Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2beachfun a Great Beach House with super water views, Dead End St. Beach 150 Ft"""

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,651 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 15 in beds)

We are only 150 feet from the beach on a dead end street. Super fishing, swimming and shell gathering. We have 2 kayaks for your use. The ramp (not ADA) allows seniors or elderly pets access to the house.

2beachfun in Palm Beach that does not allow MOTOR vehicles on the beach. We are on a dead end road to the beach with 2 protected views to the East and South. Our deck has some shade all day. The deck is accessed by a ramp and stairs with a gate on each to keep small children and pets safe on the deck.

Recently we completely remodeled our house installing a solid vinyl plank floor, repainted the inside of the house, installed new plumbing fixtures in the baths and added 3 new bedrooms making a total of 4 bedrooms. A new grill on the garden covered patio, a new electric range with convection oven, new microwave, new washer and dryer are off the hall inside the house new 22 inch and 37 inch TVs with Dish. We have a very quiet dishwasher that is quieter than two people talking, a Kitchen Aid refrigerator/freezer with ice maker. We have an extra refrigerator and freezer in the ground floor storage area that is accessible to you for more cool storage space.

We have all the dishes, pots and pans that we need for ourselves to use the house. There are two coffee pots. One is 12 cups and one is 4 cup. We even leave the spices out for you. We are not lacking anything in the house. We have ceiling fans in all the bedrooms, kitchen - dining and living areas. We installed new hurricane proof windows and doors which makes the house very quiet inside.

We have a wood burning fireplace that is nice to have romantic times in cool weather.

We have large windows in all the rooms so the house is bright and cheery. The cathedral ceiling in the living area of the house makes it feel very large. The dining table will seat 8 with 5 more at the large bar.

We furnish all linens and cleaning is included in the rent. Paper products are furnished. We have 2 kayaks for your use.

We have TWO separate Air Conditioning systems so you will be cool in the house.

We live here in the winter season from Oct until May each year. We do spend Thanksgiving and Christmas with our grandchildren so if you are interested in a beach holiday check our calendar.



More Details

Charles Calvin
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, Some Spanish but not fluent anymore
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018

About Charles Calvin

My wife and I built this house for ourselves in 1996. Everyone just loves our house. There is nothing we would change after having used it for 19 years. We live here in the Oct to May season full time. We leave in the fall for a few weeks to spend time with our grandchildren so if you are interested in a holiday visit to the beach check our calendar as I keep it up to date.

Charles Calvin purchased this house in 1996

Why Charles Calvin chose Palm Beach

We built the house because we could not find a house that was right for us. It is close in to Galveston with great views and a short one minute walk to the very wide beach.

What makes this house unique

This house works well for one or two or three couples couple or a large family. The large deck of about 800 square feet will give everyone room outside. The neighborhood is very quiet. The ground floor garden area (700 sq ft in size) has several tables and about 7 chairs with a rocking couch. This area is always cool, but we did not know that when we put in the two ceiling fans which we never use. There is an outdoor (hot and cold water) shower in the garden area also. There is a hammock, 6 or 8 chairs, a rocking chair that seats 2, and several tables. We have a charcoal grill for cooking and BBQ.

We like to sit here in the afternoon shade and enjoy the breezes off the water.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for having us. We had a very nice time here.

Your fireplace flue is rusted in the open position.

Thank you very much for telling me about the flue. I fixed it as soon as I got your note. We hope you will come again.

Charles Calvin

We really enjoyed our stay.
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 7


Palm Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1651 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Lake View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Master BR has this bath room. We have a grab bar on the tub.
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , Hot and cold water
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Grab bar on the toilet for assistance. Wheel chair friendly
  • Bathroom 1 is wheel chair accessible. You can turn around in this larger bathroom.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master has a private bathroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 3 bunk bed , Twin over full bunk and 2 bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sofa is a double bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , We have a Queen sofa bed in the living area.
  • Queen size Beds (2) in Master BR and other BR, Twin or Single Beds (2) two single beds in other BR, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Sofa double bed (2) One in new addition and one in living room, Bunk Beds (1) Bunk room has one set of bunks, and a twin over full bed.
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Sand Box
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Special occasions : Reservations for Special occasions such as birthday parties, family reunions, etc., must be disclosed at the time of booking and prior approval is required. Prom parties, fraternity or sorority parties, graduation parties are not allowed at any time. Palm Beach does NOT allow MOTOR vehicles ON THE BEACH, child safe with proper parental supervision. The beach is less than a one minute walk to the end of the dead end street.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
2beachfun a Great Beach House with super water views, Dead End St. Beach 150 Ft
average rating of 4.5652175 based on 30 reviews
Fort Worth, TX

Wonderful sunny and comfortable house.

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a girl's weekend in this house and it was so much fun. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to cook fabulous meals and it is so spacious. There were seven of us and we were able to all sit around the table and never felt crowded.

We took lots of walks on the beach and it was so close being only about half a short block up. Our little dog also liked his walks down to the beach and the ramp going down the side of the house made it so much easier to maneuver. Gametime and movietime were also lots of fun with the awesome round table and the big tv with comfy chairs and sofa to snuggle up in.

Great house for a family with kids. There are gates that can be locked at both openings to the terrific deck with the beautiful views of the gulf. Since it was rather chilly, we sat on the cozy sofa inside and still had a view of the beach in two directions.

We were here during Mardi Gras weekend and the neighborhood was so quiet and we felt like we were the only ones at the beach this weekend! We didn't go to any restaurants or shopping but having been to Galveston before, I know both are plentiful.

I'm already gathering another group of friends to go down for a weekend this spring and the family to take a trip this summer.

You won't be disappointed if you rent this one.

A big thanks to the owners for everything. You were great to work with.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2010
  • Stayed: February 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments. We hope you do return. Charles and Mary Calvin
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Worth Your Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with 4 adults, 2 teens, and 5 young children. There was plenty of room to spread out! We all took showers/baths at the same time of day and never even got close to running out of hot water. The wifi was perfect--no problems, even running all of our devices at the same time. The DVR was a nice surprise--we recorded the game to watch when we got back at night. There were plenty of towels--bath and beach. I don't think this listing does justice to the beach proximity. Was it a block? I don't know. It was like walking across a large backyard. It took only a minute. The neighborhood is very nice, quiet, and safe. Because we were scheduled to visit only a week after Hurricane Harvey, I emailed the owner questions a LOT. I know I was super annoying. He was always gracious and helpful, though. I felt good knowing he would respond if a need arose while we were staying at this property.

I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time, We do try to make every stay as pleasant as possible for each person that stays at our house. Charles Calvin Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty house

  • 1 of 5

Did not like this house. It was dirty and dusty.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Everything was OK with this Renter until we charged them $50.00 for removing excess sand and dirt from the house, cleaning the food off the cook top, removing dried food from the refrigerator and freezer, and picking up empty water bottles from under the beds and other furniture. Our cleaning manager does a very thorough cleaning of the entire house, deck and ground floor garden area after each renter leaves. I rarely have a complaint of the house not being satisfactory. We would not let them rent again as the house was just left in a big mess. Charles Calvin Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Wonderful beach house for our family of 13

  • 5 of 5

This was a great house and a perfect location. There were 13 people in our party – all adults and teenagers. The ramp was great because my mom is in a wheelchair so we were able to get her in and out of the house. We loved that the beach is within walking distance. The house is spacious, nicely decorated, and equipped with everything you need including plenty of kitchen utensils, pots, pans, beach towels, beach chairs, sheets, blankets, and plenty of seating on the balcony and patio. There is even a nice cart to haul your items to the beach. The kids enjoyed using the kayaks. We didn’t have any issues with the internet. The house is about 7 or 8 miles from the seawall so it's a only a short drive to town to enjoy restaurants and other attractions. The owner was easy to work with and so was Sandra, the housekeeper. She was extremely helpful if we had any questions. We had a great time and hope to be back again soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing--Awesome--Perfect for our family group!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and the beach and everything about it! It was so easy to walk to the beach early morning and late evening! The porch was wonderful to sit out in the evenings and play family games! The sleeping arrangements worked great for us. I could go on and on but it was an awesome experience--one I hope we can repeat!!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Awesome experience!!

  • 5 of 5

Awesome location and house!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Bluewater Grill at Jamaica Beach Shopping Center
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Galveston Country Club
Nearest Train
65 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.75 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Bluewater Grill delivers great seafood etc
Nearest Beach
40.3 Metres
Gulf of Mexico
Car: necessary

2beachfun is in Palm Beach subdivision. Most homes are smaller than ours with about 1/3 occupied by full time residents. We are less than a minute walk to the beach on a dead end street so it is safe for children to walk to the beach. No vehicle traffic on our very wide beach.

The beach itself is beautiful for finding treasures like shells that wash up from the sea. There is mostly fine sand with shells interspersed. In the summertime, the water around Galveston is warm. During certain weeks throughout the year, beach goers will see a line of seaweed that has washed up on the beach. Seaweed is not always there and is not the norm, but it is natural and just a part of the beach ecosystem. It is partially responsible for building up the beach and dunes that we all enjoy.

Our house is all on one floor. We are very close to all the activities in Galveston. It only takes about 15 minutes to get to the Strand and downtown Galveston.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $125 + Tax
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 15.0%

The rent includes all costs. Cleaning and linens are included. The damage deposit is usually returned the day you vacate by PayPal.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties