Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Condo, Ocean View, Ave Balboa, Bella Vista, Cinta Costera, Pool, Gym"

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,055 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 bedrooms (1 King, 1 Queen), 2 bathrooms, Sleeps 4. Futon in Maids Room for 1.

2 BLOCKS from NEW METRO SUBWAY STATION - Santo Tomas. Our condo is decorated with a Modern Flair and equipped with both Light Filtering Blinds and Blackout Blinds in all rooms. The Master Bedroom has a King Bed, a wall mounted 26' LCD TV with an adjustable arm for multi-directional positioning and a Programmable Safe for valuables. The 2nd Bedroom has a Queen Bed. Both bedrooms have Halogen Lighting with Dimmer Switches, remote controlled A/C and Egyptian Cotton Sheets for extra comfort. The living area has a wall mounted 32' LCD TV with DVD player, Stereo, Wi-Fi, Cable TV, Ceiling Fan, remote controlled A/C and a Futon that converts into a Full Bed. The kitchen is fully equipped. Gas Stove Top has 6 Burners, Griddle Attachment and the oven rotisserie. We have Stainless Steel Cookware and utensils, cutlery, coffee maker, microwave, toaster, blender. The social area has a Standard Pool and a separate Wading Pool for children, plus Picnic Tables and a Gym. 24/7 Security Guard, gated garage with one assigned space.


Bella Vista Area:

La Posta

The Market

Greenhouse Lounge Cafe

Rincon Aleman

Other Restaurants in the Panama City:


Sushi Itto:

Párus: Located in San Francisco just off of Calle 50 on 67th Street

El Trapiche: Via Argentina y Ave 2a B Norte, Panama City, Panama

Sake: Edificio Torres de Las Américas, Planta Baja, Punta Pacífica

Beirut: Calle 52, across from the Marriott

Tourism Websites in Panama: Visit Panama:

The Authority of Tourism Panama:

ATLAPA Convention Center:

Tocumen International Airport Panama:

The Panama Canal Commission:

The Panama Canal Railway:

Hipodromo Presidente Remón:

The Panama Jazz Festival:

Mi Pollera Festival:

Panama Viejo:

Panama Rainforest Discovery Center:

Scuba Panama:

Gamboa Tours:

Panama Breezes Tour:

Free Zone in Colon:

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Molly

Alberto and Molly Sasso, are the owners of this property. Alberto was born in Panama. Molly was born in the United States. We met at the University of Maryland. As fate would have it, we moved to Panama and lived in Panama for several years together. We got married in Panama City but, eventually we found ourselves back in Maryland. We now have 2 children, they are 10 and 13. We love Panama! The warm climate, the beaches, the fresh tropical fruits, the fresh seafood, the beautiful flora. Panama is a wonderful place. The picture was taken on a boat in the Panama Canal during a transit cruise.

Molly purchased this condo in 2008

Why Molly chose Calidonia

The majority of Alberto's family lives in Panama, so we visit often. We wanted a place where our family of 4 could stay for several weeks at a time and be comfortable and relaxed. We wanted to be in the heart of the city close to the entertainment and nightlife, but in a well secure location. We also wanted something we could actually live comfortably in if we decide to relocate back to Panama in the future, either as a family or as a retired couple. Welcome to our home away from home in Panama City, Panama.

What makes this condo unique

We are 2 blocks from the NEW METRO SUBWAY STATION, Santo Tomas which opened April 5, 2014. We are centrally located with easy access to both the North and South Corridors. So when visiting family who don't live in the heart of the city, we can get there and back quickly. Being in the heart of the city, means a short, cheap, taxi ride to the activities we enjoy. We do live in the United States and we know the standards that most people enjoy. So we took the time and expense to provide those extras that you may not find at other rentals, like Egyptian Cotton Sheets and Towels, Stainless Steel Cookware, Refrigerator with Filter Water and Ice Maker, Coffee Maker with a grinder, a Scale to Weigh your Luggage. Our administrators are actually Alberto's family members. So if you have an issue it's addressed immediately. They take pride in meeting the standards of our renters. For an additional fee they will provide taxi service to and from the airport in their SUV. The maid has been working for the family for many years and is excellent and well trusted. So if you are staying more than 7 days, her once a week service is included. For an additional fee she can come twice a week. Our 24 hour security guards. They don't work directly for us, but they have truly been a great gift. I get many compliments about them and how helpful they are with taxis and general information. I have a personal Google Map of Panama. Including restaurants, shops, tourist interests, beaches, bookstores, casinos and if you ask about a location and it's not on the map, I will do my best find it and add it on the map. Hence my map continues to grow.


Calidonia Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1055 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , bidet
    Hall Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Maids Quarters Futon - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Please advise if planning to utilize, so room is left open.
  • The condo comfortably sleeps 4. However we do have a futon in the maids quarters if you have an additional 5th person.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
We have a Concierge in the building. The word in Spanish is used to describe the handyman/helper. If you ask for the concierge Mon-Sat 9-5, he will help carry luggage, carry groceries, carry shopping bags. Please tip him accordingly. Our building has a Shopping Cart located on all the Parking Lobby Floors, you can use these to take your groceries or packages to the condo. Please return it to the lobby when you are finished. We also have suggestions for Chauffeurs that can be Hired during your stay.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
14% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Condo, Ocean View, Ave Balboa, Bella Vista, Cinta Costera, Pool, Gym
average rating of 4.7818184 based on 55 reviews
Washington D.C.

Had a FANTASTIC time

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with a few of my friends for a short getaway in February. This place is great! The condo is exactly like the pictures. Molly is sweet and helpful! Everything we needed was there, including pots and pans, cell phone, even computer and wifi. I have rented a lot of vacation condos over the years and this was one of my favorite experiences. We had the pool mostly to ourselves (you can see the pool from the living room windows) the whole time.

Note: it can be slightly difficult to get a taxi on Avenida Balboa on weekend nights. Just be patient and one will eventually come. Who needs to rush when you are in Panama??? Also, we almost locked ourselves out of the place one night. Read Molly's instructions on this point carefully! Everything else was a piece of cake.

You can walk to Calle Uruguay from here easy. Not too far from Casco Viejo and El Cangrejo, either. No cab ride in the city was over a few dollars.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2010
  • Stayed: January 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We make every effort to provide you with information about Panama and our location so you can make the most of your stay in Panama. We are happy to hear that are efforts are appreciated. There are Radio Taxis available in Panama if you don't want to hail one. You can wait in the condo or in the comfortable lobby. Once the taxi arrives the Security Guard will ring you at the condo. It's "not" possible to lock yourself out of the condo, but it is possible for someone who is inside the condo to lock the rest of the party out. How? We have a deadbolt lock on the door on the inside that is not accessible via key from the outside. So if a member of your party stays back at the condo, they should not lock the one particular deadbolt that is not accessible via key. Otherwise if the member of the party staying back falls asleep and can't hear the doorbell you will be locked out of the unit they unlock the deadbolt from the inside.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 1

Nice condo...great location!

  • 4 of 5

We (4 adults) stayed in Molly’s condo for 10 days in February. The condo was very convenient and comfortable. It was spacious, nicely furnished and acceptably clean for daily use but could use a fresh coat of paint and a good cleaning of all the nooks and crannies. The location was excellent...we walked to Casco Viejo (about 30 min) along the Cinta Costera. The Riba grocery store was a 15 min walk from the condo and the convenience store in the condo building was very well stocked. The 24 hour security made us feel very safe. The self check in was great and communication with Molly was excellent. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect space for a family in a great neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our two weeks in this PH South Beach condo. There was plenty of room for our family of four and grandma. The pool was great, just one floor down. The view from the condo is beautiful, it overlooks the pool area and you can see the ships waiting for the canal in the distance. Sunrises are amazing! Molly was a great host and very responsive. The check in instructions were helpful and we had no issues. There is a yummy pizza place right across the street and an amazing empanada shop just one block down the street. The mini super at the base of the building was very convenient. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great! Very comfortable and excellent location

  • 5 of 5

Great! Very comfortable and excellent location

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sun Prairie, WI. USA

PERFECT place in a PERFECT location!

  • 5 of 5

You can't get any better than this! Very comfortable, nicely decorated apartment with all the amenities you want! Great view looking out over the pool and the ocean! 2 blocks from the metro subway, a fun cheap and easy way to get around the city.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Place is nice but owners non-responsive

  • 3 of 5

We arrived and no one was there to let us in. Had to wait for someone to exit for us to enter. After several calls, emails and texts, no response to requests for access to the garage, for access to elevator / property, for access to internet; we had to request to cancel. Only then did Owner respond "of a new password", not respond to any other issues, including the wifi was not working, not broadcasting, that a password was not pertinent as no wifi existed.

We emphasized in advance strong wifi was required do to our jobs, this was a working trip. We called texted etc - even bought a new router, but no wifi.

Difficult communication. No empathy. Without the courtesy of others in the building, we would not have gained access. Owner is not concerned with your visit. They refunded 6 nights but would not refund the 1 night we stayed. We felt they should due to our inconvenience and inability to work.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The renters told me if I refunded them their money for the one night they stayed, that they would write me a great review. Let it be known to all potential renters, I DO NOT refund or pay people for a "great review". Per the contract once you arrive and stay the night, I do not have to refund any of the rental fee. The only reason I ever refund a portion of the rental fee is because it's the correct thing to do in extreme situations. >>"We arrived and no one was there to let us in. Had to wait for someone to exit for us to enter." Our property is self check in. It is important to read the self check-in document and understand the check-in process and that you must check-in with the 24 hr. security guard not just follow a car into the garage when the gate opens. You are NOT going to be able to access the locked doors located within the garage without the main garage key which is located in the condo. Thus you must check-in with the 24 hour security guard go up to the unit and retrieve the keys from the condo. RTFM. >> "They refunded 6 nights but would not refund the 1 night we stayed. We felt they should due to our inconvenience and inability to work." Key phrase here: "would not refund the 1 night we stayed". They arrived @ 3pm Saturday afternoon. They got another place and checked-out @11am on Sunday morning. In hind sight not enough time was given to us to come up with a solution. We attempted to work with them on why the internet was not functioning. We had replaced the WiFi Router back in May 2017. I stayed back in August 2017 and worked remotely, no problems. The internet was an important factor for this renter. So it was confirmed by our administrator that it was working fine on Friday. We called the Cable company and confirmed there was not an outage in the area. Cable Onda on Saturday evening told us it could be 5-7 days for an equipment replacement. We contacted our administrator who agreed Saturday night that he would stop by Sunday afternoon and take a look. Before our administrator got there the renters had checked-out. I work remotely, I understand that the internet connection is important for those working remotely. I decided refunding for the dates not stayed was a fair resolution. This allowed them to book another place since ours was not working, it was important for them. Cable Onda called Monday morning the equipment was in stock. Monday @2pm they replaced the modem with an upgraded Modem/WiFi Router combo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Casco Viejo
Panama Canal
The Fish Market
National Theater
El Trapiche
Niko's Cafe
Parque Natural Metropolitano de Panamá
La Posta
Iglesia de San José
Cerro Ancon
Iglesia del Carmen
Calle Uruguay
Puente de las Americas
Cafe Boulevard Balboa
Panama Canal Museum
Teatro Nacional
Segundo Muelle
Darien National Park
Cinta Costera
Omar Torrijos Park
Amador Causeway
Albrook Mall
Mercado de los Mariscos
Multicentro Mall
Relic Bar
Hard Rock Cafe Panama
Cafe Duran
Panama Jazz Festival
Casa de la Frutas
New York Bagels Café
Summit Municipal Park
Lenos & Carbon
Multiplaza Pacific Mall
Metromall Panamá
Centro Comercial Los Pueblos
La Tasca de Duran
La Tasca de Duran
Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Tocumen International Airport
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Isla Taboga Beach, 45 minute Ferry Ride
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Corridor Norte and Corridor Sur, both Toll roads
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Playa Kobbe (Playa Bonita)
Car: not necessary

Ocean view condo located in Bella Vista, 39th & Ave Chile. Two blocks from the Metro station. One block from Ocean and Ave Balboa across from the Marina and the new Cinta Costera. Take a stroll from our condo down the new Costal Belt Park along the ocean front or play tennis, basketball, or take the kids to the playground. We are also within walking distance of the vibrate night life of Calle Uraguay. Walking distance to Children's Hospital and the National Hospital. The building has a 24/7 Security Guard at the main entrance, gated parking garage, and one assigned parking space.

Other Activities: Panama Canal Mira Flores Lock, Panama Canal Railway, Gambling Casinos, Hipódromo Presidente Remón RaceTrack, Shopping


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

Seniors Discount:10% off advertised Rental Fee for ages 60+ with proof of age.
2 nights for $200 per night for a rental fee of $400.
3- 5 nights for $175 per night for rental fee of $525,$700,$875.
6 nights for $150 per night for a rental fee of $900.
7th night Free for a rental fee of $900.
Absolutely No Discounts on the 2 night rate.
Additional Cleaning Fee for more than 2 guests is charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties