check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

L. Miller

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Japanese

Luxurious Island Home in Mauna Lani!

30 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kohala Coast Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 4-8)

WHY PEOPLE LOVE KAMILO!

Enjoy the Resort lifestyle!

KaMilo is a beautiful new luxury resort inside the Mauna Lani Resort. KaMilo homes are new, beautifully maintained, and fresh. This single level home has 1650 sq feet with 3 bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms. Featuring two large pools, two jacuzzi’s and a beautiful workout room, the recreation center is only one minute away by foot. This upscale luxury property is modern, yet has an old Hawaii feel with its lovely Balinese inspired architecture. This is the best location in the complex, far from any construction. This house is an end unit with no other houses visible from the back yard, with lots of privacy! Located just 25 minutes North of the Kona Airport, it’s really easy to get to. Kamilo is a great place to relax and explore the Big Island.

Local area first class restaurants are nearby. The Fairmont Orchid, Maui Lani Hotel, Four Seasons Hualalai, and many more are located a very short drive away. Top world class beaches are minutes away and we provide a Private Beach Club that our guests may use with their access card. The Private Beach Club offers a restaurant, life guards, rental sports gear, and boat cruises. It even offers cabanas and chairs with your access card and gives you a resort experience with all the perks.

The house features a modern beautiful kitchen, with bamboo floors and travertine floors throughout. High-end Thermador appliances make it a pleasure to prepare meals. In addition, there is a Wolfe Gas BBQ on the Lanai (patio).

The private location and lanai offer privacy for our guests which allows a serene feeling as the Kona winds blow gently across the lanai. The gardens surrounding this home make it an exceptional place to sit and take in the fragrance of the Plumeria, and watch the birds and geckos at play.

This house has 3 bedrooms and 3 FULL baths. All on one level - NO STAIRS! The house is 1,650 sq feet, is roomy and comfortable, and is cooled by central air conditioning and ceiling fans throughout. Each bedroom has its own ceiling fan and the living room sports two fans to create a nice breeze to keep you cool.

There is lots of entertainment! The living room features a new large screen TV with AppleTV. The master bedroom has a large TV. The second and third bedrooms each feature large TV’s. DVD players can be found in the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms along with a DVD library. WiFi is in the home, of course!

The Master bedroom has a very comfortable King size bed with brand new high end linens featuring new Tommy Bahama quilts and bed spreads. The Ensuite has a private bath with twin sinks, granite counters, travertine shower and travertine flooring, oversized soaking tub, and walk-in closet. The 2nd and 3rd bedrooms have King and Queen beds, and a sofa-bed. All bedrooms now have brand new high end linens and Tommy Bahama quilts and bed spreads.

Beach equipment including fins, masks, beach chairs, etc.

*Please note that a golf cart is available through a separate rental company. Neither golf cart nor car is included.

World class golf courses can be found within minutes of the home. A short walk or a 2 minute drive and you will be on the greens!

The Neighborhood

This home is just a ten minute walk from the Mauna Lani shopping center. There, you can find many shops and restaurants, as well as a grocery store, Foodland Farms. A five star hotel, The Fairmont Orchid, is just a 15 minute walk or a 2 minute drive, which offers world class restaurants. The Mauni Lani Hotel is only a 5 minute drive and it too features 5 star restaurants. Four Seasons restaurants are 15 minutes away.

Costco is 30 minutes away in Kailua Kona, with fantastic locally grown foods, fresh caught local fish, Kona coffee and chocolate covered Macademia nuts, as well as an extensive liquor selection. One trip to Costco is all you need for your stay!

If world class beaches, resorts, restaurants, and volcanos interest you, then this is the place for you. Typical temperatures are 84 in the day, and 74 in the evening. This is a very low rainfall area called South Kohala. Beautiful large pools and exercise room with high quality machines are a minute away. World class beaches including the famous Hapuna Beach are within minutes. A private beach club is five minutes away, which has lifeguards, free cabanas, kayak and outrigger rentals, and a beach side restaurant. You can also tour the volcano area or go to the south of the island to see the red lava flow into the ocean. (The active volcano is about 90 minutes away, so don't worry!) Helicopter tours for the volcano are just 15 minutes from the house.

Major airlines fly non-stop to the Big Island. It’s an easy drive from the airport and only 25 minutes to Kamilo at the Mauna Lani Resort. Kamilo is waiting for you to enjoy your vacation.

Here are the homes features:

LIVING ROOM

New grass-cloth & mahogany ceilings

Two large fans provide constant breezes

ENTERTAINMENT

LIVING ROOM

New large screen TV

New AppleTV

MASTER BEDROOM

Large Screen TV

2nd BEDROOM

Large screen TV

3rd BEDROOM

Large screen TV

BACK YARD

Lanai (patio) and private garden.

Wolfe gas BBQ

BEDS & BEDDING

MASTER BEDROOM

King bed

New Charisma linens

New Tommy Bahama comforters

2nd BEDROOM:

King bed

New Charisma linens

New Tommy Bahama comforters

3rd BEDROOM:

Queen bed

New Charisma linens

New Tommy Bahama comforters

Sofa with pull-out bed

KITCHEN

Stainless-steel high-end Thermador appliances

Marble countertops

Cherry wood cabinetry

Built-In Thermidor Refrigerator with ice maker

New dishwasher

New coffee maker

New electric kettle

Toaster & Blender

Cookware, dishes, etc.

LAUNDRY

GE Elite Washer & Dryer

BATHROOMS - 3 FULL bathrooms

All bathrooms feature travertine floors, showers & granite counters

Master bathroom has separate travertine shower & large soaking tub

2nd bathroom has combined shower & tub

3rd bathroom has travetine shower

FLOORING

Tropical Bamboo floors throughout house

LANAI (patio)

Large Wolfe BBQ gas grill

Assorted Patio furniture

BACKYARD

A beautiful private tropical backyard is perfect for kids to play in. You can walk around barefoot, enjoying the fragrant plumeria blossoms with privacy.

RECREATION CENTER

2 large pools: 25+ yards

Lap pool is quiet for swimming

Main pool: separate children’s shallow area, and a large deeper area for swimming

2 jacuzzi’s

Workout gym with air conditioning and latest machines

Huge grass field for kids activities

PRIVATE BEACH CLUB

5 minutes by car

FREE parking with your card for gate access

Restaurant: Full service lunch & dinner. Beach front with full ocean view.

FREE use of Cabanas and chairs with your club card.

Life Guards

Sport Equipment rentals: surfboards, outriggers, diving, etc

Boat cruises depart from this beach

WHY STAY AT KAMILO?

KaMilo is a luxury gated community of homes on the sun soaked Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island. Located in the famed Mauna Lani Resort, KaMilo's private community provides a resort within a resort with fitness center, two pools & Jacuzzis, and outdoor entertainment area.

The Big Island features an active volcano, a 13,000' mountain peak, unique black sand beaches, and some of the most remarkable landscapes in the world. Located 2,500 miles from the US Mainland, these Hawaiian Islands are the most remote islands on the planet. It’s time for you to get away to KaMilo on the Big Island!

Ask about our last minute special rates for reservations made within two weeks of arrival. Make us an offer for your stay!

Managed by Kai Ohuchi R(S) #74999, under Real Estate Source, LLC

GE Tax License #W75888416-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
L. Miller (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Japanese

Why L. Miller chose Kohala Coast

We chose to buy at KaMilo because of the reputation the developer has for building high quality homes in Hawaii, as well as the US Mainland. Hawaii is a great place for families to get together and vacation, and we hope that many others can enjoy our beautiful home too!

What makes this condo unique

KaMilo at Mauna Lani is a brand new development in the luxurious Mauna Lani Resort area, and has great amenities such as the two pools, exercise room, and spa area, as well as the outdoor grilling and recreation area. It is a quiet community with friendly residents and staff, and the close proximity to all the resort facilities makes it a perfect vacation destination.

Reviews

4.9
based on 30 traveler reviews

Luxurious Island Home in Mauna Lani!
average rating of 4.9 based on 30 reviews
4

Nice Property Within the Mauna Lani Resort

  • 4 of 5

Overall, we found this to be a nice rental in a good location of Hawaii.

Pluses: Being next to the pool was great, had no issue with noise from the pool as the rental has lush vegetation around it to provide noise and privacy barrier. The rental is very spacious. More than enough room for the five of us. Location to beaches is great! Communication with the property managers was excellent. They were responsive and very accommodating. In fact they allowed us to pay a little more for a very late check out due to our late night flight.

Just to give constructive feedback, I'll mention a few things that could be improved upon. The rental is due for a good cleaning. Cleanliness of a unit is #1 on my list, and there are areas that hint at how well a place gets cleaned. For example, ceiling/bathroom fans and AC ducts have significant dust buildup, and while looking for some misplaced items I checked under the beds and saw quite a buildup of dust. Also, the grill is due for cleaning. While the place is tidy, it just needs a good spring cleaning.

There are some areas that need fixing: Several of the rooms had blinds with missing sections. Probably were broken at some point and just not replaced. And, some pieces had been replaced but were shorter in length from the original blinds. Not sure if this was a short-term fix, but this sort of attention to detail is important to renters and this did look neglected. Kitchenware needs to be inventoried. As this is a nice rental in an upscale resort, this should be improved upon to meet expectation. There are a couple of pots/pans with scratched/peeling Teflon that are unusable (unless you want that in your food), and no baking sheet(s) provided (had to used tin foil to heat up our fries)...an inventory and update of kitchen items would go a long way. As another reviewer mentioned, the dishwasher didn't get the dishes clean. Also, one of the patio chairs was visibly broken and set next to the grill - unusable. This should have been tossed, repaired, or stored away before our arrival.

We found the advertised beach equipment in the garage. Very nice beach chairs, great body boards. The cooler is a Styrofoam cooler often sold at the grocery store to get your items home, not really useful for a beach or daytrip adventure. Would recommend spending a small amount of money to provide a real cooler.

Overall this rental was fine. If the mentioned items are addressed, I'd give it 5-stars

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying in our house at KaMilo! We are happy you enjoyed our house with its great location, lush vegetation, and privacy. To address your concerns, we will ask the housecleaners to vacuum bathroom fans & vents, and they will check under beds! We are upgrading blinds in the house, as slats can come off because tradewinds can knock them off! We were not aware of any problems with the pans but will replace any that are worn. Thank you again for staying with us, and we will strive to make the improvements you have suggested.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great host and home. The amenities couldn't be better.

  • 5 of 5

The location by the pool and all of the conveniences so close by make this property an outstanding choice. The hosts could not be nicer or more accommodating. We were very lucky finding this vacation home.

Thanks!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful home with plenty of room for all of us! No Golf cart as advertised. That was extra supposedly, however it did not say that in our listing when we booked. Would have been nice to have had it. Master Bedroom shower does not get hot! Sink/tub does, however shower just shoots out cold water - left it on for over 30 mins! still nothing! Other showers worked fine. One of the pools was closed due to a missing part needing to come all the way from Maui, but it had been closed for over 3 weeks according to other residents. On our last day it finally opened. This was the bigger pool where little kids can swim, so that was sad. Good beaches close by. Shopping close by. We became familiar with the Urgent Cares on the island as we all got sick. (strep throat) - they are not close 40 mins either way - but by the last day we got better. It was a bummer we were not all healthy to enjoy this beautiful place.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for saying our home is “BEAUTIFUL!” We work at making it that way, as we always strive to to provide the best experience. We never owned a golf cart, but our agent can get one for you at a very reasonable cost. We found an intermittent problem in that shower and it is being fixed! We have an excellent pool company that maintains both of our pools to very high standards. It took 11 days to fix one of our two pools, but one large pool was open the entire time. We have hospitals on the Big Island in Kona and Waimea, both 30 minutes away. Emergency medical airlift is 30 minutes away. Local doctors are closer. We are sorry you were sick, but we hope you will be healthy and stay again at our beautiful house in KaMilo!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Honolulu
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Outstanding location in Mauna Lani Resort, quiet and relaxing, yet right next to a facility with two pools, jacuzzis and a workout room, access to which is included. Great unit, clean and well kept, roomy and very open, Hawaiian atmosphere. Close to restaurants and grocery store, with golf cart provided to get to them and to the private access club right on the beach which comes with the unit. Hawaiian sea turtles ("honu") often viewable just a few feet from shore while snorkeling. Perfect Hawaii getaway!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vancouver, Canada
4

Spring Break

  • 4 of 5

We had another great time in Kona. This was our first stay in Mauna Lani. The home is quite spacious and comfortable. This place had lots of extras like a golf cart, snorkle gear and even bikes. The biggest bonus was use of a Highlander SUV👍. I was really concerned about the A/C because I like it cooler when I sleep. Well you can leave the A/C off all day, turn it on before bed and the whole place cools down within 15 minutes. I was very impressed. The Fairmont Orchid is a 5 minute walk away and is a must see. Kai was very helpful whenever we had questions or concerns.

The Mauna Lani shops are about 10-15 minute walk away which was a bit far for our liking but always nice to get out for a walk.

So to be fair I have just a couple of negatives to mention. I know beds are a personal preference, but we found the beds here too soft for our liking and the pillows are quite flat and dated. We also found that the kitchen cookware was quite worn out and the dishwasher really has issues cleaning dishes so we did a lot of hand washing. The outdoor BBQ works great provided you have a long stick lighter to ignite it.

The positives definitely outweigh the negatives. It's quite a peaceful spot and all the new construction happening on site is a non factor because it's at the other end of the resort.

Thanks Kai!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy you had a great time at our KaMilo house. We have improved the areas that you mentioned and have added the following: Living Room now has a NEW grass-cloth and mahogany ceiling New ceiling fans in living room Each bedroom now has its own ceiling fan New pillows for all beds New Charisma linens for all beds New Tommy Bahama bedspreads for all beds New Tommy Bahama comforters for all beds New towels for all bathrooms New beach towels Kitchen Cookware is added and upgraded. Dishwasher adjusted (it was new in January) Wolfe BBQ overhauled LIVING ROOM:New large TV w/AppleTV and FREE HBO MASTER BEDROOM: Large Screen TV: AppleTV 2nd BEDROOM: Large screen TV w/Sony Playstation game system 3rd BEDROOM: Large screen TV w/Sony Playstation game system Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again! Thanks, Kai
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
Portland
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place. Great location and all the amenities one needs for a relaxing vacation. It will be our place to stay on the Big Island! Pool just around the corner! Golf cart fun to get around!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mauna Lani Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016 Festive
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$799
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$320
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $225
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 17.17%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kohala Coast Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1653 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Resort ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Master Bathroom - Has separate travertine shower & large soaking tub
    Bathroom 2 - 2nd bathroom has combined shower & tub
    Bathroom 3 - 3rd bathroom has travertine shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , New Charisma linens & new Tommy Bahama comforters
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , New Charisma linens & new Tommy Bahama comforters
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , New Charisma linens & new Tommy Bahama comforters
  • King size beds (2), Full size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Beach equipment can be found for guest use including fins, masks, beach chairs, cooler, etc.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties