check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Larry Watts

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cody's Cabin,Amazing Log Cabin on the Water!

18 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Crane Hill Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-12)

YOU MUST CALL FOR PRICING INFORMATION OR LOOK UNDER THE RATES TAB. THEIR AUTO QUOTE IS NOT CORRECT.

Leave all your cares behind, and indulge your senses at Cody’s Cabin on Smith Lake. A short drive from Birmingham, you will feel like you’re a world away as you meander along a quiet road with picturesque views of the countryside. You’ll be welcomed inside this rustic Adirondack style log cabin by the aroma of knotty pine into a huge kitchen and dining room where you can enjoy a family breakfast next to a real wood fireplace with wide views of the lake.

Take a moment to catch your breath before stepping into the Great Room. Here you can read a book while watching the boats go by on the comfortable leather sofa, enjoy a glass of wine by the floor to ceiling rock fireplace, watch a DVD with the whole family, or just sit and enjoy the details of this exquisitely decorated room with pine wood beams stretched across the soaring ceilings.

You’ll be drawn up to the loft where you will find an open area with bonus daybed and office area with wireless internet connection and a private full-size bedroom with views of the Great Room and Smith Lake. Just off the Great Room, a hand-carved King Bed with a mural of the Lake and beautiful armoire with satellite TV make up the first master suite. The master bath features a claw foot tub and an incredible custom stone and slate shower large enough for two.

Wake up to awesome views of the lake from the second King suite with adjoining bathroom. The kids will love the 4th bedroom’s colorful full-size bed and 3rd bath. With all the beauty inside, you tend to forget the main reason you came here but eventually you will find yourself on the back covered porch looking out over amazingly clear and deep waters of the main body of Rock Creek.

A large fenced in yard allows Mom and Dad the opportunity relax in the very unique rockers or porch swing and watch the kids play. When you’re ready to go down to the lake, a gentle walk leads you to the boat dock with swim pier and double jet-ski lifts. You’ll definitely want to take advantage of the large stainless gas grill enjoy your meal in the lakeside gazebo with picnic table and double glider. With all these extraordinary amenities and accommodations for up to 11 people, you’ll want to come every season to Cody’s Cabin.

Keywords: Cabin lake house

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Larry Watts (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Larry Watts

Lives in New Orleans and owns the 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast.

Larry Watts purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Larry Watts chose Alabama

I chose this location for the beautiful lake and mountains.

What makes this cabin unique

I enjoy boating and spending time with friends and family while at the cabin.

Reviews

4.5
based on 18 traveler reviews

Cody's Cabin,Amazing Log Cabin on the Water!
average rating of 4.5 based on 18 reviews
Columbus, MS
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5

Cody's Cabin is a great vacation spot on Smith Lake. Adults will enjoy the spacious floorpan, well equipped kitchen (with a gas grill on the adjacent porch), three bedrooms with king-sized beds, each with a private or semi-private bath. There is a nice porch facing the lake with a large deck and outdoor fireplace below. A path leads from the deck to the Gazebo on the rock cliff over the water, and then to the ramp to the floating pier. The owner is very helpful and knowledgable about area attractions and can assist with guided fishing tours, boat rentals, hiking, kayaking and off-road adventures. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and plan to visit again next year.

I wanted to take a moment to comment on some of the other reviews. Smith Lake was constructed back in the 60s as a watershed for power generation. It has developed over the years from a fishing lake to a recreational lake, and the properties along the lake reflect all eras of development. That is why you can see a million dollar property with a trailer next to it. It is all part of it, and rarely detracts from the stunning views of the granite rock faces along the lake.

The other thing to note is that the cabin is named for the owner's dog. The owner brings his dog to the lake. He does not allow guests to bring pets because of the damage they can do. This is not unusual - I have found this situation at many vacation rentals across the country. I did not find any evidence of a dog being in the house - no pet hair, etc., and I had no problem with allergies - and I'm allergic to dogs & cats.

I would also point out that remote homes are not on public sewage systems - they are on private septic systems. I know this is hard for urbanites to comprehend, but most of us familiar with vacation rentals know how to handle a septic tank - what can be put in it and what can't , and why there are limits on the number of occupants based on the size of the septic system. The owner communicated the fact that the house was on a septic system when I rented.

As to the cameras, there was a camera at the front and back door facing away from the house - part of the owner's security system. I didn't have any issues with this and did not feel as though I was being "spied upon," but then again, I didn't do anything I shouldn't have been doing in the first place.

I hope that this review is helpful to you.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Orleans
5

Couldn't Have Been Happier

  • 5 of 5

When my family and I were looking for a place for our annual get together we never expected finding such a warm home environment at Cody's Cabin. The space is welcoming and comfortable that it is easy to settle down in the moment one walks through the doors. The cabin was tidy and spacious and had a very nice atmosphere. Everyone in the group agreed that we were going to try use this cabin again in the future because it met everyone of our needs.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hoover, AL
1

A lot of surprises!

  • 1 of 5

It was a group of families that went for Columbus Day weekend. We were pleasantly surprised about the cabin, until we started receiving calls from the owners! They had cameras situated all around the property which was NEVER mentioned ANYWHERE! They called every couple hours to the house for to tell us where we could and could not go. Well everything was fine till he were harassed by the neighbors for being on their property! Note they sped up with their car and started screaming at us and our children. We apologize stating we did not aww any private property signs or any distinguishing marks to separate the properties. Well we then got a second surprise by morning of day two. Our showers, toilets and even the ice maker starting gushing feces. It was completely unsanitary and smelled horrible. We called the owner and told them we had to leave the property due to the unsafe conditions. He told us he would call us back and he never did! We never got our deposit and kept one nights stay. Please do no go there if you unless you want cameras and the septic tanks exploding on you.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests where asked to leave the property due to trespassing on neighbor's property where damage was done. My cabin was also damaged. They has twice the number of people we where told and the cabin could handle would be there resulting in them over flowing the septic system and damaging the hardwood floors. When you rent your property these are the type of people you hope you never get. They total cost of damage to my cabin was over $2,500.00.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2
Nashville, TN
5

This is the best house we have ever rented on Smith Lake

  • 5 of 5

Over the past 10 years we have rented house all around Smith Lake. This is by far the best. The house is beautiful inside and out. It has a great huge deck with a fire place. You can just walk from the lot onto the boat house without any stairs, a big plus for us. The water on the Rock Creek part of the lake seems to be the clean and clearest of all. We love this place and have booked two trips.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Laurel, MS
3

Caution! If you have dog allergies!

  • 3 of 5

Cody's Cabin has a great view, decorated very tastefully, and the kitchen is very well equipped. My family has pet allergies, so I checked before renting, and it clearly states no pets allowed. There was dog hair in a couple of the bedrooms. The master bedroom bedspread had door hair! My mother, grandson and daughter-in-law all got sick and had to go to their doctors when they got home. We love dogs, but they stay outside. If dog dander, and dog hair doesn't bother you, this is a nice place. This is definately Cody's ( the owner's dog ) place. Other than the dog hair issue, this place was very clean and a great place to escape to. We love Smith Lake and loved this place (except for the dog hair). It's in a great location and the owner is a super nice guy. This is definitely a great Lake House and I hate that so many of our family had problems with the dog allergies.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 6
5

Beautiful Cabin, Beautiful Lake

  • 5 of 5

We had 7 adults (brothers, sisters, spouses) and there was plenty of room for everyone. The cabin is beautiful -- just ignore the abandoned trailer next door because you'll only see it when you pull up. Inside the cabin is amazing and outside is peaceful and spacious. The covered porch is perfect for rainy days and the large open deck with fire pit is great for soaking up some sunshine.

Smith Lake is deep, clean and clear. The water off the end of the dock was about 100 feet! The rock walls keep the water from getting muddy and makes for a great place to sit and look at the water. The swing near the water is also a great place to enjoy the water view. The swim dock is plenty big for lounging, hanging out and playing in the water. We skiied up and down the lake in front of the cabin. Plenty of room for all types of water sports.

This cabin had the best stocked kitchen I've ever seen in a rental. Everything you could possibly need is there. I loved the TWO 14-cup coffee pots. Perfect for big coffee drinkers.

The bathrooms were also well-stocked with plenty of extra TT and towels.

Book this cabin and enjoy a wonderful, peaceful stay on the lake.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

ATV, Horseback Riding and Off-Roading Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crane Hill Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$245
 
 
Winter 2014
Dec 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Tax Rate 5.0%

Memorial Day,4th July,Labor Day: $450 - Thanksgiving,Christmas, New Years:$325. All holidays have a 4 night minimum stay required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Crane Hill Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 has a claw foot tub with separate shower Bathroom 2 has a tub shower combo Bathroom 3 has a shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (3), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers