Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Come enjoy the views at the Wave Watch!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Wave Watch has long been a favorite of North Coast vacationers. The well appointed home provides a comfortable base for all your coastal adventures. You can relax on the patio or stay warm inside and gaze out at the waves...let them lull you into the peaceful state you seek. The two and a half story 2,400 square foot house is designed to capitalize on its' cliffside location hanging over the beautiful Pacific. You will have a 180 degree view from the majestic cliffs of the village of Mendocino to the Point Arena Lighthouse. Enjoy these views during your mealtimes then marvel at the sunset with a bottle of world renowned Northern California wine. The house has an open floor plan that easily allows both the chefs and the couch potatoes to chat during the preparation of your vacation feasts. Enjoy the patio grill while scanning the horizon for the seasonal whale migration. Or just glance down the cliffside meadow to peek at the visiting herds of deer.

The house has two large Master suites,each with its' own full double bathroom. Each suite has a private deck. The two upstairs bedrooms contain a full bed and a set of twin beds, and share a full bathroom. A fully appointed kitchen and formal dining area provide you the comforts of home...if your home were in Paradise.

A beach gate access card will be provided upon your arrival, and it is a 2 minute drive to the gate, where you can drive down to the 'Irish Beach'. Enjoy a day of beachcombing, bird watching or just watching the waves come ashore. If you are a runner, conquer the whole 12 miles of beach! If you get adventurous, you can drive 24 miles north to the village of Mendocino - with its' July Music Festival, amazing Headlands, boutiques and enticing restaurants. Bring your touring bikes and take the ultimate ride down to the Point Arena pier, or if you are really gung-ho, go all the way to Bodega Bay! For abalone divers, excellent diving areas are a short drive both north and south on Highway 1, and kayaking in the rock formations is exhilarating as you view the starfish, anemone, seals, sea lions, pelicans, and many other wildlife you'll encounter along the way.

*** House is currently under minor remodeling****

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Heather
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
September 15, 2017

Map

Car: necessary

Wave Watch is near many abalone diving areas (Elk and Point Arena) - abalone season is April, May, June, August, September ,October and November. Fishing license with abalone stamp required.

Amenities

Manchester House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large private bathroom with double sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Large private bathroom with double sinks
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs shared bathroom
  • Each bathroom has a hair dryer for your convenience. Also provided, body wash in each shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Downstairs King master suite with large private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Downstairs Queen suite with large private bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Upstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Upstairs
  • King size beds (1) Downstairs master suite with king bed, Queen size Beds (1) Second downstairs master suite with queen bed, Double Beds (1) Upstairs bedroom with double bed, Twin or Single Beds (1) Upstairs bedroom with 2 twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Come enjoy the views at the Wave Watch!
average rating of 4.1 based on 10 reviews
Oakland CA
1

We won't stay here again.

  • 1 of 5

It's a nicely situated property by the ocean, which over the years has become increasingly dirty and run-down. They are currently renovating (which we didn't know and wasn't the case when it was rented 4 months ahead). We were sent an email two weeks prior notifying us of the renovation, but we didn't get the email and there was no attempt to follow-up from the owners to see if we received. Consequently, when we got there the code to the front door had been changed and we couldn't get in. After several hours of trying to track down the owners, we got the new code. The house was in the process of being painted, so there were no window coverings (a problem with afternoon/evening sun and neighbor's lights into bedrooms at nite). The hot tub didn't work (this has been a problem historically), the sofas are becoming increasingly dirty, and the house wasn't stocked with things like paper towels. We were not happy and so the owner 'generously' refunded us $25 per nite, which we thought was insufficient. We found both the owner and the property manager clueless - "You're getting a good deal, we're about to raise the rent." There are much better options at Irish Beach and I would recommend you find one of them.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The rent was dropped due to minor renovations like painting. The hot tub did break down due to previous guests raising the thermostat above the set temperature, which blew the motor. Sometimes things do happen out of our control. However, the hot tub is working and fixed now. I am sorry we couldn't get it fixed in time for your stay. We had to purchase a new part and wait for it to arrive in the mail. We tried to accommodate you the best we could. I know you stated you were going to write a bad review if we did not refund you more money, but for the size of the house and the amenities and the beautiful views we felt we were quite fair. Our housekeeper does an excellent job at stocking supplies and cleaning such an enormous house.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here. The view was absolutely amazing. The home has a very well stocked kitchen with everything you could possibly need. We enjoyed the private beach and in all the whole area the home is located in.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Awesome House

  • 5 of 5

Thins place was great. Awesome views. easy to find. Its got everything you need

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Openings Day for Abalone Trip

  • 4 of 5

A group of friends and I booked this home for opening day of Abalone. 3 Couples total.

It was great! The views are just amazing. We had a few deer visitors out the back. The kitchen has everything you think out can need and more. We just wish there was an spot to store our food beside the counter.

We all said we would come back for sure and are talking about making it an annual trip.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Terrific views, simply WOW!

  • 5 of 5

The description and photos of the house are accurate, the owner/manager are polite and quick to communicate, and our stay was amazing. Overall experience was very pleasant, and we will definitely revisit.

The house sits on a cliff, and has very strategically located two bedrooms and the living room, which offer unending ocean views. The place was tidy, clean, and well stocked (the kitchen has enough utensils, and cutlery to feed an army). They have good selection of Blue Ray and DVDs, which was nice. Another good point - you have no internet connection, nor AT&T and Verizon signals. Allows one to totally relax without worrying about the world. ;-) The owner has a few magazines with description on things to do around, and other facilities, so you don't really need an internet connection. The hot tub was clean, and we enjoyed the spa treatment! The garage accommodates two cars, and you can have one or two more in the driveway.

The Irish beach offer absolutely stunning views of the ocean, the community is quiet and peaceful and the house is spacious and relaxing enough for a vacation home.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Chico, CA
5

Hearing the ocean

  • 5 of 5

This home is in a great setting. Sits on the bluff and has easy access up and down the coast. The kitchen was well stocked with kitchen ware, things we didn't expect to find for our use were in a drawer or cupboard. We enjoyed the private beach access and deer all around. Lots of good living space in and outside..

My only wish would be screens on the doors and windows. I like to hear the ocean when I go to bed and wake up. It is a beautiful sound!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jean; Thanks so much for your kind words. We try very hard to anticipate what might be needed and provide it! So far we seem to be succeeding!! As to the screen doors, unfortunatley this winter's winds played havoc on all our screens. They were so intense that they caused the screens to tear and then ripped them to shreds. One was so bad that the frame completely collapsed! We are working on getting new screens for the doors. Especially now that the winds have stopped and the weather is getting better. They have to be custom made due to the size of the doors so they take much longer. Come back and see us again and I promise we will have screens for you!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Damage Deposit $250

Travelers will receive a contract to be filled out and sign. Once the signed contract is received we will contact the guest to take payment information.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties