Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Inviting home outstanding view of Lk Michigan & rolling meadows, Hot Tub, WiFi

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 7 (2 king/ 2 twin/ 1 futon )

This inviting home with 3 spacious bedrooms & 3 full baths provides outstanding views of Lake Michigan & rolling meadows year round. The main level host a welcoming great room wi/ stone fireplace, a large kitchen, an eating area, a cozy corner great for reading …all of which have a view of the lake. Additionally, there are two comfortable bedrooms and bath. The lower level family room wi/ bar and second fireplace is ideal for playing games or cards. The extra large main deck is ideal for dining in the summer while enjoying the warm breeze, The six person hot tub is great for relaxing.

Guests enjoy the many amenities of Birchwood Country Club that includes 27 holes of golf, 10 tennis courts, heated pool, fitness center, Pro Shop and dining. There are miles of walking trails, cross-country skiing out the back door in the winter with Boyne Mountain and Nub’s Nob just 15 minutes away.

This northern home with all its charm is ideal for escaping the “rat-race” of today’s busy world

The home is located in beautiful Birchwood Farms Golf and Country Club which is located 3 miles from Harbor Springs and 10 miles from Petoskey, MI.

As guests of Birchwood, you will have full use of all the amenities within the Club. This includes 3 outstanding golf courses, 10 tennis courts, heated pool, new fully equipped fitness center and three dining options in/near the recently renovated Club House. For those staying one week or more, special golf rates are available .

Concierge Service: From casual family suppers to gourmet dinner parties for friends, this can be provided for you with a true culinary expertise. Whether it’s a romantic beach picnic for two, appetizers on your deck or an elegant dinner for 12, it can be provided everything down to the last detail.

Prefer to prepare your own meals?? We can arrange to help plan your menus, do the shopping, stock your home, recommend wine/beverage pairings.

You don't have to sacrifice style or taste when it comes to keeping your party costs under control. All you need is a budget and a plan. Our caterer can show you how to pull off everything with an easy-to-prepare menu and pretty details that won't break the bank.

List of services includes:

full event catering (2-40)

individual meals,brunch, lunch, dinner(menu ideas available upon request)

soups or 'comfort foods' when you get home after a day of winter sports

full table preparation and service or simply providing the food

More Details

Property Manager
Resort Rental and Management
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 28, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

Overall, an excellent trip. The house is very spacious and was very accommodating. All basic kitchen essentials are readily available for any food preparation you may want to do. I would absolutely stay here again!

February 2018
Feb 2018
  • 1 of 7


Birchwood Farms House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 27
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • 7-night minimum for SUMMER SEASON; Saturday-Saturday check-in/out required.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Resort
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • The all three bathrooms have been updated.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The very large master suite has a viewing balcony looking out onto Lake Michigan. The two main level bedrooms each have a of the lake and one of the woods. The lower level has one futon for extra sleeping space.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
In the lower level, there is a nice game table and bar with four stools great for entertaining and family gatherings.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Inviting home outstanding view of Lk Michigan & rolling meadows, Hot Tub, WiFi
average rating of 4.0 based on 13 reviews

Outstanding time! Thank you!!!

  • 4 of 5

We had another outstanding vacation and Resort Rental Management provided exquisite service during our stay. We are looking forward to our summer rental and wish we could return sooner. Thank you Joy and Elise for all you do- you guys are the BEST! It is greatly appreciate :)

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you very positive feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Enchanting Lake Michigan View property and your expectations were met. Your comments are sincerely appreciated. Joy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
ST. Louis, Missouri

Totally Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed labor day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed this enchanting home. The View of the lake from the huge deck is outstanding. Loved the hot tub and Jacuzzi in the master bath made the stay even more relaxing. Great newer marble baths were very nice. Great leather couch and big screen TV's with netflix and cable. Birchwood Golf was over the top and the food and service first rate. I would recommend this rental to families or just couple wanting to relax and enjoy all northern Michigan has to offer.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pluses and one Minus

  • 3 of 5

The property was spacious and clean with a very nice deck overlooking the meadow and lake in the distance. However, after a few nights, 2 people in our family broke out with a rash which looked like bug bites, but not that itchy. I am pretty sure they were bed bugs, which was very disappointing since the property and amenities at the country club were so nice. Also we were hoping to bike ride easily into Harbor Springs, but even though the distance was under 5 miles, the highway was narrow and winding which was pretty dangerous for bike travel with no bike lane.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is most unfortunate we were not contacted as soon as you observed the potential issue. We would have immediately come to the property to assist in determining the cause of the bites. Is it possible the screen doors were left open unintentionally and mosquitoes were in the bedrooms? Due to the amount of rain the area received for approximately 3 weeks, the area has had a dramatic increase in insects and mosquitoes. However, to address the potential issue, our manager personally went to the home and inspected the various bedrooms/beds for any insects/bugs. All beds were striped, the mattress pads were removed, mattresses and sheets inspected. This effort resulted in not finding any insects or bug in the rooms or beds. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as guests in the future. Again, thank you. Joy Labadie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overpriced given location and quality

  • 2 of 5

First, the house was part of a 'golf and country club', largely forested. The country club facilities are apparently not intended for convenient use by renters, as the process and cost of using the facilities as a non-owner renders them painful enough that it's just easier to go to public facilities elsewhere.

Second, as for the house, yes there was a view of the lake, but heavily screened by trees. The house is badly in need of maintenance and updating. The layout is extremely awkward, with the kitchen seemingly mired in the fifties. It is situated on a steep hillside, with the ground right up to the deck, which contributes to mustiness and a feeling of dampness everywhere. For that reason, we found the finished basement area virtually unusable. The bedrooms, other than the master, were very small, and the master was a two story climb, again awkwardly laid out. Furnishings were cheap and outdated throughout.

Outside, with neighbors crammed in tight on both sides, there is little sense of privacy.

In summary, for the cost, the house and location just is not a good value. Certainly for our next northern lower peninsula vacation, we will look elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your important feedback. We are sorry your expectations were not met. I am surprised you felt the amenities were costly as the ONLY amenity that has a cost involved is golf. The tennis, Pickle ball, pool, fitness center are all complimentary (free to all guests). Golf is $70 for 18 holes plus $21 for a cart or $59 all inclusive if a House Account is opened. As for the lake view, the only trees that may effect some of the view are those that line the drive to the house. There is even a direct view from the 65 ft deck as well as from the crystal clear hot tub located in the side of the house Your are correct the house is multi level as described on the website for the property. The main level includes the main great room, dining area, kitchen and two bedroom all of which have a view of the lake except the twin bedroom which over looks the wood. All bathrooms have been remodeled within the last two years. As for the kitchen it does not have granite or tile;however is clean and provides the necessary cooking utilities. The comfortable furnishings are country style and work well for this property. As for the size of the bedroom on the main level, the room with the king bed is 15 x18. It may seem smaller as it has the king bed. The second bedroom with the two twin beds is 11 x 16. As for the house being musty and damp, if there had been rain the week you were renting from time to time there may seem possible. The comment regarding the homes being close is confusing as there is a full lot on each side of the home which means another property could be built on either side of this home if someone wished to do so. Again, thank you for your feedback. J Labadie, Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Missoula, MT

Great View, Very Cozy

  • 5 of 5

Our Family had a wonderful time! The view from the deck and hot tub was amazing! It definatly was a great place for relaxing after a full day of skiing and snowboarding. We will definatly consider coming back again next year!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2012
  • Stayed: February 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you as guests. Joy-- Resort Rental and Management
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A great getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time my family and I rented this property and it's wonderful. The owner was adding a hot tub when we left and the deck is being refinished. The country club setting was great for playing golf, tennis and swimming. The house itself is lovely with an amazing deck with a view of Lake Michigan. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: July 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you as guests and we look forward to having you return in the near future....the deck is finished, the hot tub is in & offering views of the lake that are outstanding while you relax. Thank you Joy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Car: necessary

The home is located in Birchwood Farms Golf and Country Club.

Other Activities: Cross-country skiing

Golf: Birchwood has three outstanding courses and has been called 'The Masters of the North'. The courses are The Farms, The Birches and The Woods. The Woods has three tees that overlook Lake Michigan.

Ski: Birchwood has miles of cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. They are located just minutes from Boyne Highland and Nub's Nob. Boyne Mountian is 35 minutes away.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Rental Damage Protection $39
Administrative Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 6.0%

from $146 per night
Security Deposit of $300 Housekeeping $190 Administration Fee of $50

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.