Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vintage Beachfront Cottage with Magnificent Ocean Views-Closest to the water!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom, 1/2 bathroom, ideal for 1-2 people, sleeps 4

This property is as close to the ocean as is possible. There are only a few other properties along the coast which are as close to the ocean. Fall asleep and wake up the to gentle, soothing sounds of the ocean!

Surf, swim and walk or jog on the beach from this coastal retreat in the harbor town of Oceanside. This is a one bedroom, one bath and is fully furnished with all amenities cable, Internet, phone and free laundry room. You can wake to the sound of the surf and have breakfast overlooking the blue Pacific. The unit is walking distance to the pier, harbor, shopping and dining with freeway and transit service minutes away. Local attractions such as Legoland, Zoo and Sea World are within 30 minutes from this 'Cottage by the Sea' Stay a week or a month and 'Make the most of the Coast'.

Closet property to the water!! : This unit is the closet property to the water, along the Oceanside beach. There are only a few properties/units that are as close.

The views are magnificent!! The sounds, smells and sensations of the ocean are a constant reminder that you are at the beach. Fall asleep and awake to the sounds of the ocean without having to open the door and go outside!!

More Details

Owner
Eric Platt
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

Why Eric Platt chose Oceanside

Beachfront with magnificent ocean views.

Amenities

Townsite Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower , Small bath
  • 3/4 bath
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Cozy unit
  • Futon Sleeper is in the living room area. Folds down to a double bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Most often this Beachfront Cottage is a best fit for Vacationers who are younger and not retirement age or older

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(51 traveler reviews)

Vintage Beachfront Cottage with Magnificent Ocean Views-Closest to the water!
average rating of 4.8039217 based on 51 reviews
5

We love this location, the Ocean is right there!!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 4th trip out west and as when we go to S. CA we try to stay at Eric's Beachfront Cottage. We stayed here for our Honeymoon 6 years ago and love coming back. The sounds the closeness to the ocean takes us back to our Honeymoon here. Just love the place and the close access to the ocean. Eric and his team are great and are always attentive to any requests that we have.

Definitely would recommend this property to anyone wanting to get away and be transported to a very relaxing and memorable vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Weather and a low price saved the day...

  • 3 of 5

Coming in hot off our wedding in addition to the fabulous weather made this stay something I could enjoy. Amazing view of the awesome waves and being just a stone's throw away from a long walk on a fantastic beach was truly a treat.

But this place was far from perfect. The furniture did not match or even coordinate, the utensils were plastic disposables. No dish-drying towel or rack. Lots of rust (on the fridge, the heater, the blinds, the lamp shades), broken blinds, scum in the tea kettle. Futon was comfy, bed was not; PILLOWS were gnarly. Creepy picture stashed in the closet. Shower did not have soap, and we had to dig a shampoo out from under the sink; but the shower was clean at least, as was the fridge. Towels were old.

I can see this place being polarizing. For some people it is a deal! For others it could be a disaster. Either way it could really benefit from some TLC.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We tell all of our Vacationers both by email, phone call and in our contract - that if anything is not to their satisfaction to please contact Arlene and Patrick who only live 1.5 blocks away. If something is not to your satisfaction and you don't tell us - we can't fix it! I have sent this review to my team to address all of the items that this Vacationer brought up. This property is the closest property to the ocean along the Oceanside beach. Rust on metal surfaces is a fact of life. Most people do not have the opportunity to live this close to the ocean - but keeping after the rust is a full time job. Typically the folks who bring up these climatic conditions, e.g. rust, etc., come from an inland/desert area. Finally, the pillows are replaced annually or when we get any feedback from Vacationers. Most of the times, our Vacationers mention this to Arlene or Patrick and not in a review. However, now we will replace these pillows.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We love this Beachfront Cottage!!!

  • 5 of 5

We have been bringing our family, (myself, my husband and 2 kids) to Eric's Beachfront Cottage for the past 3 years and I just booked it for a week during the summer of 2017. We all love it here and can't wait to go back!!

We read the review from a prior Vacationer who had a disappointing experience and we are scratching our heads about this as well. It's a great location, great view!!! The owner certainly is not responsible for the loudness of the ocean. Actually that's why we and others love this Beachfront Cottage - because it is so close to the ocean.

Notice that the disappointed Vacationer did not write anything negative about the property or the team. Eric and his team take very good care of this older beachfront property.

In defense of this property, there is no other place like it on the Oceanside coast. If you want to be close to the ocean action - this is the place. If you don't want to be close to the ocean - that's ok also. But to rent a place due to it's unique location, e.g. close to the ocean and then to complain that the ocean was too loud - well it does sound very strange.

We are returning vacationers for the 4th year and we love this Beachfront Cottage!!! Thank you Eric and team!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a location and magnificent views!!

  • 5 of 5

What a location and just like the ads say, "Magnificent Views" of the ocean. We stayed at Eric's Beachfront Cottage with our 2 young kids, e.g. 4 and 5 and we all just loved it!! Hope to come back in the summer. The ocean kept the kids captivated for hours!! And we all loved the sounds of the ocean. Eating places are close by, just a short walk down the beach to the pier and downtown. Great place to bring the family. Eric and his team were very responsive to our needs. Thanks a bunch!! Hope to come back in the summer.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location on the ocean!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time with our two children in Oceanside. The property is in a great location.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Captivating location, 180 degrees ocean view

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Eric's Beachfront Cottage. The on-going sights of the oceans, waves, and the ships going by provided us the most relaxing vacation that we have had in years. Great team to work with. Thanks for a great time!!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.33 Miles
3 blocks
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
.5
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
1 mile
Nearest Beach
6 Metres
18 feet
Car: recommended

This is a Vintage Beachfront property with magnificent ocean views. It is a Stand alone cottage without another tenant next to, below, above or behind. Many tenants report that it is quite romantic.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Townsite Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring '17
Mar 13 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$115
Fri,Sat,Sun
$785
 
 
Early Summer '17
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$170
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,150
 
 
Early Peak Summer '17
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$193
 
 
Peak Summer '17
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
$5,400
 
 
Off-Peak Summer '17
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$171
$1,200
 
 
Late Summer '17
Aug 27 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$130
Fri,Sat,Sun
$890
$3,200
 
 
Fall-Winter '17
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$105
From
$110
Fri,Sat,Sun
$750
$2,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $70
Pet Fee $70 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties