check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Enjoy Charlestons History and The Carolina Sun!

21 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Old Village House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

Location, location location... You will be minutes from plenty to do in and around Mount Pleasant, a suburb of Charleston. This neighborhood is perfect for a nice walk or bike ride. Going any direction will either lead you toward sandy beaches, marshy creeks, plenty of restaurants or the Arthur Ravenel Bridge which has an excellent view of the area and wonderful to cross outside of the car!

Also located in the neighborhood AKA the 'Old Village' you will find 'The Old Bridge' which used to link Sullivan's Island to Mount Pleasant during the Civil War era. This has now been converted to a nice park and surrounded by the intercoastal waterway. Great location for fishing, crabbing, shrimping, or watching the sun set over Charleston from the benches.

Restaurants on Shem Creek give you a taste of Charleston’s finest seafood while watching the shrimp boats come in to dock or kayaks paddle on by. A local playground is about 3/4 of a mile away which sports clay tennis courts for public use. The old village 'Pitt Street' area gives you a unique feeling of what Mount Pleasant was like when we first spread out from Charleston onto the islands...

The house is minutes from Sullivan's Island; Home of Fort Moultrie where the first shots of the civil war rang! The Fort and its Museum is free of cost. You are also located about 2 miles from Patriots Point which is a Naval Wartime Museum (Golf Course across street).

In 5 minutes you can also go to the Charleston visitors center downtown. You will see advertisements for all the splendor Charleston and it’s surrounding areas have to offer in one location. There is just too much to list here…

If you want to be local to all things historic to contemporary, the old village is the place to stay…

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

I was born and raised in Charleston on the Isle of Palms. My family moved to Mt. Pleasant right before Hugo hit in 1989 because the beach traffic was too much. We settled in Old Mt. Pleasant a block from my Grandparents. I currently live in Rock Hill, SC outside of Charlotte. However, I am looking to return to Charleston in the near future and currently use this home when it's not rented to build my business back in the low country.

The Owner purchased this house in 2008

Why The Owner chose Mount Pleasant

The classy lady in this photo was my grandmother and one of the original owners of this home. I have upgraded the property to include hardwoods throughout, updated bath and kitchen along with new windows throughout. This is my homestead and I lived here many years growing up. Therefore, even though the home is now updated and most personal items have been removed to open up for you to enjoy, it will always be home to me.. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do!

Reviews

4.8
based on 21 traveler reviews

Enjoy Charlestons History and The Carolina Sun!
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 21 reviews
5

Comfortable and cozy

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in this home. Quiet street, easy to find, and comfortable. A great value for the money. Can easily sleep 9 if you include the living room couch. The owner was very responsive and easy to work with. We were thankful for the covered parking which kept the car dry so we didn't have to load up in the rain. There were plenty of pillows, clean linens for each bed, and the beds were very comfortable. Even had a few beach chairs which were nice, since we forgot ours. She also had some books, games and puzzles for leisure time and plenty of room to spread out and relax. Even our teenagers said they would come back again.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Great place to stay - wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our first VRBO rental experience and it was wonderful! As others have said, if you are looking for newly furnished and remodeled, this is not for you, you will need to keep looking and be willing to pay lots more. If, however, you are looking for comfortable beds, a fully functioning kitchen with everything you could ever need, QUIET street, cozy porches to talk to one another, furnished towels/linens and close access to beaches, grocery, pharmacy, downtown Charleston and lots of great restaurants, this place is for you! Owner is very easy to work with and everything is exactly as described. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great value, location, comfy, well furnished

  • 5 of 5

First rental stay but won't be last! My husband, my mom and I rented Lisa's nice home for a week. My mom loved having her own bedroom, TV and bath. If you are looking for a place that is modern and upscale , this is not for you. You will need to pay quite a bit more. If not, this place is perfect. It is a great value. Everything you need-plenty of linens, small and lg. appliances, etc. Comfortable furniture and tastefully decorated. Centrally located if you want to explore the islands as well as Charleston as we did. Close to groceries, drug stores, and many restaurants. Very quiet, low traffic neighborhood but watch out for the speed bumps! Lisa was very responsive and helpful. We hope to get back to the area someday as one week was not long enough to do everything we wanted to do. We would definitely stay here again if available and might even plan a day off from sightseeing to relax and enjoy her 2 nice porches and neighborhood.

Recommended restaurants include in Mt. Pleasant-Page's Okra Grill (large menu, good value). Graze-great food including locally caught Cobia fish-very tasty. Good value considering quality of food and nice atmosphere. Andolina's pizza. Can buy huge slice or whole pizza of various sizes. Nice variety, very reasonable. In N. Charleston- Home Team BBQ. Great bbq for great price. Good place to meet locals. If near Folly Beach and want VERY reasonably priced, great seafood, go to Roadside Seafood Restaurant at 807 Folly Rd. Enjoyed Hanks Seafood in downtown Charleston-a bit pricey, looks like dive from outside but very nice atmosphere and great food/service. Wanted to go to Husk restaurant downtown (tried 3 times) but needed reservations 2-3 days in advance so didn't work out for us.

Favorite sights-Boone Plantation-make sure you see live act in outdoor theatre (twice/day) and take tram tour. Good tour of house which was beautiful but more modern so would skip if going to any others. Slave cabins very interesting. All activities for one reasonable price unlike other plantations. Go to Bowens Island near Folly Beach and take Morris Island boat tour offered by Charleston Outdoor Adventures-at low tide for best scenery/wildlife/2-4"whole shells. Very educational, amazing, and fun. In historic Charleston, take horse drawn carriage tour with Old South Carriage company-beautiful buildings and funny, but informative guides.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

A Great Property and Landlord

  • 5 of 5

This property offers SO much for such a competitive price. The location can't be beat: 10 min from a public beach @ Isle of Palms, 15 min from downtown Charleston, 10 min from Patriot's Pointe. Publix is right around the corner, as well as multiple delicious local quirky restaurants. Lisa was wonderful to work with and answered all of my questions quickly. We had our family of four (7 & 12 year old) and my in-laws with us. The six of us fit so comfortably on this property. The comfy mattresses and flawless linens were a welcomed site after a long day of sightseeing. The best review I can offer? Both of my children are begging to go back next year! :)

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Woodruff, SC
3

Good house, but questionable

  • 3 of 5

The house overall was in good condition, however there were some questionable issues we had with it. We did find some insects in the house like a roach found in my bed. The cupboards, dishes, porch chairs, porch, windows could use some cleaning. The living room furniture could use some shampooing. There wasn't working batteries in the smoke detectors. The only TV remote that worked was the living room, the other bedroom TV remotes did not. The TV in the den didn't even turn on, we wanted to watch TV in there because it was much cooler room then the regular living room. We noticed neighbors around the house using the homes garbage and recycling bins as their own personal dumping ground.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr. Nye, Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I would first like to address the most disturbing item to me which was the insect issue. I am a bit complexed of the fact that I got a notice the day you arrived about not being able to turn on the middle room TV but never a communication about insects allegedly in your sleeping area? I find that appalling because I have the home serviced regularly, in fact the exterminator was at the home the week before your visit. I called my exterminator and he said he has not seen an issue as you described in my home, however he noted a palmetto bug could have flown in which happens on rare occasions. He is going back to the house today so thank you for your note. I had a relative occupy the home following your stay. A few of your items were taken care of last week. For example batteries were put in the smoke alarm and the TV remotes were fixed. All remotes to the 4 TVs not in the living room were on the shelf and deprogramed. Therefore, the remotes did not turn the TV's on/off but they did change the channel if the TVs were turned on manually. These have all been reprogrammed and all 5 TV's are in working order with the remote use. Gotta love it when visitors change things around but it happens. The middle room you noted had a broken power button on the set so it was not able to be turned on at the set or by the remote. This one TV had a issue during your stay but has been fixed. As far as the temperature difference in that room. It is directly beside the main living room, both rooms have the porch shading the windows so I'm not sure why the comfort level would be different since they are in direct correlation to one another. Unless the front door use caused the heat from outside in the Living Room. My apologies for this discrepancy. To address your final bullet points, I will inform my cleaning people about taking the time to clean these areas really well on their next visit. I will also take your suggestion to have the upholstery cleaned in the living room. Thank you for these suggestions. I'm not sure on which neighbor to approach about abusing their neighborly boundaries. However, I will keep an eye out for this and will handle it accordingly. Thank you again for your feedback. For all future visitors reading this, I ask that you read the review from the week before this visit as well as all of the other 5 star reviews my home has received since 2009. Thanks Again!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Peaceful place to stay & relax for a much needed weekend away!!

  • 5 of 5

The house was easy to find & in a quiet neighbor hood. Close to many shops & restaurants. Lisa, we thank you for allowing us to stay in your home & for everything you did to make it a wonderful trip with friends. We will definitely stay again next time we have a long weekend!!

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Pitt Street Bridge
Nearest Point of Interest
Shrimp Boat Docks
Nearest Point of Interest
Blvd. Diner
Nearest Point of Interest
Wal-Mart
Nearest Point of Interest
Town Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Fort Moultrie
Nearest Point of Interest
Best spot on the beach to watch the sunset!
Nearest Point of Interest
Bowling Alley
Nearest Point of Interest
Starbucks/Food Lion/Okra Grill
Nearest Point of Interest
Farmers Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Alex's (24 hour resturant)
Nearest Point of Interest
Wing King
Nearest Point of Interest
The Wreck
Nearest Point of Interest
Patriots Point
Nearest Point of Interest
Mikes Bikes
Nearest Point of Interest
Putt Putt Golf
Nearest Point of Interest
Haskells Sports Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Shem Creek
Nearest Point of Interest
Target
Nearest Point of Interest
Ye Ole Ice Cream Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Windjammer
Nearest Point of Interest
Charleston Battery
Nearest Point of Interest
Market Street
Nearest Point of Interest
River Street Sweet Shop and Charleston Market Candy Shop
Car: necessary

Fishing, Crabbing and Shrimping locations REALLY near, Canoe drop-off on Shem Creek (2 min. away), Cards and Board Games on site.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Old Village House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 11 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$160
From
$180
Thu,Fri,Sat
$910
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$137
From
$153
Thu,Fri,Sat
$745
 
 
Holiday
Nov 23 2016 - Jan 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
From
$163
Thu,Fri,Sat
$735
 
 
Winter
Jan 31 2017 - Mar 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$137
From
$153
Thu,Fri,Sat
$780
 
 
Spring
Mar 2 2017 - May 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$169
Thu,Fri,Sat
$885
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$750
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Old Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3), Futons (1) - Located in walk through room, There is room in the master BR for an air mattress. There is also a pack and play in the closet of the spare BR.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Large front porch to enjoy coffee in the am or the evening breeze. 3 TV's with cable, chairs for the beach, fans in all rooms, huge back covered porch on back to enjoy that cook-out in any weather!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties