check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Leighton Collis

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Fabulous beach house in Nantucket's most prized neighborhood: Brant Point

11 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Nantucket House Rental Photos and Description

5 bed, 3 bath with gourmet kitchen, private lane and widows-walk water views

Perfect for two families with children or for five couples. Bedrooms on first and second floors. At the end of a private oyster-shell lane, this beach house has a wonderfully quiet location yet is close to town and beaches. New AC on first floor.

The widow's walk offers 180-degree views from Nantucket Harbor to the ocean. Tranquil and lovely.

The house faces south, so sunlight floods the living room, sunroom and kitchen. It has a light and airy feel. There's an outdoor shower, of course. Large Weber gas grill, too.

2016 house lift makes the most of views of two acre conservation land, sweeping harbor and Sound views from widows walk. New marble bath with clawfoot tub, new floors, all new furniture and decor.

Children's Beach is a 1/4 mile away. Jetties Beach, with it's snack bar, changing rooms and bathrooms, is a half mile away. Many guests don't bring a car but walk or bike. There is two parking spots on the private lane.

We don't allow weddings or parties, apologies.

Here's what our guests say:

'The house was perfect and had so many great surprises: we loved the pizza stone a lot!. Thanks for a great time.' Western Massachusetts family

'The Widow's Walk was a huge hit with our kids. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.' Naples, FL family

'We had a great week! Thanks Leighton!' Scituate ladies weekend

'Your home is beautiful! We enjoyed our stay and your home was the perfect size for two families.' Chicago family

'The house was great and we have to reiterate 'It was superb'' Couple from Westport, CT

Bedroom/bath configuration (floor plans in gallery): Second floor: large master with queen bed; corner bedroom with queen bed; corner bedroom with full bed. One bath with over-sized shower stall.

First floor: corner bedroom with queen bed; corner bedroom with two twins that are often pushed together; one full bath, one half bath.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Leighton Collis (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.4
based on 11 traveler reviews

Fabulous beach house in Nantucket's most prized neighborhood: Brant Point
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 11 reviews
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 10 that stayed here for Memorial Day Weekend and it was perfect. The house is in great shape and is such a close walk to downtown and/or the beach. There really is no need to even bring a car as you won't even use it!

Also, the house comes with a great deck and backyard so were able to enjoy some of the nice weather for a little backyard cookout. I'd recommend this house highly to anyone looking to stay in Nantucket!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great House!!

  • 5 of 5

A group of 6 of us rented this house for a long weekend early in the season. It is in a great location walking distance to the beach and town. The owner has done a great job with the house and it is very comfortable for a group of this size. I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for luxury and location.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

5 star stay!

  • 5 of 5

This was an all-around great rental for the second week of July! We had a total of 7 people and had more than enough room to come and go, relax in the living room, eat nice meals at the large table, and sleep comfortably. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and everything we needed for cooking/serving meals.

The house has been renovated quite a bit and the updates are very well done and up to date (according to my wife!) We were really glad to have the use of A/C throughout the house because it was very hot the week we were there and it helped us stay cool and sleep easier.

The location was the primary reason we wanted this house, and we weren't disappointed at all. The kids were able to ride bikes into town and Jetties Beach safely within 5min. And, it's at most a 15min walk to the Straight Warf in the absolute center of town for dinner and a stroll back at night, stopping on the way back at the Juice Bar for the best homemade ice cream in the world! We rented bikes from Cook's Cafe for the week and basically grabbed lunch wraps from Cook's and rode every day to a different beach. The house is in a great spot to hit the bike paths at either Cliff Rd (Dionis and Madaket), Chester St. (Surfside), or Lily St. (Nobadeer) and avoid the cobblestone streets and traffic of town.

This was a great experience for our family and the friends we brought. I highly recommend it and look forward to going back!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rochester
5

Wonderful House - great location, private setting

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay. The house was nicely tucked away on a private lane. Walking distance to the beach and town provided great flexibility for everyone. The house was nicely renovated and offered comfortable living space for our family. The outdoor areas were very well cared for and enjoyable throughout the day and evening. Very responsive owner as well!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

We strongly advise you find another property

  • 1 of 5

We have rented several homes over the years and this was our first negative experience. The owner charged double the standard cleaning fee with the only cleaning-related explanation given that we changed the sheets midweek; presumably, this required additional laundering. Then, his check for the remaining returned deposit bounced. Ordinarily I would not take the time out to leave a poor review, but I feel obligated to share our experience in case it might prevent others from enduring a similar experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest rented my home for a wedding without disclosing this. Yet she published her wedding in the NY Times. We don't allow our home to be used for parties and it specifically says so in the rental contract this guest signed. She also gained access to a locked maid's closet and used the linens intended for the next set of guests. So, yes, we charged her a higher cleaning fee and that's all we charged. When she grew aggressive and threatened legal action, I referred this to my attorney and stopped payment. HomeAway reviewed her complaints and dismissed them. We chose not to pursue legal action for her abuse of our contract and my home. Unfortunately, one bad guest makes us rethink renting a home that is cherished by my children. This guest is not welcome to return; we wish her well on her path to integrity.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

My group of 10 booked this lovely house for a friend's wedding. Although we were initially concerned about 5 girls with only 2.5 bathrooms, it worked out well. There was plenty of space for everyone, whether it was group meals, getting ready for the wedding, or just hanging out at the house. We especially loved the "widow's watch" rooftop deck that has incredible views of town and the water. The pictures don't do the place justice, it's very well maintained and beautifully furnished and decorated. It is also a very short walk (10-15 minutes) to town to the stop 'n shop (grocery store), restaurants, and shopping. Many of my friends who stayed elsewhere commented that we had the best house, and I agree!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

The island's most sought-after location: Brant Point. Walk to beaches (Children's and Jetties), Town, The White Elephant, ferries and shops and boutiques. Located on a private oyster shell lane, the street has no through traffic and private parking. The house borders 2 acres of nature preserve, so it's quiet yet close to town. A unique location.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Brant Point House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
August 2016
Jul 31 2016 - Sep 3 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$9,000
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 5 2016 - Nov 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$850
From
$850
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,500
 
 
June 2017
May 28 2017 - Jul 1 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
4 night minimum stay
$8,000
 
 
July 2017
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 29 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$10,000
$40,000
 
 
August 2017
Jul 30 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$14,000
$50,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $600

A 50% deposit confirms your reservation and holds your week. We take it off the schedule when the deposit is received. The balance, security deposit and cleaning fee are collected two months prior to your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Nantucket House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Ocean View ...
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Tankless hot water never runs out
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
    Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Lavendar - 1 queen
    Grandma's - 1 queen
    Kid's - 2 twin/ single
    Ship's Cabin - 1 double
    Master/Paisley - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
What's Included: Kitchen: SubZero frig, Wolf six burner range, microwave, Bosch dishwasher, granite counters, pots and pans, silverware, glasses, plates. Sunroom: Flat screen TV, cable, games. Back deck: Weber grill, table, chairs, outdoor shower, picnic table. Bedrooms: Linens and blankets; not all bedrooms have bureaus Baths: towels, hair dryers Washer and dryer What to bring: Toilet paper, shampoo, soap, Nantucket-required clear trash bags.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties