check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

tom

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

ask about our monthly rate

9 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 30 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pearl City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom plus loft 2 1/2 bath Sleeps 6

The charming old Hawaiian village of Hauula offers you a chance to experience the Hawaii of years gone by. Located on the spectacular North Shore of Oahu you are surrounded by the Kualoa Mountains and your front yard is a wide sandy beach - great for swimming and watching our sea turtle friends.

The Beach House at Hauula was purchased in 2006 and completely remodeled. There are tile floors throughout, except the master suite with warm darkwood cherry floors,a private bath, and ocean views that will make you want to stay forever.

The second bedroom has a queen bed and half bath, the loft has two twins and a fabulous ocean view

Our comfortably furnished living room opens to the ocean front deck. Our modern kitchen and dining area is a cooks dream with an ocean view. When you are not enjoying the beach we have direct TV/flat screen TV, books and games for family enjoyment.

The ocean front deck offers spectacular ocean views

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
tom (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a wonderful stay at this house. Everything the pictures and the descriptions say were true! The house was clean and well appointed with all the amenities in great condition. We didn’t have to bring a thing; there were even boogie boards and other equioment for enjoying the ocean. The spectacular sunrises that can be seen from the breakfast nook’s bay windows, or even better enjoyed from the deck, made this such a great ocassion for my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. My 3-year old daughter and 11-year old son appreciated the beach that is just a few steps down from the spacious deck. If you are about enjoying the quieter, natural side of Oahu, this house’s location delivers! Don’t miss the night sky – stars galore. To top it off, Debbie was warm, patient and understanding.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.7
based on 9 traveler reviews

ask about our monthly rate
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 10 reviews
5

Great house great trip

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the beach house at Hauula, Hawaii was wonderful. As a family of six, we felt the house accommodated all of us very well. It felt very spacious. We were pleasantly surprised that we had 2 1/2 baths for the six of us. The two children, boys, ages 9 and 11, loved staying in the loft.The other two bedrooms had air conditioning, a welcome relief on hot muggy nights. The ocean was right at our door step, which made for fun swimming and beach activities everyday, and wonderful deck relaxation. It was like being in paradise. The kitchen was well equipped and very clean, as was the whole house. We all loved the country feel of the location, a true feeling of old Hawaii. Our stay lived up to and even exceeded our expectations!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs a heavy duty cleaning.

  • 2 of 5

Ceiling fans have not been cleaned in ages, especially the one over the kitchen table. There were 5 boogie boards to use and 4 were broken. The view and size were great but needs better maintenance. I would not rent again, so many more homes to choose from.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is very important that our guests have a great experience. I really wish you had contacted me about the ceiling fans. Our housekeepers are instructed to clean the fans, they must have missed them (there is no excuse for this). I would have had them come back to do them. Regarding the boogie boards, we don't provide them, so I'm guessing a prior guest purchased them and left the damaged ones behind. Our crew should have thrown then out. More importantly, considering how important this was to you, I could have asked someone to pick up a few and deliver them to you I'm glad you liked the view (it’s pretty spectacular ) and found the house spacious. If a future guest is reading this, we ask that if anything is not to your satisfaction please contact us immediately so we can make your stay enjoyable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
5

True home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Being first time visitors to Hawaii we weren't sure what to expect given that this house is so far away from the airport, tourist attractions, etc. But it actually turned out to be a true blessing! The house is in the heart of the "country" and away from the big city lights and FAR away from all the traffic of Honolulu. The views of the mountains are breath-taking, and having the beach a mere feet away from the back-porch was incredible!

Previous reviews talk about "being next to the highway" but really, it's a 2 lane road and the speed limit is 35mph, so it's not any different than the streets I'm sure most of us live on here on the main land. And we had no problem with the distance to Honolulu or any other parts of the island you may visit; everything seems to be within an hour drive and the views of the mountains and beaches along the way really help pass the time!

There are many local restaurants! Being foodies, we had to try it all and we were very impressed by every place we tried! And there is a grocery store just a few miles down the road that made cooking at home very convenient.

At first we were surprised that there wasn't air conditioning in the house but we eventually acclimated to the humidity and came to enjoy the fresh air from leaving all the doors and windows open. There was a constant cool breeze the entire week we were there, so I'm guessing that's normal.

Debbie (the landlord) was very friendly and easy to work with. She really helped to make the reservation process and payment transaction as smooth as possible.

We highly recommend this place, and will definitely be staying here the next time we decide to visit this island!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Loved how close to the water!

  • 5 of 5

Our family (my husband & I & 3 of our kids 12,6,2) just got home from the home in hauula. We enjoyed every minute of our trip. Home was very spacious for our little ones to play (when were actually at home-usually we were outside enjoying Hawaii!). Loved sleeping to the amazing sound of the waves. Neighborhood felt safe. The home was the perfect size for all of us and had room for 2 more. It was breath-taking to eat breakfast at the table and watch and hear the waves crashing against the shore! Home had everything we needed-washer/dryer, DVD player came in handy for evenings home with a toddler, there's a basket of books, 2 bathrooms-helpful for a family to have 2! Rooms were spacious. Location is great for peaceful lower tourist area. Close to grocery, some fast food (Taco Bell & Pizza Hut and of course Shave Ice) and the guy at the store across the street is friendly. Super close to Polynesian Cultural Center. If you are looking for busy action Waikiki this is not your place...this is for the ones looking a relaxing quiet vacation. Overall we had an amazing stay and will be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Greatest Family Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5

This was my families big Vacation - we wanted to experience the Real Hawaii, and boy did we. The Hauula beach house was great to come home to each day after our adventure. We also felt safe and secure in the home at night. Sunrises and Sunsets are so majestic and can be experienced daily by walking out into the back patio or by simply looking out the kitchen or bedroom window. Falling asleep to the sound of waves was a very unique experience. The water was a great temperature & crystal clear and great for snorkeling. Staying close to the north shore was the best decision.... so close to a lot of attractions. Laie 5 minutes down the road was the Polynesian Cultural Center, Tropical Nut Farm is 10 minutes down the road and Dole Pineapple Planation about 25 minutes away.

House is fully furnished, plenty of towels and was clean upon arrival. Kitchen has everything needed to cook a 5 course meal. There are boogie boards and snorkeling equipment for use out on the back patio.

Debbie is very accommodating and is easy to work with.

We give this 5 out of 5 stars. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Great Place to Experience a True Hawaiian Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This is truly a place to experience what living in Hawaii is all about. Deb made us feel very comfortable from day one. This home will make you feel as you are actually living at home in Hawaii. It will accommodate 6 to 7 adults very nicely.You literally step out the back door onto the beach where there is an excellent reef to snorkel. The market across the street has snacks and drinks and the owners are very nice. You are minutes from many local attractions. My suggestion is to load up at Costco in Waikiki and then stay away from the concrete and tourists and enjoy a true Hawaiian vacation in this great home....thanks Deb

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pearl City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 1 2018
30 night minimum stay
$9,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $312

W23569556-01 Hawaii tax ID

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pearl City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , sink
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , private 1/2 bath
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , loft
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties