check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chris Rosenthal

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Romantic Mountain Chalet with Scenic Views on 70 Wooded Acres

8 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

East Meredith House Rental Photos and Description

House, Studio + sleeping Loft + Den, 1 Bath,

Harmony Hill is a secluded and private retreat center nestled in the hills on 70 wooded acres. The mountain chalet is cozy enough for 1 or 2 people, yet can accommodate 8-9 with the use of Ikea daybed/sleeper couches. It is an ideal getaway for an individual or couple as well as a family reunion. The chalet has an open sleeping loft, a spacious great room, and a media area. It is nicely furnished with a mix of modern and antique furniture.

The mountain chalet sits among the woods and nature, with spectacular meadow and mountain views. Its 1200 sf post and beam structure has large skylights, tall windows and deck all around; its like being in the midst of nature while you are comfy and cozy inside.

There are trails to hike or cross-country, a fieldstone labyrinth to walk or meditate, nature to observe and experience, stone fences and creeks that invite you to follow, sunsets to savor and on a clear night, gazing up at the stars from your meadow, you are quite sure you can touch the Milky Way.

Keywords: house, chalet,

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Chris Rosenthal (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Chris Rosenthal

I am a psychotherapist and Reiki master. If you would like to do more than allowing our nature to nurture you, you may 'order' an add-on service. I offer life coaching, couples coaching, guided meditation, spiritual coaching, past life regression , Reiki treatments and training.

Chris Rosenthal purchased this house in 2002

Why Chris Rosenthal chose Catskills

The mountain chalet sits among the woods and nature, with spectacular meadow and mountain views. Its 1200 sf post and beam structure has large skylights, tall windows and deck all around; its like being outside in nature while you are comfy and cozy inside.

What makes this house unique

There are trails to hike or cross-country, a fieldstone labyrinth to walk or meditate, nature to observe and experience, stone fences and creeks that invite you to follow, sunsets to savor and on a clear night, gazing up at the stars from the meadow in front of the chalet feels like a planetarium and you are quite sure you can touch the Milky Way. There are quaint shops, local restaurants, used book stores, antique and gallery shops all within 20 minutes driving. Organic farms are 'around the corner'. Hunter, Windham and Cooperstown are approx 45 minutes.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Beautiful views, so peaceful and quiet, awesome wildlife. We enjoyed the trails and the beautiful setting of the labyrinth. We want to come back to enjoy each season. The chalet had everything we needed. We could not have asked for a better 5 days.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 8 traveler reviews

Romantic Mountain Chalet with Scenic Views on 70 Wooded Acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
Brooklyn, New York
5

New Years Celebration

  • 5 of 5

Myself and 8 other friends celebrated New Years in Chris' wonderfully charming and cozy chalet. It was our first time renting out a cabin and I can't imagine a better first time experience. The chalet is exactly as described and even more amazing once seen in person. We stayed for 2 nights and I can say that this was the most memorable New Years experience I've had and all my friends truly enjoyed there time here. In regards to our 2nd day, the chalet was the perfect place to experience the Catskill Mountains for the first time and we enjoyed coming back to the chalet to cook dinner and relax after a beautiful and challenging hike on the Giant Ledge trail.

Throughout the entire process of renting out the cabin, Chris was always available, answering all my inquiries and concerns. She was welcoming when we arrived but gave us our space. The amenities provided are ten-fold, in regards to linens and kitchenware; we had plenty of what we needed. You really don't need to bring any extra pillows, blankets, towels or kitchenware.

The property is well maintained and beautiful with the snow, which was exciting for our group since we haven't seen snow all winter back in Brooklyn, NY. The only downside and it was due to the weather was that we were unable to utilize the grill and the fire pit, which gives us a reason to come back when the weather is warmer.

I would recommend this place with no doubt that anyone who stays here will have a grand time.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York, NY
5

I quiet retreat with lots of nature

  • 5 of 5

Chris was a fantastic hostess, checking us in and answering all our questions. I have two dogs so it has been a challenge to find somewhere that will accept them. My dogs had the big beautiful meadow to run and we all hiked the trails seeing deer everywhere! The chalet is well stocked with kitchen accessories, blankets and beds! It was clean and the deck is amazing! I would recommend this spot to anyone looking to escape their cell phones, computers, televisions yet still have the comforts of home.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
United States
5

Peaceful setting in natural setting

  • 5 of 5

The chalet is full of windows and gives you the feel of being outdoors while indoors. The location on a 70 acre mini retreat center is spectacular, even in the rain. Wildlife was abound and the owner was very intuitive. She was extremely responsive and accommodating yet gave us our space. We would recommend for anyone looking to unwind from the fast pace of everyday life.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks a bunch, Mike, for your nice words!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Piermont, NY
5

Happy

  • 5 of 5

The chalet is beautiful as are the grounds. It was perfect for us, not only because of the beauty but our dog was able to run freely and loved the trails as much as we did. Chris, our hostess was extremely gracious and accomodating. We would love to come back. Lucy

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
rochester, ny
5

Truly lovely and peaceful! GORGEOUS views and scenery....

  • 5 of 5

I loved, Loved, LOVED, my stay at the chalet. It was all I had hoped for. I had not been away in quite some time, and this was the place to be. The chalet was very comfortable, clean and looked just like the picture. I loved all the windows and views. The loft made me feel as though I was sleeping in a tree house with all the sky lights, and the bed was very comfortable (I slept great!). It really was lovely. It WAS a peaceful, and peace filled time (and place). Lovely views, lovely paths to walk, the meadow was one of our favorite spots to be in and I look forward to going back in warmer weather just to be able to lay out on a blanket (or to sit out on the lovely wraparound deck!) .... under a blanket of stars! WHAT could be better? Chris was a great host, and I so enjoyed my time with her and Harmony Hills!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York City
5

Fantastic Family Weekend Away

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the mountain chalet in July 2011. We had an incredible weekend. The chalet has everything you need to be comfortable and is quite large. The surrounding woods, lawn, fire pit, and hiking trails are wonderful. We have two kids, 6 and 4, and they roamed free all weekend. The owners of the property were very hospital and lovely. They went all out to make our stay exactly what we had hoped for.

We have already booked another trip back for the fall! It is the perfect escape from the city.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Albany, New York
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Oneonta and Delhi
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I-88
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Table on Ten
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Plattekill
Car: recommended

quaint villages, museums, cultural arts center, organic farms and farmers markets, book store village, theater, hiking, kayaking, swimming, horseback riding.

Photos

Rates & Availability

East Meredith House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,230
$4,210
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

payment is due at the time of reservation. if longer than 30 days, 50% deposit is due. total due within 30 days of stay. payment can be made with credit card or check.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

East Meredith House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (5) sleeper sofa and chair; Ikea day bed couches
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
Large fire ring; screened porch; wrap-around deck; fieldstone labyrinth, hiking/skiing trails

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties