check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Douglas Morton

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Spacious Charming Country Home for All Seasons -Golf-Ski-Relax

7 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Great Valley House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 9-13)

As soon as you enter our home you will fall in love with the grace and charm of its custom built Craftsman style. There are pocket doors, leaded windows, a spindled staircase and a wrap around porch. In the living room you can relax in front of a flat screen HDTV in any one of our four recliners. Or if you prefer you could grab a book from a shelf and curl up in front of the gas fireplace. If you want to cook the kitchen is furnished with pots, pans and cooking utensils. There is also a dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, and blender(with food processor attachment). Don't forget to pack your laptop because there is Wi-Fi internet access.

Each bedroom upstairs has its own unique features. There is a skylight to watch the star filled sky at night in one room and a cozy sitting room in another. Each bedroom has it's own bathroom. Queen size inflatable beds that will fit in any of the bedrooms upstairs or if need be the living room can be closed off for an extra sleeping space.

Holiday Valley Resort well known for skiing in the winter and golf the rest of the year is 4 miles away just outside the village of Ellicottville. There you will find quaint shops and a wide range of restaurants. The Seneca Allegany Casino is located in Salamanca 9 miles from the house.

Our home in Great Valley is centrally located to all the activities the area has to offer. Whether you ski, golf, hike, or love to shop you can make your stay anything you want it to be, from an energetic activity filled time to a cozy romantic getaway.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Douglas Morton (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Douglas Morton

We are new to the vacation rental business but not to the Great Valley, Ellicottville and Salamanca area. My husband grew up in the area. In fact we can see his parents house from our porch across the corn field and pumpkin patch. For more details on our home you can check out our Web site.

Douglas Morton purchased this house in 2008

Why Douglas Morton chose New York

There is always something to do. My favorite thing to do is sit on the porch in my rocking chair and my cup of coffee and watch the earth wake up.

What makes this house unique

We enjoy taking our grandchildren to 'grandma and grandpa's BIG House.' We play with them in the yard or on the playground across the street. They enjoy eating pizza and wings from the small market down the street or going out to town to get an ice cream cone. On Sunday's we go to the Baptist church on the corner and during the week we enjoy visiting with friends and relatives.

Reviews

4.9
based on 7 traveler reviews

Spacious Charming Country Home for All Seasons -Golf-Ski-Relax
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
Ontario
4

Nice house, short drive to town and ski hills

  • 4 of 5

We stayed three nights and skied both Holimont and Holiday Valley. The house is a well-restored older home with all the amenities you would want. It could easily accommodate 10, although we only had six. The owners were very helpful. No more than a five minute drive to Holiday Valley, located south of there in Great Valley.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a freat Christamas break stay ar Dough's house. It was neat, with first class linens and towels, to name a few nice surprices. Even we were expecting a skiing weekend, having no snow was not a problem as the house was big enough and the backyard great for us to enjoy. it was a great plus to be able to bring our 2 dogs with us!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you found our home comfortable and enjoyable. The grounds are great for family gatherings with a BBQ pit, Fire Pit, Volley Ball Net in the Summer and Playground across the street. Even when the weather is bad, the access to Hulu and Amazon on the Roku will provide plenty of family entertainment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

First Winter Snow ....

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful home to experience winter fun for family. Those that traveled from Florida saw snow for the first time, snuggled by the wonderful fireplace and slept while visions danced through the heads! We wanted for nothing as every possible thing you could need was provided. The house embraced us with love. The owners have done a wonderful job...even as the temp dropped to minus 3 we were warm and happy! Hope to have the opportunity to visit in the Summer.....

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First snow memory making is so much fun. We are so happy your stay was warm and enjoyable. We are excited about the possibility of you returning to make some Summer memories.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family stay for skiing

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our family stay. 4 adults, 4 teens and our dog. The house filled all of our needs and then some. Good kitchen and dining table that seats 12. 4 bathrooms a huge plus getting ready anytime of day. Everything about the house was inviting and comfortable. Short drive to Ellicottville and ski slopes. Huge plus for us, pet friendly. I wish more VRBO properties would consider pets.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Grace Depot House is ideal for family getaways any time of the year. Beside the inviting accomodations within the house, there are 1.5 acres of lawn for outdoor games and activites. The fire pit is great for a marshmallow roast under the stars on a clear summer night. The playground across the street will keep the children occupied for hours. The location is private, quiet and a great place to bring the family pet. We are so glad you discovered our home and look forward to having you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

UofT Pharmacy Skiers

  • 5 of 5

Our group of retired pharmacists thoroughly enjoyed our ski reunion at this comfortable home. The owners were most agreeable, the house was clean, convenient and well supplied. We brought our meals (and wine) and enjoyed gathering around the large dining table. We also appreciated having our own bathrooms for ski-readiness in the a.m.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad your group enjoyed their stay. We make every effort to be sure that the Grace Depot House has everything you need for an enjoyable, comfortable stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toronto, Canada
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

Great house, clean, equipped with clean sheets, towels and the kitchen is fully functional. We came down from Toronto as every year to ski (3 families) and this is by far the best accommodation close by Holiday Valley. Owner was helpful with tips and answered any questions we had. I recommended it 100%!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Buffalo Airport
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Holiday Valley
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Route 219
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Holiday Valley
Nearest Point of Interest
Holiday Valley Resort
Car: necessary

Amish Country, Alpaca Farm, Pumpkinville, Bear Mountain Furniture, Zoar Valley, Little Rock City, Sky High Adventure Park. Seneca Nation Casino, Railroad Museum, Allegheny State Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Great Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,575
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

Christmas/New Years week rates - $2700/week, Holiday Rates $475/night.
Pet fee - $25/pet/night - 2 dog limit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Great Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Yellow Room - 1 queen , Private bathroom - Ceiling fan
    Sky Light Room - 1 king , Great view of the stars - Ceiling fan
    Julian's room - 1 bunk bed , Twin over Full - Ceiling Fan - Private Bathroom
    Master Suite - 1 queen , Sitting room and private bathroom - Ceiling fans
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Port-a-Crib (1), Bunk Beds (1) Lower bunk is double bed, Queen Air Beds (2).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
10 foot Amish oak dinning room table

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties