check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rock & Nell Walker

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Bahamas Eleuthera, Ten Bay Beach;Cove Property; Privacy

25 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

Central Eleuthera House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The house is built to take advantage of its location on the water with bedrooms and living area facing the ocean. Each bedroom has its own full bathroom. The master bedroom has a king-size bed; the second bedroom has twins that can be converted to a king. Plenty of linens provided. This house works well for 2 couples because of the way it is laid out with bedrooms on each end and a common living area in the center. Bedrooms and living area open to the front deck and water. Each bedroom has its own covered sitting area that joins the front deck. For those who like to cook, the kitchen is well-furnished. Or, guests could elect to have a true Bahamian meal cooked for them at the house by contacting Sue Knowles; her number is posted at the house. Many local restaurants are within easy driving distance to the house. The property offers privacy. Serenity Cove home is tucked back in a cove and sits in the center of three lots, all owned by the property owner. Watch the night life on the water with the help of high-beam lighting that covers the cove area. Ten Bay Beach is one of the nicest beaches on Eleuthera; great for sunbathing, swimming, walking, and snorkeling right from the beach. Vacationers enjoy getting into the water in front of the house for swimming and snorkeling, or going to the beach which is a short 50 yards through the water. Many folks vist the entire island, but say their favorite place is right at Ten Bay Beach! A favorite past time is feeding fish from the deck. Renter has two kayaks available for rent at the rate of $100 per week for 2 single kayaks. The deck on this house is high and over coral rock. We always caution folks with small children. If you are an island visitor, you realize the tiny no-see-ums also love the area. We recommend that visitors who are sensitive, bring needed repellent. Water shoes are also recommended to avoid the sea urchins. The wrap-around deck offers you sun (or not) from 3 locations. Guests have explored this island from top to bottom and have found great beaches to explore. Many folks enjoy traveling south to Tarpum Bay to purchase fresh fish from the docks; wait until mid-afternoon. We recommend reading the guest book for ideas, and also entering your own for others to explore. Directions to the house: On Queens Highway, travel 14 miles south of Governor's Harbour airport; roughly 4 miles south of Palmetto Point. After your pass a small sub-station with transformers enclosed in a chain-link fence (on you right), the road to Ten Bay development will be on your right (about 1.5 or less miles). On right, look for sign that has property owners listed. Follow that road for about .8 mile; the house is on the right; palm trees lining drive to house.

Keywords: House with a view

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Rock & Nell Walker (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Rock & Nell Walker chose Bahamas

Our goal was to find an island where we felt safe, and with people we felt were genuinely friendly. After searching many islands in the Bahamas, we found that on Eleuthera.

Ten Bay Beach and its surrounding cove area supports an abundance of sea life that feed on the coral. Renters are delighted to watch a variety of fish from the deck.

While the island offers a slow-paced and peaceful vacation, a number of restaurants can be found within easy driving distance of the house. Many visitors enjoy purchasing fish from the docks at Tarpum Bay or Governor's Harbour and cooking at home. Grocery stores on the island offer almost anything you need.

What makes this house unique

If you are hunting peace and quiet, and you love the beach, and being in the water, Ten Bay Beach is as good as it gets!

Reviews

4.9
based on 25 traveler reviews

Bahamas Eleuthera, Ten Bay Beach;Cove Property; Privacy
average rating of 4.88 based on 25 reviews
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We love visiting all the beaches of Eleuthera but when we stay at Serenity Cove there really is no need to go anywhere else. It's truly paradise. The water is beautiful. The snorkeling is great. There are beautiful starfish as well as tropical fish right around the house and surrounding area. The marine life is incredible at times. The most beautiful sunset we've ever seen was at Serenity Cove. This last visit had a beautiful double rainbow in the middle of the day with the sun shining through the clouds. It was a vision to behold. I cannot express enough what a beautiful place this is and how nice the home is. The house is clean and beds are very comfortable. You won't want to leave once you're there!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bryan & JoLinda, Thank you for your return visits to Serenity Cove at Ten Bay Beach. We are so glad that you enjoy the island as much as we do. The canvas boat picture and other framed pictures in our house are works of art shared by JoLinda. We agree, the island has much to offer; but, the best part is returning home to Ten Bay Beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

may 2015

  • 5 of 5

great place !! great view !! perfect beach !! other than the seasonal no see uhms

snorkling around the house is excellant !!

the home is laid out and set up quite well !!

best dinner out -- tippys ( expensive but worth the trip

best place in gov harbour bucceneers club on the banks rd behind eleuthera supply

sunsets is a close second

best grocery is in rock sound although between barrows and eleuthera supply you can find what you need

the conch shack (thereasa) in tarpum sound can arrange fresh fish with her brother -- dont count on the guide books that you can buy fish at 3 pm on the docs talk to thersea

best gift shop is island girl on the way to looking glass bridge

second best normas in town

best local beer in my book is sands light !!!!! buy at barrrows 45.00 a case

shelling ? best place hands down is bullocks beach on the way to tarpum bay see the book and watch for the beach access sign

we had a great time !! great place thanks for having us

dave, bonnie and rhonda

fyi water access from house -- you will need dive boots to do this safely

  • Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Dave, Bonnie & Rhonda, Wow! You folks covered a lot of ground and water while you were on the island. Thanks for all the great recommendations to folks. We are glad that you enjoyed the house, Ten Bay and the Island. Yes, we always recommend that folks wear surf mocks or dive boots work also. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
5

Terrific Spot

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for serenity then Serenity Cove certainly delivers. Peaceful, beautiful and private. Centrally located on the island, so easy to do day trips north, south or in the area. Or just stay where you are with a private cove, one of the best beaches on the island, snorkeling, a perfect deck for relaxing. From early morning coffee watching the marine life to star gazing at night... it's a great spot. Turn on the deck lights at night to illuminate the cove and watch the wide variety of fish, rays, etc. House is very clean, plenty of room, all you can ask to meet your personal and cooking needs. Due to the irregularities of island services, we had no phone or internet for the week of our stay, but it just made it all that more relaxing. Rock and Nell were very good to deal with. Highly recommend this getaway on Eleuthera.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a great time on the island. And, thank you for sharing your lovely comments about Ten Bay beach, the island, and the house. We greatly appreciate that you took the time. Please come back! We are sorry about the issues with Bahamas Telecommunications. Hopefully, this will be resolved quickly as others are also affected by the irregularities. Thank you, Rock & Nell
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Phenomenal

  • 5 of 5

Our first experience with Eleuthera and VRBO was FANTASTIC!!!!!

Nell & Rock were excellent in communications. Arthur Nixon's rental jeep was very adequate and his local information very helpful. Burrows grocery store was well stocked. Would highly recommend the property, property owners and Ten Bay!!!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad that you enjoyed your stay! We enjoy knowing that folks enjoy the island as much as we do. Please come back for a visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

The house had everything except we couldn't find a cooler for day trips. Two couples had privacy. Excellent location and as others said we saw tropical fish, grouper, bone fish, sting rays, barracudas and some nurse sharks from the balcony. Kayaking was awesome as was snorkeling. Short walk to the beautiful beach too. Our fourth trip to the island.

Only negative was the guy with the house key...he said he didn't expect us until the following day even though we called ahead - he said we didn't speak with him??? Only rude person on the island.

The owners are easy to work with and we appreciated the nice place. We recommend the home for sure.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. As owners, we greatly value the feedback that we receive from our guests. Sorry for the unpleasant islander experience. For us, it is a first as we most often hear the opposite; suppose anyone is allowed a bad day on occasion. We appreciate hearing the good and the not-so-good as we seek to provide positive Bahama experiences.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

BEST BEACH VACATION EVER !!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

WOW!!!! This was our first visit to the Bahamas for my family of 3. I thought my 21 year old might of gotten bored but this place seem to put him in his own little world.. he even commented that this was amazing beauty and peaceful to him and my husband never left the deck and couldn't get him out of the water or kayaks....seeing them so at peace and enjoying themselves so much made me feel so good and I knew that this place was for us!!!

The house was incredibly clean and tons of linen. The outside deck was really nice for morning coffee and in the evenings to watch the marine life swim by. The owners were especially helpful in answering all of our questions from the very first day we decided to stay here. The house was very comfortable and big enough for everyone to have their own space. The caretaker delivered all of our groceries prior to our arrival...anyone thinking of using this service, I highly recommend it.. (ASK OWNER for details )The location of the house was awesome, short drive to great beaches, gas stations and restaurants. We rented a car from one of the caretakers and it was perfect, no problems , ran great, even had decent gas mileage and the A/C worked fine not hat we needed it.

If your thinking about renting this place DON'T HESITATE. you won't want to leave!!!! We will definitely be back!! Thank you again for sharing your lovely peace of paradise. Can't get this place off our minds.

THE WHO DATS from Louisiana!!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good morning Richard and Heidi, thank you so much for a glowing report of your visit. We are pleased the house and surroundings met your expectations. Eleuthera has a way of putting a spell on visitors who like beautiful water and beaches, quiet time on a deck with a favorite beverage. So glad that Sue was able to help you with groceries and the car she rented worked out for you. She is also a wonderful cook who can prepare a meal at the house for you or deliver based on your menu choices. Thanks for your nice email about the possibility of a return visit next year. Come back!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Governors Harbour
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Palmetto Point
Nearest Ferry
14 Miles
Governors Harbour
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Miles
Queens Highway
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Palmetto Point
Nearest Beach
Ten Bay Beach
Car: recommended

The house is located along the coral rock that extends off the beautiful Ten Bay Beach, truly one of the best beaches on Eleuthera. The house is centered on 3 lots, offering privacy for guests and a cove that offers visitors their own aquarium. The island offers services for fishing, snorkeling and diving trips, boating; have a Bahamian meal cooked right in your home! Kayaks are available for rent by owner at $100 per week for 2 single kayaks. If rented, these must be rented for entire stay as kayaks are locked at end of stay. Unique to Eleuthera Island is water taxi access to both Harbour Island and/or the fishing village of Spanish Wells. Traveling North to get to either island, you will pass over the Looking Glass bridge, once painted by Homer Winslow. A must stop for great photos of the cliffs and the joining of the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. Eleuthera is a long and narrow island with beach access roads throughout the island. Guests have found beautiful hide-a-way beaches to explore. The house is conveniently located in the middle (the elbow) of the island which makes it convenient for exploring both ends of this 100 mile island. Each community offers unique restaurants and shopping. The Southern end of the island offers its own unique villages of Tarpum Bay (fresh seafood from the docks), Rock Sound (Blue Hole and nice shopping center), Cape Eleuthera and the pristine Lighthouse Beach. Guests tell us they enjoy exploring the island and coming back to relax on the deck, enjoying the view right in front of them. Directions to the house: On Queens Highway, travel 14 miles south of Governor's Harbour airport; roughly 4 miles south of Palmetto Point. After your pass a small sub-station with transformers enclosed in a chain-link fence (on you right), the road to Ten Bay development will be on your right (about 1.5 or less miles). On right, look for sign that has property owners listed. Follow that road for about .8 mile; the house is on the right; palm trees lining drive to house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Central Eleuthera House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$179
$1,250
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

Check in time: 3:00 PM; Check-out time: 10:00 a.m. See general description for driving directions to property. Between December 15 and January 10, a holiday restriction of a 7 night booking is in place as short stays during this time negatively impact booking opportunities. You may stay a shorter period; however, your rate is calculated for a full week. Pets are limited to one animal that is house broken and weighs less than 25 pounds. The pet fee is $50 for one week and $8 for each additional day over one week.

Year Round $1250/week (7 nights-2 persons, includes cleaning on arrival) $15 Additional Person per day. 2 kayaks rental: $100 per week; $500 deposit for each week will hold your reservation. Cancellations 30 days of arrival receive a refund. Otherwise deposit applied to new reservation within one (1) year. Accept only personal check, bank check or money order (US funds). No paypal or credit cards.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Central Eleuthera House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 full baths
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , easily converted to king; linen provided; full bath
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , full bath adjoins bedroom; new bedroom furnishings 2014
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) twins can convert to king; full bath adjoins each bedroom. Bedrooms newly furnished in 2014.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
One of the main features of this house is its location, in front of the house is a wide cove that is housed by grouper, yellow tail and other fish, Often visitors are delighted to see rays and manta rays swim by, and an occasional nurse shark. it's fun to feed the fish from the deck, flood lights light up the cove at night to showcase the night life on the water

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties