check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ned Towle, Soaring Eagle Lodge Whidbey LLC

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Luxury Waterfront Lodge: Gourmet Kitchen, 3 Fireplaces, Hot Tub, Bald Eagle Nest

43 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Oak Harbor House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms + sofa bed in library, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8 maximum)

The Soaring Eagle Lodge on Whidbey Island is a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of city life. This spectacular waterfront lodge overlooks the Puget Sound, Mount Baker and the beautiful Cascade Mountain Range. Enjoy stunning views throughout the lodge and along our 300 feet of bluff frontage, with an adventure trail leading down to your own private beach.

Soaring Eagle Lodge is nestled on 2.7 acres of towering evergreen trees, 100 feet above the waters of Skagit Bay and the Puget Sound.

The property takes its name from the majestic Bald Eagles, which soar along the water’s edge. Their nests are the largest of any bird in North America and we have a clear view of our eagle's nest from the Great Room. We have had 10 successful chicks since the eagles first built the nest in 2004. They allowed the nest to rest for 3 years (from 2012 to 2015) and returned for the 2016 nesting season. The Bald Eagle is said to be the fastest growing bird in the world. This year our chick hatched on May 7th and fledged in mid-August. We look forward to our next chick during the 2017 nesting season.

The lodge caters to those who enjoy luxury accommodations and modern conveniences. From deluxe “Sleep Number” beds, cozy “Cuddle Robes,” heated bathroom floors, 3 cozy fireplaces and an outdoor jacuzzi hot tub – to a gourmet kitchen which will delight any chef, you will feel pampered throughout your stay.

Sit by a warm fire with a cup of tea or coffee and gaze out through our 24 ft wall of windows at the spectacular water and mountain views.

There are many activities available on Whidbey Island, such as fishing, kayaking, whale watching, boat tours, golfing, hiking, shopping and more.

We are also centrally located for day trips to Port Townsend, Vancouver BC, Victoria BC, Seattle, Anacortes, Langley, Coupeville, La Connor and the San Juan Islands. However you choose to spend your time, you will feel rested and relaxed after your visit to Soaring Eagle Lodge.

Whidbey was identified as one of the 5 best places on the planet to visit by the New York Times “T Magazine” and Life Magazine voted Whidbey as one of the top 100 places in the world to visit.

We are approximately 90 miles from Vancouver, Canada. Please note... a passport is required and anyone with a DUI will not be allowed into Canada.

Visit our personal website at Soaring Eagle Lodge Whidbey.

We do not allow weddings, parties, graduations, receptions or any similar kind of event. The maximum number of guests allowed in the home or on the property is limited to 8 people at any time.

We have a 90 day Cancellation Policy.

We do not trade time with other vacation rental owners.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Ned Towle, Soaring Eagle Lodge Whidbey LLC (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 43 traveler reviews

Luxury Waterfront Lodge: Gourmet Kitchen, 3 Fireplaces, Hot Tub, Bald Eagle Nest
average rating of 4.976744 based on 43 reviews
Xenia Ohio
5

STUNNING HOME

  • 5 of 5

From the second you pull up you know it's gonna be good!! This home is amazingly beautiful! Super clean and stocked better than any home we have ever rented (and we have rented a lot)!! They have every spice you'll ever need and then some! The bedrooms are all beautiful with super comfortable beds! Heated floors in the bathroom..well now I want them at home:) - We had 8 adults staying here and there was plenty of room, no one every felt like they were in anyone's way. We all had our own space when needed! We cooked in almost every night (which is something we very seldom do) but the kitchen just calls to you to cook in! We enjoyed every evening after a full day of sight seeing out by the fire, best fire pit ever! We made some special memories around it! We even made a fire a couple mornings! The patio and yard are just awesome. I cannot say enough how very much we enjoyed our stay! We kept watch for eagles and never saw them in the nest but believe we did see a younger one flying. The view is beyond beautiful, we never got tired of it!! Mary is the best! She and Al were staying in there caretakers quarters but we'd have never known if not told that. She is right on anything you need. I would highly recommend this home! You will not be disappointed!! (were there 9/5/16-9/10/16)

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you for the wonderful review. It's always nice to know the guests enjoyed their stay. We strive to create an exceptional experience for our guests!! My cleaning ladies are proud of the work they do and will be happy to see your review. They let me know you left the lodge in excellent condition!! Many thanks for that!! The best time of year for eagle viewing is from May to mid- August. In mid-August the parents go to their winter residence on the Skagit River. The parents leave first to force the chick out of the nest. Usually in Feb or March the parents return and start remodeling the nest by bringing new sticks to enlarge it. That’s fun to watch because one will bring a stick and place it. The other, dissatisfied with the placement, will pick up the stick and move it someplace else on the nest. Does that remind you of anything? We hope to host you again in the future. Best Regards, Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5

All I can say is this is one of the best homes I've ever rented!! Mary has been amazing the whole way through and extremely accommodating. The property is so beautiful & well-maintained! It's true amazing! It is supplied with everything, every possible need that you could think of is offered, they think of everything! Thank you so much for being part one of my favorite experiences! I look forward to continue renting this beautiful place as long as I can!! Good luck in all your future endeavors! Thank you, thank you, thank you !!!!

Elissa

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Elissa, Thank you for your kind words. It has been a pleasure having you in our home. It is so rewarding for us to share our home when guests enjoy their stay and want to come back. We try to create a wonderful experience for our guests and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Best Regards, Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Absolutely Beautiful

  • 4 of 5

This 3 bedroom house is beautifully decorated, well appointed, spotlessly clean, charming and just plain wonderful. My favorite feature was spying on the family of eagles and watching the seal splash in the water while I sipped my coffee and read my book on the back porch each morning I was there. Eagle Lodge (not sure why it is called a lodge) has all the amenities you would expect from a high end property like down comforters, hair dryer, (hair dryer is low volume. If you like lots of air force, bring your own) nice toiletries, clothes soap for washer, family games and DVDs. I especially liked the fresh Starbucks coffee set up since we arrived late and didn't do our grocery shopping until the next day. The kitchen is spacious and very beautiful. I suppose you can say it is a "gourmet" kitchen. It has a 36" propane cook top and an outdoor gas grill. There are many dry spices, dry goods (except oils. Pam and butter are provided) basic cooking utensils, pots, pans and dishes to choose from. However the kitchen lacks any type of chefs knife and a large frying pan. Mary, the owner, will greet you warmly upon your arrival and will cheerily answer your questions and explain ALL the house rules to you in great detail before you remove your luggage from your car. For example, she will explain the extreme sensitivities of the septic system and it's limitations like cooking oils of any type which are strictly forbidden down the drain, hence Pam and butter. (That seemed logical to me. But why not wipe your pan out with a paper towel and throw it away?) In addition, due to the sensitive septic system no more than 8 people are allowed on the property at the same time without authorization. This includes guests who are not sleeping over. This fact is ambiguous in the contract. Luckily, this was not a problem for us. It is also stated in the contract that Mary and her husband live on the property in the apartment above the garage. You don't see them hardly at all, however, it is a lot like having your parents with you on a vacation. You always know they are there and you feel like they will catch you doing something wrong. You can hear them in the master bathroom. Although this place is extremely beautiful and is located in an amazing secluded environment, it didn't feel totally private. This is why I have given this property 4 stars instead of 5. All in all this is a lovely property and I would recommend it.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not read the Contract before making a reservation and therefore you had different expectations than we provide. We love to share our home with guests and want them to feel pampered and relaxed while they are here. Each owner explains what is important to them in their contract and house rules. The guest needs to read and understand the contract and house rules before going forward with a reservation. We allow a maximum of 8 guests because we do not want the extra wear and tear on our home and becauses we are on a well and septic. We are not an event center and not licensed for events. While it is untrue that I reviewed every house rule, I did explain the maximum number of guests and septic practices, after you advised that you planned on having more than 8 guests. The caretaker quarters are occasionally occupied throughout the year and it just so happened one of those times was while you visited. If this is a concern for a guest, they can inquire about it before making their reservation. Thank you for letting us know about the knives. It sounds like our knife set needs to be sharpened. I hope you have a great rest of the summer. Best Regards Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, wonderful weekend.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Soaring Eagle Lodge for 3 nights on Memorial Day Weekend. Quite simply, our visit was excellent. The home was large but cozy. Our 2 and 5 year old found the impressive park-like grounds of the estate to be full of places to explore, and the bald eagle's nest and daily close-proximity flying was so special and fun (and made for some great photos). While steep, the journey to the water made for fun family adventures. The covered hot tub was a nightly treat as well! All in all, I'd highly recommend this house for some time to unwind or family/friend getaways. Our family has stayed at several 5-star 10+ reviews VRBOs and this is definitely worthy of such a rating as well. Thank you Mary for your timely/helpful communication, hopefully we'll be back again soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Luxury, Elegant, nature loving, and clean

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect. It was worth it. Going to the beach was a bit of adventuresome but also was worth it once we got to the quiet beach.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Soaring Views!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful part of the Skagit Bay and a luxury property for any and all to enjoy. We will definitely come back.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
85 Miles
SEA Seattle
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Oak Harbor
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Clinton
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Gallery Golf Course
Nearest Train
50 Miles
Mt Vernon
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Hwy 20
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Oak Harbor, Numerous
Nearest Beach
On site
Car: necessary

Whidbey and Fidalgo Islands have numerous state parks for hiking, and activities such as fishing, kayaking, whale watching, biking, beach combing, and boating. There are several quaint towns nearby for shopping including Oak Harbor, Port Townsend, Coupeville, Langley and Anacortes.

We are centrally located for day trips to La Connor, San Juan Islands, Seattle, Victoria BC and Vancouver BC.

Other Activities: fishing from our own private beach (when they are in season).

Golf: Gallery Golf Course

Photos

Rates & Availability

Oak Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2016 - Nov 28 2016
4 night minimum stay
$525
$3,500
 
 
Christmas-New Years
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$525
$3,500
 
 
Whidbey Marathon Week
Apr 19 2017 - Apr 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$525
$3,500
 
 
May-June 2017 Shoulder Season
May 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$495
$3,200
 
 
July-August
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
September 2017 Shoulder Season
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$495
$3,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

Please confirm rates and dates upon booking. Rate changes are not retroactive.

We have a 90 day cancellation policy.

50% deposit due upon booking. 50% final payment due 90 days before check in. If you book within 90 days of check in, full payment is due upon booking.

Summer rate is $525/nt if less than 7 days are available and the entire block of time available is rented as one booking.

Rates are in US dollars.

*OFF SEASON SPECIALS October 1 to April 30: stay 2 nights at regular rate and 3rd is 50% off, or stay 3 nights at regular rate and 4th night is free. Cannot combine specials.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Oak Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Shampoo
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Heated Travertine Floor
    Upstairs Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Heated Floor
    Half Bathroom - toilet , Downstairs near Library
  • Jetted Tub in master bath; Extra Deep 24 inch high soaking tub in guest bath. Hot tub outside under a covered porch
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , King "Sleep Number" bed.
    Upstairs Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King "Sleep Number" bed
    Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen Memory Foam Bed
    Library with French Doors - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofabed
  • Our king "Sleep Number" beds allow each individual to control their own firmness. The Queen bed in the upstairs guest bedroom has a memory foam topper for extra comfort. The Queen sofa bed in the library has an extra thick mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Handicapped Accessible (may have limitations): Main floor has level entry and exit through all doors. Double doors into main bedroom and bath. Shower will accommodate shower chair however there is a 4 inch lip at entry to shower. The person needs to stand and swing onto toilet. Whole house water filter system including outdoor water spigots attached to lodge. Hot water on demand to faucets. TV in every bedroom with cable.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties