Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OCEANFRONT SUNNY WESTSIDE

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

ONE BEDROOM, ONE BATH WITH BEAUTIFUL OCEAN VIEW

TVNC#1094

For your at-the-beach vacation, this lovely rental puts you in touch with the ocean, miles of coastline, and romantic star-filled evenings. Nestled on the shore of Kekaha, it offers the sunniest, warmest weather on the island. Magnificent sunsets with evenings so tranquil you can drift off as you watch the moonlight dance like diamonds on the water. This home is designed for gorgeous views, ocean in front and green foothills in back.

A one bedroom, one bath accommodation with full kitchen, dining area, and living room is available for your enjoyment. The kitchen is fully equipped, and the living room has cable TV with several movie channels, daybed, and sofa sleeper.

We hope to make your Hawaiian vacation as pleasant, relaxing, and fun filled as possible. If you need anything, please feel free to ask and we'll do our best to help. Ask us about our bicycles, boogie boards, surf boards, and surf lessons. We also have BBQ grills, beach chairs, umbrella and coolers, & laundry facilities for your use.

Keywords: Beachfront, apartment,swimming pool, KKCR radio, oceanview,sunny westside,blues musician, rock & roll,

More Details

Owner
Kevin
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Kevin

Your host Pam Anderson has been a resident of Kauai since 1976. An amateur Kauai surf champ and avid guitar player in an all female band (Rock Candy) for 25 years. She has raised three beautiful children and maintained this business for over twenty years.

Your host Kevin Rogers has lived here since 1998. He is a blues/rock musician from Chicago. He has done a radio program on KKCR (Kauai Community Radio) for over 11 years. Look online for his band SWAMPDADDY & his business Mardi Gras Entertainment. Together they enjoy playing music, promoting concerts , and managing this wonderful vacation rental. They live on property and are immediately available if any needs arise.

Kevin purchased this apartment in 1985

Why Kevin chose Kauai

The late Carl Anderson and Pam courageously built their dream home by hand. Loving the west side for its miles of white sand beaches and uncrowded surf spots. Unbelievable sunsets with great waves, views of whales, boaters, and other sea life from the deck.

What makes this apartment unique

For surfers there's a great surf spot across the street with year round surfing and boogie boarding. No matter what time of year we get swells from both directions.We have no extra charges for the many ammenities we offer. We are twenty minutes from either Poli Hale Beach (one of the greatest) and the Waimea Canyon (sometimes descibed as th Grand Canyon of the Pacific).

Guestbook comments from the owner

WE LOVE YOU GUYS!

We'll be back in two years...really this time.

Love, G & K
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Kekaha Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King size bed (1), Queen size Bed (1),Single Bed (1), Sofa Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
26% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
10% Complete
OCEANFRONT SUNNY WESTSIDE
average rating of 4.2244897 based on 59 reviews
California
2

Very kind host

  • 2 of 5

Kevin was extremely nice and helpful, but it wasn't the place for us. We ended up leaving a day early and staying in Lihue.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Warm and inviting. Much like staying at a friend's house.

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I only stayed here two nights but wished we'd booked more time! Place was neat and tidy. You have an excellent view of ocean from every room in the apartment except for the bathroom and bedroom.

I must admit, I was a little concerned that we'd be hearing road noise all night long. I was pleased to find that once you close the sliding glass doors in the living room, the noise from the road all but disappears.

I couldn't find anything with the property that would warrant a complaint. Sure, there are a couple cosmetic flaws but nothing that caused us any issues. I noted the surface rust on the outside of the refrigerator that was mentioned in one of the reviews of the property. The rust is purely cosmetic and doesn't hurt anything. Opening the fridge reveals a super clean interior that looks practically new. Rusted metal parts are to be expected when you are less than 50 yards from the ocean as salt water doesn't play well with metal.

One thing to be aware of, the A/C in the bedroom defaults to an energy saver mode every time it is turned off. This mode causes the A/C to cycle on and off. If you want the A/C to run all night to keep you cool while you sleep, you need to switch it to normal mode.

Pam was a wonderful host and great to talk to. As I understand it, Kevin is the one who normally deals with customers. Unfortunately, we didn't get to meet Kevin while we were there. Pam admitted she was a little out of her element dealing with customers. That said, my wife and I enjoyed our conversations with her and thought she did a fantastic job.

During our trip, we visited all parts of the island and have to say that we will be back to this part of the island the next time we vacation to Hawaii. This part of the island has a more local feel to it and we really enjoyed the small town atmosphere as opposed to the resort areas of the island. We will definitely be staying at Pam and Kevin's the next time we're here. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice view

  • 4 of 5

We had a very nice view, it's close to the road but it didn't bother us, we had every meal outside looking at the ocean.

The place had everything we needed and Kevin and Pam were always quick to answer our questions. Waimea Canyon is close and the island is not too big so we were able to reach all places we were looking to visit. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

budget with $$ view

  • 4 of 5

This is a hard review to write, we are not trying to sound negative about the place!. We did enjoy the stay very much. We were only booked in for one night though.

Kevin is a very helpful and good host. Unfortunately due to our short visit we did not get much of a chance to meet Pam. They do have just about every thing you need for outdoor activities.

The suite is large, and you can see when first built was an awesome sight to behold.

The view from the front deck is spectacular. It is right on a main highway, ( ocean, road then house)so there is road traffic. However the bedroom is in the back, (with a very nice air conditioner) and we did not find noise (traffic or otherwise) a problem.

The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom big and spacious, ( though it could use a new shower head) and for the most part the whole place was clean.

There is an aura though of lack of clean throughout. Not from a lack of vacuuming, or dusting or wiping down, but, simply from the aging of the unit and lack of upgrading (carpets, doors windows, etc.etc) The state of the back yard, which although you don't rent or use, still is visible. So if you are someone who likes the new and shiny, you may not find this unit to your taste. Also it is an upstairs unit, with stairs, no type of lifts. I mention this in case stairs are an issue for traversing and because there is only one set. The stair situation should be looked into, both for some repairs and if nothing else, rope ladders should be supplied to allow for a rear egress in case of an emergency.

If visiting, we would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Auburn, CA
1

Great view, nothing else!

  • 1 of 5

This property would not pass most local or state, Safety and Health Inspections. Property is in very bad repair. Property has great ocean view, but is located less than fifty yards from a busy highway, with high truck traffic, day and night. Very Very High Noise. Also high noise from the owners living below. Furnishing are well worn. Kitchen utensils and dishware, very limited. Wifi and cable TV are adequate. Taking the trash out, involves going down a flight of rickety stairs, around the building, through a junk laden backyard, dodging dog droppings, passing a broken above ground pool, with standing water....Would have left sooner, if we could have changed flights.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are still a little stunned by this review.These folks stayed here nearly a month and seemed happy the whole time. They never complained about anything, but were a little needy. We checked with them to see if they needed anything every other day as they were older, (we're no spring chickens, but they were 20 years older), and we try to keep people happy. She liked to go to the Catholic church EVERY morning and do laundry EVERY day, but he was in too bad of shape to do much of anything. He complained of being sick most of the time so we were concerned for him, ( not sure why they booked a second floor apt.). We ARE getting a new refrigerator, even though this one works great, but as we have said many times, there is nothing we can do about traffic except make sure people are aware. This noise was highly exaggerated in their review and WE are not noisy at all. I guess when you stay that long, you hear a little bit of everything, (if you're trying). We don't rent the backyard, we rent an apartment with an amazing ocean view, but we live here and use our backyard like any folks do. Sometimes it gets messy, but if they had said something , we would have taken their trash out for them, (EVERY day it turns out). So if you can't stand a little rust on your refrigerator , taking out your trash, or occasional road noise, then maybe we're not the place for you. But if you love a great location with an amazing view, laid back atmosphere, helpful & generous hosts, then come on by! We can't please everybody, but we sure try!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the West Side!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had the best stay! We stayed at this property for 10 nights and was a great central location to visit Waimea Canyon, snorkeling at Salt Pond Park (go early in the morning for the calmest water and not too windy) and take a drive on the beach at Polihale. Kevin and Pam made us feel right at home and we did not want to leave!! I had quite a few items on my list of things to do while we were there, but found ourselves on the beaches in front of and near the house most of the time as you get a great sunrise and sunset view from the balcony. The market is close by and BBQ'd quite a few nights. Kevin and Pam have lots of beach gear (chairs, umbrellas, water shoes etc.) for your use which is nice. We do plan on returning and will be staying here again. Thanks Kevin & Pam!!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
45 Minutes from Airport, Below Waimea Canyon
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kekaha Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 1 2017 - Mar 31 2018
1 night minimum stay
$145
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$125
$850
 

Additional information about rental rates

We are always open to offers.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties