Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming beachfront home: Spectacular views, sprawling deck, central location!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,060 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bath, sleeps 6 comfortably

This was the first home situated on this secluded stretch of White Sound beach, built in 1981. The home and its grounds have been maintained and updated constantly and, since its construction, has been fit with all the modern amenities such as A/C, Wifi Internet and satellite television. Over the years, time and storms have pushed the shoreline closer and closer to the property, offering uniquely spectacular views from the front porch. The property is situated perfectly between the charming village of Hopetown and the serene white sands of Tahiti beach, with bars, restaurants, and shopping in between. Although this is a walker's paradise, the island is dominated by golfcarts, which can be rented through our caretaker. The 2nd level of St. Somewhere is a surrounded by windows, offering a 360 degree views of the island and its beauty. The expansive front deck is excellent for spreading out and relaxing with a drink and good book, or for enjoying meals 'with a view' on the picnic table, partially shaded by an arbor outside the dining room.


Owner
Jeff Royal
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Marsh Harbour International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Firefly Sunset Resort & Grill
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Albury's Ferry Service
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Firefly Sunset Grill & Resort

Other Activities: Art galleries, Island hopping, lighthouse climbing, lobster gigging, maximum relaxation

Amenities

Hope Town House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2060 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower
  • The outdoor shower is popular and offers an exhilarating way to wash up after a dip in the ocean or a long afternoon of laying out.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    Guest - 1 king
    Upstairs Loft - 2 twin/ single
  • The living room of the house has a 6'x6' sectional sofa, chase lounge, and a long padded bench along one wall. The master bedroom has its own bathroom, whereas the main-floor guest bedroom's bath is located just outside in the hall. This bathroom also contains an alcove with a washer/dryer.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is a unique property, family owned for over three decades. I have spent my vacations at since I was born, and have an intimate knowledge of the house, the island, and its people. Feel free to call me for a more complete idea of what the property offers. Thanks

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Charming beachfront home: Spectacular views, sprawling deck, central location!
average rating of 4.5 based on 24 reviews
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This house and island are absolutely wonderful. My family and I spent a week here and absolutely loved it. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Amazing views, average property

  • 2 of 5

Views are incredible, as advertised. A/C and coffee maker worked great. Rest of property was average to below average. Latches on several sliding doors and one window didn't work; couldn't lock window and had to insert/remove bar on sliding door track to use them. Only found two soup/cereal bowls. Expected periodic power outages, but most flashlights didn't work and there were no extra batteries. Moreover, there were virtually no usable candles and no matches or lighter. We bought candles and matches so we had some light at night. Kitchenware is just okay, not all that great for anyone who likes to cook. I don't mind rustic but this went further - it feels like the owner hasn't updated thee home in years and doesn't pay attention to details that allow the renters to truly relax and feel like they're are on vacation. Overall, a nice visit but not a "do over".

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Thomas, We're sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed with the property. I was made aware after your departure about the issue with the sliding door and window which had broken from a previous group. Unfortunately you were the very last group of the rental season, and the sliding-door/window lock issues were deferred maintenance. The replacement parts had to be shipped in from the states and had not arrived yet, and the "bar" was an improvised solution to keep the sliding door secure. They have since arrived and will be working properly for future renters. We also were sorry to hear that you were without batteries for the flashlights or candles during your stay. You should have been told at check-in that we keep these items in bulk in the (locked) supply closet, and although there should have been plenty already out for your use, we urge guests to contact the caretaker in the event that they need something so that they can respond and assist. Lastly, we are sorry that the kitchenware did not meet your expectations. There certainly should have been plenty of bowls for your use, including an entire spare set of dishes, but it is common that plates/bowls/glasses get broken during the season is often broken new sets must be brought from the US as well. The caretaker should have been able to respond to this issue as well, but we regret you had to deal with it. We can assure you the issues you experienced are not typical among guest visits, and if you were to consider St. Somewhere for a "re-do", we would certainly love another opportunity to exceed your expectations! Thank you for your feedback. TO FUTURE GUESTS: Do not worry! All cookware, dishes, and flatware have now been replaced, and door/window currently being fixed as part of a round of improvements addressing any/all needed repairs following minor cosmetic damage during Hurricane Irma. The house will be freshly stocked and updated for Fall 2017! Cheers, The Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Whitingham, VT
5

Unwind, Refresh and Enjoy!

  • 5 of 5

Another amazing stay at St Somewhere! This was our third time lodging in this delightful beach house and once again our accommodations were wonderful. What we love best about St Somewhere is its comfortable, laid back charm and its spectacular ocean views. Sunrises on the back deck rival any seen in top travel magazines and much laughter can be heard with the evening cocktails either on the back deck or in the living room with its huge wall of windows. We keep coming back because we leave our need for perfection (and much of our technology) behind, and simply enjoy the natural beauty and a small taste of authentic island living that St Somewhere offers. Whether exploring either end of the island, visiting the cute shops, strolling the historic buildings in town, eating more than our fair share of conch fritters or watching the boats in the harbor or on the horizon, we come home each day to St Somewhere to kick off our shoes, relax, and talk about the memories just made. This house allows our adventures to be our vacation’s highlights and we think Jimmy Buffet would pleasantly agree!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fly to St. Somewhere for the best view in Hopetown

  • 5 of 5

This is a special house, and Jeff (the owner) is a treasure of a resource to have! On our first trip to Hopetown, he provided lots of helpful information from advice for renting a golf cart to get around the island and fabulous restaurant options, to diving spots, and little house tricks for finding hermit crabs and obtaining fresh coconut water. We spent every breakfast out on the picnic table soaking in the salt air, and loved making dinner reservations using the radio on channel 16 in the kitchen with St. Somewhere as our identifier. We felt like locals by the time we left, and will definitely make St. Somewhere an annual tradition. This key lime house is gorgeous with the most beautiful view of the ocean (and Vernon's delicious key lime pies made it even more enjoyable). Run don't walk to St. Somewhere. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

Wow - a million dollar view and steps to the ocean! Four of us spent a week enjoying all St. Somewhere had to offer, and it offered much. Although, we had a golf cart we enjoyed walking the short distance to great restaurants and the grocery store everyday. Lost power a few times for short periods, but just another opportunity to walk down the steps and frolic in the beautiful waters at your doorstep. With the doors open the house provided a wonderful ocean breeze and the sound of the waves crashing onto the shoreline. Loved everything about our stay, and cannot wait to go back to St. Somewhere next year!!

Jeff, the owner, was extremely helpful in providing information to us.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolute Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Your own private beach is just steps away at St. Somewhere. The perfect combination of seclusion and beauty. The location of the beach house was absolutely perfect, while the house itself feels completely secluded you are only a short golf cart ride away from great restaurants, beaches and other amazing views around the island. Jeff (the owner) was extremely accommodating, you can tell instantly in speaking with him that he has a passion in sharing the beach house he loves with others. We will certainly be back next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $300
Cleaning $175
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please enquire for any more detail on rates or availability. Thanks!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.