check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cozy Mountain Setting 15 Minutes to Asheville and Biltmore Estates

61 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Black Mountain House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

Call or email for Special Rates - The Firelight cottage is a charming turn of the century built home that has been updated and remodeled and is only 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. It has a covered rocking chair front porch with seasonal mountain views along with a wrap around deck. It sits in a small mountain neighborhood. It has two king bedrooms. Bunks in the third bedroom,sleeper sofa in the living room. King size bedrooms also have their own private entrance onto the covered wrap around deck. After a day of shopping and browsing the many galleries and stores in the area, hiking and enjoying water activities, attending a festival, concert, or play; or visiting the spectacular Biltmore Estate in the Asheville area you can relax in front of the quaint gas log fireplace, watch TV or a DVD from the video library on flat screen TVs, pay a family game or use your laptop to surf the web with high speed WIFI access. Relaxing in the comfortable multiple jet setting Hot Springs spa on the two tiered deck is also a definite option. You can also cook in the kitchen or use the grill out on the private deck. If you’re in the mood for a quick supper out you can enjoy quality restaurants about 3 minutes away in the charming hamlet of Black Mountain.

Peaceful and relaxing, Firelight cottage is a quick 15 minutes away from the center of Asheville with its many world class restaurants, year-round live entertainment, museums, art galleries, theaters, concert halls, and large exhibitions at the Civic Center. The quaint downtown of Black Mountain is only three minutes away from the cottage, with the beautiful Lake Tomahawk only a short five minute drive(see picture. There is a trail around the lake along with a huge twenty five yard pool that can easily accommodate lap swimmers. Access to the Blue Ridge parkway is a quick and easy 10 minutes away. Lake Lure and the beautiful Chimney Rock State Park is a scenic and relaxing 30 minute drive. Mt. Mitchell, highest mountain in the Eastern U.S., is a 45 minute drive up the Blue Ridge Parkway. For those interested participating in workshops and gatherings, the cottage is only a 2 minute drive away from the Ridgecrest Conference Center.

During the spring, summer and fall seasons there are festivals occurring all over the area with the Biltmore Estates Festival of Flowers occurring every April and the L.E.A.F. Festival taking place twice a year in May and October. Asheville is also an antique hunter’s paradise, and the River Arts District (more than 80 artists’ studios) produces some of the best art in America. Shoppers will love the boutiques and specialty shops.

The cottage is also only 2 minutes away from the Ridgecrest Conference Center and a short five minute drive to the beautiful Lake Tomahawk trail and swimming areas.

For those guests needing more sleeping accommodations check out VRBO Listing 276176. It is a mother-in-law cottage sitting next to this cottage and has 2 bedrroms and 1 bath; sleeps up to 6.

Please note that winter road conditions in the mountains can often be unpredictable. While the cottage is close to a main road about (500 feet), the road grade leading up the cottage while small, is still steep enough that a 4 wheel drive vehicle might be required if there is more than a few inches of snow on the ground. In more severe weather ( 3+ inches of snow or ice) guests may have to park at the bottom of the road and walk up to the cottage. Guests should keep abreast of weather conditions several days before their arrival and we also encourage them to call us as well for updated information on weather and road conditions. We highly recommend that guests consider purchasing travel insurance if your stay is in the winter months.

There are a number of steps throughout the house reflecting how rooms were added on throughout its history. This can make the cottage potentially difficult to traverse for elderly or disabled guests. Please call us for more information regarding any questions you might have about this.

Keywords: House

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2016
Call Owner

About Marilyn

Bill and I are seniors who are working. We have been people helpers all our life and made careers out of it. I am a retired social worker. We love the area of Asheville and found it to be very enjoyable and thought that others would want to come and visit but not everyone can afford to pay the high prices of vacation rentals. So we decided to get into the vacation rental business. Bill works full time and I manage the cottage.

Marilyn purchased this house in 2009

Why Marilyn chose Asheville Area

We found two cottages that needed TLC. We wanted to buy something old but unique to the area and we surely did find that in Firelight Cottage. We fell in love with the old fashioned porch and the size and quirkyness of the home. We were told that this was a hand built house and that the lumber was milled from timber on the property at a nearby mill. Redoing the plumbing and electricity was quite the comedy as each of the previous owners had done the work themselves. Then we had old fahsioned sewer and water lines as well to address which turned out to be quite the lesson on how to detect underground leaks and find sewer lines. We have laughed and cried over this property and have come to appreciate it's enduring charm. We are glad that we have kept this piece of mountain history alive and renewed its vitality. It has been and continues to be a journey. Each year we are able to do more and more improvements.

What makes this house unique

We love the heavy old fashioned doors with the old fashioned door knobs. The King bedrooms are add ons from one of the previous owners and are charming especially the one we call the hobbit room as you have to bend down a little to go down to that room. We also thought the kitchen which once the porch was quaint with the bead boarding. The clawfoot iron tub is the original and in great shape. The one feature that made us laugh and sealed the deal was the fireplace which leans a little to the right. You just gotta love that....This cottage is kinda like Asheville...a little bit quirky but fun and comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed the uniqueness of this cottage. We loved the front porch seating and being able to rock in the rocking chairs. Black Mountain and Asheville are beautiful cities and we cant wait to visit again. Both of our families enjoyed being able to sit around, relax and just talk. Thanks for having us and we hope to back again.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 82


based on 61 traveler reviews

Cozy Mountain Setting 15 Minutes to Asheville and Biltmore Estates
average rating of 4.377049 based on 143 reviews
New York

Firelight Cottage

  • 5 of 5

What a gift to visit Asheville while staying at this perfect 'home away from home'. Our stay was so beautiful and every amenity we could think of was at our fingertips. The cottage was clean, cozy, organized and convenient - allowing us to concentrate on all the wonders of Asheville. The location was great - close to all sorts of activities. (We loved Biltmore and simply wandering the streets downtown!). Clearly, a great deal of love and consideration went into this lovely accommodation which I highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. I am glad you mentioned how nice it is to just walk the streets of Asheville. It is like no other city. Asheville, like this cottage has its unique charm.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Funky cabin in convenient location for Blue ridge parkway and Asheville attractions

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is located near Interstate 40 Good location to take in the area hikes and Biltmore Estate. I was somewhat disappointed with the highway noise and thought the cabin was in a forest setting. It is in a group of vacation homes. The cabin needs some updates and better housekeeping. It had a musty smell. If I was in a better outdoor area it wouldn't of mattered as much We like to camp and the area was too noisy and close to other properties. This cabin would not be good for anyone with issues with different levels and the outdoor area is steep. I would recommend taking hikes or drives on the Blue ridge Parkway and touring the Biltmore Estate. Try to get tickets in advance for the Biltmore it is expensive.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I am sorry you thought the setting was an isolated cottage in a forest. We describe the cottage on our web site as sitting in a small neighborhood in a forest where you have privacy but you can see other homes. This setting allows you easy access to the interestate and small travel distances to asheville and other local areas of interest. To be isolated in a forest you would probably have to be 30 minutes or more away from Asheville. We always encourage potential customers to ask questions so that it is a good fit. The smell probably came from not emptying the humidifier which we ask customers to do each day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location - good value!

  • 5 of 5

House is a real mountain house. Homey and clean and great views. Has everything you need.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. It is an old fashion mountain house with a lot of charm. The location is wonderful too. We hope you can make it back sometime in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little cottage!!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was in a perfect location. It was very comfortable and had a wonderful deck to sit on to relax. We enjoyed the hot tub and the overall experience of the rustic setting. We would definitely return for another stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. I love that deck too. It is great for relaxing, eating, soaking in the tub and the front covered deck is a gem with all the rocking chairs. The rustic setting is perfect for listening to birds...please come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nicholasville, Kentucky

Enjoyed our time at the cabin

  • 5 of 5

You can tell that they take care of the cabin. The cabin was older but had many many updates. The owners put alot of thought into how to outfit the cabin. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils. The bathrooms were clean and functional. The beds were comfortable. The living room was great to sit, relax and watch some TV after visiting the Biltmore and riding on the BlueRidge Parkway. The outdoor area had plenty of seating and the hot tub was great and clean. The front porch was nice to sit and rock with out morning coffee. Parking is adequate but wasn't quite large enough for our truck and trailer, but we were able to find an place to put the trailer to give us room to manuveur at the cabin. Black Mountain which is near by is a quaint town with some great restaurants to eat at.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the terrific review. You noticed all the things that make it a great place to stay in this price range. We hope you guys can come back sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Delightful and Convenient

  • 5 of 5

This place had character and everything we needed to have a great time. We really loved staying here and made some great memories. Thanks for opening your home up for us to enjoy!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. We love the character of it too. So convenient and comfortable and affordable too. Please do come back. You guys were great guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Biltmore Estate
Blue Ridge Parkway
"You can access the Blue Ridge Parkway from the cottage by going down to exit 55. Turn right..."
Battery Park Book Exchange
"Very unique coffee house, wine bar and used bookstore. They carry many rare first editions a..."
Town of Black Mountain
"Charming and quaint downtown Black Mountain is two minutes from the cottage . Many unique sh..."
Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Asheville - Hendersonville Airport
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Black Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
leaf season
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
late fall
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Dec 24 2016 - Dec 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
new years
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $40
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With Flat Screen TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , With Flat Screen TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , With Flat Screen TV
  • King size beds (2) Two pillowtop king beds in two of the bedrooms. Three steps up to bathrooms. Double bed and Bunk Beds in third bedroom. Bunk Beds are seven feet long with upgraded mattresses.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties