check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chuck and Mary Egle

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Green, unique, comfortable, open loft cabin

8 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Amherst Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms + loft, 2 full bathrooms, jacuzzi, sleeps 8

Welcome to an exquisite, eco-friendly way of vacationing and getting away from it all! From its solar water heat to the recycled lumber, this cabin packs many eco-sensitive features to bring you comfort in style. Its artistic flair can be experienced in everything in the handcrafted countertops, the exquisite tree staircase, and right down to the mosaic bathroom floor. You'll be pleasantly toasty in the winter with the radiant heat and gas fireplace. Plenty of windows and open floorplan keeps the space light-filled throughout the day.

Need to unwind? Let the jacuzzi massage the tension away. Read a book in the airy loft. Watch a DVD. Or simply take a walk to the neighboring Cameron House (on the same property).

Biking, canoeing, trout fishing, hiking, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, are a few activities for you to enjoy on your vacation.

Eco Sensitive: This cabin was built in 2008 using sustainably harvested trees. The roof substructure and all major beams were repurposed from older buildings in the area. The building is mainly insulated with a green, soy-based spray foam insulation which keeps the interior warm and quiet.

The radiant heat and water heating system is powered through a solar / gas-boiler combination system. All makes for a quiet, even heat that foot-warming friendly. It keeps the air more comfortable and less dusty in the winter when compared to forced-air systems. This is a boon for those with indoor allergies and asthma.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Chuck and Mary Egle (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

Green, unique, comfortable, open loft cabin
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
4

Amazing and clean cabin

  • 4 of 5

My family and I stayed in this cabin for a week from Aug 13-Aug 20. The cabin was truly unique and was also very clean and was stocked with everything that we needed, except for personal items and food. It was very spacious and it has a large yard, with it being a country setting. It is also close to Waupaca (only about a 10-15 minute drive). The only downfall that we ran into is that there is a sign by the kitchen sink stating to not consume or cook with the tap water, due to high levels of nitrate in the water. We were not warned of this ahead of time and had to buy tons of bottled water. Be prepared to buy plenty of bottled water if you plan on staying in this rental. Other than that, everything else was great!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An amazing stay

  • 5 of 5

It's was an amazing stay for the new year friendly people in town great museums around. All age-friendly. Definitely worth the price and drive!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Christmas Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed spending Christmas, weekend with extended family, in this very charming cabin. We filled it with music, laughter, and good food. The cabin is very artistic and I found myself just taking it all in. We took some wonderful family photos. The best part was being able to bring our dog along. We read books, made a fire outside, played checkers, and put puzzles together. At night we watched movies, although that was kind of difficult due to the very small size of the tv. The owners have the cabin very well stocked...everything we needed was there including a beautiful live Christmas tree in the loft. The cabin was very clean and welcoming. A big thanks to the owners for sharing such a wonderful place with us!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic!!!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we started walking down the brick path past the lit archway to the cabin we knew we were in for a treat! It was more than we expected and close to so much yet nestled away from the busy life. Since we were there in October the heated floors were great as well as the gas stove fireplace on main floor and lower floor. The circular stairs which incorporated snow shoes and a tree was the talk of our conversations with friends and family. Since we were there for a wedding our only regret is not having more time to spend at the cabin. A plus is they do accept well behaved dogs. :)

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Really really nice place, good times were had by all. Would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Wisconsin
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful and unique cabin that has everything one might need and so many interesting works of craftmanship to look at. We enjoyed our experience very much and even had an opportunity to fish in the river that is right out the back door and sit around by the fire. The host was very helpful and pleasant and the cabin was very clean. The only drawback that I can comment on is that there are houses close by, and the highway is also quite close (although neither bothered us). If you are looking for a very serene and secluded private location, this might not be your top choice.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: necessary

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, the Sentry Theater, The Midwest Renewable Energy Association (MREA), MREA Energy Fair (June), Iola Car Show (July), Chocolate Festival (November), Nelsonville Mill Performance Series, Yellowstone Trail, Ice Age Trail, Tomorrow River Biking Trail, Rustic Roads (sightseeing), Tomorrow River, Indian mounds, Cameron House, other historic homes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Amherst Cottage Rental Rates

Notes

  • $1177 / week; $477/ 2 nights for up to 4 people , additional people are $25@ for the length of stay
  • Please contact owner for rates and pet deposits /fees.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Amherst Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , main floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , jetted tub , 1st floor
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • main floor bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1st floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1st floor
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , trundle bed
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 3 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
The main floor living area is accented with a tiled gas stove with a view of the fire. The first floor has a sitting area with an electric fireplace. The first floor also has radiant floor heat.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers