Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar w/ hot tub! Mtn

Bedrooms 1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights


About the property

1 bedroom with loft, 1.5 bath, sleeps 2-4

This cottage is located just outside Banner Elk midway between the ski slopes of Sugar and Beech Mtn. It is located on a 43 acre farm that is part of a conservation easement. This easement limits development and not only preserves the incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mountain, it also preserves the pastoral charm and tranquility of its surroundings. Every room has a view of the mountains, as well as the barns and pond in the foreground. There are 20 acres of farmland below you, including 5 acres of rhododendrun thicketed walking trails to explore. The wooded hill above you also has walking paths that take you to the top of the northern edge of Beech Mountain. (No Smoking, No Pets, No Parties, NO Children under 9)

Property Manager
John Schisler
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About John Schisler

I'm John Schisler, the owner of Tranquility Cottage. I have loved this area ever since I attended the Outward Bound School at Table Rock. My wife Ginny and I have always enjoyed hiking this area and find our time here very relaxing. My Uncle Clifford purchased this property when he was sent to the old Banner Elk hospital after dental school. His wife, Peggy, an avid naturalist, was the inspiration that established this farm as a conservation easement. With all the development in the area, we wanted the farmland to remind people of what this area used to be. We hope you appreciate our vision, and capture the feeling.

John Schisler purchased this cottage in 2009

Why John Schisler chose Banner Elk

When Dan Plyler built this home, we thought he had achieved the perfect cottage. It complemented the conservation easement surrounding this cottage, and we wanted to have an income to preserve the feeling of the area and protect it from becoming densely developed. The house focuses the attention on the incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mountain. It is also easy to access by road and still provides a sense of privacy and solitude.


Banner Elk Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Loft - 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
For safety reasons no children under the age of 9.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(71 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar w/ hot tub! Mtn
average rating of 4.8732395 based on 71 reviews
Florence, SC

Perfect location, you can see the slopes from the house!

  • 5 of 5

Everything far exceeded our expectations! I'm thinking this may become an annual retreat!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to your return James.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. Enjoyed reading by the fire, smores at the fire pit, and unwinding in the hot tub after skiing.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Do not rent

  • 1 of 5

came in the winter time. Showers were all cold for our 4 day stay. Had zero toilet paper. Place was dirty. We cleaned at the end of our stay for 2 hrs and received an email 2 days later saying we were going to be charged 50$ for a cleaning fee onto of the normal cleaning fee. Not cool.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please read our other reviews. They are a true reflection of what you will find if you come to stay at Tranquility Cottage. We had to pay our cleaners for two extra hours of cleaning beyond their normal time. We docked it from the damage deposit to cover our costs. This is only the 2nd time in 5 years of rentals we have found it necessary to withhold deposit funds to pay for additional cleaning.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville, FL

Our 4th Visit

  • 5 of 5

This is our 4th time staying here and we will definitely be back again. Perfect location for convenient access to either Beech or Sugar Mountain for skiing or snow boarding. House is equipped with everything you need to relax and enjoy your vacation.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
johns creek, ga

Perfect spot for a mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

This is our 2nd time renting this property. It's perfect for a family of 4. Quick drives to sugar and beech resorts. Hottub is perfect after a day of skiing. Marjy is great to work with.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Perrysburg, Oh

Fantastic cabin with great views!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay immensely! The nice roar of the gas fireplace, the wonderful hot tub, and the great views right out the front windows. This cabin is just minutes from Banner Elk which is quite the charming little town. We were unfortunate in the fact that we wanted to hike Grandfather Mt and drive on the Blue Ridge Pkwy but the weather did not cooperate. So instead we drove around the area and took in what we could. We had a blast visiting the other local attractions and talking with the awesome locals. We also enjoyed just staying put and relaxing at the cabin. We will be back this summer for sure!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0





Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.75%

Rent + cleaning fee + tax (+ damage deposit for 1st time renters) = Total
Important: this is a non-smoking, non-partying, no pets home. No children under the age of 9.
Maximum occupancy: 4 (renters must be 25 years or older)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties