check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Wendy Sabin

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

6 BR, Sleeps 11, Near Park Entrance & Sand Beach!

12 Reviews
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Otter Creek House Rental Photos and Description

6-bed, 2-bath, sleeps 11

Summer bookings: Saturday to Saturday only

Check-in/check-out: 4:00 PM check-in, 10:00 AM check-out

Pets are not allowed (we love them too, but there are no exceptions, sorry!)

Embrace nature in a home with large windows and sun room overlooking very private treed lot. Conveniently located on Otter Creek Drive (Route 3), the house is only five miles to downtown Bar Harbor for dining, shopping, catching a whale watch or nature cruise, or cooling off with some blueberry ice cream. Within the park, serene Otter Cove or 110-foot high Otter Cliff are minutes away. Access the scenic Park Loop Road at the Sieur de Monts Spring, just two miles away. Other island activities are easily accessed via Rt. 3.

Within Acadia NP, you can watch the tide at Thunder Hole, snack on popovers at Jordan Pond Tea House, or go horseback riding. Explore the park's 45-mile carriage road system on bike or horse-drawn carriage. Hike through forests and up mountains on 125 miles of trails. Kayak at Jordan Pond and Eagle Lake. Take a dip at Echo Lake or Sand Beach to refresh. Whatever you do, you’ll have stunning views of the mountains of Mount Desert Island and Frenchman Bay.

Amenities: The house is fully equipped for your large traveling party, with flexible arrangements which sleep up to 11 people on three levels. The large living and dining area offers full view of the outdoors with large windows. Lower level sun room offers additional living space for games, puzzles, reading, etc. The open kitchen is fully stocked, from crock pot to lobster pot. The large deck is just off the kitchen, complete with outdoor seating and propane grill. Pack light by making use of washer, dryer and detergent. Keep your bikes or other gear dry in the attached garage. The house has a large lawn, but is surrounded by trees for privacy. Feel free to use the puzzles, games, books, DVD player, cable TV, and WI-FI Internet after a full day enjoying the island and the park. For families with small children, we have a pack and play and high-chair available. There is plenty of parking on the long driveway.

Activities: We hope you enjoy Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island as much as we do. We've been coming here since 2005 and still find new trails to hike, roads to bike, spots to nature-watch. We've rarely done anything twice, other than dine at our favorite Bar Harbor restaurants. Visitors are truly spoiled for choice when it comes to family friendly activities, and we hope that you find it as inspiring, relaxing, and refreshing as we do.

If this is your first visit to Acadia National Park, we'd be happy to fill you in on more specific attractions for your traveling party.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Wendy Sabin (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Wendy Sabin

We (Wendy & Dan) have been traveling to Acadia together since 2005, the year we met. We bought, renovated and decorated the home in 2010, the same year we got pregnant and had a baby girl. She's now 5 and has grown up staying in the house. We live on Boston's North Shore (4 1/2 hours from the home).

We've both travelled extensively, and Acadia has a special place in our hearts. It's the one place we keep coming back to (even before we bought the home!) :)

Wendy Sabin purchased this house in 2010

Why Wendy Sabin chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

We bought the house in 2010 after falling in love with the home's location, yard, and windows. Now that we have a 5 year old, we can see how perfect the house is for families with kids. Having 2 living spaces, the open floor plan, lots of bedrooms, and the wooded setting make for a relaxing vacation. There's enough space for everybody to have some quiet time and family time.

What makes this house unique

The location for this home is ideal - close to the primary park entrance (and close to some "back door" entrances to the park, so you're not waiting in traffic), close to Bar Harbor. The lot has a large yard with lots of trees, so you feel like you're staying right in the park. The seclusion and convenience are our favorite parts of the house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your home for just a couple of nights. It was only long enough to fall in love with MDI and Acadia, but not long enough to satisfy us. I sure hope we have another reason to call you to make reservations again n the not-too-distant future. We haven't walked out the door yet and I already want to come back. The house was perfect for us, and yes, CJ's ice cream is the best. Jordan Pond trail was wonderful. I could go on! Thanks so much.
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.6
based on 12 traveler reviews

6 BR, Sleeps 11, Near Park Entrance & Sand Beach!
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 16 reviews
Omaha, NE
5

Fabulous location and great home with lots of room!

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our stay in your home! Perfect location to see all the things in the BarHarbour area and Acadia National Park. So much privacy in the setting of the home in the woods, very quiet and peaceful. Lots of bedrooms and nice big family dining table. Several tv's, large kitchen, appreciated all the nice tableware, etc, Nice towels, etc. So glad it worked out for us to stay there! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Experience!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this house. It was far enough from Bar Harbor to be away from the crowds but close enough for it not to be an inconvenience. We were there in July and never once wished for air conditioning. The beds were very comfortable and house was very clean.The two negatives are the downstairs bathroom needs redone but I'm sure it will be fixed soon and emptying the three dehumidifiers (but it wasn't that bad!!!). The house has everything anyone would need!!! Enjoyed immensely!!!! Enjoyed Acadia and Bar Harbor immensely!!! Don't hesitate to rent this house!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very quiet and private VRBO property.

  • 4 of 5

We took our entire immediate families to Otter Creek Acadia for a week-long stay from July 16th to July 23rd. The property is located 4.6 miles south of the town of Bar Harbor and only a two-mile drive to the east entrance to Acadia National Park. We all arrived in two vehicles and set up our stay by selecting bedrooms for all nine of us. There is a large master bedroom right off of the kitchen and dining room for us two seniors. Across the hallway, there is another small bedroom with bunk beds for the four and eight year olds. However, they chose to go up and sleep in the upstairs bedroom, with opening to the dining area below, leaving the bunk beds empty. On that main, second floor, there is a large bathroom with vanity sink, toilet and step-in shower. On the lower level, there are two fairly large bedrooms, a full bathroom with tub / shower combo, a smaller bedroom for the one-year-old, to sleep in a pack-n-play crib and a laundry room. The attached garage was only used for paints, ladders, tools and housed the oil-fired water heater in a utility room. The layout suited our three families very well and the shared bathrooms were nearly always available. Since the temperature was so hot when we arrived on Saturday, July 16th, we decided to drive to a local store and purchased three more fans. But, since it doesn't get too warm in Otter Creek Acadia too often, having those extra fans proved to be a necessity. Later that week, the coolness returned and we enjoyed the breezes, by cranking out the windows. The outside deck area was nice for relaxing and eating in the shade of the afternoon. The kitchen, with its compact layout and peninsula, was fine for preparing meals. We especially appreciated the quietness of the relatively new Bosch-brand dishwasher ! However, the Frigidaire refrigerator door seemed to require some effort to close completely. One of the things that might be an issue for those people that sleep lightly, is the squeaking of the pine floors on the second level -- kitchen and dining / living room area. I tend to use foam ear plugs to isolate evening noises, but the others didn't wear those and they noticed the squeaking when we walked on those second-story floors. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Otter Creek Acadia and would recommend it for those that want the privacy and convenience of being so close to Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor, Maine. We hiked the trails and did the sea kayaking trip.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family house in Otter Creek!

  • 4 of 5

The house is perfect for big families. We had 7 people and we had plenty of room. The location is perfect to drive into bar harbor for restaurants and shopping and head up the Mountains for trails and hiking. Everything was VERY convenient which we loved on vacation. Highlights of the house included the back deck. Perfect for morning coffee and family dinners. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. They even had a kurig coffee maker and a lobster pot!! The beds were also very comfortable. My recommendation would be to have a little TLC for the bottom bathroom. Good scrubbing and a new bath mat. Other than that would absolutely recommended this house for a family vacation. We were so glad we stayed there instead of a hotel. We had more family "hanging out time" which is what we really wanted. Enjoy!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, Maine
4

Great weekend

  • 4 of 5

We rented this house over President's Day weekend. There were 10 adults and we were all very comfortable with plenty of space and not feeling like we were tripping over each other. The house is very comfortable and has all necessary amenities.

The convenient location to the Park Loop Road and nearby hiking trails is a bonus plus it is a quick jaunt into Bar Harbor.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Weekend outing

  • 4 of 5

This was a great property and fitnour needs very well. It was a wonderful weekend.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Otter Creek is a small neighborhood in the Village of Mount Desert. There are a few small shops for necessities and a restaurant. Otter Creek is completely surrounded by Acadia National Park, and the home shares a border with the park.

The home is 4.6 miles from the village green in Bar Harbor. Within the village of Otter Creek, the home is .4 miles from the Burning Tree Restaurant and .5 miles from the camp supply store.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Otter Creek House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 4 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$395
$2,200
 
 
May & June 2017
May 1 2017 - Jun 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
$2,200
 
 
July 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Jul 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 
 
Augut 2017
Jul 30 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Cleaning fees are included in the rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Otter Creek House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Main level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower level
  • Fluffy towels are provided for all guests. Both baths have quality hair dryers.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • BR 1 - Main level master - 1 queen , Main level, queen, french doors off the living room and hall
    BR 4 - Bunk room - 2 twin/ single , Main level - bunkbeds, kids love it!
    BR 3 - spacious queen bedroom - 1 queen , Lower level, queen (suite with BR 5)
    BR 5 - 2 Twin beds - 2 twin/ single , Lower level (suite with BR 3)
    BR 2 - Spacious queen - 1 queen , Lower level, queen,
    BR 6 - 2nd story loft - 1 twin/ single , kids love it!
  • Three spacious rooms with queen beds are on the main level and lower level. Kids will love the bunk beds on the main level, twin beds in lower level and single twin bed in 2nd story loft. We're picky about mattresses, so we bought comfortable ones! If needed, the adult bedrooms are spacious enough to accommodate a pack & play (provided) for little kiddos.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Laundry room has washer, dryer, detergent and drying rack.

Partner Offers