check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ron Vaught

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Oceanfront Tree House

21 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rivas House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

There is no better place to experience the peace, quiet and unsurpassed natural beauty of Nicaragua's 'Pacific Riviera' than in this unique 'tree house' in the private gated development of Redonda Bay. The house features a large deck built around a huge native 'Panama Tree,' the perfect spot for sipping a morning cup of coffee or afternoon Sangria.

There are great views from each window, whether of the ocean, cove, hillside or pool. The view from the bedrooms truly makes you feel as if you're living in the Swiss Family Robinson tree house. Perched on the hillside, the house offers seclusion and privacy, with only our occasional guests, the howler monkeys, to keep you company.

From the tree deck as well as from the separate deck around the private pool, you can see and hear crashing waves in the cove below, glimpse the coastline of Costa Rica, and take in spectacular sunsets. The shaded hillside lot stays cool year round, and is pleasantly landscaped with flowers and vines. Redonda Beach--a five-minute walk from the house--offers beachcombing, snorkeling, sunbathing and swimming in a sheltered bay. Fishing or excursions to a variety of beaches (several featuring world class surfing) can be arranged in nearby Gigante. Hike and explore the village and sandy beaches, and maybe even witness turtle migrations!

Cook in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue on the deck or enjoy the excellent and inexpensive local seafood and other cuisine at neighboring beachfront restaurants, just a 10-minute drive or 30-minute walk in Gigante. You can also enjoy a great meal or cool drink at Bromelia restaurant on Redonda Beach, a very short walk from the house. There is no dishwasher, but the view from the kitchen window makes it a pleasant chore. Or leave the dishes for the housekeeper (included with the rental), and instead read a book or nap in a hammock. Excursions to nearby sites can be arranged, and water sports equipment rental is available. Spa treatments can also be arranged at the adjacent Aqua Spa & Resort. Be as lazy or as active as you desire. Nicaragua is a unique destination--discover it in style and comfort at this equally unique ocean front home.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ron Vaught (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Ron Vaught

We love the excitement of travel, but find our Nica home to be the perfect place to slow down and savor the moment. Nicaragua's beauty rivals anywhere we've visited, but the relaxed pace of living is what really appeals to us. Whether it's lingering over a fresh seafood dinner or strolling the beach, time and summer seem endless in Nicaragua.

Ron Vaught purchased this house in 2005

Why Ron Vaught chose Nicaragua

We have traveled much of the world, but until visiting Nicaragua never considered owning property abroad. Nicaragua is a well kept secret - we're happy to share it and invite you to experience the beauty of this diverse and welcoming country.

Reviews

4.8
based on 21 traveler reviews

Oceanfront Tree House
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews
5

A Piece of Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived just after dark to the cacophony of Howler Monkeys...what a welcome!

This property is in a spectacular location. Can you imagine waking up and sitting in the tree canopy on the deck with the ocean view, all we could say was wow! The beach, restaurant and bar owned and operated by the Aqua Resort was fabulous and their staff so friendly and professional. You will certainly get your exercise while you are here and we were so eager to participate. The hills and the stairs were a welcome activity. Also to have access to the yoga classes on the special platform overlooking Redonda Bay was Amazing. We shopped local and cooked and enjoyed some delicious meals.

Security was second to none.

We will definitely return.

Thanks Ron and Carolyn

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN, USA
4

Awesome beach, but rental could be improved

  • 4 of 5

I traveled with my boyfriend and three friends to Playa de Redonda. We stayed at the Oceanfront Tree House. The owner was very helpful in arranging the rental and providing information about the house and area beforehand. Here's the additional information I would have liked to have when making the decision of which rental to book.

The house is located in a gated community with the Aqua Wellness Resort. The area feels very secure with security guards located at the guard house and throughout the neighborhood Although you have many neighbors, you benefit from easy access to Playa de Redonda (absolutely beautiful) and to Aqua Wellness Resort amenities.

The beach is lined with butterfly trees and well equipped with beach loungers and hammocks. There is a bar/restaurant directly on the beach that serves delicious cocktails. Paddle boards and other items are also available to rent. However, the restaurant and the rentals are "resort prices."

I would recommend to anyone a visit to Playa de Redonda.

The house was nice, but there were a few problems. First, the house has three bedrooms with a total of three double/queen beds. There is an additional back house with another bed, but there is no AC in the back house.

Also, there are only AC units in the bedrooms. There is no central AC. This makes the house quite stuffy and warm. Since electricity is quite expensive in Nicaragua, the owner requests that you only use the AC in the rooms while you are there.

The primary on-site contact was not very helpful. When we arrived, the pool was full of leaves. This was understandable, since it is a "tree house," but expected the pool to be clean when we arrived. We called the on-site contact and she sent someone to clean the pool the next morning.

There also was no hot water. We called again to ask about the hot water and were told that someone would also come fix the hot water, but no one ever came to fix it.

I would recommend the house, but only if your travel group is comfortable with cold showers and limited AC. Our travel group was fairly laid back, so these inconveniences were not very significant. Great location, beautiful beach, and with a few changes/updates the house could be a fantastic rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Wow! Doesn't get better than this

  • 5 of 5

Wow.

This place is amazing.. We had reserved it for a week to take our family down to relax in Nicaragua. After an amazing few days in Granada we headed to Gigante to e Treehouse. You can only imagine how stoked th 4 and 6 year old were when we walked out to the deck on the first day to be greeted by the monkeys in the trees. They were quickly identified and named and became a daily event. The house was solid build and had all the amenities we needed for our tropical vacation. Daily beers in the pool while looking at the coast made for the best days. The three minute walk to the beach made for easy excursions down to the ocean for daily swims and sandcastles. Also, having a little restaurant right on the beach made it easy for this dad to enjoy a cold beverage as the juniors played the day away. The town of Gigante is a rad little town that has not yet been too overrun and still has the fishing village vibe. There are a few good restaurants and we even found a little store in town to buy some necessities such as beer, limes, and treats for the kids. The owner Ron, was very easy to work with and his staff at the house was top of the chart. Thank you for an amazing trip that has made lasting memories..

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Beautiful house in a very relaxing environment.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this house for three nights. We rented a car at the airport and drove ourselves. We were worried about being stopped by the police, but this actually never happened. We were very careful to obey all traffic rules.

The house is lovely. We were only the two of us and it felt luxurious to have the entire house to ourselves. What we loved the most was the location of the house and the views. Beautiful ocean views through and above the trees. The house is built around a beautiful tropical tree. The deck of the house and the pool were some of our favorite parts of the house. The house was very clean. The kitchen was quite nice for a rental, but we did not use it much as we ate all our meals in the Aqua Resort which was a 5 minute walk. The house felt quite private and it was very quiet. We loved the bird sounds. Two of the days we were visited by the howler monkeys which sat in the trees around us. 16 of them. We could watch them from up close and we loved it! The pool was cleaned every day and the water temperature was perfect.

We also enjoyed the main bedroom we used with beautiful view. We did not care much for the bathrooms which were our least favorite parts of the house. Water pressure was poor in the shower in the main bedroom. The other issue we had was the AC. The house has two units. One for the downstairs and one for the upstairs. The upstairs one did not adequately cool the house and it was quite warm at night. We complained the second day and they came to fix it on the day we checked out. I also did not like the check-out as the guy who takes care of the house started cleaning the pool at 08:30 AM (check-out is 11:00 AM) We had planned to hang out by the pool all morning, but could not swim because he had poured chemicals in their to clean the pool and there was no swimming for two hours after that. I also think that that the people who came to fix the AC may have taken my mp3 player with expensive earphones. They seemed gone from our luggage. The house does have a safe and we had everything else of value in the safe and that was fine.

There is not much to do in the immediate area of the house except go to the beach that also is part of the Aqua Resort. We loved the quietude of the place. Not sure what it would be like if one stayed for a week and did not cook. The menu at Aqua was quite small.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy these guests enjoyed our house for all the reasons mentioned, which is the overwhelming response to staying there. The AC was apparently turned down so low it froze the upstairs unit - we've decided to install individual room AC's in the bedrooms for more effective cooling at night without having to cool the entire house, a challenging and expensive task in Nicaragua. We've talked to the property manager about the timing of pool cleaning - as indicated by this renter, the staff works hard to keep the pool, gardens and house clean and beautiful for all of our renters. Pool chemicals are added just once a week in the early morning and only prevent use of the pool for a couple of hours. The Aqua Resort restaurant is beautiful and convenient, but not the only option. We provide information about and encourage our guests to explore Gigante, just a 10 minute drive from the house - there are several enjoyable and less expensive restaurants and getting to know the locals is always a great experience. The suspected theft, regardless of who may have done it is disappointing, but thefts can occasionally occur when travelling, both at home and abroad. We always advise caution about securing personal possessions and provide the safe as an added precaution. We appreciate this renter's comments, both positive and less so, and we'll continue to do everything possible to assure a fantastic rental experience for all of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Better than the photos! Monkey watching fantastic!

  • 4 of 5

This house is lovely and better than the photos -- beautiful wood and a double deck -- one with pool and one wrapping tree above. Perfect alcove beach with soft sand and better snorkeling than expected right there along the rocks. Great fishing trip with largest mackerel the capt. had ever seen caught by my husband (arranged in El Gigante). Oscar, the groundskeeper/pool guy was wonderful and Sergio arrived in minutes for toilet repair. There are beach towels, sand toys, and boogie boards at the house -- and kayaks and snorkel equipment to rent at beach. Restaurants in El Gigante inexpensive and esp. good whole fish meals. Food at Redondo beach also good though more expensive (we ate most lunches there). Tono, nicaraguan beer, liked by all. Great place to practice your Spanish unlike urban areas. Take extra time in Rivas to shop at the fresh food stores not just the Pali market which is mostly packaged goods. Cons -- shower pressure ridiculously low (a few random sprays), refrigerator not very cool (though freezer was), and bar soap would have been nice. Not much to do nearby which was ok for us (we travel lots so weren't looking for this to be a huge adventure/anthropological/cultural trip) -- very relaxing two-family trip with small children and young adults.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're always happy to know that renters have enjoyed what Nicaragua and our house offers. We appreciate feedback about anything we can do to make each guest's stay more enjoyable and would like to mention that: - The water pressure problem in the shower has been fixed and there is now plenty of pressure! - Bar soap is routinely provided for guests and not having it available was an oversight (and the maid's supply has been restocked). - We just stayed at the house and the fridge seemed adequately cold, but we are replacing it with a new one anyway.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Salt Lake City, Utah USA
5

A Great Escape

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently returned from our stay in the Tree House. We had a wonderful time. We loved the location, the beach (Redonda Bay, especially), the proximity to the Acqua Wellness Resort (for massages, dining, etc.), the wildlife (birds, monkeys, etc.), and the Tree House. For the most part, the home was beautiful, comfortable, and in great condition, though the bathrooms (especially) and kitchen could use some work. Our only disappointment was that the Tree House does not provide as much privacy as we had hoped. There are neighboring houses nearby. More importantly, each day we were there the staff arrived early in the morning and stayed for most of the day, so there was almost always someone else nearby whether we were by the pool or in the house (since the large windows do not have curtains). It's a minor critique, but we were hoping to have more privacy. Overall, we loved our stay at the Tree House and and we would love to return with our kids some day.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Augusto Sandino International Airport - Managua
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Hacienda Iguana Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Bromelia Restaurant (Aqua Resort) - 5 minute walk
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Redonda Beach (5 minute walk from the house)
Car: recommended

Sightseeing and shopping in historic Granada, Masaya Market and San Juan del Sur. Visit Masaya and Mombacho volcanoes, and Ometepe Island. Zipline tours can be arranged. Boats for hire in Gigante for deep sea fishing or coastal excursions. Iguana Golf Course is nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rivas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Semana Santa
Apr 10 2017 - Apr 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,350
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

Housekeeping is included 3 days each week. Seasonal rates apply during Semana Santa and over Christmas/New Year holidays. Rates for longer visits are negotiable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rivas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 4 - Located in bodega
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Shared by upstairs bedrooms
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , On main floor
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1) Master BR, Double Beds (3) 2 bedrooms + Bodega
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers