Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

$95+/Night 1BR/1BA Oceanfront Hawaiian Holiday! Book Early!

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

UPDATED 3.19.14 We have upgraded with NEW custom carved, mango wood, bedroom furniture.

Your location in Kihei will be near main roads to all Maui has to offer, fine restaurants, the finer shopping centers, scenic overlooks, walk to Pacific Whale Foundation, sort drive to Maui Ocean Center, Old Town Wailuku, 'Up-country' and the best beaches in the world for any water sport! Enjoy this Maui vacation spot whether you want to just relax or experience more. Kauhale Makai has a full time concierge offering special rates for any Maui activity!

Whale watch from our lanai (seasonal) and see sunset skies from a 2nd floor, ocean view (balcony) or through sliding glass doors from our dining table, above tropical gardens (not parking). Enjoy our pillow-top Cal King bed. Freshen up between adventures in our enlarged, renovated, bathroom with custom, walk in multi-shower, unlimited hot water, four-foot vanity and elbow room to share. There is a full kitchen, renovated for open space with an island breakfast counter. Oh, FREE WiFi too.

Outside you are literally steps from the beach, for long walks or a short one to an ocean front restaurant (at a neighboring building) next to the Pacific Whale Foundation. Azeka Shopping Center and Piilani Shopping Center are about three driving minutes away. Times Supermarket is next to Azeka Shopping Center with plenty of local restaurants, a post office and Longs Drug Store. Piilani Shopping Center currently has an Outback, Starbucks, Jamba Juice, Subway, Round Table, L&L Drive-in, and a pharmacy in Safeway or Longs Drug Store.

The property is located on Waipuilani Beach Park, offering ocean, mountain and tropical garden views. Kauhale Makai has central air conditioning, gated pool with spa/hot tub and children's wading pool. There are gas grills, putting green, shuffle board, an air conditioned, party room with fridge, studio upright piano, separate men's and women's bathrooms and saunas.

Live and share the Aloha Spirit of Maui. We would love to accommodate you. 'E komo mai'

**We offer a 5% discount for 30 nights (or more) continuous stay. Email us for the details.

We do not have an ADA compliant unit. However, our assigned parking spot is conveniently close to the easier walks leading to elevators. Our entry door has a two inch threshold and our walk in shower has a three inch threshold.

Keywords: 1 Bed 1 Bathroom new renovated second floor condo ocean view Anthurium building of Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea) CLEAN and well cared for.

More Details

Owner
Steve
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response rate:
0%
Calendar last updated:
May 5, 2017

About Steve

We love our location on Maui at this quiet beach, where we spend time on the water or in the pool with our boys.

Steve purchased this condo in 2003

Why Steve chose Maui

We love being by the ocean and enjoy the comfortable, easy climate and activities in Kihei, Maui.

What makes this condo unique

Though we live on Maui, we always feel like we are on vacation at our condo. The beach is visible with the dune where it meets the property. Drive 3 minutes or hike a flat mile to a great choice of restaurants, groceries, post office, pharmacies. Walk down the beach to tennis courts or a neighboring restaurant next to the Pacific Whale Foundation.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The upgrades to the apartment look really nice. We liked the beach for an early morning undisturbed walk, then it was only 2 miles in our rented car to get to the main swimming beaches for the rest of the day. The location is convenient to get to any other parts of the island to enjoy the various features of Maui.

We would come back to the same place for sure.

No disturbances, no annoyances, everything worked great.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Renovated in 2009. Upgrades: Walk-in Shower with new tile throughout, inviting Rain Showerhead + Handheld showerhead, new vanity & granite countertop
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • King size beds (1) NEW Pillow-top California King; We have a toddler mattress (No crib) for families with a little one; Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) full size futon with memory foam
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Newly renovated, beautiful, custom, enlarged, walk-in shower with overhead rain shower head AND a separate handheld massage shower wand

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
$95+/Night 1BR/1BA Oceanfront Hawaiian Holiday! Book Early!
average rating of 4.6875 based on 17 reviews
2

The owner had no property manager. Communication very difficult.

  • 2 of 5

The condo itself was fine and clean. Everything worked ok except we couldn't get the key box open and there was no one there representing the owner to help. Nice neighbors solved it for us. Depleted cleaning supplies- many empty bottles of glass cleaner, toilet cleaner, bathroom cleaner, all purpose cleaner. I rented this for 30 days, and there was only 3 rolls of toilet tissue and 1 roll of paper towels. Kauhale Makai is showing its age and lack of care- broken elevators, very dirty textured corridor walls, chipped concrete. The grounds are fairly nice, but need some new plantings- beginning to look sparse. The location is great and the view is spectacular. The large number of "No" signs is quite unwelcoming. The outdoor grill area is very nice and clean. Good pool. Very nice and helpful receptionists.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reviewing correspondence and photos provided by our contract cleaner demonstrates Patricia's negative comments are baseless. Our contract cleaner informed us, she "trashed our condo". This is a first for us after hosting guests since 2009. We are processing a complaint with VRBO so other owners are warned. We have only been gracious and shared aloha with Patricia in our communications, before & during her stay. Before her plane landed, we communicated via text to welcome her and provide entry codes as a reminder for easy access. When she did call, we walked her through entry codes and access to our secure, private WiFi on more than one occasion. Upon arrival, Patricia could not recall the entry instructions emailed, did not check for our text and did not call us right away. We have a key-less, security, entry lock, where codes are entered in a doorknob keypad. We sent via email and text, her agreed, unique, digital entry codes. Without contacting us, Patricia enlisted third party help of neighbors and community security to break into our emergency lock-box, remove the master key and bypass the key-less security system. If she had called us right away we could have talked her through entering her key-less codes. The "Property Manager" is on site for business hours and tasking maintenance. Patricia was met by additional roving "Security" as she tried to enter our condo. We also delivered additional items as Patricia requested them but she omits these from her review. Patricia was a very difficult guest to please, even with several calls a week. Via VRBO we contact guests and expect communication via email, phone, text or voicemail. We sent her information via emails & texts before and during her stay. Via numerous calls she finally admitted she doesn't access her email often. When she claimed she didn't see texts & emails, we reviewed texts and emails and forwarded them again. Guests can call us if there is any question or immediate need. Kauhale Makai is an ocean-side two structure concrete complex with over 140 units of studio to 2 bedroom layouts. The elevators were recently overhauled. Hawaii law requires "No Smoking" signs be posted at all building entrances. Patricia is a smoker who agreed to our no smoking policy. We invite guests to review photos of Kauhale Makai and our condo to make their own discernment regarding location & grounds.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Monitor Washington
5

Great location, exactly as advertised and perfect for us.

  • 5 of 5

We booked very last minute but this met our needs perfect. We had direct beach access for walks bother directions and were close to stores. The condo had a pool and bbq's, AC, great fans for air circulation. We had a sunset view off the balcony as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

AWESOME HOMELY PLACE WITH AMAZING VIEWS

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a good apartment/condo as were visiting Maui to celebrate our babymoon. We found this place after some research and we were very happy to stay here. It is located centrally in Kihei so it is not too far from western beaches or Haleakala towards the east. Condo included all the necessary amenities including all necessary cutlery and a complete kitchen. Best part is the balcony which provides much better views of the garden and nice little secluded beach. We stayed here for about 8 days and almost forgot that it was a not a place we owned when we had to leave as our vacation was over 😀 Owner is nice and very prompt to address any concerns you may run into. These condos are situated in residential part of Maui island and hence very close to grocery and medical stores (such as Safeway, LongDrugs/CVS) for convenience. We had some great memories at this place and we certainly look forward to return soon. Mahalo!!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We will be back!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time and absolutely loved staying in your condo. The view was beautiful, the interior was spacious, and we loved the updated bathroom and the comfy bed.

The bbq area was a wonderful bonus and became a great place to meet other area visitors while we all cooked and compared cooking methods and recipes. The pool and hot tub area was clean and never crowded or noisy. We loved the stunning sunset views every night and had dinner on the balcony a couple of times. Your condo has one of the best views on the island as far as we could tell. None of the restaurants we visited could offer that as well as your place did. Whatever issues other reviewers had with the view being blocked have been resolved. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the plumeria trees were gorgeous and smelled great!

Having a designated parking spot was also a great bonus. We walked to the Whale Center and enjoyed hearing about the fish pond project and other conservation work they are involved in. The location was convenient to everything we needed without being on an overly busy thoroughfare. We were never bothered by traffic noise and we did enjoy hearing the bird songs, even if they do wake up a bit early :)

We loved everything about the place and hope to return soon.

Best Regards,

Keith and Lori

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
4

COMFORTABLE, CENTRAL AND AFFORDABLE

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at your condo, it had everything we needed, including a soft comfortable bed!

Owners were great to deal with, Emails were answered promptly and professionally. The condo was as stated with great extras, location was central to everything and the kitchen has everything you need, so make sure you hit Costco after you pick up you rental car, it will save you a ton on groceries and it's only 15 minutes to the condo from there.

If you're looking for comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price, this is the place!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Calgary,Ab.
5

Clean and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Nice to have so many little extras included. Good value. Nice not to cross a road to get to the ocean. The enclosed gardens were beautiful and the outside lawns, trees and Bar-B-Q,s well maintained. The ocean view is blocked by the tree that has grown in front. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Good beach for kite surfing, windsurfing or kayak launch. Connected to less busy beaches for walking and running. Activity room available for parties with piano, fridge and separate men's and women's sauna, showers and bathrooms.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
VALUE
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$95
 
 
PRIME
Oct 1 2017 - Dec 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
HIGH SEASON / HOLIDAY
Dec 20 2017 - Apr 15 2018
14 night minimum stay
$131
 
 
PRIME
Apr 16 2018 - Jun 15 2018
7 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
VALUE
Jun 16 2018 - Sep 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
$95
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $93.75
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Please email me for quote breakdown or for extended stay discounts.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties