check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kari

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

DOG-FRIENDLY BALBOA ISLAND COTTAGE 2 bedroom, 2 bath--Summer Weekly/Winter Lease

16 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 180 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Newport Center House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, steps to the beach, shops (Sleeps 4-6), A/C, Garage

One-story fully-furnished Balboa Island beach cottage with all-important GARAGE PARKING, a bright airy feel, high beam ceilings, plantation shutters and hardwood floors throughout, skylights, A/C, fireplace and an upgraded kitchen with granite counter tops and newer appliances. Two bedrooms (1 queen, 2 twins) and two bathrooms, ideal for a family with two to three kids or two couples. Washer/dryer in attached garage. Large front brick patio with outdoor tables and bistro set surrounded by roses and flowerbeds. French doors open off the dining area to a smaller outside seating area with a gas BBQ that is perfect for small casual dinners.

Washer/Dryer, cable TV, DVD, as well as wireless Internet service, expanded cable service and local phone service. All linens and towels are provided, the kitchen is fully stocked and there is an automatic sprinkler system with a gardener.

One street from the quaint downtown village, there is easy access to boutique shopping, coffee shops, bakeries and restaurants. Easy on/off the island. Small, sandy beaches and a boardwalk perfect for strolling and people watching – all just steps from the front door. And it’s just a short walk and a 5-minute ferry ride to the famous Balboa Fun Zone, complete with Ferris wheel, arcades, boat rentals and guided boat tours of the beautiful homes on Newport Harbor, or you can catch the Catalina Flyer to Catalina Island.

Balboa Island is just off the coast of Newport Beach and is a short drive away from many Southern California attractions, including Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Universal Studios, Hollywood, San Diego Zoo, and much, much more. Only 15 minutes away from Santa Ana/Orange County airport, and 50 minutes south of Los Angeles International Airport.

Come and enjoy the relaxed island lifestyle, a safe haven conveniently located in the middle of coastal Orange County.

Keywords: Updated Beach Cottage, house, home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Kari (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kari

I moved to Balboa Island 20 years ago and fell in love with the warm, friendly lifestyle.

Kari purchased this house in 2004

Why Kari chose Newport Beach

I loved everything about it -- the location, the bright, open feeling, the kitchen upgrades, the hardwood floors, layout of the house and TWO patios. It just feels like a happy place. Please check out my reviews. They can tell you why so many come back year after year as their annual summer tradition.

What makes this house unique

Drive over the bridge onto Balboa Island and you will sense an 'ahh' feeling of leaving the stresses and noises of the outside world far behind. I'm not kidding. I've lived on the island for 20-plus years and I still feel it every time I drop into the village. And a stay at my beach cottage will remind you of simpler times -- bike riding, walks along the beach, frozen bananas, friends over for BBQs -- life's simple pleasures in a bright and airy setting that turns cozy by night around the warm fireplace.

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

DOG-FRIENDLY BALBOA ISLAND COTTAGE 2 bedroom, 2 bath--Summer Weekly/Winter Lease
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
4

Lovely Balboa Island cottage - simply charming!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this Island Cottage with a modern, well stocked kitchen, great skylights and two lovely patio areas both bright and sunny and surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers. Bathrooms are well stocked and beds VERY comfortable! Easy walking distance to Marine Avenue. A delightful place to stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A fantastic experience in a wonderful house.

  • 5 of 5

I celebrated my 78th birthday in this wonderful Balboa cottage, and it exceeded my expectations. My girlhood best friend joined me from Dallas to spend a week in a place we have been visiting since we were children. It is wonderful the island has retained its charm. And despite many of the original cottages being replaced by multi-storied luxury homes, 216 Onyx has the flavor of old Balboa Island. From the front the quaint cottage looks deceptively small, but the very attractive interior feels spacious, clean, new and very comfortable. The master bedroom is very large and the kitchen and patio particularly lovely. The location is fantastic, steps from Marine Avenue, the still delightful main street, and a short walk from either the north or south bay. We particularly enjoyed the Fun Zone 1-1/2 tour of the bay which we reached on that wonderful little ferry. It was great to have a garage though everything was in easy walking distance.

Absolutely everything was provided in generous amounts. Every step in renting the cottage Kari was incredibly helpful, even encouraging the inclusion of my Standard Poodle who loved the flower bedecked front yard. Kari makes you feel as if you are an old friend invited to stay in a place she has so lovingly provided. Every question was answered promptly and thoroughly. We emailed and chatted like old friends on the phone. My deposit was returned promptly.

I can highly recommend 216 Onyx!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time a couple weeks ago in Balboa! The home was absolutely perfect and exactly as described and more -- clean, comfortable - everything we needed for a delightful stay. It was just the right size for my two college aged daughters, 2 dogs, and my husband and I. Absolute fan of Balboa & the location of the home....walking distance to beaches, the cute town center, great neighborhood to walk in, etc. The front patio was fantastic for morning coffee and for hanging out during the day. The indoor patio was great during the hotter part of the late afternoon and to have happy hour while we BBQ'd. We are an active family and there are bikes in the garage you can use and rentals of SUP's and kayaks within steps of the house. We could not have been more pleased with the accommodations and location -- would certainly stay again and refer others to the home. To top it all off, the owner, Kari, is a delight to work with and stocks the house with everything you could possibly need! Thank you so much for a wonderful, fantastic, perfect vacation week!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cute, comfortable and Air Conditioned!

  • 5 of 5

What a great week! My family of 4 stayed in Kari's beautiful beach bungalow July16 to 23. The weather was a bit warm for Balboa, but the air conditioner (rare on the island) helped keep us cool and comfortable. We also enjoyed the light and bright cottage feel, the well appointed kitchen, new gas BBQ, quality beds and greenery on the front and back patios. We were able to make great use of the private back patio space with double French doors accessing the indoor living area. Kari's apparent love of gardening was obvious in the meticulously cared for and abundant lush garden areas around the home, something we don't have a lot of in Arizona. We definitely plan to stay here on out next trip to the island.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brian, Thank you for your really great review. I so enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family. I hope this was just the beginning of a long summer tradition on the island. Until next year, Kari Kari
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Balboa Summer

  • 5 of 5

This is the fifth year that we have stayed at 216 Onyx on Balboa Island and it is truly the "happy place" for three generations of my family. We enjoy being very close to the bay front and a very short walk into town. In addition, Kari has done so much to make the cottage feel like a home including maintaining the flowers and keeping everything clean and attractive. It is so rare to find a rental on the island that not only is dog friendly but also has a parking place in the garage. Kari is such an easy and pleasant person to deal with and I am looking forward to seeing her next summer.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Barbara, Thank you so much for your very kind words. I really love that your family, all three generations, have made my cottage an annual summer tradition. I take great pleasure knowing you are creating memories. See you again next summer! - Kari
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect Island Get-Away

  • 5 of 5

This home on Balboa Island is the perfect place for a relaxing get-away. I live close to the island but love to go to this cozy cottage for a week where I can relax, walk my doggies, and bike ride. People are friendly, you're close to dining, cute shopping boutiques, the beach and the bay. The furnishings and beds are very comfortable and the kitchen is modern and well stocked. It's very nice having a front patio and a secluded inner patio for barbecuing. I mentioned to the owner I was having company over one night for a BBQ and she went out a bought a beautiful new BBQ for the patio. She is gracious and very accommodating. I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
John Wayne Airport, SNA
Nearest Ferry
0.25 Miles
5 minute walk
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Newport Beach Country Club, Pelican Hill Resort
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Santa Ana train station
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
PCH (HWY 1), 55, 73 and 405 FWYs
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Several restaurants within 1-2 minute walk
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Balboa Island public beaches down the street
Car: not necessary

Laguna Festival of the Arts and Pageant of the Masters are must-sees. There are bike and SUP board rentals available just across the alley.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Newport Center House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
WINTER LEASE-UTIL inc
Sep 16 2017 - May 19 2018
180 night minimum stay
$3,400
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 10.0%

IMPORTANT NOTE: Cancellation and other terms are per my LEASE AND RENTAL AGREEMENT. I will email this contract to you at the time of your reservation request. Make sure I have your permanent mailing address and cell phone number you will be using during your stay. ALSO NOTE: A PDF version is attached for your review prior to making a Booking Request. There is a 10% City of Newport Beach Short Term Lodging (Transient) Tax on stays of 30 days or less, $500 Security Deposit, Mandatory Cleaning Fee of $130 and $50 Pet Fee for approved pet. The rental period will not be confirmed as "Reserved" until I receive your signed contract and deposit confirmation thru VRBO/HomeAway. I accept personal checks if well in advance of the rental date. PayPal, Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Thank you. - Kari

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Newport Center House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Partial tub with sitting ledge
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1) One queen bed in master bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (2) Two twin beds in second bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Balboa Island is about two miles from Fashion Island and world-class shopping, fine and casual dining along Mariner's Mile, Newport Beach, Corona del Mar, Crystal Cove and Laguna Beach. There are plenty of pampering spas, massage salons, yoga studios, fitness gyms, not to mention water sports, sailing, Duffy electric boat rides. Catalina Flyer is just five minutes away across the ferry. SO MUCH FUN!!!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties