check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill Huss

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

OTIS -- Waterfront on Big Pond and Benton Pond Plus 43 Acres of Private Trails

8 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Otis House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

This three bedroom cabin (built in 1993) is the ONLY property in Otis that borders BOTH Benton Pond and Big Pond. At Benton Pond, we offer 400 feet of water frontage along with a canoe for your enjoyment. Our gazebo sits on a cliff overlooking the pond and is a great place to enjoy a picnic. Our water frontage at Big Pond includes a dock where you can park your motorboat for fishing and waterskiing. Walking trails criss-cross the 43 acre property for your hiking enjoyment.

In addition to the three bedrooms, the house consists of a large screened back porch that during the summer season can serve as an extra bedroom or dining area. There is a covered front porch, a side deck, and a balcony off the upstairs master bedroom. These outdoor spaces nearly double the amount of usable space.

After spending your day walking, boating, or just enjoying a good book on the porch, you will be ready to enjoy some of the many cultural activites that Berkshire County offers. In less than 30 minutes, you can listen to the Boston Symphony from your lawn seat at Tanglewood. Or, if theatre is more to your liking, try the Berkshire Theatre Festival in Stockbridge or Shakespeare and Company in Lenox each less than 30 minutes away. Stockbridge is also the home of the Norman Rockwell Museum. Finally, if modern dance is more your thing, it is just a 20 minute drive to Becket and the Jacobs Pillow Dance Festival. In addition, there are some fantastic restaurants and the Mahaiwe Theatre in Great Barrington.

The house is available in the summer as well as the fall when you can view some of the most beautiful leaf scenery in the world. Come join us!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Bill Huss (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Bill Huss chose Berkshires

The woods, lake, and cultural activities -- plus it's only a 2 hour drive from our home.

What makes this house unique

Woods, lake, and cultural activities.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I would like to thank you so very much for letting my family and I stay in your home this weekend. What a beautiful home and piece of property you have! We enjoyed ourselves so very much. If down the road you every find yourself in a place where you are considering selling it, will you please let me know. Again, thank you so very much for letting us rent it for the weekend. It was perfect!
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.5
based on 8 traveler reviews

OTIS -- Waterfront on Big Pond and Benton Pond Plus 43 Acres of Private Trails
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
5

Already looking forward to our next visit!

  • 5 of 5

We’re already looking forward to our next visit! Thank you for sharing your WONDERFUL cabin with us. It was like having our own private park in the Berkshires. Next time we’ll bring our two dogs. Even if they can’t quite appreciate the bright and airy cathedral ceiling and charming balcony the way we did, we know they’ll enjoy the pleasant walk to the ponds, and the other trails, too, just as much as the water itself. Thanks again for your hospitality; we had a great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Boston, MA
5

Beautidul Secluded Oasis

  • 5 of 5

Our family (and our dog) spent several magical days at this lovely secluded cottage in the Berkshires. It sits off a gravel road, up a hill and is surrounded by beautiful woods -- peaceful and serene. The cottage itself is lovely and well appointed. The loft bedroom (with balcony) is lovely and there are two nice sized bedrooms downstairs. A huge hit with our family was the gorgeous, large screened-in porch. It is huge, with a picnic table, a couple of sofas and a rocking chair. We spent many hours out there enjoying meals and playing chess -- nothing but the breeze and birds in the background. Behind the house, there are well marked trails that go through the woods and one goes down to the gazebo overlooking a beautiful lake where the canoe is stored. We make the hike (no more than 10 minutes) several times a day and took the canoe out often for fishing and just enjoying the beautiful lake. Cannot say enough about the peace and tranquility of this property. Bill, the owner, was wonderful and responsive. The little town of East Otis is very nearby with a country store and a place to get sensational ice cream and take out. There is a restaurant in town as well. Great Barrington is not that far with lovely shops and a huge variety of restaurants. We simply had a blast -- the dog, the kids and the adults. We cannot wait to return to the peace and quiet of this cottage.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Washington, DC
5

Fantastic Getaway in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

We spent several days in this charming, rustic, well-appointed cabin in the woods. It offered everything we could hope for in a quiet, rural getaway. The cabin itself is spacious, up-to-date and well equipped for a hassle-free vacation. The private screeened porch was perfect for reading, experiencing the tranquility of nature, and enjoying wine and cheese in the evenings. The bedrooms and living space would offer plenty of room for children or extended family, but as a couple travelling alone we simply luxuriated in the space!

The cabin alone was all we really needed for our rustic getaway, so having access to two ponds was a huge plus. Yes, you do have to traverse a path to the boat docks, but we found that our treks on the wooded paths added greatly to the experience. We took in a wonderful evening at Tanglewood, and found it to be quite accessible from the cabin--one of the highlights of our stay.

The owner is extremely thoughtful and accommodating as a host, and while we did not have to contact him during our stay, it was good to know that a responsive and owner was just a phone call away. We highly recommend this property to any couple or family that is looking for a charming respite in the woods, and we do plan to return in the near future.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Great house, but dark

  • 3 of 5

It is a beautiful house, with a large screened in porch on one side, a roofed open porch on another, and the third side has an open deck. However, the inside is very dark and since the house is in a small clearing there isn't much sun. The ponds are nice and good for canoeing…canoes provided…but they're 10-15 minutes walk away. There isn't much in terms of option for sitting by the ponds…a very small wharf on one, and the other has a very step bank.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As Steve and Rob observe, the house is surrounded by woods on three sides providing some peace, quiet, and privacy -- but a bit less sunlight. The house faces south onto a clearing which allows sunlight from that direction to reach the 12 solar panels I have on the roof. These panels capture about 85% of sunlight that would be available on a clear field and make the house virtually "net zero energy" -- a plus to those guests with a sensitivity for the environment. The time to walk to the ponds depends on whether your priority is the destination itself or on enjoying the route. I often make the trip in slightly more than half the time expressed by Steve and Rob -- but they probably took in a lot more of the natural beauty than I do. While access to Benton Pond is rather steep -- we provide a nice gazebo (with chairs) on a cliff overlooking the water with great views. On Big Pond, the dock is 4 feet by 16 feet. Guests can relax on plastic chairs that we provide or sit on the dock itself dangling their feet in the water. Many guests swim from the dock. While this listing may not be the best choice for those looking for a water view from the house itself -- it's perfect for people (and dogs) who enjoy hiking the 43 acres of private wooded trails, access to two ponds, and the peace and quiet of the outdoors. By the way, Steve and Rob were terrific guests leaving everything in great shape. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Fantastic experience!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this cabin in the fall as a surprise for my husband's birthday and we took along our two dogs. The owner was so thoughtful that he left my craft-beer-loving husband a bottle of a local beer and us a bottle of champagne in the fridge. We were looking for a gorgeous, secluded cabin in the woods with hiking trails and a lake and that's what we got. We would definitely rent again! :)

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Getaway in woods

  • 5 of 5

Excellent getaway for adventure seekers. Beautiful property. Friendly owner. Will come back again.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Otis House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Season
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

A non-refundable payment of 50% is required at booking. The remaining 50% plus the $500 security deposit are due prior to arrival. Note that the weekly rate goes down to $1250 after the first week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Otis House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Canoe, boat dock

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties