check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jeff Royal

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish

Charming beachfront home with spectacular views, walking distance from Hopetown

14 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bahamas House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bath, sleeps 6 comfortably

This was the first home situated on this secluded stretch of White Sound beach, built in 1981. The home and its grounds have been maintained and updated constantly and, since its construction, has been fit with all the modern amenities such as A/C, Wifi Internet and satellite television, as well as a phone (only the 2nd phone to exist on the island). Over the years, time and storms have pushed the shoreline closer and closer to the property, offering uniquely spectacular views from the front porch, which is about 40 ft from high tide. The property is situated perfectly between the charming village of Hopetown and the serene white sands of Tahiti beach, with bars, restaurants, and shopping in between. Although this is a walker's paradise, the island is dominated by golfcarts, which can be rented right up the road. The 2nd level of St. Somewhere is a surrounded by windows, offering a 360 degree views of the island and its beauty. The expansive front deck is excellent for spreading out and relaxing with a drink and good book, or for enjoying meals 'with a view' on the picnic table, partially shaded by an arbor outside the dining room.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jeff Royal (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

Charming beachfront home with spectacular views, walking distance from Hopetown
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
3

The view was spectacular! It was located within easy access to some great restaurants.

  • 3 of 5

We understand that it was one of the original houses build on the this stretch of beach. We expected although dated, that the appliances would at least work. We spent 10 days there and half way through our stay the part for the washer " came in ", but was never replaced. The bamboo furniture was pretty but very rickety! Although we picked this place because it was a little more remote, it needs to have some security features. Remote sensing lights would be a start and screens for at least the windows in the bedrooms to keep out unwanted guests.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

What another wonderful trip to St Somewhere on Elbow Cay! We returned after two years and found the island just as idyllic, the harbor a jewel in paradise. A few new interesting shops, friendly smiles greeting us every day and restaurants with individual and exciting personalities welcomed us back.

St Somewhere, our home once again for the week, was excellent. We spent many hours on the wide back porch reading, gazing at boats on the horizon engaged in an annual fishing tournament, enjoying the beach and just plain relaxing. Cocktails and laughter accompanied our leisure time with great friends, making the porch at St Somewhere the preferred location every afternoon! The rest of the house was great in every aspect…breezy, light and comfortable, much like the island itself. Jeff, the owner, accommodated our every need and was a pleasure to work with and rent from.

Our tradition continues and we look forward to another wonderful week at St Somewhere next year!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Extraordinary week at an amazing property!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend our honeymoon at St. Somewhere. From the moment we pulled up to the house we knew this was exactly what we were looking for and our entire experience far exceeded our expectations.

The house is well appointed with all the "creature comforts" and we were able to easily settle in and genuinely felt like we were at home. Nice linens, kitchen accoutrements (we did a lot of cooking at home), satellite television, wifi, etc. all helped to make our stay effortless and enjoyable. The view is absolutely breathtaking and you can enjoy it from nearly anywhere in the house. We would literally lay for hours on the back deck reading and relaxing, venturing down to the beach for an occasional dip to cool off. Being used to crowded beach communities in the U.S. the solitude and privacy afforded at St. Somewhere is remarkable. My favorite part of the day was sipping on coffee on the deck listening to the 8:15 VHF Channel 68 Cruiser show (community news, weather, announcements, etc.) watching the sun rise. It was perfect.

The location of the house is ideal. Essentially equidistant from Hope Town and Tahiti Beach you are a very quick cart ride to anywhere on Elbow Cay. Be sure to explore the whole island as it's such a wonderful community. Take in the sights, sounds, and tastes. Our favorite restaurant experience on the island was Mama's Chicken Souse on Sunday's at On Da Beach.

The property owner, Jeff, was always helpful and available. From helping us set up our cart and boat rentals prior to arrival to ensuring we had everything we needed once at the house, Jeff went out of his way to ensure our stay was as easy and comfortable as possible. It's my understanding he and his family own this house and have been traveling to Hope Town for decades so don't be afraid to take advantage of his intimate knowledge of the island and community.

If I could give this review six stars I would. We will certainly be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
3

Honest Review

  • 3 of 5

This house is in a great location on the island. We felt it was a fair price for the size and location of the house and the view of the ocean is wonderful. We were disappointed with the furnishings as what was displayed in the listing was not the way we found it. Several chairs were broken and the biggest issue was the lack of outdoor chairs and the quality of what was there. It had shown lounge chairs, but all we had was an old wood chair and two cheap plastic ones. No green egg BBQ as advertised, but a rusty old grill with a broken leg. The local staff was very helpful and attentive. It wouldn't take much to make this house a winner, but it was disappointing.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Long overdue response! My first time at this so didn't even know it was possible. Ann - thank you for talking with me following you stay and for understanding the reasons for why the lounge chairs and green egg were missing, even though the review and rating are permanent. To future guests... At the time of this guest's arrival we had had two previous renters, during which each group had one of the 2 remaining lounge chairs break on them. I instruct my caretaker to throw out broken furniture but this time he did not inform me they had broken, and I did not know until this review was posted. The lounge chairs have been replaced, the one loose part of the wooden adirondack mentioned in the review has been repaired and all repainted, and the green egg had been removed from active duty a couple of months prior due to being in bad shape. Since then we regularly have been buying small charcoal grills which last an avg of 6 months in the salt air. The chairs have an average life of about 1 year as they get blown off the porch with gale winds and break frequently. All other items and furniture in the house are in good condition and all photos online are accurate although they may not be the same exact chairs due to high turnover of high-use items! As stated in description, we are the oldest house in the area and much of the furniture is same as from my childhood which I love and wouldn't trade for new furniture unless I had to, and most of our guests love it too! Thank you Ann - and to future guests, no need to worry. We have a new caretaker and I address all issues I am aware of in a very timely matter. Cheers! Jeff Royal Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

AMAZING house with an AWESOME view

  • 5 of 5

Wow. Our vacation to Elbow Cay was certainly one to remember. The house is well-equipped and perfectly located. Everything is either a golf cart or boat ride away. The view of the Atlantic from the house is without comparison. We watched the sun rise in the morning and stared at the spectacular array of stars every night. The wifi was a nice amenity for staying in contact with family back home.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful house on our own beautiful beach!!!!

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we pulled down the winding driveway we were in another world. This was our first time out of the country and it so amazing to know that Elbow Cay is so close to our Alabama. Right when we pulled in we threw on our fins, masks and snorkel and jumped into the Atlantic. We saw more tropical fish than you could imagine. Right out your back door. This house is a 2 minute golf cart ride to the north community dock. We had our boat there all week. Plenty of room and no worries with others messing with the boat. Also, the food is quite different in the Bahamas. Mackey's Takeout is literally a 45 second golf cart ride. They have wonderful food and stay open late. There is a grocery store and Liquor store around the corner. There are a few restaurants on the south side of the island. The restaurants in Hopetown are fantastic but Firefly is the way to go. Its on the west side of the island right on the water. Fantastic food and great drinks. Groceries are about 30-40% more and eating out is probably 15-20% than in the States. Well worth it though. Its all part of the experience. St. Somewhere is such a great property. There were six of us. Plenty of room. By the time we got in from free diving, spearfishing and boating all day we were excited to be back at this house. It literally feels like home after a couple days with all the amenities. Direct Tv on a big flat screen, washer and dryer, a huge deck on the back overlooking the Atlantic. Everything you need is at this house. Such a reasonable price for the house also. I did a stupid amount of research on every house on the island. It is the best for the money. Stay at this house. You will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Marsh Harbour International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Firefly Sunset Resort & Grill
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Albury's Ferry Service
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Firefly Sunset Grill & Resort

Other Activities: Art galleries, Island hopping, lighthouse climbing, lobster gigging, maximum relaxation

Photos

Rates & Availability

Elbow Cay and Hope Town House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$395
$2,250
$6,450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $300
Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please enquire for any more detail on rates or availability. Thanks!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bahamas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower
  • The outdoor shower is popular and offers an exhilarating way to wash up after a dip in the ocean or a long afternoon of laying out.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    Guest - 1 king
    Upstairs Loft - 2 twin/ single
  • The living room of the house has a 6'x6' sectional sofa, chase lounge, and a long padded bench along one wall. The master bedroom has its own bathroom, whereas the main-floor guest bedroom's bath is located just outside in the hall. This bathroom also contains an alcove with a washer/dryer.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is a unique property, family owned for over three decades. I have spent my vacations at since I was born, and have an intimate knowledge of the house, the island, and its people. Feel free to call me for a more complete idea of what the property offers. Thanks

Partner Offers