check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Gracious, Oceanside Caribbean Villa in St. John U.S. Virgin Islands

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

St John Villa Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms Suites with Baths, 2 Half Baths, sleeps 8 adults;

AcquaBlu has all the luxuries of a villa but it feels like a home, because it was our home! It's 4800 square feet, with 7 porches and balconies, a 38' x 12' pool, a library, a state of the art kitchen, 4 uniquely themed bedrooms, gorgeous gardens, a separate media room with an extra pull-out bed, a laundry room and breakfast area, and a wine cellar stocked with the best Italian and French wines.

The villa is located in a quiet community called Boatman Point overlooking Hart Bay, Rendezvous Bay, St. Thomas, and the vast Caribbean Sea. We chose to build our house here because of the stunning views, the privacy, and the constant ocean breezes.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Dale Miller (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

About Dale Miller

The Miller family has been in love with St. John for over 50 years. Dale has been coming to the Virgin Islands since the days of the first Pan Am service in the 1960's. Back then you needed a machete to cut your way through to the North Shore Beaches. It was quite an adventure. Janet has been coming to St. John since the early eighties, and though the North Shore Road was not overgrown, getting there was still a Jeep adventure--if you could manage to rent one of the eight available jeeps on island. Now St. John has grown up, but it is still pristine since 3/4 of the island is US National Park.

We built our first house on Gifft Hill in 1989. We used it as a rental house and traveled back and forth between Connecticut and St. John. Our daughter Megan grew up between our two worlds. Finally in 1995 we decided to move down here permanently.

AcquaBlu is our second St. John home, completed in 2005. We lived there for 5 years but decided it was a little too big for us. Megan went off to Davidson College, so it was just the two of us and we decided we wanted to travel. Dale built a little house nearby and now we come and go as we please.

Dale Miller purchased this villa in 2005

Why Dale Miller chose St John

This is the second home we built on St. John, so we learned a lot. We could have bought anywhere: beachfront, mountain top, rainforest, East End, Coral Bay or Cruz Bay. We spent 3 years selecting this lot.

Primarily it was the breezes and perfect views that sold us on the location: never muggy, never buggy, never hot we catch the Tradewinds year round. Plus we have a night time view of the twinkling lights of St. Thomas and the sunrise over Ram's Head Point in the morning, plus the gorgeous ocean views and the sounds of the sea.

We also loved the Boatman Point community. It's safe, quiet, and very private.

What makes this villa unique

Acqua Blu is part of the Boatman Point Association with its own rubble beach reserved for owners and their guests (that would be you). Hart Bay is a 5 minute walking trail away. As part of a private association, it is accessible only via one well maintained concrete road.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are a huge fans of St. John and have visited annually for the last seven years. Of all the places we have stayed during our visits, Acquablu was our favorite, hands down! We have young children, and it was the most accommodating that we have found. Wonderful views, awesome kitchen, relaxing spots everywhere you turn, and very private location made it our most enjoyable stay yet!



Taken from VRBO.com
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)
Gracious, Oceanside Caribbean Villa in St. John U.S. Virgin Islands
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 16 reviews
5

Great for large groups

  • 5 of 5

18 of us (12 adults and 6 kids) recently rented Acqua Blu and Red Hawk for a week in June. It can be difficult to find one location that can hold that many people, but the logistics worked out great. All of the bedrooms in Aqcua Blu (except for 1) are exterior entry and are not connected to the great room. This wasn’t an issue for us as our children were young and stayed in the same bedroom as the adults. All of the bedrooms have A/C, however we only used it at night. It was great during the day to open all of the windows and doors and allow the breeze to blow through the house. The Great Room does not have A/C, but it was NOT necessary. The weather in St. John is amazing and we enjoyed the fresh air in the house. Water is an issue on the island – not just at this house. A day didn’t go by that we didn’t see water trucks out delivering to houses on the island. Whitney was great! She was on call 24x7 if we had any issues. She stopped by to make sure the pool was balanced, check our water usage to make sure we didn’t run out or to see if we needed anything. It was nice to know that she was available if we had any trouble. She gave awesome advice on things to do and where to eat on the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our week on St. John!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House, Wonderful Breeze, Great Pool

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful supportive service of house

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is really great to get a review like this from someone who has been to St John over twenty times. Makes the effort we put in worthwhile and soothes the sting of the one guest in a hundred who is simply mean spirited and did not pick up the wonderful St John vibe. Yeah Whitney!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Nice House and People to Work with

  • 5 of 5

It was a great vacation house and we all enjoyed the home.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest shared his wedding and honeymoon with us. It is very nice to have made that big event a happy one. Dale
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Don't believe teh pictures

  • 1 of 5

The view from this property is beautiful, but does not make up for the house itself. While it may have been a great rental house in the past, it has not been kept up with and it really shows. The ceiling fans had dust hanging from them and the doors were hard to close. There were many lights throughout the house, both indoor and outdoor, and in the pool that were out and needed replacing. The sheets and towels were old as well, with some of the pillowcases feeling like paper. The pool was black along the bottom. When you pay a premium for a house like this, you expect it to be taken care of by the owners.

The property advertises that the house is air-conditioned, however the great room has no air. This is the largest room in the house and where the group would spend most of our time. While the bedrooms were air-conditioned, in order to visit with the rest of the family, you had sit in the great room. Mosquitos are always bad in this setting and when renting this property, we were under the impression that with air-conditioning in the whole house, we’d be able to gather away from them. This was not the case and it left many of our group so uncomfortable that they spent their time in their bedrooms alone. If you are looking for a fully air-conditioned house to rent, this one is not for you.

However, the worst part of the stay was that we were made to feel unwelcome in this house. Our group, a family of seven, were checked in on every other day with an hours notice (sometimes). From the first tour, we were scolded not to use the water and to wash clothes. The whole reason for spending the extra money to rent a large house is to have these amenities. Prior warning of water shortages would have been helpful, but it is the responsibility of the owner to make sure guests have enough water to shower and do laundry when they advertise those amenities. It would have been less expensive to stay at a resort and be able to shower consistently. In addition, the WIFI in the house consistently did not work.

Out of our group of seven not one person would recommend this rental. St. Johns is a beautiful island, find a better place to rent.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Response to Guest’s Review This had to happen some time. After eight years of great revues we have a totally disgruntled client. Below is the exchange that led to her review. Renter’s Request Mr. Miller, We were disappointed in the fact that there was no air conditioning in the great room. We were also disappointed that we had to ration our water there should be enough water for all of us to bathe and launder and wash dishes. In addition the Internet did not work consistently. I would like to have an adjustment on our bill for at least 20% Our Answer to Renter Dear _________, I have checked with cc company and your refund for the extra day that you did not need should have gone through. If there still is an issue please let me know. Sorry you were disappointed in your stay. Sometimes there just is not a good fit and this appears to be one. You went through 7000 gallons of water. That is hardly rationing as that is 1000 gallons of water per person . To put that in perspective (think of twenty 55 gallon barrels for each person). Sort of a record for Acqua Blu. We never promised an air-conditioned great room as it is not really necessary to have this. No one has every complained about being in the Caribbean breeze before. The Internet is the fastest we can purchase on the Island. This is Paradise, not NYC. And we rented you four bedrooms, but graciously added a fifth based on your request to Whitney. I am truly sorry how you feel, but cannot in good conscious make any refund. Best, Dale Some Post Thoughts Acqua Blu sits on a bluff 300 feet above the Caribbean Sea. The great room is open to the trade winds; the area. Nowhere in our literature d owe promise this 7000 gallons of water is not rationing. We asked her to slow down as this is a desert island. 7000 gallons is 150,50 gallon barrels.Think what it takes to use that much water. The Internet is the fastest we can purchase on the Island. Hundreds of professional people have visited with us and this is the first complaint we have had. Summary We do our very best to please our guests and the amount of returnees bears witness to that. Sometimes things do go wrong and we do our best to correct them. It is a small rock in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. Things don’t happen instantaneously. We went as far as to go out and get fresh greens for this group I am very sorry to burden our guests with all of this. I just needed to respond in fact. Dale/ Acqua Blu
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Murphy, Texas
5

Paradise in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Wow, what an incredible home! We stayed at Acqua Blu with 3 other couples to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. The house is located in a quiet area with incredible views, yet it is only 5-7 minutes from the markets, shops and restaurants of Cruz Bay and 15 minutes from the great North Shore beaches.

The bedrooms all had comfortable beds with en suite bathrooms and working air conditioning units; 2 of the bedrooms had outdoor showers. Each room was private and quiet, but they're all within 30-60 seconds of the common area.

The common area has a huge living room with a piano, a dining room that seats 10 and well appointed kitchen. We had Ched Ted from Ted's Supper Club prepare dinner one evening and the kitchen had everything he needed. The house also boasts a wine cellar with very reasonably priced wines from Italy and France (the most expensive wine was $40).

The house is great for adults and could also serve a family equally well. We've never stayed in the same house twice on St John but we will definitely be back to Acqua Blu thanks to the great home as well as the great service from Dale and his staff.

Look no further, paradise awaits!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible

  • 5 of 5

We could not have been more pleased with this trip! Dale, the owner, was extremely helpful in the weeks leading up to our stay. He gave advice on dinner reservations, places to see, etc... Jessy met us at the airport and took us to the house (with a ferry ride inbetween). He was extremely helpful and personable. Our first impression of the house upon walking in was "WOW". The views are amazing and the amenities are perfect. My fiance and I got engaged on the balcony overlooking the water. I couldn't have imagined a more incredible moment or a more incredible setting. We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cyril E King, STT St. Thomas USVI
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Westin Resort
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Cruz Bay
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Mahogany Run, St. Thomas
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Westin Resort
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Boatman Point Beach
Car: recommended

Plenty of watersports, plenty of private beaches and National Park beaches, plenty of local wildlife, plenty of bars and nightlife, plenty of taxi tours/Park tours, lots of fine dining, lots of shopping, and also plenty of quiet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rendezvous Bay Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Apr 17 2016 - Dec 16 2016
5 night minimum stay
$775
$5,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2016/2017
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 14 2017
5 night minimum stay
$995
$6,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Apr 15 2017 - Dec 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$775
$5,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Apr 14 2018
5 night minimum stay
$995
$6,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates are based on the season and the number of guests. Contact us for details. Also contact us for holiday rates and event rates including weddings.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

St John Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 7300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Telescope
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • Four in-suite and two half baths
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Ram's Head - 1 king
    St Thomas - 1 king , Inside Shower
    French Garden - 1 king , Outside Shower
    Plantation - 1 king
    Getaway - 1 queen
  • King size beds (4), Child Beds (1) Cradle available upon request. No extra cost., Baby Cribs (2) Crib available on request, no extra cost.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private Blu Wine Cellar with French and Italian wines, Media Room, Library, Laundry Room/Breakfast nook, Japanese Soak Tub

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties