Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront -gracious and private Caribbean Villa.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome

Overview


Details
Property
villa
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
4
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
5 nights

Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome

About the property

4 Bedrooms Suites with Baths, a 5th bedroom and 2 Half Baths, sleeps 8 adults.

AcquaBlu has all the luxuries of a villa but feels like a home, because it was our home! It's 4800 square feet, with 7 porches and balconies, a 38' x 12' pool, a library, an extra large kitchen set up to serve a party, 4 uniquely themed bedrooms, gorgeous gardens, a separate media room with an extra pull-out bed, a laundry room and breakfast area, and a wine cellar for your use, stocked with the best Italian and French wines.

The villa is located in the quiet and private Boatman Point Association, which includes 38 acres with only 12 houses. Our home looks out on Rendezvous Bay and the vast Caribbean Sea. We chose to build our house here because of the stunning views, the privacy, and the constant ocean breezes, while still being only 7 minutes to Cruz Bay.

More Details

Owner
Dale Miller
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2017

About Dale Miller

I was four years out of UVa when I came down to St. John on the first Pan Am 727 service to St Thomas. It was love at first site and truly changed my life goals. Back then you needed a machete to cut your way through to the North Shore Beaches. It was quite an adventure, if you could manage to rent one of the eight available jeeps on island. Now St. John has grown up, but it is still pristine as 3/4 of the Island remains undeveloped as US National Park. I can still glimpse the old days when traveling about.

St John has seen me through two families and now a new life with Ayn. I raised a daughter here, gave shelter to four other children, built a small guest house for myself when matters were in change, and now live on Bordeaux with Ayn. It is a bit difficult to believe that all of this has occupied 50 plus years, but it has and the fascination with this rock in the middle of the Atlantic continues unabated. I will be here to help you have the best holiday you possibly can.

We built our first house on Gifft Hill in 1989. We used it as a rental house and traveled back and forth between Connecticut and St. John. Our daughter Megan grew up between our two worlds. Finally in 1995 we decided to move down here permanently.

AcquaBlu is our second St. John home, completed in 2005. We lived there for 5 years but decided it was a little too big for us. Megan went off to Davidson College, so it was just the two of us and we decided we wanted to travel. Dale built a little house nearby and now we come and go as we please.

Dale Miller purchased this villa in 2005

Why Dale Miller chose St John

After living in my first Island home for 12 years the lure of the ocean started working on me. I searched for almost three years before deciding on this one acre parcel to build our compound.

Primarily it was being on the sea, the breezes and perfect views that sold us on the location; not muggy, not buggy, never hot as we catch the Tradewinds year round. Plus we have a night time view of the twinkling lights of St. Thomas and the sunrise over Ram's Head Point in the morning, along with the gorgeous ocean views and the sounds of the sea.

There is something magical about leaving town and in minutes being totally away from it all.

We also loved the Boatman Point community. It's safe, quiet, and very private.

What makes this villa unique

Being part of The Boatman Point Private Association gives access to its rubble beach reserved for owners and their guests. Acqua Blu is accessible by a well kept private concrete road that leads in from South Shore Drive. You are truly out on the Point with amazing views, trade winds, and privacy as soon as you come off South Shore Rd.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are a huge fans of St. John and have visited annually for the last seven years. Of all the places we have stayed during our visits, Acquablu was our favorite, hands down! We have young children, and it was the most accommodating that we have found. Wonderful views, awesome kitchen, relaxing spots everywhere you turn, and very private location made it our most enjoyable stay yet!



Taken from VRBO.com
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront -gracious and private Caribbean Villa.
average rating of 4.428571 based on 17 reviews
1

Extremely Inferior and frustrating experience

  • 1 of 5

The owner failed to meet us at the car barge and escort us to the Villa, as promised. In fact, we were unable to reach him for 45 minutes and once reached, he did not offer the escort, but instead merely provided directions and said the Villa was open. We were never provided a key to the Villa and were forced to take our valuables with us upon each departure. We immediately reported that the a/c in one of the bedrooms was nonfunctional. It was not repaired until late on our fourth day there. Clearly, this was a needed repair that could have been detected before our arrival. The water pump ceased functioning after three of our party shampooed their hair and covered themselves in soap. All this owner had to do was explain to us the possibility of an outage or caution us about not taking three showers at the same time and preemptively instruct us on how to restart the pump. Again, he was unreachable by phone for 30 minutes and everyone had to use bottled water to rinse their hair and bodies. The refrigerator in the kitchen was not working upon arrival and repairs were not made until our fifth day there. The only notable positives was the location of the Villa and it's great views as well as its proximity to the sounds of the surf. The owner had the unmitigated gall to send us a to do list before departure which included a warning that if we failed to remove the garbage there would be a $35 per bag fine. We have vacationed on St. John 1 to 2 times per year for the last 11 years. We have rented 12 different Villas and this was by any measure the worst experience we have ever encountered. We will never again rent directly from an owner because of the above issues and because this owner's response to our shower debacle was to "relax". At the price we paid for Acqua Blu we would have expected and in fact had always received much better advice, direction and service from all the prior management companies.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Michael, I am truly sorry your holiday did not turn out as you had hoped. Your arrival did not start on the right foot. I would ask you to remember that you were over two hours late and did not call me when at the barge platform as we had discussed, but waited till you were already on the Island. My greeter had retired for the evening and over one half hour away; since you were a veteran of SJ, I thought staying on the phone with you, to direct your five minute drive would be best. The alternative was to have you wait 40 minutes while I drove over. Then when you called an hour later with mysterious sounds in your bedroom wall, I drove the length of the Island to inspect, only to find them silent. Michael, there was nothing mechanical in that solid poured concrete wall that could make a noise. We missed one of the AC units in our final inspection. It was fixed in one day, considering the Martin Luther holiday, a fast fix by Caribbean standards and the nighttime temperature during your stay here was 65 degrees with gentle sea breezes. I did not hear you ask for a key, and we do not normally lock our houses. You did have a safe for your valuables. And yes you ran the house out of water by using 75 gallons during a power outage. I believe I was there in an hour to get it back on. I sent you a copy of the guest manual explaining what we needed at check out. It was in the same memo that I offered to “comp” you for any wine you took out of the guest cellar to make up for the problems above. If I do not remind guests they sometimes leave many bags of garbage that attract all sorts of animals. I certainly did not mean to insult you. And finally, my email to you suggesting you kick back and relax was sent based on my 50 years experience here. Sometimes people just see the problems that are so easily addressed on the mainland --such as waiting five days for a small part for the refrigerator that was “Fed Ex over night”- and miss the overall experience. We did have a second refrigerator in the maid’s kitchen and a drink refrigerator in the main kitchen. This is my home, not a hotel where I could have moved you to another room when problems came up. I am a crusty 78 years old and don’t like to see people miss the beauty and charm of the island. You truly had more than the average share of incidents and I mean it when I say you have my apologies for that. It was embarrassing to my staff and me. Best, Dale
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great for large groups

  • 5 of 5

18 of us (12 adults and 6 kids) recently rented Acqua Blu and Red Hawk for a week in June. It can be difficult to find one location that can hold that many people, but the logistics worked out great. All of the bedrooms in Aqcua Blu (except for 1) are exterior entry and are not connected to the great room. This wasn’t an issue for us as our children were young and stayed in the same bedroom as the adults. All of the bedrooms have A/C, however we only used it at night. It was great during the day to open all of the windows and doors and allow the breeze to blow through the house. The Great Room does not have A/C, but it was NOT necessary. The weather in St. John is amazing and we enjoyed the fresh air in the house. Water is an issue on the island – not just at this house. A day didn’t go by that we didn’t see water trucks out delivering to houses on the island. Whitney was great! She was on call 24x7 if we had any issues. She stopped by to make sure the pool was balanced, check our water usage to make sure we didn’t run out or to see if we needed anything. It was nice to know that she was available if we had any trouble. She gave awesome advice on things to do and where to eat on the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our week on St. John!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House, Wonderful Breeze, Great Pool

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful supportive service of house

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is really great to get a review like this from someone who has been to St John over twenty times. Makes the effort we put in worthwhile and soothes the sting of the one guest in a hundred who is simply mean spirited and did not pick up the wonderful St John vibe. Yeah Whitney!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Nice House and People to Work with

  • 5 of 5

It was a great vacation house and we all enjoyed the home.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest shared his wedding and honeymoon with us. It is very nice to have made that big event a happy one. Dale
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Don't believe teh pictures

  • 1 of 5

The view from this property is beautiful, but does not make up for the house itself. While it may have been a great rental house in the past, it has not been kept up with and it really shows. The ceiling fans had dust hanging from them and the doors were hard to close. There were many lights throughout the house, both indoor and outdoor, and in the pool that were out and needed replacing. The sheets and towels were old as well, with some of the pillowcases feeling like paper. The pool was black along the bottom. When you pay a premium for a house like this, you expect it to be taken care of by the owners.

The property advertises that the house is air-conditioned, however the great room has no air. This is the largest room in the house and where the group would spend most of our time. While the bedrooms were air-conditioned, in order to visit with the rest of the family, you had sit in the great room. Mosquitos are always bad in this setting and when renting this property, we were under the impression that with air-conditioning in the whole house, we’d be able to gather away from them. This was not the case and it left many of our group so uncomfortable that they spent their time in their bedrooms alone. If you are looking for a fully air-conditioned house to rent, this one is not for you.

However, the worst part of the stay was that we were made to feel unwelcome in this house. Our group, a family of seven, were checked in on every other day with an hours notice (sometimes). From the first tour, we were scolded not to use the water and to wash clothes. The whole reason for spending the extra money to rent a large house is to have these amenities. Prior warning of water shortages would have been helpful, but it is the responsibility of the owner to make sure guests have enough water to shower and do laundry when they advertise those amenities. It would have been less expensive to stay at a resort and be able to shower consistently. In addition, the WIFI in the house consistently did not work.

Out of our group of seven not one person would recommend this rental. St. Johns is a beautiful island, find a better place to rent.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Response to Guest’s Review This had to happen some time. After eight years of great revues we have a totally disgruntled client. Below is the exchange that led to her review. Renter’s Request Mr. Miller, We were disappointed in the fact that there was no air conditioning in the great room. We were also disappointed that we had to ration our water there should be enough water for all of us to bathe and launder and wash dishes. In addition the Internet did not work consistently. I would like to have an adjustment on our bill for at least 20% Our Answer to Renter Dear _________, I have checked with cc company and your refund for the extra day that you did not need should have gone through. If there still is an issue please let me know. Sorry you were disappointed in your stay. Sometimes there just is not a good fit and this appears to be one. You went through 7000 gallons of water. That is hardly rationing as that is 1000 gallons of water per person . To put that in perspective (think of twenty 55 gallon barrels for each person). Sort of a record for Acqua Blu. We never promised an air-conditioned great room as it is not really necessary to have this. No one has every complained about being in the Caribbean breeze before. The Internet is the fastest we can purchase on the Island. This is Paradise, not NYC. And we rented you four bedrooms, but graciously added a fifth based on your request to Whitney. I am truly sorry how you feel, but cannot in good conscious make any refund. Best, Dale Some Post Thoughts Acqua Blu sits on a bluff 300 feet above the Caribbean Sea. The great room is open to the trade winds; the area. Nowhere in our literature d owe promise this 7000 gallons of water is not rationing. We asked her to slow down as this is a desert island. 7000 gallons is 150,50 gallon barrels.Think what it takes to use that much water. The Internet is the fastest we can purchase on the Island. Hundreds of professional people have visited with us and this is the first complaint we have had. Summary We do our very best to please our guests and the amount of returnees bears witness to that. Sometimes things do go wrong and we do our best to correct them. It is a small rock in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. Things don’t happen instantaneously. We went as far as to go out and get fresh greens for this group I am very sorry to burden our guests with all of this. I just needed to respond in fact. Dale/ Acqua Blu
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Murphy, Texas
5

Paradise in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Wow, what an incredible home! We stayed at Acqua Blu with 3 other couples to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. The house is located in a quiet area with incredible views, yet it is only 5-7 minutes from the markets, shops and restaurants of Cruz Bay and 15 minutes from the great North Shore beaches.

The bedrooms all had comfortable beds with en suite bathrooms and working air conditioning units; 2 of the bedrooms had outdoor showers. Each room was private and quiet, but they're all within 30-60 seconds of the common area.

The common area has a huge living room with a piano, a dining room that seats 10 and well appointed kitchen. We had Ched Ted from Ted's Supper Club prepare dinner one evening and the kitchen had everything he needed. The house also boasts a wine cellar with very reasonably priced wines from Italy and France (the most expensive wine was $40).

The house is great for adults and could also serve a family equally well. We've never stayed in the same house twice on St John but we will definitely be back to Acqua Blu thanks to the great home as well as the great service from Dale and his staff.

Look no further, paradise awaits!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cyril E King, STT St. Thomas USVI
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Westin Resort
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Cruz Bay
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Mahogany Run, St. Thomas
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Westin Resort
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Boatman Point Beach
Car: recommended

Plenty of watersports, plenty of private beaches and National Park beaches, hiking, plenty of local wildlife, plenty of bars and nightlife, plenty of taxi tours/Park tours, lots of fine dining, lots of shopping, and also plenty of quiet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cruz Bay Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 14 2017
5 night minimum stay
$795
$5,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Apr 15 2017 - Aug 19 2017
5 night minimum stay
$775
$5,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall Shoulder
Oct 21 2017 - Dec 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$775
$5,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Apr 14 2018
5 night minimum stay
$995
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$595
$3,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates are based on the season and the number of guests. Contact us for details. Also contact us for holiday rates and event rates including weddings.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cruz Bay Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 7300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telescope
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Pool Bath - outdoor shower
    Great Room Bath -
  • Four in-suite and two half baths
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • St Thomas - 1 king , Inside Shower
    French Garden - 1 king , Outside Shower
    AV Room - 1 queen
    Plantation - 1 king , Inside shower
    Ram's Head - 1 king , large tub and shower outside
  • 4 Bedrooms have king size beds and private bathrooms. There is a possibility of using the queen size pull out in the AV room, but it doesn't have an ensuite bath. There are cribs and small beds available by agreement.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private Wine Cellar with French and Italian wines, Media Room, Library, Laundry Room/Breakfast nook, Japanese Soak Tub

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties