Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

$95 Per Night/1 BR Condo Overlooks Marina W/Mountain View

Bedrooms 1
Space 550 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom & 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Beautiful condo with balcony views of the large luxurious marina, malecon below with shops, wine bar and restaurants and spectacular views of Mt. Tetakawi! Centrally located to all the activity in town yet quiet and peacefully situated in a locked and gated community of approximately 100 condominiums this is a prime location from which to enjoy San Carlos. The private common area includes beautiful landscaping, plush lawn and two large swimming pools with lounge chairs and grill. It is centrally located to restaurants, beaches, fishing charters, shops & much much more. The condo kitchen is complete with 2-burner stove, toaster oven, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, crock pot, blender, George Forman grill and more. The bedroom is a queen size bed with window view of common area. The living area has a queen size futon recommended only for a short stay. Completely gated this complex is used by owners and their renters only. San Carlos is safe and clean and a beautiful peaceful place to relax or enjoy your favorite water sports!

Keywords: condo

More Details

Dot Santy
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2018

About Dot Santy

We retired from Wisconsin to Tucson, AZ in 2001. After multiple trips into Mexico we found our heart kept taking us back to San Carlos, a beautiful little paradise with mountains, beaches and the sea. It didn't take long before we purchased our condo, remodeled it and now enjoy it the way we like it! We hope you do to!

Dot Santy purchased this condo in 2006

Why Dot Santy chose San Carlos

We purchased our condo because it was on the marina and the HOA maintains beautiful grounds with two pools right out our front door. We love being able to walk to restaurants, entertainment and charter boats and sitting on the balcony with a margarita and watching the sunset can't be beat!

What makes this condo unique

We love the Mexican culture, fishing, snorkeling and walking the beaches. Mostly the easy laid back life of a honeymoon hideaway.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hope you are well. My time away in San Carlos adventure, a wonderful journey. Still recovering from the long trip home. Your beautiful condo is perfect! Thank you for allowing me to be a guest.
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 6


San Carlos Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom has walk-in shower, one sink vanity and toilet. Towels and wash cloths are provided and many toiletries are available in the vanity for travelers.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Bed (1) in bedroom with dresser, TV cabinet and 2 night stands plus closet. Futon in living area accommodates two more.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
$95 Per Night/1 BR Condo Overlooks Marina W/Mountain View
average rating of 4.7818184 based on 61 reviews

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Overall it was great, the cleanest we've stayed in with all of the little amenities provided. It is a central location and within walking distance of 4 of the best eateries in San Carlos. The pool and patio areas are gorgeous! I rate it an easy 5 stars on just a 2 star budget!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words! We look forward to your return one day as a member of our Frequent Stay Club!! Dot
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous San Carlos

  • 5 of 5

I had a great time! Condo is right on the marina, walking distance to two fabulous bars. Hammerheads and Shots! Live music, DJ’s. Food and atmosphere at Shots was just awesome. Charter boats are plentiful and reasonable. I really enjoyed the yellow tail fishing tournament sponsored by Shots. Good Times! I will definitely be back. The Condo was very clean and comfortable. I will definitely be back.

Thanks Dot!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great condo however...

  • 3 of 5

The condo itself was great & we loved the location - very close to restaurants & fishing. One major issue which had we read the previous reviews would have known - is the loud music from the bar below. Definately take some ear plugs if you are not planning on joining the party below. You can hear it from the bedroom but it is louder in the living room. Also, to add to the loud music was the bed was very uncomfortable. It dips in the center, so not a very restful night's sleep. I would give this condo a 5 star rating if it were not for these 2 issues.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa, We appreciate your comments. Most people love the bed but it is getting old and needs to be reevaluated, I believe. We will be using our condo this spring and that will be on our home improvement list. The noisy bar has received a warning letter from the association's lawyer and hopefully will heed their warnings. I am sorry these two things made your nighttime sleep not so good and thank you for letting us know. Dot
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ashland, OR 97520

Renter Beware! Condo is above a noisy bar/restaurant called "Shots." This was not disclosed in ad.

  • 1 of 5

I rented the condo through VRBO and paid for it in full, from December 1 through January 14, with the purpose of rest and relaxation after a year of injuries. After a long drive from Oregon, then on to Ventura, California, I spent the night in Nogales, Arizona, and when I arrived at Marina Terra, I was delighted to see that the condo looked like the photos posted on VRBO. However, my joy quickly turned to horror when the blasting, Friday night music began, music with a bass beat that reverberated up through the walls and floor. Music that did not stop, along with drunks yelling, until 3:30 a.m. I tried earplugs and a white noise machine, to no avail. The earplugs and white noise machine were like spitting into the wind. The "music nightmare" took place both Friday and Saturday nights. The owner claims that she did not know about the intensity and duration of the music/noise, says that she just hangs out in the bedroom, which faces the courtyard, says that when they stayed there the month prior, that "Shots" was a little loud but ended much earlier than 3:30 a.m. This is not true. I read emails she wrote to their condo association, emails in which she complains, almost verbatim to my description, about the reverberating bass beat that did not stop till 3:30 a.m. I contacted the owner the following day, on December 2, and although she apologized about the noise, she has continued to refuse to refund my money for the first two weeks in January, when I will no longer be in her condo. It might also be noted that this has taken place during the busy tourist season. I was unable to find a new place to rent until December 27. This experience has left me feeling disappointed in both the owner, and also in VRBO. I've spoken and written to the owner, but to no avail. I have filed a formal, written complaint to VRBO and also called and spoken with VRBO's Traveler Care department. Nothing helped. I write this review not to be vindictive. I write this review, rather, to spare other travelers the horrifying experience I endured. Today I took a photo of "Shots" and the owner's condo above, with their "Se Vende" (FOR SALE) sign on the balcony railing. Unfortunately, I don't see a place to submit a photo on this review page. "A picture is worth a thousand words." I feel strongly that the loud music needs to be disclosed on their VRBO page, so that people who want to party all night could happily stay there, as opposed to quiet people seeking rest and relaxation.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: "You can please all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot please all the people all the time." A familiar quote and so true in this instance! This lady rented our condo for 6 weeks in Dec.-Jan. and 6 weeks in Feb.-March both of which are in our high season....3 out of the 5 months. We have always maintained a 90 day cancellation policy in order to have a well run rental which is part of our retirement income. This is clearly stated in the information. She contacted us immediately upon arrival and expressed her displeasure and requested full refunds for both periods. The bar she mentions in not below but several doors down. It can be loud on Friday and Saturday nights but rarely heard from the bedroom. However, we graciously sent her a full refund for the second 6 weeks even though it was short of the required 90 days. When she left late in December I told her if I was able to rent during her remaining lease that I would forward her the money which I have done. She has received a check for $ 190 and another for $182.50. Unfortunately she does not mention that! You will see from our 5-star standing with that our visitors over more than 8 years have been very pleased with our condo and often return. We hope you don't let one bad apple in the bunch steal your attention. We have always strived to please our visitors and will continue to do so. Dot Santy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Great Location!!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the location, will come back soon.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Condo

  • 5 of 5

This is our 3rd time renting this fabulous condo and we love it. The property is very well keep, clean and very enjoyable. The kitchen is well stocked with any cooking utensils you might need. The bed is really comfortable and the décor is lovely. We would recommend this condo to our friends and family.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Guaymas, Sonora, Mexico
Nearest Barpub
0.05 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
San Carlos Golf Club
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Luxury Buses Run Frequently from Tucson & Phoenix
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Main Road into San Carlos
Nearest Restaurant
0.06 Miles
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Beautiful Sandy Beaches Everywhere
Car: recommended

There are several nearby attractions. The Dolphinario is always a hit with the adults and children but check to be certain they are open! The Pearl Farm is a true education in the growing and harvesting of valuable pearls and a Sunday at the Empalme flea market is a must!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Exit Cleaning Fee $50
HOA Usage Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $100

$5 per night per person for people in excess of 2. Maximum of 4 persons permitted including children.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties