check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lisa

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, spanish

Z'Uno, the Perfect Beach House on Gulf with Pool in San Benito

9 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Dzemul House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Great beach home on Gulf of Mexico in San Benito, Mexico. Secluded beach where you rarely see anyone, only the occasional fishing boat. White, sandy beach--walk out into the Gulf 100 yards before water is above shoulders. Perfect for long distance swimming.

Beautifully covered and protected patio overlooking the Gulf with dining tables. Refreshing, filtered, staired pool allows for easy entry and seating on steps with built-in chaises at far end. Chaise lounges and chairs for lots of seating and sun worshipping. Courtyard has gardens and sheltered dining and sunning. Perfect for those breezy days or cooler nights.

Z'uno is an ideal retreat for a couple with the occasional guest(s) or a family with a child or two. Stay a month at these great rates. Wonderful location for exploring Mayan ruins, Merida and the Yucatan Emerald Coast. Excellent restaurants nearby, Technotel and San Benito Grill located within 2 km, and more good dining in Progreso on the Malecon and in Merida. Spa available at Yucatan Reef Hotel.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Lisa (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, spanish

About Lisa

Love the beautiful Yucatan Peninsula, the Gulf of Mexico, the people and the food.

Lisa purchased this house in 2009

What makes this house unique

It is quiet!!! Rarely see anyone on the beach except in summer. Easy to get to Merida if you want to go to the big city.

Reviews

4.8
based on 9 traveler reviews

Z'Uno, the Perfect Beach House on Gulf with Pool in San Benito
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
Evergreen CO
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

Upon arriving at the property it exceeded our expectations. The home is larger than the impression given by the photos. It was clean, secure, peaceful with a nice beach and pool. Will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house- bad weather!

  • 4 of 5

Z'uno is a beautiful property, really well maintained and clean and Lisa was super fast in responding and great to deal with. Unfortunately we got hit with a bad week of weather, barely getting above 20C the whole time. The pool was unheated so there was no way we could swim even though it looked so tempting! The beach was piled with this sea grass/seaweed stuff, which made even walking the beach a bit of a challenge. The ocean on this side was also freezing, so there was no swimming to be had there either. It was quiet though, literally saw maybe 10 people tops, but I'm assuming that's because it's not the best time to visit this coast.

Literally minutes down the road there are ruins, albeit small, but amazing nonetheless, AND you have the whole place to yourselves! The best part of the trip was when we decided to take the road directly across from the access to Z'Uno. It had a vague eco/wildlife sign on it so we decided to check it out. You can only drive so far because there are some unofficial garbage dumping sites on either side, but trust me, KEEP walking! Down the road there are flamingoes and white herons everywhere one either side of this little path. We got within a few feet of them, it was really magical.

Unfortunately we also discovered too late that this little view point on the side of the road on the way to Z'Uno is actually a place where you can hire someone to take you to cenotes. They were right there, we were so sad we didn't know this! Again, we probably would have been the only ones there, though it may have been too cold to swim in them, not sure.

We went into town for dinner a few times, but the internet doesn't list much about the local restaurants so it was a bit of a gamble. It think it would be awesome if there were a few tips about where to eat, visit etc. just to make it a bit easier.

So basically if the weather had cooperated, and the ocean and pool were swimmable we would have had exactly the trip we were hoping for. I think we had been anticipating more of the Caribbean-style coast, but our mistake! I'm sure if you went at the right time it would be amazing!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Mellow Yellow

  • 5 of 5

This house was exceptional. The pictures do not do it justice! I cannot speak for my kids, but our king bed was very comfortable. The house was spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. Both bedrooms have glass patio doors, the master leading to the pool/beach and the second on to the courtyard. The courtyard was lovely and sheltered from the wind (as it was very windy at times). Our kids loved playing on the beach, which we had to ourselves for the most part and has a very easy slope into the ocean. We were able to head way out into the water and it was still only at our thighs with a nice sandy bottom. The pool was perfect for cooling off and lounging. We rented a car and were able to see the nearby ruins, head in to Progreso for groceries or dinner and zip around as needed. I would highly recommend flying to Merida and not Cancun like we did! We were extremely happy with our stay and would suggest this rental to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Very nice, tranquil beach getaway!

  • 4 of 5

The house is super comfortable and had everything we needed for a family of four's beach week. A great place to unplug and relax.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Denver, Colorado
5

Delightful vacation at Zuno

  • 5 of 5

I had the pleasure to stay at this lovely Hacienda twice in 2015. I cant say enough about this property! It is a place where you can unwind from our fast pace life. We arrived in the evening... headed straight for the patio (with wine in hand) sat down in the lounge chairs with our feet on the sea wall and proceeded to watch/listen to the ocean for the next four hours, the stars were spectacular!

The house has all the modern conveniences and the interior is lovely (along with the artworks which was created by the owner!) Very comfortable!

Our days were filled with breakfast on the patio by the pool..combing the beach for shells.. than heading into Merida for some local foods of the Yucatan .

Also did a marvelous tour of local ruins... took a private tour of the grounds.. was lovely (dont forget to bring you bathing suit for a dip in the Cenote!

The week went way too fast... i would go back to Zuno in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York, New York
5

Our little perfect beach hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have been renting this house in San Benito almost every year for 6 years. We absolutely love the laid-back vibe of the beach house, and especially love that it's not a tourist destination. The house is modern, with original art by the owner, who is a super-accomplished artist. The sun is almost always shining, and the pool is perfection. I recommend this house to everyone I meet because it's a slice of Heaven on Earth.

(When you rent it, be sure to visit the Mayan ruins that are a 5 minute drive from home - we usually get it to ourselves, and pack a lunch/cocktails for enjoying on top of the pyramid.)

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Merida
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Technotel
Nearest Beach
San Benito--home is beach front.

Two Mayan ruins Xcambo and Dzibilchaltun are close by and worth visiting. See websites www.yucatantoday.com and www.yucatanliving.com for information about events, restaurants, festivals and attractions.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dzemul House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 16 2016
7 night minimum stay
$600
$1,800
 
 
Holiday 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$850
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$700
$2,300
 
 
Spring Break 2017
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$850
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$700
$2,300
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
14 night minimum stay
$1,200
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Air Conditioning $100

Air conditioning is an extra $125/week. Not necessary during the day. May like during night from May-Aug.
Internet is approximately $45 per week and you contract from your computer directly to Motul Connect.
Weekly housekeeping and pool cleaning included.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dzemul House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size bed (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Two full-sized futons. Flexibility--Put two in guest room or one in guest room, one in living room, depending on privacy level required.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Weekly housekeeping included for stays of two weeks or more.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties