Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Shirley Johnson

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Relax and Enjoy! Lake Canal House Close to Historic Square on Lake Granbury

19 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Texas Lakes House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms + Sunroom off the King Bedroom, 2 Baths (Sleeps 10)

PLEASE NOTE: CHECK IN IS AT 4 PM AND CHECK OUT IS AT 11 AM. MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY IS 10. This recently remodeled lake canal home on about 1/4 acre terraces down to the lake and is located close to the Historic Granbury Square.Bring the kids, dog and grandma! Or just enjoy a great weekend at the lake with the guys or girls. You can bring your boat and/or jet skis and tie up at our private boat dock (lake levels permitting) or just enjoy the fishing and scenery from the dock. Create dinners at home in the fully stocked kitchen or outside by the BBQ. Curl up in the over sized leather reclining couch and enjoy watching your favorite sports on the 42'' flat screen. HD cable provided including music stations, or one of the many movies provided in our DVD Library. Bring your favorite reading and enjoy the look and sounds of nature from our screened in back porch or covered enclosed hot tub that overlooks the ravine below, or from the swing at front. You can always stay connected with our complimentary WiFi system. The house is close to the Granbury Historic square and all the restaurants and local activities. Lake Granbury!!

This house comes completely furnished with a king bedroom, and three additional queen bedrooms, plus a sunroom with two twin beds in a trundle. A combination playpen/crib, high chair and indoor dog kennels are provided. The house comfortably sleeps ten.

More Details
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Shirley Johnson (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Labor Day Weekend 2010

Everything was easy to locate and the house was spotless! Our family of 9 had a wonderful time. I'm so glad you listed on It truly was our home away. Thanks for great accommodations.
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 5


based on 19 traveler reviews

Relax and Enjoy! Lake Canal House Close to Historic Square on Lake Granbury
average rating of 4.105263 based on 24 reviews

No hot tub, grill had no bottom, garbage disposal.

  • 1 of 5

This house is a very sad house to stay in when it isn't clean, well maintained and there is a note on the dining room table to "NOT call Shirley" call Jesse. One of the beds didn't have clean sheets, the hot tub was locked up the whole 3 days when we went to grill our steaks there was no bottom in the grill. We had 1

8 people staying and there was only 7 forks. When we went to clean the kitchen the garbage disposal didn't work so one of our guys had to fix it. The dock is falling down and unsafe to use. The owners need to step up and stay in their property for a while to see if they would rent this house. These are the big things tons of little things were wrong I will not mention.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful Christmas vacation with family!

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful home to vacation in at Christmas with my family! Shirley was gracious and helpful, beyond what we had any reason to expect. Granbury is a beautiful town with friendly people. Thank you for a peaceful and enjoyable stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great girl's getaway

  • 4 of 5

Plenty of beds for all of us and very close to shopping downtown Granbury. That was a definite plus. There was some electrical issues in the kitchen as far as overhead lighting that needs to be addressed. We could see ok. Guess we are getting older and our eyesight is just not what it used to be. :-)

Granbury is a lovely place to shop and this is a great house to use as your home base.


  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay at our house and the town of Granbury. Thanks so much for letting me know there was a problem with the kitchen overhead light. We will be sure to take care of that immediately!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not Happy

  • 1 of 5

When we arrived the place was not very clean as they expect you to leave the home or charge you extra. There were cob webs all over like the house like it had not been used for months. They charge an additional $75 if dirt gets in the hot tub and when you get in/out of the tub you literally step in dirt since the tub is in the middle of the back yard with no grass. Save your self $75 and drain the tub and refill it before you leave so you don't have to pay too. I was also charged $25 for what I was told broken beer bottle glass in the front yard. We had no glass products the entire weekend, not even a jar of jelly could have broke because we had NO GLASS products. I should have been more alarmed about this property when I read similar reviews but thought maybe that was a few chronic complainers. I never complain and in fact it has taken me 2 months to post this since I typically wouldn't waste my time but everyone should be warned about this property and the integrity of the property manager.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Plainfield, IN

Granbury delight

  • 4 of 5

In town for a family wedding. The house was clean. Plenty of room for the 6 of us plus our dogs. We enjoyed the hot tub. The house had what we needed - plenty of linens & kitchen supplies. The dogs in the neighborhood did bark ALOT especially during our first night of getting in late and trying to sleep. Not really a complaint, as we were glad to have our dogs with but they were right outside our window. The neighborhood was fine for walking the dogs. Just a quick trip to downtown Granbury. The front porch on the rental was also night for hanging out with the family. Reservations were easy. We rented paddleboards at a local marina - the staff there were very helpful. Overall a very good trip.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our house. It is from guests like you that we determine how we can improve our property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Enjoyable Family Gathering

  • 4 of 5

This was a nice family get away. There was plenty of room for all of our 7 family members and our 3 little dogs. We were able to cook our meals, sit around the big table to eat, sit comfortably together to watch the nice size television, and all sleep comfortably in this cozy home. We were able to put our boat in the boat lift and enjoy the lake during the day; and, in the evenings, we enjoyed a relaxing time in the hot tub.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
70 Miles

Other Activities: boating, wildlife viewing, shopping, parasailing


Rates & Availability

Granbury House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Texas Lakes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms have been remodeled to accommodate more modern amenities.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Sunroom
  • There is a sun room off the King bedroom that has a trundle bed with (2) twins and room to set up the crib/playpen, high chair, and kennels for your dogs while you are away from the house.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
The house is on one level and convenient for someone on a walker to get around.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote