Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Excellent ocean views, just a few steps from beach access

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 1,680 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms 2.5 Baths Call Owner For Specials!

DISCOUNTS FOR PEAK WEEKS. $125.00 OFF. Lay-a-way plan(30%@ booking, 30%, 30 days after booking, balance due 45 days before check-in) Call or email owner for special discounts! Sunday turn day.

New laminate wood floors, new lighting.

Amost ocean front and located on a quite street with very little traffic, this cozy cottage retreat sits atop a high dune offering beautiful ocean views. The beach access is just in front of the house, less than 160 feet away.

Relax in the private hot tub after a full day of sun, surf and sand or from the cool of the covered deck, rock away the cobwebs while watching the shrimp boats and dolphin play.

Time for dinner; enjoy the ocean views, dine in or grill out and take advantage and the beautiful Emerald Isle evenings and have dinner outside on the picnic table.

Later, time for bed? Maybe....or perhaps after the kids are tucked in, a relaxing glass of wine in the hot tub is in order. Either way enjoy the sound of the ocean while you dream of a Brand New Day at Emerald Isle.

Our rates include NC sales tax

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 10, 2017

About The Owner

Over the years we have cherished out time together with our children, who are grown now, at Emerald Isle. There is plenty to keep us busy, kayaking in the sound, fishing, golfing, sailing, etc. but mostly we like just sitting on the beach under the shade of the beach umbrella watching the waves roll in and the dolphins playing and doing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

Why The Owner chose Coastal North Carolina

We had looked at coastal property off and on over the past twenty years. When we first vacationed on Emerald Isle we knew this was the place we wanted to invest. The moment we saw 'Brand New Day', we knew this was the place for us. We looked at it on New Year's Eve, 2000. We stayed up all night not partying but crunching numbers to figure out if we could make an offer. We made our offer at 9:00am New Year's Day 01-01-01), while pretty much the rest of the island was still asleep. Brand New Day has been a solace for our family the past eight years. Many other families have enjoyed family gatherings at this cozy cottage, to enjoy the simple pleasures of going to sleep to the sound of the ocean, just outside your door and waking to cool sea breezes. There are many larger vacation homes with all the bells and whistles (in fact we own one, Another New Day), but Brand New Day remains our favorite place to gather, relax, renew and reflect. Welcome to our home!


Emerald Isle House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1680 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 -
  • Outdoor hot/cold shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with private bath main level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , ocean views/main level
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , ocean views/main level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed , with half bath/ ground level
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) (1) bunk
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Excellent ocean views, just a few steps from beach access
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews

Our Fall retreat since 2010

  • 5 of 5

As you can read from previous reviews we have been coming to this location in the fall since 2010. Time permitting often staying for a month. The homeowners have continued to make upgrades to the home making each year even better than the previous one.

Always clean and very comfortable. Could not ask more from the homeowner, they have always been so attentive to anything we may have needed. They have made it very easy for us to call this our home away from home.

Thank you for everything, hoping for a repeat in 2016!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Sights and Sounds like Ocean Front

  • 5 of 5

Comfort, amenities, furnishings, all met the highest expectations. A short pathway over the dune to broad beach and picturesque surf. The Dolphins played while we surfed. Cottage entrance, shower, hot tub, and autos shielded from elements. Great family getaway. Marvelous experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you folks. We are so glad to hear you had a great week in spite of some nasty rainy weather. Hopefully when you come back you will have better weather. Thank you for being excellent guests and taking good care of our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ok except for roach infestation

  • 1 of 5

Location and property were fine but unfortunately there was a roach infestation that the owner knew about but didn't address. They failed to take responsibility and never addressed the issue.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you had any issue with bugs in our home. We realized we had some bugs in the house the weekend before your stay because we were in the house for the weekend. We were very surprised to see ANY bugs because we have a monthly contract with Rid-a-pest, so we called them out right away. They retreated the house on Monday before your check in. We had housekeeping check the house prior to your check in and didn't see any evidence of any bugs, except for one dead one at the bottom of the stairs. We certainly didn't think there would be any problem at your check in. We responded to you immediately when you notified us we still had some bugs by offering to send the exterminator back out. You sent us a text that said," OK, that's fine. As long as it has been treated not much can be done". When you notified us that the problem had worsened, we again offered to have the exterminator come back out that day. You informed us you were going to the beach and didn't want them to come while you were away and your bird was in the house. Rid-a-pest did come back out on Thursday and offered to do a more extensive treatment that meant you would need to be out of the house for several hours and you opted out of that offer. We did everything we could to resolve the problem and offered you compensation for your inconvenience. You are now asking us for a full refund for the week you stayed with us. We do not feel this is warranted or reasonable. We have never had this issue in the 15 years we have rented our home. We take great pride in keeping it in excellent condition and updated which includes new carpet just this past May in all the bedrooms, laminate floors, new lighting, total new HVAC two years ago and a new roof, and some new decking this past spring. We had guest in right after your stay and asked them to report any sightings of bugs to us ASAP. They reported no evidence of any type of bugs.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1

Excellent getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The home was very accommodating for our family. We had everything that we needed. It's a great place to call your temporary home. Looking forward to next year!!!

Santiago Family, Dumfries, VA

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Coldwater MS

Donna from Mississippi

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in your house while visiting our Granddaughter whose husband is in the Marines . . it was super clean with a great view. We sat in the rockers and enjoyed watching the sunrise and hearing the waves crashing. The grandkids were excited that it was just a short walk to the ocean. Everything was just as it was shown on the website. . it was very clean and comfortable . . thanks for sharing with us . . we'd love to come back!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

True Blue Tar Heel Fans

  • 5 of 5

This is our 3rd consective Fall at Brand New Day. I can not say enough about the laminate flooring, furnishings, fixtures and more. The house is very clean...this is so hard to find in a pet friendly facility. As always the owners are very accommodating to the needs of the renter. Hoping to continue the tradition in 2013!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Denise and Stroud, Thank you for your great review; you are the kind of guests all homeowners want in their home. We are glad you are enjoying the improvments, we have more planned in the next year! Happy fishing! Ray and Jo Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
New Bern
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Morehead City
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Cape Carteret
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Emerald Isle
Car: recommended

Our home is 20 minutes to the NC Aquarium in Pine Knoll Shores. Emerald Isle is quite unique, in that it has a paved walking/biking path that runs the length of the town. You can walk, bike, blade to anywhere, including shops, theater, grocery store, and restaurants


Rates & Availability

Emerald Isle House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Apr 2 2017 - Jun 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jun 4 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
Sep 10 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
Mid Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Jan 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
Jan 7 2018 - Mar 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $385
Cleaning fee $50
Pet Fee $175
Linen/Towels $125
Tax Rate 6.75%

Non-refundable pet fee $225.00, if applicable. Chairs, umbrellas and beach buggy available to rent; please inquire for pricing. Sunday turn day

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties