check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Family friendly, short walk to beach! Book now for Spring/Summer 2017!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Flora's Bluff House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 8), 2 golf carts, close to the beach

Come to beautiful, secluded, unspoiled Bald Head Island, North Carolina, a car-free environment that is a safe, peaceful family retreat and a romantic couples getaway. Our home is fully equipped for the perfect vacation. We are a short walk to a white sandy beach via the neighborhood's private boardwalk system. Our beaches are never crowded! The Milliken House has a wrap-around front porch with rockers, a porch swing and hammock for visiting with friends and family. Our rear patio has an outdoor, private hot/cold water shower, and a propane grill.

The first floor of our home offers an open floor plan with living, dining and kitchen areas, wood floors, nine foot ceilings, a half bath and a laundry closet with a full-sized washer and dryer. Our large gourmet kitchen has Corian countertops, a breakfast bar that seats four, maple glass-front cabinets, and a terra-cotta tile floor. The living area has an internet ready cable TV with DVD player and large supply of DVDs. The dining area features a beautiful, custom-made dining table and seats six. There is a portable phone on the first floor.

The second floor is carpeted with nine foot ceilings, and has two large bedrooms, each with a king sized bed. The master bedroom has a small private deck facing south toward the water, a work area with desk, telephone, internet ready cable TV with a DVD player, a large closet, and a private bath with double sinks and a large tub and shower. The guest bedroom has king sized bed, a comfortable wing backed arm chair, a full-sized crib complete with crib linens and a bumper in the alcove, a portable phone and a large closet. A second full bath, with tub and shower, is on the second floor in the hallway next to the guest bedroom.

The third floor, with pickled pine floors and nine foot dormer ceilings, is a large bedroom with ocean views, two built-in twin daybeds under a row of west-facing windows, built-in bunk twin beds, a closet, and a futon couch that folds out into a double bed. This floor is set up for kids, with a cable TV with VCR and DVD player, and lots of children's books, videos and toys. There's a large open area up here where the kids can spread out and play!

We use a linen service in Southport as part of our cleaning service. All bed linens are high quality and professionally laundered, and all bed pillows are down-filled (we have allergenic alternatives available). We also provide professionally laundered large bath towels. We have two four-seater Club Car golf carts for getting around the island. A membership in the Bald Head Island Club is included in the rental, and we can provide a membership in the Shoal's Club upon request for $150 per week, or $25 per day (with a 2 day minimum).

Keywords: Home, house, duplex, beach house,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Nana Smith, Manager, Milliken Family Group LLC
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 28, 2016
Call Owner

About Nana Smith, Manager, Milliken Family Group LLC

My husband and I have been married for over 25 years and have 3 children, all of whom have grown up vacationing in this home on Bald Head Island. We can only vacation there a few weeks a year, so we rent it the rest of the year. We have dedicated renters who return year after year. Everyone takes wonderful care of our house!

Nana Smith, Manager, Milliken Family Group LLC purchased this house in 2001

Why Nana Smith, Manager, Milliken Family Group LLC chose Bald Head Island

My husband and I bought a beach house on Bald Head Island because it seemed like the perfect place to create family memories for our children and grandchildren (hopefully, someday!). The kids were quite young when we got it. We wanted a home base for our family that would be with us throughout the career moves and stages of life. 15 years later, it is a decision we do not regret!

What makes this house unique

The island is very secluded and relatively unspoiled. Contact with the outside world seems very limited, and we really lose track of time there. Its an extremely safe place, where our children can just take off in the morning and come back before dark, dirty and exhausted, ready for dinner and bed! Its good, clean fun, the old fashioned kind we grew up with; limited technology, lots of nature and active, outdoor time. Our kids would spend their days fishing, crabbing, clamming, surfing, biking, roller blading, playing touch football on the beach, and playing 'capture the flag' and 'ghost in the graveyard' in our neighborhood with the other kids staying there whenever we are there. Another favorite activity was setting up an old fashioned lemonade stand. Boy did they rake it in on a hot summer day!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Family friendly, short walk to beach! Book now for Spring/Summer 2017!
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 26 reviews
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house because it had a full baby crib available, which was key for our 17 month old, but I wish we had chosen a different house - crib or no crib. We arrived at the appointed check-in time at 4pm and all doors were locked. The tumbler lock for the extra house key had been corroded, so after a long day of traveling to the house, we weren't able to get in. After speaking with the property manager, we were able to gain access. The house floor plan is fantastic. Lovely open feel with lots of room. Unfortunately (again), the house was very run down. There were cob webs on the sconces and in the bathroom corners, lights burnt out in the bathroom, no place for storage in the guest bathroom or guest bedroom (the one with the crib). There are so many light switches that it's confusing to try to figure out which ones to use to light up a room. We would go around and try them all to try to figure it all out. There was paint chipped from the ceiling in the kid's loft room, so I didn't feel comfortable having my daughter play around in there. The furniture was worn in and in general the house is very outdated. My daughter ended up hating the crib and insisted on sleeping with us in our bed - so that won't make a difference in our future purchase. I was really excited for the homey, comfortable, kitchy feel this house gave in the photos, but when we arrived we really saw how outdated and run down the house was. House aside, Bald Head is a beautiful place and I'm happy that we visited. We were just disappointed with this property.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you were locked out when you arrived. We believe that the painters we had in that week doing off season painting and pressure washing locked the doors (even though we asked them not to) when they left. The lock box is there for that reason, and my brother and his family used it earlier the same week without a problem, so I do not know why it wasn't working for you. The baby crib you were using is only a year old and has been lightly used; I'm sorry it disappointed you. I sent you a couple of emails over the weekend to check on you; I wish you had responded to let me know you were having issues because I would have sent the cleaning staff back over to deal with the cobwebs etc. The guest bedroom has a small chest of drawers and a huge double closet (both empty) for storage, so I am not sure what you mean when you say there is no storage in the guest bedroom? The master bedroom also has a small chest of drawers, two bedside tables with drawers, and a large walk in closet for use for storage. I am also sorry to hear there were bulbs burned out; We keep a supply of extra light bulbs for all the fixtures and lamps in the house in a basket on a shelf in the laundry closet for this eventuality, and if there were any bulbs that were not in there that you needed our cleaning staff could have gotten more out for you and also we always are happy to reimburse renters for anything like that that they find they need to pick up at the grocery or hardware store on the island. We spend a lot of time at the house ourselves and frequently refresh linens, towels, slip covers, and other items. I regret that you thought the furnishings were run down. I can assure you that the peeling paint you noticed on the third floor is NOT lead based; there is only a very small amount of it around the skylights due to some water damage we had earlier in the year from storms. There is nothing dangerous about the situation and that third floor room is frequently sited by renters as one of the aspects of the house their children enjoy the most. Again, I wish you had communicated with me about these issues directly so that I could have responded in a timely manner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

The Milliken house is a well furnished home with all the features needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. For our family, we have 3 children. The two oldest children, 6 and 9, enjoyed the private 3rd floor, which was designed and furnished with young children in mind. They loved the bunk beds and day beds. For fun, the two children slept in a different bed each night. One night they enjoyed a day bed, another night it was the bunk bed. Our youngest is only 17 months old and still needs to sleep in a crib. We actually picked the Milliken home because it had a "real" crib, not a flimsy pack n play. Luckily the crib was situated in a room with a king size bed allowing both us parents and baby to sleep comfortably. In fact, my baby who usually doesn't sleep well in an unfamiliar setting did not wake up once during the night at the Milliken house. My mother who joined us on this trip also commented on how comfortable her bed was in the master room. The kitchen has all the tools and equipment needed to cook a meal, and even has a grill in the back yard. We really appreciate that the owner considered small details like having a baby gate, plenty of beach towels, and a extra large dog crate for our fur baby. On a side note, I really enjoyed working with Nana. She answered all of our questions in timely fashion and was very considerate and thoughtful during the booking process. Definitely book here, you won't regret it.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, comfortable vacation home.

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfectly set up for a family with children. Quick easy access to the beach. Warm water in the outdoor shower was an expected perk! Clean, convenient, and user friendly home.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well-appointed; great location!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed with my husband, parents and two babies the past 8 nights. We enjoyed our stay and hope to be back!

Very responsive, accomdodating owner.

Two king size beds was very nice to have and everyone commented on how extremely comfortable they were. Large bedrooms and adorable third floor room with bunk beds.

Every necessity thought of to make the stay very comfortable - dog crate, pack n play, baby gate, beach supplies, kitchen gadgets galore, good size tv, comfortable couch, nice grill, beach towels, new appliances, two golf carts (one 6 seater.) We had more than we needed!

The only addition we'd love to see is an outdoor table to eat at though the rocking chairs and porch swing were thoroughly enjoyed. The beautiful porch was once of our favorite parts of the house.

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. We hope to be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happiness on BHI

  • 5 of 5

Our 2 families - including teenagers who loved the loft 'dorm' - had a wonderful time at the Milliken house on Bald Head Island! The home was very well stocked, clean and well situated: only 2 minutes to the beach, we were there all the time! Our thanks to the lovely family for opening their home to us!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for family of 5 plus Grandparents!

  • 5 of 5

This property is so conveniently located to the beach (a 2 minute walk) and provided everything we needed to have a super holiday on Bald Head. It was easy to access both East Beach and South Beach from this location, as well as the Conservancy/Turtle Central that we enjoy so much. We've stayed at various locations on the island over the years, and this one was by far, our favorite. Very spacious kitchen with a breakfast bar and a wonderful assortment of pots and pans, implements, and dishes. Beach chairs, umbrellas, wake boards and various beach toys were a welcome discovery. Interesting and thought-provoking artwork throughout the house was an added bonus. Two King-sized beds was such a nice feature of this home as well, and the kids adored the loft area all to themselves. Plus, a porch swing, rockers and hammock on the porch...it was bliss!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wilmington, North Carolina
Nearest Barpub
Shoals Club
Nearest Ferry
Bald Head Island ferry
Nearest Golf
Bald Head Island Club
Nearest Restaurant
Mojo's Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Bald Head Island beaches
Car: not necessary

Hiking on trails in protected semi-tropical maritime forest, George Cobb-designed challenging 18-hole Golf Course, Croquet, Birding, Sea Turtle Nesting, Canoeing, Scootering, Jogging, Rollerblading, Body surfing, kayaking, ocean swimming, sailing, tennis, biking, Stand Up Paddleboarding

Rates & Availability

Flora's Bluff House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Holiday 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,750
 
 
Spring 2017
Mar 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$1,900
 
 
Memorial Day 2017
May 26 2017 - Jun 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,650
 
 
Early Summer 2017
Jun 4 2017 - Jun 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,850
 
 
High Season 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,450
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 13 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,850
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,650
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $250
Cleaning and Linens Fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Please contact us regarding the terms of our pet policy before booking, and note that the refundable damage deposit for those persons bringing a pet with them is $500, rather than $250. There is no "pet fee." The VRBO system isn't set up to allow for a higher damage deposit for pets, so it shows it as an additional $250 pet fee, but it will be refunded per the contract if no damage occurs. Also, the quote you receive from VRBO will not be exactly correct; we only require one-half of the BASE RENT upfront with the signed contract (which I will email to you after you send me your home address and let me know if you want a Shoals Club membership as well and whether you will be bringing a pet) and the remainder is due 30 days prior to arrival date.

Payment is by personal check or PayPal (your choice).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Flora's Bluff House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , master bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , hall bath next to 2nd, guest bedroom
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , powder room on 1st floor
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2nd floor master with small sundeck and private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 2nd floor large guest bedroom with crib
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , 3rd floor kids' bunk room with 4 twin mattresses and futon
  • King size beds (2) There is a king-sized bed in each of the two second floor bedrooms. Both mattresses are high quality firm support., Twin or Single Beds (2) These are 2 built in twin, or day, beds in the 3rd floor bedroom., Baby Cribs (1) There is a full-sized crib, with linens, in one of the 2nd floor bedrooms., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a futon couch, convertible to a double bed, in the 3rd floor bedroom., Bunk Beds (1) There is a built in bunk bed (consisting of 2 twin sized mattresses) in the 3rd floor bedroom. These are in addition to the two twin built in day beds in the 3rd floor bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Multiple Phones, Multiple Cable TVs, DVDs, Fully equipped Gourmet Kitchen with Microwave, Coffee Maker, Bean Grinder, Blender, Cuisinart, Toaster, Full-sized Washer and Dryer, Outdoor private hot shower, Bikes, Boogie boards, Beach chairs, Beach toys, Tons of kid stuff (toys, videos, books, games), Full-sized crib, Porta-crib, High chair, Potty chair, Booster seat, Stools and other baby/toddler stuff

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties