Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vintage Beachfront Cottage with Magnificent Ocean Views-Closest to the water!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom, 1/2 bathroom, ideal for 1-2 people, sleeps 4

This property is as close to the ocean as is possible. There are only a few other properties along the coast which are as close to the ocean. Fall asleep and wake up the to gentle, soothing sounds of the ocean!

Surf, swim and walk or jog on the beach from this coastal retreat in the harbor town of Oceanside. This is a one bedroom, one bath and is fully furnished with all amenities cable, Internet, phone and free laundry room. You can wake to the sound of the surf and have breakfast overlooking the blue Pacific. The unit is walking distance to the pier, harbor, shopping and dining with freeway and transit service minutes away. Local attractions such as Legoland, Zoo and Sea World are within 30 minutes from this 'Cottage by the Sea' Stay a week or a month and 'Make the most of the Coast'.

Closet property to the water!! : This unit is the closet property to the water, along the Oceanside beach. There are only a few properties/units that are as close.

The views are magnificent!! The sounds, smells and sensations of the ocean are a constant reminder that you are at the beach. Fall asleep and awake to the sounds of the ocean without having to open the door and go outside!!

More Details

Owner
Eric Platt
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

Why Eric Platt chose Oceanside

Beachfront with magnificent ocean views.

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.33 Miles
3 blocks
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
.5
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
1 mile
Nearest Beach
6 Metres
18 feet
Car: recommended

This is a Vintage Beachfront property with magnificent ocean views. It is a Stand alone cottage without another tenant next to, below, above or behind. Many tenants report that it is quite romantic.

Amenities

Townsite Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower , Small bath
  • 3/4 bath
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Cozy unit
  • Futon Sleeper is in the living room area. Folds down to a double bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Most often this Beachfront Cottage is a best fit for Vacationers who are younger and not retirement age or older

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Vintage Beachfront Cottage with Magnificent Ocean Views-Closest to the water!
average rating of 4.7636366 based on 55 reviews
5

PERFECT PLACE FOR YOU NEEDS

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a traditional bungalow on the beach and that is exactly what we got. We enjoyed the sound of the ocean crashing on the rocks, the walk to the pier everyday. Also all the amenities offered at Oceanside.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location. Property needs some work.

  • 3 of 5

Shower was not working correctly. No silverware in kitchen. MY teenager said Futon was hard. Laundry room had no light. Maintenance man was quick to comecwhem I had issue with shower. Place needs makeover

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It is only by getting feedback from our Vacationers that we know what we can improve upon for our Vacationers. Re: The Silverware. There is and has always been silverware in this Beachfront Cottage. We wish you had called or texted our local people regarding where the silverware is located. However, I have instructed our local people to place a large sign with an arrow to where the silverware is stored - so that this won't happen again. Re:The light in the laundry room is on a timer switch so that after timing out - the light goes out. Note that this is not a traditional switch. But will also put a large note above the switch so that it will be more obvious. Once every 5-6 years someone makes this mistake. Re: The futon. Most of the time, Vacationers report back to us that it is very comfortable. However, most of the time, this unit is rented to families with young kids who have been playing at the beach all day till they are exhausted. Every once in while, e.g. once every 5-6 years, we get a Vacationer who reports back that the futon was not comfortable. However, most of our Vacationers report back that it is comfortable. Also, we have settled on this futon after trying most that are on the market - and this futon was reported as most comfortable by the majority of our Vacationers
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and fishing out front. Close to everything.

  • 4 of 5

Sewer system needs flushed. The sinks and shower smells. Needs new pans to cook with.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and letting us know that several items need our attention. As noted in all of the emails that I sent to you - as well as our phone conversation, if anything did not meet your expectations - to please contact our team who takes care of our property in Oceanside. They only live 1 1/2 blocks away and these items would have been addressed. This was also stated in our Vacation Agreement that you accepted. We will address these issues immediately!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This little place is a gem!

  • 5 of 5

This little place is a gem. I stayed there for a few days with my 3 boys. It is right on the ocean, but not too busy with traffic. It was spotless and had absolutely everything we needed. The bed was super comfy. We loved it! Will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write your review!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Weather and a low price saved the day...

  • 3 of 5

Coming in hot off our wedding in addition to the fabulous weather made this stay something I could enjoy. Amazing view of the awesome waves and being just a stone's throw away from a long walk on a fantastic beach was truly a treat.

But this place was far from perfect. The furniture did not match or even coordinate, the utensils were plastic disposables. No dish-drying towel or rack. Lots of rust (on the fridge, the heater, the blinds, the lamp shades), broken blinds, scum in the tea kettle. Futon was comfy, bed was not; PILLOWS were gnarly. Creepy picture stashed in the closet. Shower did not have soap, and we had to dig a shampoo out from under the sink; but the shower was clean at least, as was the fridge. Towels were old.

I can see this place being polarizing. For some people it is a deal! For others it could be a disaster. Either way it could really benefit from some TLC.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We tell all of our Vacationers both by email, phone call and in our contract - that if anything is not to their satisfaction to please contact Arlene and Patrick who only live 1.5 blocks away. If something is not to your satisfaction and you don't tell us - we can't fix it! I have sent this review to my team to address all of the items that this Vacationer brought up. This property is the closest property to the ocean along the Oceanside beach. Rust on metal surfaces is a fact of life. Most people do not have the opportunity to live this close to the ocean - but keeping after the rust is a full time job. Typically the folks who bring up these climatic conditions, e.g. rust, etc., come from an inland/desert area. Finally, the pillows are replaced annually or when we get any feedback from Vacationers. Most of the times, our Vacationers mention this to Arlene or Patrick and not in a review. However, now we will replace these pillows.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

We love this location, the Ocean is right there!!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 4th trip out west and as when we go to S. CA we try to stay at Eric's Beachfront Cottage. We stayed here for our Honeymoon 6 years ago and love coming back. The sounds the closeness to the ocean takes us back to our Honeymoon here. Just love the place and the close access to the ocean. Eric and his team are great and are always attentive to any requests that we have.

Definitely would recommend this property to anyone wanting to get away and be transported to a very relaxing and memorable vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Pet Fee $70
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.