks like rusty water stains running from the light fixture over the sink mirror. And the shower curtain (not the plastic liner) was moldy. I called the property managers and they were very nice and VERY quick to respond and brought a new curtain to us right away and extra blankets. The crooked little kitchen is stocked well, the fridge is old and on the smaller side , but works. The furniture needs to be replaced. One chair is soiled so we used a quilt from one of the beds to cover it and you sink halfway to the floor in all of them. We used the throw pillows to try and level them. The beds are comfy. The deck has some newly replaced boards, but is so rough and splintered you can't walk in your bare feet or hold on to railing. I read many reviews before booking this house. I was disappointed in its condition after all the great reviews, but the location is good. Wanted to give 3 1/2 but couldn't work it on this site.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate feedback and take guests concerns very seriously. We were surprised when informed the shower curtain had some mildew on the bottom of it. We had just replaced the liner and unfortunately missed that the fabric curtain needed to be laundered, there was indeed some minor mildew on the bottom of the curtain. We immediately purchased another and installed it that day. Cleanliness is very important to us and while we missed this detail, we appreciate it being brought to our attention. The home's walls and molding were all repaired and repainted from ceiling to floor in January of 2016 and are really in very good shape. Following the guest departure, we did find a small dent behind a door where the knob hit, every other door has a wall protector behind it to keep this from happening. We also found some minor issues under a window, but sincerely, the house paint looks very fresh and is in really good shape and we hope guests aren’t too misled. We ran a refresh tablet through the washer and wiped out the dryer to freshen them up a bit, though we did not smell any odors and have never had any complaints about this issue. We did find that one chair in the living room had some small permanent stains on it. The covers were all removed and thoroughly washed. We were pleased to hear the beds were found to be inviting and comfortable ....we know how important a good night’s sleep is and we make sure all beds are prepared with 100% cotton linens. A lot does depend on what you're looking for when picking your vacation home. We always strive to offer very clean, comfortable homes. The location of this home can't be beat. Wonderful stretch of beach. Great open deck that leads right to the sand, offering a private area to enjoy the views. A pet friendly, front beach family home that is relaxing, comfortable, inviting and very clean is our goal for our guests. We will continue to strive to do our best in reaching these goals and value guest feedback in helping with that process.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great New Year's

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time celebrating New Year's on the beach with family. The ocean view from the house was amazing. The house was clean and all went off with out a hitch. Would definitely recommend to anyone and will do again soon...

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Car: necessary

Oceanfront House. Located at 1569 East Ashley. Minutes away from Historic Charleston, Golf, Boating, Fishing (Off-Shore, In-Shore and Pier), Surfing Arts Festivals (Spoleto, Piccolo Spoleto, Moja), Southeastern Wildlife Exposition, Historic Carriage Tours, The Citadel, Charleston Southern University, The College of Charleston, Medical University of South Carolina, Plantations and Gardens (Middleton Place, Drayton Hall, Magnolia, Boone Hall), Charlestowne Landing, Fort Sumter, Fort Moultrie.


Rates & Availability

Folly Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring Tides
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 12 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning/Linens $150
Pet Fee $75
Tax Rate 17.0%

No Events.
No Events/Weddings.
Must be 25 years or Older to Rent.
Maximum Occupancy is 8 unless discussed prior to reserving.
Pets considered with a 75 fee per animal.
Deposit Returned within 30 days of departure provided there are no damages.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers