Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

New Luxury Villa, Prime Location, At The Best Pink Sand Beach on the Island!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 - King Suites With Private Full Baths Each, 1 - Half Bath, 6 Guest Maximum

“Whel-Appointed” A brand new, custom built luxury villa designed with 1 or 2 adult couples in mind. Whether it's a romantic getaway with just your sweetheart or a relaxing retreat with your dearest friends, you will truly enjoy this beautiful, fully equipped luxury villa located at the very best pink sand beach on the island. Your well-appointed Caribbean plantation style designer villa offers two first floor lock-out master king bed suites and a second floor queen size Murphy bed that’s perfect for your extra guests. You will truly love the up-to-date, modern day luxury features it has to offer you: Fully air-conditioned, hand crafted cypress cabinetry, designer appliances, polished concrete countertops, kitchen island seating, comfortable dining and lounge area, fine lighting, fixtures and furniture, cypress ceilings, doors and crown moldings, ceiling fans throughout, 3 LED/HD satellite tvs & mini theater system, book library, room safes, free local calling & high speed DSL wifi, screened windows & doors, roof top deck, dual wrap around covered balconies with mahogany outdoor furniture, professional ss gas grill, beach towels, chairs, coolers, snorkel gear, umbrellas. 3/4 acre property, prime location in what's considered the Heart of the Golden Mile area. Only 210 feet from French Leave Beach aka Club Med Beach… The Best Pink Sand Beach on The Island!

THE BEACH - “French Leave Beach” aka Club Med Beach: You will find this beach totally amazing in every single way imaginable! It is the very best pink sand beach on Eleuthera, many people say in The Bahamas. You will truly enjoy your proximity to this beautiful 1 mile long, 150 foot wide, crescent shaped powdery pink sand beach. Lined with casuarina trees, coco palms, colorful tropical plants and 2 cays dotting each point in the glistening warm turquoise waters. At only 210 feet from the front door of your villa, its only a 1 minute walk on the semi-private level footpath located right in front of your place. This picturesque and nearly secluded stunning pink sand beach is perfect to enjoy swimming, sunbathing, floats and rafts, the warm crystal clear water has a nice sandy bottom. Snorkeling just off shore, along coral reefs you will see many colorful tropical fish. The ocean waves, beach and water temperature vary depending on the season, 70-85 degrees with 1-3 foot waves, no strong undertows, drop offs or rocks to worry about. In the afternoon the friendly local fishermen returns with his catch of the day. He will gladly sell you fresh fish, lobster and conch before heading off to town, great prices highly recommend to purchase.

THE HOUSE - “Whel-Appointed”: Custom built, fully air conditioned and furnished for adult couples in mind. The perfect design, layout, furnishings and location for you to truly relax in style and comfort. You'll fall in love with its unique dual wrap around covered balcony's with its mahogany outdoor furniture including a dining table, six dining chairs, four Classic rocking chairs, two Adirondack rocking chairs, two lounge chairs, four side tables and two beach chests. Kick-back and enjoy cool ocean breezes, sounds from the surf, scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean, French Leave Beach, Chalows Pond and the back drop of Buccaneer Hill right from your luxury villa . This house is facing towards the ocean and is perched above a leveled, freshly landscaped ¾ acre property. Located in a quiet, upscale, prime home rental area just outside of town with off street parking. The large back yard access’s Chalows Pond, a lake size body of water visited by many native birds to watch. Walk across historic Banks Road to a short, quick and easy footpath leading you directly to French Leave Beach. We supply beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, and snorkel gear for your enjoyment at the beautiful beaches. All the favorite waterfront and beach front restaurants on the island are within a 5 minutes drive, serving freshly prepared breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails. Occasionally see local musician’s playing Caribbean style music at these friendly establishments.

THE ISLAND - “Eleuthera, Bahamas”: What you won't find on this beautiful island - crowded beaches, street or beach peddlers, traffic lights or jams, large resorts, casinos, nightclubs, glassy high rise condos, chain stores, dining with herds of people and waiting in endless lines with stressed-out folks. if you enjoy this, Eleuthera is not the island for you. What you will find is many and miles of beautiful pink secluded beaches & coves, peace and quiet, solitude, lush tropical atmosphere, safe and sound surroundings, warm weather, clear waters, fresh air, blue skies & star lit nights, fresh food prepared to order, boutique style hotels & shops and peaceful quaint colonial settlements throughout with the friendliest people around. If you imagine enjoying your holiday vacation this way, than Eleuthera is the Bahamas out island for you. Come, explore and enjoy life - experience this truly unspoiled paradise playground !!!

More Details

Property Manager
David Wockenfuss
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, Use Oper for other lang add more here
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About David Wockenfuss

Hometown: Maryland - USA

David Wockenfuss purchased this house in 2011

Why David Wockenfuss chose Governor's Harbour, The Bahamas

Prime Location, Location, Location

What makes this house unique

Custom Built, Designed and Furnished for "Adult Couples" and Small Families In Mind.

3 Unique Rental Types Offered; see lease agreement for further information.

2 Large First Floor Level Lock-Out King Bed Master Suites, equal size and layout.

1 Queen Size Lock-Out Murphy Bed Located on Second Floor Level, with half bath nearby.

Dual Wrap Around Covered Balconies With Extend Sun Deck.

Roof Top Deck Seating.

Located At The Best Sand Beach On The Island, "French Leave Beach" aka Club Med Beach.

Prime Location, In The Heart of What's Considered "The Golden Mile Area", Nearby All The Favorite Restaurants, Shopping, Town and Airport.

Amenities

Governor's Harbour, The Bahamas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6 ...
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • * Review Attached Rental Agreement for Cancelation Policy, House Rules and Additional Information.
  • ** Ranked #1 Five Star Vacation Rental Home on Eleuthera, #1 for The Bahamas and #6 for the Carbbean by Guest Reviews on Homeaway and VRBO.
  • *** A Premier Partner Badge Vacation Rental Home Listed on Homeaway and VRBO.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , With oversized tub
    Full Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , With oversized tub
    Half Bath - Second Floor Level - toilet , Large countertop and sink area
  • EACH PRIVATE BATHROOM contains plush combed Egyptian cotton towels, electric towel warmer, custom crafted cypress vanity cabinet, hand crafted designer coconut vanity mirror, custom crafted polished concrete vanity top with liquid hand soap disperser, hand carved polished travertine stone sink bowl, fine solid brass designer faucets & lighting fixtures, upgraded oversized arched bath tub with arched shower rod to provide maximum space, shower curtain, upgrade extended height toilet, accented glazed porcelain wall and floor tiles, floor rug, robe hooks, paper holder, premium shower nozzle with excellent water pressure and temperature, ceiling exhaust fans with light, brass tub / shower safety grab bar, stone soap shelf, venting screened windows with adjustable privacy blinds, 10' high cypress wood ceilings, crown moldings & doors. The half bath is located on the second level.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Lock-Out Master Suite; see rental agreement for details.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Lock-Out Master Suite; see rental agreement for details.
    Lounge Area - 1 queen , Lock-Out Murphy Bed; see rental agreement for details.
  • TWO - FIRST FLOOR LOCK-OUT MASTER BEDROOM SUITES WITH PRIVATE FULL BATHROOMS. Each bedroom suite contains a quiet air conditioning zone, king size bed, plush mattress, pillows, linens & comforter, extra blanket & pillows, large closet, 2 nightstands with lights & alarm clock, large dresser, vanity table with wall mirror, make-up mirror & chair, 40” led/hd satellite tv, phone with wifi and free local calling, in room safe, ten foot high cypress wood ceilings, crown & doors, large ceiling paddle fan, porcelain tile floors, screened windows, screened sliding glass door to wrap around covered balconies with mahogany chaise lounges, tables and chairs. Each suite is exactly the same size, very roomy and comfortable. They are separated by the entrance foyer and laundry area which contains a extra large capacity premium washer and dryer. Smoking is not permitted in house or on roof top deck, but allowed on grounds and all covered wrap around balcony areas.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Crow's Nest
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A rental vehicle is not necessary, but recommended for convenience and for exploring the island. We suggest to all guests to contact Edgar Gardiner, offering discounted daily and weekly vehicle rentals. If you prefer not to rent or drive a vehicle, taxi service is available to & from airport, shopping, restaurants and picking up supplies. Although our house is located at the best beach on the island with a nearby beachfront restaurant, there are many diverse and hidden beaches, coves, caves and cliffs - we suggest you go explore. In our home we provide directions, maps and books to help you locate the best areas to visit, dine and have drinks. The US dollar is accepted everywhere, atm and banks are in town, Visa and Master card are accepted at many restaurants, shops and stores. This is a safe, family friendly island the Eleutherans are a very warm, helpful and welcoming people and a treasure to get to know. Come and enjoy paradise, at our relaxing new Caribbean plantation style home.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(77 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
New Luxury Villa, Prime Location, At The Best Pink Sand Beach on the Island!
average rating of 5.0 based on 77 reviews
Lakewood
5

Ultimate Comfort in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was our 5th stay at Dave & Michele's home. We can honestly say every trip gets better, the local people are warm and inviting and most of all Dave & Michele are absolutely the BEST! They have made your comfort and needs for a perfect stay at their home the number one priority and it shows...

rent a vehicle with good ground clearance and EXPLORE the island, don't be afraid... you can't get lost! But most of all ENJOY your time here.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sure enjoyed all the pictures and messages you shared with us during your stay! It is wonderful to hear you had another great trip and visit. Thank you for taking such good care of our house! Next up, your 2018 visit! Best, Michele and David
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

The house is very nice and is just across the road of a beautiful beach. Room was nice and big. The upper floor is very well equipped. Appliances are top notch. Nothing to complain about this place.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carlos, We are so glad that you had a good time and enjoyed the house. Just let us know if we can host you again in the future. It was our pleasure. Best, Michele and David
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Whel Appointed Stay August 2017

  • 5 of 5

Well,

This was our 8th trip to Eleuthera but first time we rented Whel Appointed. We always stayed along Banks Road at French Leave Beach, we knew the area quite well.

We were one couple plus me ( 3 people). We used both bedrooms downstairs and the Murphy Bed ( me ) upstairs.

The house is very nicely furnished and has a tremendous location right across from French Leave beach. The beach is basically as good as it gets and is virtually empty the entire one mile length. Perhaps 10 - 12 people from the houses along the beach. its a 100 yard walk to the beach from the house, and the water is the best around.

I like to bonefish and these are often hanging around the shore of the 1 mile beach. I caught a few, normally more, but the full moon and wind was not right the time I was there ( 12 days) Hurricane Irma forced us to leave 2 days early, although it missed the island.

The bedrooms each have a shower and are spacious for 2 couples. And the bed upstairs I used is easy to pull down each night. There are 3 TV's in the house, and are connected with satellite. We had a minor problem this trip with the new satellite that restricted some channels, but the owner was going to correct next month.

The kitchen is well equipped with everything, a nice fridge and stove/ microwave, and we used this a few times.

We cooked out on the grill one day, and that worked well.

There is a wrap around porch on each floor with chairs, we used to hang swim wear and towels. Nice outdoor furniture although we did not use much.

There are 2 bins of beach chairs , umbrella, and floats, plus snorkel material ( fins). Recommend bringing your own mask. The beach as a a reef that many drive to to snorkel.

There is a great place to eat called Tippy's that is a mine down the road on the beach, and is a great walk around the beach ( 25 minutes) and I did that as well, and road back in our car with the others. You really need to rent a car on the island, and that easy to do from several people. About 70 a day is the going rate.

I recommend to visit a day or 2 over at Sky Beach club, with its swim up bar, Pascal's restaurant, and great beach as well. Visitors welcome.

The Whel Appointed. has good air conditioning and lighting (keep lights dim at night to avoid attracting small moths).

All in all, its a great place to stay and a very good value and location.

David the owner is very attentive to any needs and they have a local caretaker.

You won't be sorry!!

Enjoy!

A

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate your review and glad you chose our home to visit. David found a top-notch satellite guy to finish up the install on the brand new satelite system. As a seasoned vistor to the island, I'm glad you mentioned how the flying bugs can be sometimes and by keeping the interior and exterior lights low during the evenings certainly does work. Looking forward to assisting you guys on your 9th trip. Michele and David
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Veldhoven, NL
5

Beautiful house in a top notch location

  • 5 of 5

We spent three weeks at Whel Appointed this summer.

The house is beautiful and very well equipped. All the appliances are very high quality.

The position of the house is top notch.

Across the road, just a few steps away, there is French leave beach, which is gorgeous. And being close to Governor's Harbour , in a few minutes drive you reach restaurants, supermarkets, delis .

I'ts also very convenient for exploring the island as the house is located right in the middle of Eleuthera.

The owner, Mr. David W. responds to e-mails in real-time providing lots of useful information, not only about his property, but also about the island ( it was our first visit in Eleuthera, definitely not the last one ! ).

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your feedback on the house and the island. We sure love Eleuthera and we are really glad you enjoyed it as well. Please reach out to us if we can help you on your return visit. Take care, Michele and David
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Portland, Oregon
5

Fifth time's a charm!

  • 5 of 5

I've said it before, and I'll say it again...Whel-Appointed is magic. David and Michele have created a singular paradise here...with all of the amenities and thoughtful touches any savvy traveler could need. Fast Wi-fi? Yup. A great TV with more stations than you could ever watch? Got it. A DVD player, with tons of DVDs for that stormy night (including The Godfather, thank you very much)? Yeah, they have that too. It's just perfect, and the most beautiful beach is right across the street. I can't say enough. But please give it a try. You won't be disappointed! Oh, and we're planning our next trip back in 2019. :)

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for providing a review and we certainly enjoy your staying at Whel Appointed each and every time you visit! It is so nice to have you stay at the house because we know that you care about it just as much as we do. We look forward to staying in touch with you over the year or so until your next stay! Thank you Robin!! Take care, Michele and David P.S. Glad you enjoy the DVDs; we add a few more to the collection each time we are at the hosue.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing! Great place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

Eleuthera is an absolute dream and Whel-Appointed is the perfect home. David and Michele are the models for owning a rental property. We actually talked with a woman who does real estate and property management on the island, and she raved about them.

The home is beautiful and meticulously maintained. They've taken care of all the small details throughout the house. The kitchen is incredible with high end appliances and all the cookware you could need. It is clear a lot of love and passion went into building their place.

The location could not be better. The full wrap around verandas are fantastic and they've provided chairs and chaises at every turn, so no matter where you want to sit, they've got you covered. Both the views from the front and back of the house are fantastic. There is always a breeze, no matter what time of day. The only time we used the AC was at night, other than that, we simply kept the sliders open and had an amazing cross breeze.

You get a lovely view of the ocean, and we sat out on the veranda every morning and just watched the colors. You are literally across the way from one of the most amazing beaches in the world. They are not exaggerating. On top of that, the beach is almost empty. It's a 2 mile stretch, and the most people we saw the entire week was 8 other folks on the beach. There were times we were the ONLY people on the entire 2 mile stretch. We could not get over how crazy it was to be the only people on such an incredible beach.

I communicated with David throughout the reservation process and stay. He always responds immediately and was very helpful with all questions, concerns, and recommendations. Listen to his recommendations! He steered us right at every turn, especially with the car rental from Edgar. People on the island were surprised that we ended us with such a nice rental car. Edgar is the car man!

The only issue we had the entire time was some wasps nesting on the veranda. Was not really an issue, we mostly just wanted to let David know they were there. But he was immediately on top of it, and very concerned that we were taken care of.

I can not say enough good things about Eleuthera or Whel-Appointed. You will have a wonderful vacation if you stay here!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jennifer, It is hard to put into words how much we appreciate your very thoughtful and detailed review on our home, the beach, the Island and your entire vacation experience. You have checked all the boxes for us in terms of what we hope to provide the guests that stay in our home, so THANK YOU for sharing your experience with others. We get the impression that you fell in love with the Island so we hope to see you return. We get a lot of joy out of being a small part of your vacation experience and so thank you again for sharing with us!! Take care, Michele and David
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Tippy's
"Best restaurant on the island - only one mile south. Beachfront location, lunch, dinners, dr..."
WHEL-APPIONTED "A Luxury Vacation Rental Villa"
"To Find Out Further Information on this Luxury Vacation Rental Villa: Visit Homeaway.com or..."
Eleuthera
da Perk Coffee Shop
Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Governor's Harbour Airport (GHB) w/taxi services
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tippy's Restaurant; Fine Dining - 5 minute drive
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Governor's Harbour Dock - 5 minute drive
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
TIppys Restaurant; Beachfront - 5 minute drive
Nearest Beach
64 Metres
French Leave Beach - 1 minute walk or 220 feet
Car: recommended

Enjoy beach, ocean, lake and hilltop views from this convenient beach house location. 210 feet from best beach on Eleuthera, world famous Club Med Beach aka French Leave Beach. On historic Banks Road, in the heart of what is considered The Golden Mile Area. Tropical surroundings in quiet upscale luxury vacation home rental area. Stroll over to The Beach House, a new beach front restaurant to enjoy lunch, dinner and drinks. 1 mile from friendly settlement of Governors Harbour and Cupid’s Cay for shopping, restaurants and provisions. 1 mile from famous Tippys beach front restaurant and Pineapple Fields Resort. 15 minutes from Governors Harbour Airport ( GHB ) where you will arrive and depart, taxi service available. 1 hour direct flight from south Florida’s International Airports ( FLL or MIA ), or a 20 minute flight from Nassau ( NAS ).1 hour drive to north or south ends of island, explore secluded beaches, coves and quaint settlements along the way. Bahamas Fast Ferry arrives in town, visit the other islands

Other Activities: We Provide A Calendar Of Daily / Annual Events And Festivals That You May Wish To Attend.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99

Rental rates listed are based on 2 guests "ONE" lock-out master king bed suite.
.
. BOTH lock-out master king bed suites are automatically included for inquiries of 3 to 4 guests.
.
. ONE lock-out queen murphy bed and BOTH lock-out master king suites are automatically included for inquiries of 5 to 6 guests.
.
. The house is EXCLUSIVELY rented to one party at a time only.
.
. Please refer to our Lease Agreement during your payment process for further details.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund