Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Ocean Front Condo - 'Love Shack Suite'

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

The Love Shack Condo is in the Kauhale Makai complex on the 4th floor(#405) with spectacular ocean views from the living room, kitchen and bedroom. The balcony extends from the living room to the bedroom with access from both bedroom and living room. There is a king bed in the bedroom and a queen sofa bed in the living room.

There is a swimming pool, hot tub, kiddy pool and a tanning pool as well as a putting green, horse shoe pit and shuffle board area. There is central air conditioning, free long distance

and free high speed internet and WIFI.

This fabulous condo has just been totally remodeled in 2009

with all new appliances, breakfast bar, tile floors throughout and an extra large shower area. There is whale watching from the balcony in season (Dec thru Apr). Enjoy breakfast on the lanai while watching the canoe club paddle by on their morning practice.

The condo has beach towels, chairs, coolers, boogie boards and snorkeling gear for your use.

Keywords: Condo

More Details

Fred Hegge
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2017



Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sleeper sofa opens to a queen bed.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Front Condo - 'Love Shack Suite'
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
Santa Clarita, CA

Great little vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in this condo. The view was amazing, the location very accessible to other parts of the island, and it had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic Place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay, the hosts thought of everything! We enjoyed using the boogie boards, beach umbrella, beach blanket and large beach towels. The view from the room is beautiful and we felt right at home with all the kitchen supplies. The ammenities on the property are really well maintained. Everything was perfect, we'd love to stay there again!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great view! We loved the condo

  • 5 of 5

Condo was great, clean when we got there, plenty of space, plenty of supplies, we would definitely stay there again. Only thing not working was wifi, but I was able to connect to the pool wifi. Internet not a big deal, we were there for the beaches!! Phil was great to work with, very friendly and responsive. Great deal in an amazing location.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing property!

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable, clean, memorable place.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Love Shack was a great place to stay and call home while we were there for almost two weeks!!

  • 5 of 5

Check-in: The check in experience was great. We were greeted right away and we're given a thorough intro of the property, rules, and parking placard. Get a roll of quarters for laundry if you plan wash clothes.

Condo Unit -

Upon entering the unit, it was clean and dust free. The kitchen and living room was also clean. The slider to the balcony opens up to an angled view of the ocean and common areas including the putting green, BBQ area, and pool. The bathroom and bedroom are to the right upon entering. You have to go through the bathroom to get to the bedroom. For a couple who are staying, like myself, this will work just fine. But if you plan to stay with another couple, you'll need to devise a plan to share the bathroom since anyone in the bedroom can enter the bathroom, even if someone is already in there. Otherwise, it didn't bother us and worked fine.

Amenities & Grounds -

As mentioned above, there is a putting green, BBQ area with 5 separate grills, pool area with spa, shuffle board, volleyball court and a vast green area big enough to play football. Just beyond the green area and over a small berm, the beach awaits! You have assigned parking and is close to the entrance and elevators. Trash chutes are on every level towards the front of the building (street side). Laundry rooms are on every other floor, but isn't on the same floor as this unit. There is 24 hour security as I see them walking the grounds regularly and made us feel secure.

Things Around the Area:

Obviously you can drive to anything you need, but there were many areas that are walkable if you choose. Within 1 mile:


Azeka Makai Plaza (Longs Drugs, Taco Bell, Maui Pie, etc)

Times Supermarket (includes many "ethnic" foods)

There's also a short 3 minute drive to the Piilani Village shopping center for Star Bucks, 808 Grindz Cafe, Ruby Tuesdays, and Outback Steakhouse.

Having the Love Shack as "Ground Zero" was wonderful with so many conveniences nearby. It's also much more quieter than the busy Lahaina area of the island. We had a great experience and we're so sad to leave. Thank you Fred for sharing your home with us!!

Lastly, for folks who would like to know what to buy or not before you check in, the unit already has the following:

Freezer Gel packs, ice chest, ice trays (3), dish washing soap, dish sponge, dish washer packs, pots, pans, dishes, silverware, toilet paper (3 rolls), paper towel (1 roll), body bar soap (1), 3 trash bags.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Kauhale Makai "Village by the Sea" is just as we remembered it from 1988. Great then and great now.

  • 4 of 5

We were so looking forward to our anniversary getaway at this condo. The first night and next day were a disaster. After an 18 hour trip, all we really wanted then was a shower and good night’s sleep. But that was not to be. The condo was not clean, the bed was unmade, the bathroom was dirty and had no clean towels, etc. Fortunately we found clean sheets to change the bed. I left the owner a voice mail around 1 am PT, which he said he didn’t receive. Then we spent the next morning at the office who said they couldn’t help us, but were sure the Hegge's would make it right. I called them back and we spoke. I also called the maintenance man Carlos and left a message. He called back and said he would have someone there to clean as soon as possible. The cleaning girl arrived and totally disrupted our second day. We were finally able to shower later in the afternoon get settled in. We appreciate the refund of the cleaning fee, but our request for compensation for the lost day has fallen on deaf ears. We have been unable to make contact with the owner since returning home. It could have been a simple fix and resulted in a more positive review.

Other than the initial bad start, the condo was very nice and was equipped with all we needed.

The location In Kihei was perfect.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry about the confusion in the cleaning of the unit and got it cleaned as soon as possible, but we have never received any emails from this party - just the one phone call about the cleaning. I will try and reach them about a refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

Standard rate is $125 except for Jun thru Aug (rate is $115 then)
Rate for any stay ove 28 days is $105.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.