check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bruce Ahrendt

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Surfers & Sunsets-Kona Reef Ocean Front Unit

40 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Watch the Surfers from Your Lanai - Kona Reef Ocean Front Unit

Recently updated.

Light and Airy with direct Ocean Views from the Lanai, Living and Kitchen areas. Large Ocean Front 611 square foot condo with a full 128 square foot Lanai.

This fully equipped Ocean Front 3rd floor condo is located in the low-rise popular Kona Reef complex. Just steps to the Ocean and the white sand beach park next door. It has a short 3 minute walk to shops, open markets and restaurants in the picturesque town of Kailua-Kona. There is free parking for renters (both open or covered), elevators, air conditioning and secured DSL internet access (WIFI).

The Kona Reef complex offers an Oceanfront Salt Water Pool, Jacuzzi / Hot Tub, Gas Grills and Pool Side Dining area.

Note to our repeat guests: Thanks to your suggestions, we've updated a number of features in our unit. We now have a new queen sleeper sofa, reclining lounge chairs for both the lanai and living room, a security screen door to allow for easy enjoyment of the ocean breeze, and new pictures and other decorations. We’ve also gone through the unit and replaced anything that appeared to be getting older or worn such as the refrigerator, dishwasher, laundry center, shower head, lamps, and even the kitchen sink. We hope you’ll appreciate the new look and feel of our Ocean Front Condo.

Please note we have a 5 night minimum rental requirement. We do allow exceptions on a case-by-case basis to fill small openings between existing rentals (which is why the VRBO setting needed to be set down to a 2 day minimum).

Keywords: Condominium

Ocean Front

Vacation Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Bruce Ahrendt (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Bruce Ahrendt

Bruce & Karrie Ahrendt..

Currently living in Salem, Oregon where Bruce retired from the BLM and Karrie from the State of Oregon. We're both very involved with activities at church and in the building and now operation of a Community Hall in South Salem.

Karrie is originally from Mililani, Hi on the island of Oahu. After 30+ years she's slowly making her way back to Hawaii.

Bruce Ahrendt purchased this condo in 2009

Why Bruce Ahrendt chose Kona Coast

We chose the Big Island for it's more relaxed/laid back atmosphere, not to mention the many activities available on the Big Island.

Kona Reef Condos was the logical choice for a vacation rental location. Easy access to the entire Big Island as well as easy walking distance to downtown Kailua, Kona (it's shops, restaurants and Farmer's Market), as well as the beaches and other activities along Alii Drive.

What makes this condo unique

Kona Reef complex comes with a well maintained Jacuzzi and salt water swimming pool, gas grills and a central outdoor dining area with free wifi.

Our unit is located right on the ocean front. The lanai lets you enjoy relaxing or eating while watching the surfers, sea turtles, whales and spinner dolphins or possibly just a front row seat for the Hawaiian sunset.

We try and make our place feel a bit more like a home than just someplace you would rent to stay in. We provide those little extras like snorkle gear, a cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrella, sunscreen, boogie boards, even a pair of binoculars to get a better view of the ships as they sail past. For those needing internet access we have a private, secured wifi router for use inside our unit or on the lanai.

Reviews

4.9
based on 40 traveler reviews

Surfers & Sunsets-Kona Reef Ocean Front Unit
average rating of 4.9 based on 40 reviews
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Worth a repeat

  • 5 of 5

What a fantastic view! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this third floor, oceanfront condo. Relaxing on the lanai, we had an unobstructed view of: waves crashing on the lava rock shoreline, turtles in the tide pools, birds, dolphins, whales, people enjoying various watersports, and beautiful Hawaiian sunsets. The condo was clean, tastefully decorated and the owner provided everything we needed for a great vacation including a well equipped kitchen, paper products, laundry supplies, and beach necessities. The owner was easy to deal with and responded quickly to any questions we had.

The Kona Reef Resort is within an easy 5-10 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and Farmer’s Market of Kailua-Kona. The complex has a pool, hot tub, sun deck, and barbeque area that look out onto the ocean. Everything was clean, well maintained and the grounds are nicely landscaped. Parking is free and we made several day trips to other parts of the Big Island.

We had a wonderful time at this condo and have already booked our next stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, AB
5

Exceeded all Expectations

  • 5 of 5

This is the perfect location to be quite if you want to be or walk to town to be part of the action. Bruce & Karrie's unit is truly amazing. The Lanai is right over the ocean. A school of Spinner Dolphins swam by every morning. The unit has everything you need for cooking and is very clean and comfortable. The storage box on the Lanai has everything you need to enjoy the beach. One tip - Open the Lanai doors at night and the bedroom window, the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves crashing will make you sleep like never before. The location is perfect for walking to the action in town.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Snohomish, WA USA
5

Kona Reef Is Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to this condo unit. That should say that we would highly recommend it. The lanai is so close to the ocean. We would have breakfast on the lanai watching the Honu (turtles) in the water below, the Spinner Dolphins, usually hanging out with the surfers and boogie boarders, and sometimes the hardy swimmers that were swimming the Ironman route.

We did not miss a day walking into town to have a drink, dinner, or hit the Farmers Market for fresh produce. The location of the condo is so perfect. We look forward to our next visit to the "Big Island."

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montrose, CO, USA
4

Montrose Guests

  • 4 of 5

This was a very nice place to stay. We enjoyed the sounds of the ocean just outside the rear window night and day. The unit was very well stocked. Very convenient to most places in town. Very comfortable including the bed. We have not reservations about returning to this condo or recommending it to others. Pool and barbeque area were very nice additions. kitchen faucet and bathroom toilet paper dispenser needs replacement. Access to the ocean was outstanding.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney Australia
5

Awesome Condo

  • 5 of 5

Interesting that the owner responded to the latest review while we got no response when I informed him of these issues upon arrival!!! Please let me clarify:-

1 The bedroom did not get cold even after the aircond had been on thruout the night with all windows & doors shut.

2 We were only trying to call the local activity agencies & rental car company & NOT overseas. I was not even able to call the agent from the condo so used our local mobile from outside. The nice receptionist & agent would be able to confirm this. I repeat, there was absolutely no mobile reception in the condo.

3 We were not informed of any strip when contacting the agent. All she said was, `there are bulbs' in the cuppboard & I didn't know the phone did not work & you can sleep on the sofa'. No communication after that.

4 As I had clarified to the owner before, all other private owners thru VRBO in Hawaii only `HELD' our deposits while this owner actually `CHARGED' it. Not sure if he knows how this is done! We have absolutely no qualms about owners holding deposits - we are quite used to it as we travel quite a bit.

5 Please do not kid yourself, we had a lovely holiday in Hawaii at all the islands we visited & are very happy. We only faced minor issues at your condo that you had, unfortunately, not bothered to address while we were there. There is no point in creating false statements when I have the emails I had sent to you while I was there & recordings of calls I made to the agent.

Nevertheless, we had a wonderful time in Hawaii.

Mahalo for sharing your beautiful condo. I have already recommended it to most of our friends.

cheers

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney Australia
5

Awesome condo

  • 5 of 5

The condo was absolutely beautiful with absolute water front views, along Alli beach stretch of beautiful restaurants & shops. The condo had been stocked with anything & everything one may need on a holiday, even washer & dryer. We rented a car to move around & then a 4WD for a day to go up the snow peaked Summit to see the `Keck' jaiganto telescope. Totally enjoyed ourselves in Kona.

Only downside was that the phone, table lamps & fan-light in the lounge of the condo did not work till the night before we left. We believe there was no electricity on that side of the condo. There was also absolutely NIL mobile signal so every time we needed to make a call, we had to run out to nearer the reception (sometimes in the rain). Since we had made some reservations for activities, we had to run out every 1/2 hr to check if anybody had called us back. Being readers, we also could not enjoy lazing on the sofa while reading & looking out at the beautiful ocean as there was not enough light. There was also NO air conditioning in the bedroom & the fan was sooooo slow so I did not get any sleep at all. Owners & agents need to be up front about such things so renters can decide if that would work for them. The sad bit is due to no sleep, I suffered bad migraines most mornings which made us cancel some of the activities....Not very happy about that.

All of these could have been easily sorted out, only the owner, Bruce, did not bother to respond to my queries, nor was the agent friendly nor helpful. When I told Sherry, I could not sleep in the bedroom, she simply asked me to sleep on the sofa. Mind you, I am 54 & have a slip disk problem!

Overall, I definitely recommend this condo....it's a beautiful condo & spot.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tips to remember: Phone works w/o problems. However, please note that it is available for "Local" call only. If you insist on calling long distance numbers, it will not work without a calling card. The lights for the sofa are on a power strip. Some of our renters prefer to turn off the lights using the strip. If the lights don't turn on you may need to turn the power strip on. The air conditioning does a good job of cooling off the entire unit if you remember to close the windows when you run the air conditioner and give it a chance to run. Due to the cement and steel construction of the building, cell reception inside of the unit is rather weak. It's good on the lanai, but then you need to hear the speaker over the sound of the surf. Good cell phone reception is best outside at the front of the building. The phone in the unit works without a problem for incoming and local calls. This is a vacation rental. If you feel you will need daily hand holding then staying at a regular hotel might be a better option for you. That said, for this rental I had both my property manager and maintenance man doing daily checks to try and figure out problems. Most of the "problems" were not due to malfunctions with the equipment. Please, don't be rude to the people trying to help you. It's just not nice. This is the first time I've worked with someone that I had the distinct feeling that they didn't want to be happy. Starting with complaints of the Security Deposit actually being charge (yes the Security Deposit is actually charged to your credit card) through multiple minor complaints that she was never happy with, through wanting me to pay for her credit card fees (no we already pay when you charge to your card, we don't reimburse you for fees your card charges you to use it). I've always loved getting renter from Australia, so I'm guessing this was just a fluke.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Car: recommended

One of the best snorkeling beaches on the island is only a few miles south of Kona Reef. KaHalu’u Beach Park lets you get up close and personal with the Green Sea Turtles (protected don’t touch) and a large variety of tropical fish.

Some of our favorite places to go are:

• Kona Farmers' market - downtown Kona, Wed – Sun.

• Hilo Farmers' market - Wed., & Sat. only

• Akaka Falls near Hilo

• Waipio Valley (need 4 wheel drive if you actually go down into the valley – nice overlook for those like me that go for the view)

• Volcano National Park

• Hapuna Beach Park & many other beautiful beaches

• Several Kona Coffee Plantations, if you enjoy coffee

• Macademian nut farms

• Waikaloa Village shopping center

• South Point, the southernmost point in the US

• There are several historical sites on Alii Street alone

For eateries:

• Bite Me for fresh Seafood

• Costco, lots of local food items

• Kona Inn Restaurant

• Huggo's

• Volcano House

• Mrs. Barry's Kona Cookies

My favorite activity is to pick up some good steak or seafood, grill it on the gas grills located near the pool at Kona Reef and sit back and eat on the Lanai of our unit, relaxing and watching the waves, surfers, boats, dolphins and other marine life.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Ironman 2016
Sep 30 2016 - Oct 9 2016
10 night minimum stay
$245
 
 
Shoehorn Special 15% Off
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
$144
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 13 2017
5 night minimum stay
$199
$1,323
$5,373
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$149
$991
$4,023
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Ironman 2017
Oct 7 2017 - Oct 20 2017
10 night minimum stay
$245
 
 
Peak 2018
Dec 1 2017 - Mar 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$199
$1,323
$5,373
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$169
$1,124
$4,563
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.42%

5 night minimum booking required unless otherwise noted.
Ironman Competition $2450 flat rate for 10 nights or less.

• $200 Refundable Security Deposit due at time of Reservation. $85 Cleaning Fee.
• Rental Rates are for 2. 3rd & 4th person at $10/night/person.
• Hawaii GET and Transient Lodging Tax @ 13.416% -- Hawaii Tax ID# GE-169-881-3952-01 TA-169-881-3952-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 611 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Valuables Security Safe, Snorkel Gear, Boogie Boards, Beach Chairs, Beach Towels, Binoculars, Hair Dryer

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties