check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Diane Boyle

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Chesapeake Bay Luxury Beachfront Retreat

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

White Stone House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Convertible bed, Sleeps 12

Get away from it all on Henry's Island offering alluring privacy and breathtaking views on the Chesapeake Bay. Enjoy the 5 acre Bay-front home whose private sandy beach includes unique Northern Neck sand dunes. Swim, crab, fish or use provided canoe, kayak, or paddle board to explore the water. Relax on lounge chairs with a frosty drink (margarita machine included). Take in the Bay breeze while reading a book or sleeping on the beach. The open floor plan and 9 ft. ceilings provide a spectacular view to watch bald eagles, osprey and heron without leaving the beautifully furnished house. Dine inside overlooking the Bay or eat outside on the patio set after using the gas grill. Three king bedrooms (including two master suites), a bunk room and a separate play room make it comfortable and fun for adults and kids alike.

Something for Everyone: Tour one of historic Northern Neck's 19 museums, golf several excellent courses just minutes away including the award-winning King Carter Club (Golf Digest's 2006 best affordable public course in America) or sip Virginia's finest wines on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail. Sail, shop or dine in award-winning restaurants nearby. An easy drive to historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country USA.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Diane Boyle (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Diane Boyle

We love the relaxed atmosphere of being right on the Chesapeake Bay where going to beach doesn't require leaving the property.

Diane Boyle purchased this house in 2009

Why Diane Boyle chose Virginia

Just a short distance from DC, this private location provides a soft sandy beach to relax. However relaxing doesn't mean boring. The historic Northern Neck of Virginia has award winning golf, hiking, biking, fishing, boating, history (birthplace of three US presidents), art, antiques, and vineyards.

What makes this house unique

The private beach and endless Bay views makes it perfect for relaxing and playing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time. Fantastic view! It's a great retreat so close to home.
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)
Chesapeake Bay Luxury Beachfront Retreat
average rating of 4.709677 based on 34 reviews
Mapleton, IL
4

Relaxing, private, and clean!

  • 4 of 5

My husband, our four children, and I had a very relaxing time in this home. Unfortunately, it rained (and was unusually chilly) all but one of the days we were there. If the fireplace had been connected, it would have made the cold weather a little less disappointing, so that was unfortunate, but overall, it was still a lovely time.

The owner was accommodating and very attentive/responsive to any questions we had. The kitchen/bathrooms/towels were well-stocked.

The home is very quiet and secluded, which was exactly what we were looking for. The waterfront is exclusive, which means you won't have people walking by your house while you're enjoying the view. The water is nice and shallow - perfect for little ones to play and splash. But be careful of the coral on the rocks out front - it is sharp! Two of our kids cut themselves by trying to climb on the rocks. Pool/water shoes are definitely recommended!

We look forward to visiting again when the weather is warmer and we can enjoy the beach more!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were disappointed the weather stayed cool for so long. Hopefully, next time will lend itself to more outdoor time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very unique beachfront home on the Bay

  • 5 of 5

Henry's Island is a very secluded and unusual location for the mostly developed Rivah/Bay area due to its privacy and beautiful sand beach. With uninterrupted views across the bay and the lovely turquoise water (due to the large sand bar in front of the house) one would be excused for thinking this house sits on a Caribbean island. The house is well appointed and great for family rentals with lots of space and all the amenities a renter needs. Highly recommended. Thanks!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Chilly Spring Break

  • 4 of 5

Nice waterfront property. The beach is very pretty. The house is a nice size, perhaps a bit dated and would be even better with some beach friendly colors. We had a few issues, but the owner was very responsive and accountable so that is a plus. The weather was quite chilly so we didn't get to swim much. There is not a lot to do outside of the beach if you are looking for dining or shopping options. We would like to check it out during the summer months as we love to swim and fish and crab and we didn't get to do that this time around due to the cold weather.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Warmer weather does allow for more water activities, but the view is calming even in chilly weather especially if you get a glimpse of the sea and wild life. It is a place to get away from hectic activities, but limited shopping is available in Kilmarnock and Irvington. We continually seek input on how to improve our guests' experiences and appreciate the tip to add more color. However, our family has four boys so soft beach colors are unlikley.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property was as advertised . A very exclusive, private location. Excellent amenities and view

  • 4 of 5

This is one of the best Chesapeake beach locations you will ever find on the Virginia shore, and we are very partial to the Northern Neck area of Virginia because of it's unspoiled beauty and solitude. This property is in a great location. Very private, yet a quick drive to excellent resources in the towns of White Stone and Kilmarnock for restaurants and shopping. The house is in very nice condition, and clean. Modern utilities/appliances, all in good shape. Satellite TV and Internet worked well. The owner was very responsive to our questions and communications. Reasonably priced too. Plenty of bedroom space and bathroom space.

We actually like Chesapeake beach locations like this one in the winter time because all the crowds are gone and all the summer bugs and critters are gone too, so you actually can use the beach. Very nice public beach preserve nearby at Houghlet Point were you can do a very long beach walk. The beach front with this house is actually better than most in the area, in terms of size and beauty and privacy.

For any review to be valid, one must also include any negatives, even if minor ones. For our rental, only a few minor concerns ---- All the front porch lights were out, so a little dicey trying to climb the front porch stairs at night. Likely easily correctible. Upstairs Master showerhead very low water pressure. This only bothered my wife, not me. Was very nice to have three king size beds in the house, but the mattresses on those three beds were not all that comfortable, my wife thought too firm. Poor cell coverage way out there on the point ( some people actually like no cell service ), but owner provides a land-line and good Wi-Fi.

I definitely would recommend this rental, especially if you love the beauty and solitude and history of Virginia's Northern Neck, and beautiful views of the widest part of the Chesapeake Bay.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you had a good stay. Sorry about the porch lights. We'll definitely get the bulbs changed. Had you mentioned it, we would have let you know extra bulbs are above the fridge for instances when the bulbs go out without our notice. The cell service is indeed poor, but as you note that's why we have both free Wifi and a landline. Unfortunately the mattress firmness is a matter of personal preference. I'm not sure what we can do to address that one. However, all suggestions for improvement are appreciated so we'll continue to think on it.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Perfect

  • 4 of 5

Fantastic. Every thing was very comfortable and spacious and the location was fabulous. Diane, the owner, was great and prompt with answering questions. We hope to return.

Many thanks,

The Hoopers and friends

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to welcoming you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful secluded beach and amazing sunrises every morning

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful and accommodated our family for our annual trip to White Stone. The owner was very responsive with every question. We loved the beach and the ability to have a shallow area for young kids and yet still have a great area just outside the breakwaters to do long swims or kayak. We also loved waking up to the amazing sunrise just outside our window every morning.

The kitchen was well stocked and each of the bedrooms had very nice linens and towels. It was great having 2 laundry rooms! The house also has a great set of family board games and books.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to your visit next year. Glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Swank's on Main -- CLOSED
Sandpiper Reef Restaurant -- CLOSED
Reedville Fishermen's Museum
Food Lion
Willaby's
Nate's Trick Dog Cafe
Smokin' Joe's
Lee's Restaurant
Walmart Supercenter
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Newport News (PHF)
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
King Carter
Nearest Beach
Beachfront Property
Car: recommended

From Windmill Point Rd

Turn left on Island Pines Drive (private road)

Turn left on Windfall Lane

Other Activities: rafting, boating, kayaking

Photos

Rates & Availability

White Stone House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak 2016
Jun 25 2016 - Sep 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$610
$4,200
 
 
Fall
Sep 11 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Off Peak
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$375
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 5.3%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

White Stone House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
    Full 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , 2 single over full bunk beds
  • Bunk Bed (2) : Bunk Room with two bunk beds. Each has a twin bed above a full bed. Crib.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Margarita machine, high chair, movie projector, hair dryers

Partner Offers