check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Steve Metzke

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Oct and Dec Openings. Two kitchens. On the beach. Big Dogs OK. On Beach, WiFi

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sopchoppy House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 kitchens, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6) 3acres.

What is SAINT TERESA? St Teresa is a quiet, exclusive, secluded small second home beach community nestled deep in the National Forest and. It is only available to owners and their guests/renters. There are only 8 RENTAL PROPERTIES on STB in the 5 miles of beach. All St Teresa rentals are directly on the 5 miles of beach. You drive to your house on a dirt road through the woods. STB is over 100 years old with properties being passed from generation to generation. Each home/lot has a minimum 1.25 acres and some are over 2 acres. We are unique in this area of Florida. We have a history, miles of beach where you may not see a soul your entire stay, yet modern well managed homes with every comfort. This is not a rental area, you have a home at STB.

A true 'Eco-vacation' at the Lazy Dolphin ....our rental cottage is located on Florida's 'Forgotten Coast' where the forest meets the beautiful Gulf water. Far from traffic and city lights Saint Teresa Beach is like Florida was 100 years ago. You will be in the forest with 5 miles of private beach at your front door. Great fishing right off the beach and a dozen local restaurants nearby. Welcome to 'Old St Teresa' with over 100 years of family enjoyment and history.

Enjoy walking on miles of white beach usually all by yourself. Watch eagles and otters. We have many nature parks nearby, and many bike trails. Fresh seafood and, yes, there is a golf course ( only 10 minutes away).

Exclusive and Private Property. Two story 1600 sq ft beach house with two kitchen areas, located on the beach with central AC/Heat, ceiling fans in all rooms, on the gulf, fully furnished. Property has a large grass yard in front, Beach Deck Platform out at the sand dunes. The St Teresa Community is a 'second home' residential area not a Rental Resort area. Experience the privacy of our special community.

First floor features full large kitchen, microwave, range/oven and refrigerator, The downstairs Living area has a 42' Flat Screen Hi-Def big screen, VHS, DVD, with Premium HD satellite TV chaannels and FREE WiFi Internet. Full Bath downstairs. Wood Burning Fireplace. And two sleeper (Full) Futon sofas, a Recliner with Spiral Staircase to second floor. Out side wide wood stairs to second floor also.

Second floor is a huge master suite with queen bed and awesome view of the gulf through a whole wall of slider glass doors. Master Suite also features a counter with sink, toaster, toaster oven, and micro fridge with freezer. Great for early breakfast or late snack without going downstairs! Upstairs fireplace next to bed. 32' flat screen TV upstairs with DVD. Laundry area upstairs with full size washer and dryer. Full Bath upstairs. Second bedroom upstairs features Trundle bed that will sleep one or two. Ceiling Fans on both floors. Extra sink in hallway to back bedroom.

Large grass yard, house is on the beach, with one of the finest white sand beaches at St. Teresa . Outside hot/cold shower and covered front deck. Second floor has wrap around wood deck and side stairs to ground.

About the Area: St Teresa is a beach side community made up of private homes owned mostly by Tallahassee residents. Only a handful of people live here year-round so the beaches are not only private, restricted to homeowners, but also unpopulated most of the time. St Teresa is in the middle of a National forest area and the forest goes almost to the water. Our water is very shallow and we do not have large waves and undertow. Best for Fishing! Our wide white sand beach stretches for miles. We are about 15 minutes (north-west-east) from small communities that have fine dining (casual). Please bring LINENS, TOWELS, and expendables (TP, Soaps, etc.). All utensils. coffee makers, blender, toaster ovens and microwave are furnished. 3974 St Teresa Ave, St Teresa , FL 32358

People who have enjoyed our home over the years come to walk on the secluded beach, enjoy nature all around, and a fresh seafood meal. Enjoy what Florida was like 100 years ago. St. Teresa. There is nothing like it anymore.

Keywords: Pet Friendly, Beach Front, 2 Story Beach Home. Secluded, Exclusive and Private Community. Nestled in the Forest of St. James Island. With Beach Side Cabana. Free WIFI Internet and Free Premium HD SAT TV. St Teresa Beach. Large Dogs ok.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Steve Metzke (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Steve Metzke

Moved to St Teresa in 1996 and work with the local CBS affiliate operating beach web cams across the panhandle of north Florida. Enjoy meeting people from all over the world with our nearby vacation rental property.

Steve Metzke purchased this house in 1994

Why Steve Metzke chose Florida

St Teresa is where my family spent the summers. I grew up on St Teresa beach and it has not changed in 50 years. This is NOT LIKE PC, DESTIN or St George Island type area or water!! It is Exclusive and Private. Wooded.Trees, Private Beach, no noise, no lights and a sky full of stars at night. Enjoy the area for the Natural Beauty surrounding you. You will be in a very wooded area with Nature all around you. Enjoy it. This is the last of it Florida has to offer.

What makes this house unique

The forest goes down to the water. We have animals and birds. The fishing is GREAT from shore or our nearby dock. Great local restaurants just 10 minutes in all directions. Excellent golf club and grill just 6 minutes from the house. WE ARE DOG FRIENDLY!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)
Oct and Dec Openings. Two kitchens. On the beach. Big Dogs OK. On Beach, WiFi
average rating of 4.5416665 based on 48 reviews
5

Nice and quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved staying at the Lazy Dolphin. The beach was perfect, so quiet and peaceful. My husband and sons loved fishing off the beach and dock. The house is exactly as described and extremely clean. It's the perfect getaway spot if your trying to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. You are welcome back anytime. As you saw we are bracketed with developments on either side of St Teresa. But we will keep our 5 miles of peacefulness. Cheers, Steve and Nancy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nature at its best!

  • 5 of 5

Our many trips to Florida have always included the beautiful touristy beaches and condos right off the beach. We are nature lovers and camp frequently so when I came across this listing we wanted to try it. We loved the fact that it was secluded, had vegetation, and that you didn't have to travel to go fishing. This is the first time ocean fishing for my husband. A lot more exciting. You never know what you will catch. My husband did bring his kayak and was out fishing anytime he could. He caught many different kinds and we seen dolphins often. The water was warm the first couple days there due to the summer heat and water depth but it was awesome to see stingrays in their natural habitat. We seen a white squirrel on our last full day. The air conditioning did go out mid stay but Steve and his wife put us up in a local hotel while it was being repaired. Wakulla springs is a must see and their food was delicious, Probably my best meal on the trip. While we were there we created a Lazy Dolphin page on Facebook for people to check in and maybe added some pictures. We added a couple 😜. We definitely found our favorite Florida destination and will be returning. Thanks Steve for being so gracious!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

What I found upon arrival at this property was very disappointing compared to the write up on VRBO.

  • 1 of 5

Bears, alligators, bull sharks, sting rays, sand fleas, spiders, and yellow flies along with, noon-time low tide, hot tub temps in the water, pink slime on the sand, and an overabundance of seaweed both in the water and on the shore, where it laid, rotted, and stunk made for a most unpleasant couple of days. Our skin stung the entire time we were there. We could not get the stink out of our swimwear. The five miles of sugar sand beach was not ocean front, but rather cove or bay. The fantastic view was interrupted by trees growing from a marsh that was between the house and the beach, as well as the drapes that had to be kept closed in the upstairs bedroom since there was no insulation in the tongue and groove, cathedral ceilings. Three box fans had to be run at all times to circulate what little cool air came from the vents of the antiquated AC unit. In addition, some sort of flying ant or termite infiltrated the upstairs bathroom and our toiletries. There was no grilling-out or sitting on the balcony because the yellow flies would bite the fire out of you. There were no long walks on the beach at night, because there was not an inch of sand that wasn't covered with spiders or sand fleas. The waters edge was no retreat. It was lined with sting rays. In order to reach the viewing platform, we had to walk through the marsh. We had small dogs. We were told to keep them on short leashes because there might be small alligators in the marsh. There might also be bald eagles. We were told to be especially cautious at night, and not to leave any food or trash outside because of the black bears. We inquired about the kayaks, only to find that there was a min $50 fee to rent one , and if you went past the third sandbar, there were bull sharks that would come up underneath you. After seeing the condition of the kayaks and hearing about the sharks, we changed our minds. In addition, the refrigerator and the washer were both on their last legs. A repair man had to be called to work on the refrigerator. We had to be careful not to overload the washer or it would flood. We were expected to wash all of the sofa covers before we left, as well as any linens, after paying a cleaning fee. We left early, with no offer of compensation for our troubles. We were told that the no refund policy was an absolute, it did not matter that the property wasn't as advertised or that we were inconvenienced by the faulty equipment. FYI, there is no recourse through VRBO.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For my future guests, St Teresa is truly the last bit of coastal Florida not developed. We are 15 miles deep in the forest in a very private community with no city lights to spoil the stars. Fishing is excellent right off the beach. We are not in a bay or cove we are open to the Gulf. We have a reef out front that knocks down the wave action. It has saved us through dozens of hurricanes. You may not see but a few people during your stay. We have a mated pair of bald eagles out front. Families for the last seven years have enjoyed my rental at St Teresa, taking the Jungle Cruise and visiting the Aquarium. Not the mention a dozen local eateries with fresh seafood. This is not Panama City beach or Destin. Hundreds of guests have fallen in love with St Teresa. If you want to enjoy Florida as it was 100 years ago this is all that is left. ____FACT CHECK: 1. There are no such thing as spiders on the beach. Those are little sand crabs. 2. Fridge is brand new. It went out at 6pm Sat night and was fixed 10am Sun morning. Mean time you were allowed to use both our outside fridges. 3. The AC was fixed when I replaced the clogged filter. The unit was serviced the week before, but filter not changed. 4. The weather. 97degree and 115 heat index that's called Florida in summer. All over the state the water is warm. 5. Low tide at noon. Sorry you will have to go to a higher authority on this one. 6. You are in the deep woods with animals. You are in the Ocean with animals. Its called an Eco-vacation site. 7. The marsh. A 75 ft. strip of protected wetlands. 4ft wide walkway over it. 8. The cove. Google map it. We are not in a cove. 9. Bald Eagles. She got that right. I mention it when you show up with a 3 lb dog that could look like a rabbit. Again, folks, it is nature. Finally, shame on you for scaring readers about sharks, bears and alligators of which you saw none of. In over 100 years at St Teresa no one or their pets has been bothered by these animals. Usually I like to take the high road in situations like this in life. But due to the extensive essay, I felt I needed to reply. I repeat this is not Destin, Panama City or St. George. This is a beautiful natural area and the last of its kind in the State of Florida. You choose if it is right for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Upstate SC
5

Peaceful seclusion!

  • 5 of 5

The Lazy Dolphin is everything advertised and more! The house was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed with plenty of room for two teenagers, two adults, and a dog.

I loved walking on the beach with our dog and seeing the crabs, stingrays, and more. My husband and son loved surf-fishing and fishing from the pier – our son caught several small sharks and my husband caught flounder. The boys enjoyed the kayaks as well as Wakulla Springs and the Gulf Specimen Marine Lab.

Steve and Nancy were always available for questions and conversation but never intruded in “our space”.

Millender & Son's was our go-to place for fresh shrimp and oysters. Lots of seafood choices and friendly staff.

We had lunch at Tropical Traders and loved it! The service was super and the food was excellent. Tried an early supper at Posey’s but were disappointed in food and service. We arrived around 4:30 and the place was not crowded. They were out of several items on the menu and the server was not attentive. It took almost an hour to get our food - not good when you are feeding two boys!

If you are looking for crowds, shopping malls, and chain restaurants, the Lazy Dolphin is not for you. If you prefer peace and quiet, this is definitely your place! We saw less than a dozen people on the beach during our week-long stay!

This is an amazing home for families with or without dogs!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved cleaning fish with you guys at midnight! I think I had as much fun as you did. See you next year, Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super relaxing week at the Lazy Dolphin

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I with our black lab and golden retriever just spent a relaxing and fun week at the beach. We were greeted outside by Steve and Nancy. As we get out of the car I'm trying to apologize for my dogs jumping and beyond excitement and Nancy kept telling me it is okay. They are so laid back and made us feel at ease about the excitement our dogs were showing. The beach house is exactly as pictured and all the comforts of home. Wonderful porch upstairs to sit and look out at the beach and hear the beach waves. Steve and Nancy had wonderful beach chairs available for us to use. We also enjoyed some of the local seafood restaurants. Mostly having a quiet beach to ourselves and the comforts of home made for the perfect vacation for us. We enjoyed getting to play on the beach with our dogs which was a first and turned out to be a pleasure. We can't thank Steve and Nancy enough for their kindness and hospitality. We enjoyed being able to visit with them if we were lucky enough to catch them outside hanging in their yard with their dog Sam. If your looking for a great place to go,well kept and super nice people to rent from this is your place. Highly recommend and we will be back next year. Your friends from Texas.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a long drive from Houston. Hope to see you guys next year. Steve, Nancy and Sam.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from the Lazy Dolphin. It was perfect. Private beach and secluded from everything which we prefer. The dogs had a blast too! Steve and Nancy were great hosts. Can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. See you next year! Steve, Nancy and Sam.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

fathoms
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Tallahassee Regional Airport
Car: necessary

30 minutes from Wakulla Springs 'World Deepest Freshwater Springs' the Jungle Cuise is a must do, visit the Gulf Specimen Aquarium, and you are just 30 minutes from historic Apalachicola, and St Marks wildlife refuge, Shelling on the beach and on nearby St George Island State Park. Great area for Parks with outstanding Facilities. St. Marks Wild Life Refuge, Wakulla Springs State Park, Cape San Blas State Park, Fort San Marcos, Bald Point State Park...Inquire for details.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sopchoppy House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 16 Spring 17
Sep 10 2016 - May 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Summer 17
May 20 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$115
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$110
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.5%

Rates are subject to change.
Minimum rental age is 25 years old.
There is a no refund policy for cancellation or partial stay.
Hurricane evacuation will be pro-rated as necessary.
Dogs welcome with prior info and pet fee.

Guests limited to those specified in reservation.
Extra Charges for extra guests arriving that are NOT in contract

Picture ID for check-in please.
Contract Rates apply to guests in contract reservation only.
Children are to be 18 years or younger.
Additional guests/visitors not in contract are subject to additional charges.
This is a "No Smoking" house. Smoking allowed outside.
You are responsible for your Dog behavior during stay. Dogs are allowed on beach, but must be under either voice command or leash.
If you use the grill, please you must clean it for the next guest.
The address of the home is 3974 St Teresa Ave, St Teresa, FL 32358. Choose Franklin County for the GPS.
By reserving this house with your deposit you agree to all these house rules.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sopchoppy House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Full Bathrooms. One on first floor, other on second floor. Outside shower also with hot/cold water.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    Off Master - 1 murphy bed
    Downstairs - 2 sleep sofa /futon , futons are full size beds
  • Queen size Bed (1) Located in the Huge Master Suite. Next to wood burning Fireplace. Full Wall of Glass sliders faces Beach. Downstairs two futons full size. Upstairs in Second Bedroom is a Trundle Bed that can be a single, two singles (one up/one down) or pull it out and up to make a Full Bed. Please bring sheets and bath towels.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
Notes:
Pet Friendly area. Really good seafood available. House also features a mini kitchen upstairs in the Master Suite. Bike Trails nearby.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties