check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Wavely Veney

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront

59 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maryland Townhome Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom, Sleeps 10

Why stay at a Hotel, when your entire family can stay in the center of the District of Columbia, only blocks from the National Air & Space Museum in the DC waterfront area for Much less! Absolutely wonderful describes this house, a spacious Three-bedroom, 2 full + 1 half baths, 2-level town home located in Waterfront/SW, Washington DC’s beautiful marina district. Just walking minutes from L'Enfant Plaza mall, metro, Smithsonian, museums, and the Mall, this home is close to I-395 going to Virginia and Maryland. Walk to the Cherry Blossoms, the fireworks on the Mall, and the WWII & Vietnam memorials. Boasting a fabulous location, the Smithsonian Vacation House is on a quiet cul-de-sac with off-street parking, yet it is in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Don't delay, book today! We look forward to servicing you.

This lovely Capitol Hill property offers the option of 2 levels featuring 3 Bedrooms with 2 1/2 Bathrooms or 3 levels featuring 4 Bedrooms with 3 1/2 Bathrooms to accommodate up to 14 guests! Contact us today for details!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Wavely Veney (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Wavely Veney

I live by the Golden Rule, do unto others as you would have them do unto you; taught to me by my beautiful Mother May. She passed her entrepreneurial spirit on to me from a very early age and I learned that behind every successful person is a team of family and friends providing unconditional support. That team makes me who I am today, a successful and genuine African-American Man.

Why Wavely Veney chose Maryland

I learned of this property a few years ago from a friend and fell in love with the vision to renovate this home to the beauty it should be. Such an exquisite area deserves a beautiful home to enhance the eclectic area that is the Beachfront Marina.

What makes this townhome unique

My favorite part of this home is the welcoming courtyard that leads you to a splendid balcony where you will feel the need to stop, turn around, and breathe in the view.

Reviews

4.1
based on 59 traveler reviews

The Smithsonian Vacation House - Walk To The Museums - Free Parking - Waterfront
average rating of 4.0508475 based on 59 reviews
Port Neches, TX
5

Traditional, Clean, Walking distance to everything

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience. Rooms were clean, Great location, It would be hard to find something closer to the MALL. Owner Wavely was very responsive and friendly. Highly recommend and neighborhood is fantastic.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay in DC

  • 5 of 5

Our family of five fit more than comfortably in the house. It really was a reasonable walk up to the National Mall. The kitchen was well equipped with what we needed to save some money on food. It was wonderful having so many bathrooms! We enjoyed the neighborhood and our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The location of this home is fantastic. Its close to two metros, the mall, grocery store etc. The house could do with a few updates but it was well worth the money. Waverly was a great host who was very accommodating. We will be back next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans, Austin & Kansas
4

Metro and Mall just blocks away!

  • 4 of 5

This was the first trip to DC for our group, and this location was perfect! We were just a couple of blocks away from the Metro station where there was a grocery store and several restaurants. Walking a few more blocks, we were at the museums on the mall! Very convenient and safe location if you don't have a car. And, we used Uber/Lyft for quick pickups under 4 minutes wherever we were. The house layout worked out great for 2 couples and 3 young teens. We just put one of the blowup mattress on the bedroom floor for one of the boys. Be sure to bring a sleep mask if you are sensitive to the early morning light (skylight in the master bedroom). We enjoyed the convenience of three bathrooms, lots of extra towels, and the washer/dryer. Also, we saved money by using the kitchen for breakfasts and some evening meals. And, I can't say enough about our wonderful host, Wavely !! He was extremely helpful and attentive during our stay, our personal Siri, as he liked to say! His cheerful and friendly manner made us feel less like strangers in a new city, and more like a friend. If we make another trip to DC, we'll be sure to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Menomonee Falls, WI
3

Wedding in DC Memorial Day Weekend

  • 3 of 5

Since our family was gathering in DC, we looked for lodging that would allow the 3 different family units to stay together. We arrived on Friday , May 27th and were to stay until Monday , May 30. The Town Hall was nicely decorated and provided enough space for gathering. It was also close to the Mall. Our 8 year old grand daughter especially enjoyed the Foose Ball table in the sun room. Unfortunately the air conditioning in the lower level was needing repair and wouldn't be able to be fixed until after the weekend ,the bedrooms upstairs were cool. Wavely the manager was very understanding that this was not going to work for us without air conditioning. We had to move to different lodging. I understand the repairs have been made and we got a full refund.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi! Unfortunately, the HVAC motor died and the unit became inoperable during your time of stay. The system has been repaired and warranted. We offering you and family and free 2 day stay on us! We look forward to hosting you again! Wavely V.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful Home and Great Location!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Smithsonian Vacation House with 4 adults and 2 toddlers. Wavely is a very attentive and accommodating host. He was in contact during our in entire stay, making sure we had everything we needed.

The home is 2 story older home, with bedrooms on the second floor, living areas on the first floor (which is up a fairly steep set of outside stairs) in a nice neighborhood. Parking in the back is very convenient. The kitchen is modern and has many items needed for your stay.

Although we did not walk, it is walking distance (1/2 mile or less) to the south side of the Mall (also a Safeway very near by). The price is great relative to the price of hotels that would be that close in, especially since there were 6 of us. I would recommend staying in this home .

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Ronald Reagan Airport
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
L'enfant Metro
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Southwest Waterfront Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer
Apr 18 2016 - Sep 19 2016
2 night minimum stay
$385
$2,400
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$829
 
 
New Years 2017
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$829
 
 
Inauguration 2017 Extended
Jan 16 2017 - Jan 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
 
Inauguration 2017
Jan 18 2017 - Jan 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$385
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $175
Tax Rate 14.5%

275
The Following Holidays are observed and specials rates are applicableThanksgiving, Christmas, Memorial, Cherry Blossom, 4th July, Memorial, Presidents, Veterans, MLK
Come experience our beautiful Nation's Capital from a luxurious perspective! Enjoy the upcoming holidays in comfort and style. We are offering a special discounted weekly rate of $1600 for the entire month of December! Take advant

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maryland Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • River
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master Bathroom features jet body spray and skylight.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Chair
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • The master bedroom can accommodate three guests.
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 3 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...