Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Enjoy a charming 1939 Log Cabin on gorgeous Lake George .

Bedrooms Studio
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

There is one bedroom with a loft and one bathroom with a shower.

To me this setting and this cottage are a little bit of heaven on Earth. The scenic beauty, the crystal clear

water with sand bottom, the purring lake boats, the bright colored sailboats and kayaks silently gliding by, and the smell of cool, pine-scented air all combine to make this an enchanting and relaxing place.

This cozy, authentic log cabin is affectionately called 'Demilog' because of its construction of half logs that are round on the outside and flat on the inside. My grandfather built it in 1939. We have purposely kept the cabin simple so that it feels like a step back in time. It is fully furnished so all you need to bring are your sheets and towels. Note that there is no dishwasher, television, computer, or cell phone reception though we do have a telephone. There is a fire ring to enjoy after a day of swimming, hiking, boating, fishing or sight seeing.

Lee Cunningham
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2017


Silver Bay Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Away From It All
  • Basic Soaps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Studio, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 3 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • This is a one-room log cabin which was built by my grandfather. We built a loft into it for children or the young at heart.
  • Toys
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 10 garden chairs
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Enjoy a charming 1939 Log Cabin on gorgeous Lake George .
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews

A adorable rustic cabin right on the water

  • 5 of 5

This was such a cute cabin, clean with a beautiful view. So much better then staying at a noisy hotel room in the Village. The kitchen had all the cooking items you would need for making dinner and wine glasses to enjoy a glass while gazing at the beauty of the mountains. Will be back for sure !

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you felt at home and enjoyed the tranquil setting as much as we do! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to having you next year. Lee and Glenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?

Best vacation with my east coast family EVER

  • 4 of 5

Our son and daughter in law live in the Albany area, we live in the Lake Tahoe area. Usually when we fly out to see the "kids" we head off to the Rhode Island beach area but this year I wanted something different....I had always wanted to see lake George for some reason, so here is where we landed! So happy we did..we spent four wonderful days at this little cabin and when we were leaving we all agreed that it was the best vacation we had all had in a long time.

The cabin is old and quirky with just the basics, but it had everything we wanted....peace and quiet and a view that knocked our socks off. Yes there are cob webs here and there nothing a little broom can't take care of husband & I did clean a bit before the rest of the gang arrived but I do that wherever I go anyway! Wasn't expecting or wanting a HILTON HOTEL experience, what I wanted was a family bonding experience and that's what we got.

We cooked all our meals here, barbecued every night and sat around the campfire...we did have one night that we shared campfire ring with a bunch of college kids who where staying in the overbank cabin, NOW U MIGHT THINK "oh no" PARTY....but I have to say that it was a very nice experience for our family. We talked for hours and got to share different experiences with each other...we did share the dock also but we didn't mind ...I have to say that swimming in Lake George is amazing... Coming from Lake Tahoes clear freezing water to this ....PERFECTION.

We put most of our food in upper cabinets or fridge in case of a night time visits...had a bowl of fruit on the counter that on the last night may have provided a treat to a savvy husband & I slept in the "young at heart"section of the cabin...upstairs...didn't notice any mouse dropping there. We brought our own sleeping bags and pillows and were comfy. We did use fans to cool cabin but I do think we had perfect weather!

Next year we hope to stay in the overbank cabin ....p.s. We are old back packers who have hiked the sierras (in our younger years) and staying here was perfect.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning next October! I wondered how Lake George would compare with Lake Tahoe ....I guess she is still 'The Queen of American Lakes." You obviously are a great match for our place. The cabin is like a step back in time where you can connect with friends and family around the fire instead of being glued to an iPhone or computer. All the best, Lee and Glenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rustic, Charming and Cozy

  • 4 of 5

If you're looking for a lovely getaway, this authentic log cabin is for you. It has a welcoming screened in front porch that overlooks Lake George. The indoor area has an loft (that we didn't use) and a great room that includes a couch and end table, a queen size bed, and a kitchenette, complete with refrigerator, stove, countertop, sink, and cabinets filled with cookware and utensils needed for the visit. The bathroom has a sink, toilet, and stall shower. All of the screened windows can be opened to let in a lovely breeze. This was our second time at this cabin, and we'd surely visit again.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking such good care of our cabin. We look forward to having your back next year. All the best, Lee and Glenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Horrible, mice infested shed.

  • 1 of 5

Believe me this is not "heaven on earth".It seems like most of 5 stars reviews are fake, since if you check other sites(where this place is listed) you'll see same reviews from same people. First the good part. The location is pretty good, the cabin has deck, and a nice view.

Now onto the bad. You have to understand that you have to share things with your neighbors. This includes the kayak, fire pit, and the deck. In our case our neighbors were very nice, but there isn't any real way to block out the noise from outside if they sit at the fire.

The door is missing a curtain even though there is a clear space for a curtain on the door.

For such a small cabin there are spiderwebs in almost every corner of the cabin and everyday we see spiders crawling on the walls. One of the lamps has spiderwebs hanging off its shade and on the switch that you use to turn the lamp on.

One of the biggest problems that we had is in the "kids area". It is full of mice droppings and even more spiderwebs. On the second day the mice droppings were on our son's bed and pillow and God knows what diseases you can catch from that. We decided to leave on the six day(we paid for 7) when we saw a mouse near the kid's beds and since the kid's beds are a couple of old mattresses lying directly on plywood, mice can easily go on the beds and pillows.The bottom line: if you want to put your kids in the middle of mice infestation, this is the right place to do it.

We took a lot of pictures, but unfortunately we can publish them on this site. Believe me, they are impressive.We even tried to make a video of a mouse, that was running around.

This is not even mentioning that you pay more for this than a good motel. We left with a sad feeling of a ruined vacation, but you’ll never know until you try.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was at the lake in the other cabin during the two weeks leading up to his stay and checked on this cabin several times. Everything looked good. A guest rented the week before him and didn’t see any evidence of a mouse or mouse droppings. I can believe that a mouse visited him and that a spider web or two had formed after I left, but these exaggerate claims are not true. Previous to their arrival, this couple emailed, phoned and texted me more than any other guest about checks that had gone missing etc. and yet when living in an “infested” cabin they never called. There is a land line to use. They stayed 6 of their seven days and then expected a refund. His exaggerated claims make this feel like this is extortion. We aren't sending a refund. It is also clear that he never read the detailed information contained in “The Scoop” that I sent him before he booked the cabin, or he would have known that wild life was a possibility, and that the dock, landing, fire ring, canoe and kayak are all shared with the other cabin, Here is exactly what The Scoop says relating to the issues he raised: “WILD LIFE: We have taken many steps to keep the wild life out of our cottages. Please keep at least a screen door closed during your stay and don’t leave food out on the counters or you will be visited by a little field mouse coming for a midnight snack. There is a Havahart Trap under Demilog’s sink if you need to remove one. We do not refund money if a mouse appears. THE FIRE-RING, LANDING and DOCK are all shared. Do keep you things contained in an area so that other guests feel free to use the area. CANOE and KAYAK: are free, and shared. The paddles and life preservers are in a bin near Overbank.” Our reviews are real. Four vacation rental companies merged and when you search for a place they all link you to the same webpages, so of course, they are the same reviews. Our webpage is hosted by HomeAway. The suggestion for a curtain or shade on the front door is a good one. We will probably add that in the future. A genuine long cabin is organic and not sealed off from nature like a motel room. The smell of pines and earth permeate the place, and yes, spiders and mice sometimes make their way in. If you are squeamish about these things don’t rent this cabin. Clearly, he prefers a more sterile environment, and should stick with motels for a happy vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Where do you live?

Lovely rustic cabin in a quiet location

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely cabin for a couple or family looking for a quiet location/peaceful stay. The cabin, while small and rustic, really has everything you need to cook meals and enjoy a vacation at the lake. We particularly enjoyed the porch; the small table is the perfect place to enjoy a meal or play a game while overlooking the lake. This property shares a fire circle, grill, canoe/kayak and dock with another house (if you are looking to be directly on the lake you might check out the Demilog's sibling Overbank which is really lovely); we found sharing the amenities quite easy as each house was often on a different schedule and this property seems to attract laid-back renters. While it's a decent trip (30 min) from the Lake George village (a plus in my opinion!) there are nearby stores, delis, hiking and Fort Ticonderoga very close by. Owners Glenn and Lee are very responsive - it was easy to make the reservations and they provided great recommendations for hiking and food nearby. On our first morning a septic tank repair man arrived as there are evidently alarms set for Glenn if anything is amiss with the system. it turned out to be a minor issue, but how nice to know how closely they are making sure that all is well! For someone looking for a quiet retreat and place to 'unplug' I'd highly recommend this cabin!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Liz, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I know your thoughtful response is very valuable to people looking for a place to vacation. We sincerely hope that every one of our guests enjoys the place as much as you did! Lee and Glenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quintessential Lake George

  • 5 of 5

It is difficult to describe in words what a wonderful time we had at the Demilog. The rental is even prettier than in the pictures. We made good use of the fire circle to create memories to last a lifetime. The owners, Lee and Glenn make sure your stay is worry free and comfortable. On the one day we were away from the camp, there was an awful storm. One of the ties on our boat broke loose. Lee sent the the caretaker over to secure our boat .... Thank you again for saving the day :)

I highly recommend this rental unit. I hope to visit again next year

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lori, Thanks for taking the time to post such a glowing report. We were happy to help in the storm and grateful that your neighbor alerted us to the problem. Our caretaker is a terrific guy who has helped us out of many a fix. I don't know what we would do without him. Most of all we are happy that your family made such great memories around the fire and soaked in the scenic beauty. We look forward to having you back next summer. Take care, Lee
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
77 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
The Fire House Restaurant
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
The Fire House Restaurant
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Hague Public Beach
Car: necessary

Lake George is known as “The Queen of American Lakes.' The crystal clear water and the gorgeous undeveloped mountains that change color throughout the day and seasons draw people back to the basics. The simple cabin and the scenic beauty cause people to relax a little more each day as they swim, hike, boat, read or stare into a fire with family and friends.


Rates & Availability

Silver Bay Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring Rates
May 18 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Prime Time
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Fall Rates
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 10 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Property Damage Protection $59

NO DOGS. No pets of any kind.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties