check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jerry and Carol Helms

Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Speaks: english

'Blue Spruce' Quiet and Peaceful Mountain Cabin: 'NO PETS ALLOWED' 'Free Wi-Fi

41 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Townsend Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8) 'NO PETS ALLOWED'

Bluespruce is a three bedroom and loft bed, three bath, three level log cabin (sleeps eight) with a beautiful mountain view. We are in a private area with only seven cabins. Our cabin has been remodeled inside and out.

Bluespruce is a privately-owned, vacation, log cabin rental located near Townsend (the quiet side of the Smokies)in the scenic Wears Valley area of the Tennessee mountains with a little-known entrance to the Smoky Mountains National Park. Quick, easy access to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Townsend, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, and Cades Cove, Tennessee.

The main level consists of a beautifully decorated living room with a comfortable sofa, a wooden recliner, DirecTV satellite with local Knoxville channels, and DVD. There is a comfortable dining area. The kitchen is fully furnished. Completing the main level is a bedroom with a king-size log bed and a full bath.

The main level also has 3 large rockers, a gas grill, and a private four-person hot-tub. There is also a very private front porch with a log swing and three rockers.

The upper level has a large bedroom with a king-size log bed, a loft with a Queen Log bed, a bath with a jacuzzi tub and a large picture window looking out at the beautiful Smoky Mountains. .

The lower level is extremely private with access only from the outside lower deck which has 2 large rockers. This lower level consists of a beautifully decorated game room complete with a pool table, TV/DVD. This level also has a bedroom with a queen-size log bed and a full bath.

ABSOLUTELY NO CHINESE HOT AIR LANTERNS OR FIRES (other than inside fireplace)

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jerry and Carol Helms (Property Manager)
Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jerry and Carol Helms

We live in Germantown, TN in West Tennessee.

Jerry and Carol Helms purchased this cabin in 2001

Reviews

4.9
based on 41 traveler reviews

'Blue Spruce' Quiet and Peaceful Mountain Cabin: 'NO PETS ALLOWED' 'Free Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.878049 based on 41 reviews
Dugger, Indiana
5

Great family vacation with kids and grandkids

  • 5 of 5

When we booked this cabin, I knew it would be nice because of the reviews, but I had no idea just how nice, or how much beauty would surround us. When you drive up, you do have to descend quite a few steps, but upon entering the house you look straight out the kitchen window, and you see the most beautiful view. Words or pictures don't do it justice. Better yet, there is a deck that runs the length of the house with rockers and benches so you can just sit and soak that view in. We did have a bear that came to call, not once but twice with one time being up on that back deck while my son-in-law was sitting there. They were both a bit surprised. We found the cabin well-equipped and very clean. We were quite comfortable and relaxed while there. It is close to everything you need, and if you use the bottom parking lot, you have plenty of parking. Our group went to Townsend, SMNP. They rode their mountain bikes and hiked, rode a roller coaster nearby, and dined out one time. This Grandma stayed in the cabin and enjoyed her granddaughters and the amazing view the entire time.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cannot tell you how glad we are that you enjoyed our cabin as much as we do. Hope to hear from you for your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Blue Spruce, Townsend, TN

  • 5 of 5

This home was so nice and comfortable and the views were outstanding. When we arrived, we were asked by the owner to check on the interior and make sure the cleaning company had performed their duties and we were pleased with their work. The sleeping arrangements were more than adequate for our vacation family of five (5) and the beds were very comfortable. Our granddaughter, Lilly enjoyed the spa tub each and every day, and our grandson, Gavin enjoyed the pool table. One night the rain was very heavy and we lost the satellite, so we played spades and Gavin and Lilly were delighted to learn how to play a game their mom played on past vacation trips. And we saw a bear cub go up by the front steps, now that was awesome. My husband and daughter went for their motorcycle ride on the Tale of the Dragon and had a great time, while they were gone, Gavin, Lilly and I did some tourist shopping in Pigeon Forge.

Two things I would like to address, the first is makeup remover cloths (I did bring my own, which have been provided in previous vacation homes) and we only had one dish cloth and one dish drying cloth. My husband did repair the cabinet door screw that we noted was damaged upon arrival and we did speak with the owner concerning this matter.

All in all, I can highly recommend this home for a vacation and the owners are very pleasant. Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words and the way you took care of our cabin. Hope to see you guys again staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely PERFECT!!!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was PERFECT on so many levels. It was extremely clean and spacious. It's location couldn't have been better for our family that wanted a peaceful and quiet place to stay without having to drive a long distance for attractions. The owners were great to work with, even allowing us an earlier than agreed to check in. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great review. Thank you so much
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the cabin. It was perfectly clean and comfortable for our group of eight. The view from the kitchen window and balcony was absolutely breathtaking. The location to attractions in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, and the national park is very convenient. We would love to visit again in the fall to view the colors!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love for our renters to enjoy our cabin as we do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

WONDERFUL

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin. Fantastic location. Easy to get to Gatlinburg if that is your preference. Ours is seeing the Smokies and avoiding the crowds. Perfect for this too.

We had other couples come during the week. All loved the cabin. Liked having their own space downstairs. Everyone enjoyed the back porch and the view.

We weren't brave enough to drive to the B&B at the top of the hill, but one couple walked up there. If we had known how beautiful it is, we would have looked into booking a meal there.

We cooked several meals and everything we needed was in the kitchen. We have had to make do for some things at other cabins. Really impressive.

Had a minor problem that the owner handled perfectly. This owner obviously loves the cabin and cares that his renters have a great visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really appreciate the kind words. We strive to make our cabin a wonderful experience for everyone’s' vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy, clean cabin with a great view

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 8 stayed 5 nights. We had 5 adults and 3 kids. The beds were comfortable and everyone had a bed. There was even a pack and play for our 2 year old. I (grandma) was concerned about the steps coming into the front door and off the back to the lower level with the 2 year old but it was OK. The lower level off the back deck was great for the kid, they loved playing pool with their uncle. We cooked several meals at the cabin and grilled out. We found everything we needed to cook but the skillets were worn and could be up dated. The view is awesome. Grandma and grandpa loved having coffee and just enjoyed relaxing in the rockers. We had trouble with the TV. The grand kids were upset when it wouldn't work and their mom and dad was worried about entertaining them in the cabin. Jerry was very helpful and made contact right away to help resolve the situation. Thank you Jerry for the help so we didn't have to listen to the whine of grandkids. We had a great vacation in the smokey mountains our first vacation with extended family.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Hiking mountain trails, Horseback riding, Resting, Relaxing, Shopping at the Outlet Malls, Tons of attractions for children of all ages.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Townsend Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak 2016
Apr 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Fall 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Dec 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Christmas/New Years 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 14.94%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Townsend Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , jetted tub
    Full 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , Pack-n Play
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers