Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Largest 1 Bedroom Available at the Honua Kai - views of mountains, ocean, resort

Bedrooms 1
Space 710 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

No more construction - thank goodness!!

Our villa used to overlook the Westin construction site - for 3 years

no more - construction ended in Sep of 2017 and our villa overlooks mountains, the beautiful Westin property, and the Pacific Ocean!

AND the new Luana townhome construction is on the other side of the resort - you won't be impacted at all!! No truck noise, no beeping forklifts, no workmen shouting at each other over the noise - other Honua Kai Villas get that nuisance, not us.

Why rent from me?

• Our villa, Hokulani 218, has a resort view with a partial view of mountains, parks, and the Pacific Ocean - from the living room and bedroom

• Our villa is attractively priced

• Our villa comes with a closet full of free goodies - Pack-N-Play, beach chairs, toys, and umbrellas

• Our villa comes with FREE meet-and-greet service - someone will be there to meet you and show you our villa and demonstrate all the equipment/appliances for you

• Our Villa has free WiFi service - up to 5 devices at once

• Our villa does not charge the $29/day Resort Fee

Why stay at the Honua Kai Resort & Spa?

• Honua Kai is the #1 resort on Ka'anapali Beach

• Honua Kai is a 4-Diamond resort - AAA has very rigorous standards that we meet

• Honua Kai is a Conde Nast Gold Hawaiian resort - not all Four-Seasons on Hawaii made that list

Why stay on Ka'anapali Beach Maui?

• Maui's Ka'anapali Beach is the #1 beach in North America - that's every beach in America and around the world

• Ka'anapali Beach has more 5 star resorts on it than any other part of Maui - the resorts know where the best beaches are located

Why vacation on Maui?

• Maui is the #1 island in the world for 20 years now by Conde Nash - that's the best of the best

• Maui is the #1 vacation destination in the world for 2017 by US News & World Report - against ALL vacation destinations you can think of

*** Can we talk? ***

I've answered hundreds of questions about the Honua Kai in the past four years - here are some of the points you really need to know:


Trades winds hit Maui 24/7 365 days a year. Normal trade winds start off low in the morning and by noon Whitecaps usually form on the waters around Maui - the wind is 25 MPH or more to make a white cap. Storms blow in and make the winds stronger - that's weather. The north part of Maui, where the Honua Kai is located, average 5 MPH more year round than does the south part of Maui.

The South side of the Honua Kai is protected from the trade winds, and you can have the sliding glass wall open most of the time and not have the wind blow in and whip everything like a blender. Our villa is on the South side of the resort.

Hope this helps answer your questions….

Thank you for your consideration.

*** Pricing ***

During mid-December to the end of February (Holiday and Prime Whale Watching on Maui), my rates are 1/2 of what Honua Kai charges - 1/2!!!

The rest of the year my rates about a 1/3 discount the rate over what Honua Kai charges

I offer 10% discounts to returning guests. (Does not include any prices already discounted)

NOTE: 7-day minimum stay for Holiday Rates else 3-day minimum stay.

*** Awards ***

Conde Nast has ranked Maui as the #1 island in the world for 25 years in a row. This is against every island there is - no island is better. Why on earth vacation at a lesser island?

Maui is the #1 vacation destination in the world for 2017 by US News & World Report. This is against Vegas, New York City, San Francisco, the Grand Canyon, all the ski resorts, all the fantastic places in Europe - Maui is their favorite destination.

Honua Kai Resort & Spa is an AAA 4-Diamond Resort. This requires annual certification to remain in the 4-Diamond class

Honua Kai made the Conde Nast Gold List for Hawaiian resorts for 2017. This is a real honor for us considering we competed against all the Four-Seasons in Hawaii, and many didn't make the list.

I can supply links to each of the above claims just in case you need a little more persuasion; just contact me.

*** NEW Meet and Greet service now included ***

We just hired the best 'Meet and greet' company on Maui to contact our guests about one week before you land in Maui and then as you land on Maui. If there are any activities that might book up before you get to Maui, they will notify you so you beat others to these world-class activities that fill up very fast. During the holidays, I can guarantee you that ALL the top activities/restaurants are already 100% sold out the moment your plane lands on the runway at Maui.

*** Our Villa ***

Our 700 sq ft 1-bedroom villa has a resort view and has a 145 sq ft lanai (balcony); sleeps 4 adults and is located on the South end of the resort - the least windy side.

Many 1-bedrooms, at the Honua Kai, are just 620 sq ft just a few sqft larger than a studio villa! That’s a 9’ by 9’ chunk of villa missing – check the villa size before you rent! (not with lanai) I can tell you that 9’ by 9’ missing chunk is going to hurt in a 1-bedroom, even for a party of 2 during your stay.

Our villa is a 1-bedroom regular size that sleeps four adults and has a resort view. and views of the ocean and mountains.

So as you compare prices you have to take into account the various sizes of 1 bedrooms that are nearly impossible unless you are very familiar with the Honua Kai.


1) We ONLY advertise on VRBO and HomeAway and do not advertise on Craigslist

HI GET ID and TAT number: GE/TA-024-102-7072-01. Keywords: Honua Kai, condo, Maui, Ka'anapali, Hawaii,

More Details

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About Perry

I love snowboarding, and I live in Maui. I have 25+ years of renting timeshares and our condos. Take advantage of our fantastic rates at the Honua Kai Resort & Spa. 'Frugal' is my middle name.

My goal is to offer the best Honua Kai Resort experience for the least amount of money to my renters. I get high occupancy, and you get to stay at the hottest 5-star resort on Maui for the least amount of money - we both win.

Just contact me and find out the least amount of money a family, of 4 or less, would spend to stay and use the Honua Kai Resort's facilities and then you will know exactly how much the 12-hours of daylight lit landscape, that my competitors offer, costs you - you will be shocked!

Please check my calendar, below, and then ask for a price quote - I enjoy sending out the price quotes and interacting with all you folks. I love Maui, and I love the Honua Kai and feel fortunate to be a part of this grand resort.

But no matter what, as an owner at the Honua Kai let me be the first to welcome you to Honua Kai - the hottest 5-star resort on Maui. Many of you will fall in love with the place and next time you visit Maui keep me in mind if you want to reallocate your funds/budget with more emphasis on activities and less on landscape views.

Again, I highly recommend that you bookmark this VRBO listing for future reference.

Mahalo and Aloha...

Perry purchased this condo in 2009

Why Perry chose Lahaina

We love the northern part of Maui and Ka'anapali Beach is just fantastic. Honua Kai is a true 5-star resort and in the middle of all the wonderful activities on Maui. Honua Kai is THE family resort to stay at while visiting Maui - it offers fantastic accommodations that your family will remember for a lifetime.

And it will be the family's interaction with Maui that memories are built from. We have vacationed 12+ times in Maui and have only done a fraction of things we eventually want to do on Maui. Consider Honua Kai your 'Base of operations' as you do and see all the wonderful things that only happen on one small island in the world - Maui.

'Dr. Beach' (Dr. Stephen P. Leatherman) has voted Ka'anapali Beach as the #1 beach in the United States - that's no secret to the locals on Maui - the Honua Kai is right on that beach and the main reason we bought our villa here.

What makes this condo unique

#1 resort in North Maui and probably on the whole island of Maui! Cut out the middleman and those large expensive rental companies and deal direct with the owner. My rates are the lowest for any Honua Kai villa and the money you save can be used to pay for activities on Maui, rental car, airline tickets, and I recommend trip insurance.

Maid Fees: We charge a $195 cleaning fee per reservation and with the 4.166% tax is $203.13; all this money goes to the cleaning company that services our villa – we make no money with this charge. This includes a pre-cleaning and a post-cleaning of the villa. Daily maid service is NOT included in our rates. Those villas that offer “daily maid service” (Really just “Tidy Service”) just have a maid drop by, inconvenience you, make the bed, and replace towels. That’s it – 5 minutes and they're out of the villa. The daily $29 “Resort fee” covers this for 5 minutes of maid service per day and dry towels.

Folks, pay yourself $29 a day for 3 minutes of work - make the bed, throw the wet towels in the dryer and go to Dukes and spend the saved money on a fantastic meal for your family. At least that's what we do.

We can provide a much better maid service for about $80 per cleaning and this is a real cleaning of your villa.

Join my army of happy renters who know that absolutely everyone else at the Honua Kai paid more than they did to stay there - everyone! That saved money will be used to enrich their family's vacation experience and not someone else.

Guestbook comments from the owner

As the owner of our villa I hope folks who rent from us enjoy the Honua Kai Resort & Spa. Honua Kai is a 5-star resort that will dominate the high end 5-star resort for a generation.

The largest impact I can have on our renters is to offer them a fantastic deal with a smooth transaction from first contact to the eMail we send our guests after they arrive home from their stay at our villa.
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 1


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 710 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size sofabed in living room
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Underground parking out of the hot sun


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Largest 1 Bedroom Available at the Honua Kai - views of mountains, ocean, resort
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
Draper UT

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from a week in Perry's villa. Our experience couldn't have been better! We typically stay at Honua Kai each year but this was our first rental via an owner... We plan to book Perrys Villa every opportunity we get! The little amenities such as beach chairs and umbrellas made for a very relaxing and stress free time. Perry and Maria at the hotel, made the experience a breeze. Great location on a beautiful resort. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, for a fantastic review - I appreciate it. Although our villa overlooks the Westin construction site your family is our 30th guest to stay at our villa during the construction phase and no one has been impacted by the construction. This is because the Honua Kai was built to withstand a Cat 3 hurricane with the walls and windows extra strong and thick to reduce noise. Our meet-and-greet lady, Maria, personally welcomes each guest as they drive up and takes them to our villa where she demonstrates all the Bosch appliances and where everything is located on the Honua Kai grounds. We keep beach chairs and toys in our front closet so our guests can immediately enjoy the warm Maui waters. Once again thank you for the kind words and hope to see you again in Maui.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 7
Edmonton/AB/ Canada


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented Perry’s condo whiles in Maui. The unit was clean and had everything we needed. I enjoyed sitting at the balcony each morning and evening. The process to rent the condo was very easy. Perry made everything very easy.

Honua Kai resort is beautiful and well kept. Maui is a paradise! Sun set at 5:30 is amazing!

Places we enjoyed: Kaanapali Beach, Hokipa Beach, DT Fleming Beach, Kapaula Golf Course, Garden of Eden (Road to Hana).

Shopping: Front st Lahaina, Lahaina Cannery Mall.

Restaurants we enjoyed: Dukes Maui, Slappy Cakes, Pizza Paradiso, Cool Cat café, Mama’s Fish house.

We had a great time and will be back God willing.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review. It's always nice to hear from our guests that we played a small part in their dream vacation in Maui. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 13
West Linn, OR

Great Resort + Great Villa + Great Owner = GREAT VACATION!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I returned from our vacation at the Honua Kai resort and were 110% happy with renting from Perry! He is very responsive and very thorough and we had no problems whatsoever. As described, Maria met us at the resort and walked us through the villa, also offering assistance throughout our stay in regards to reservations, etc. The included beach chairs and towels were great as we used them for a few road trips to other beaches. I can't add too much additional praise that recent reviewers haven't already mentioned but I will say that, for those interested or concerned:

(1) As of 10/7/14, there is NO construction on the south side of the Holukani Tower and there doesn't appear to be any activity thus Perry's villa continues to have a very nice partial ocean view.

(2) There is no road noise from Highway 30 from within the villa.

(3) There is no odor from the sewage treatment plant across Highway 30 from within the villa (though one may notice if driving past the plant about 1/4 mile north of the Holukani Tower).

(4) The villa is conveniently located 1 or 2 floors above the Aina Market allowing for quick access to morning coffee, breakfast food, sandwiches, newspapers and miscellaneous supplies, not a 10-15 minute walk from the other side of the property.

(5) Duke's has a fabulous atmosphere, solid food/drinks and so convenient - we had two dinners here.

(6) The beach path is, indeed, a great feature, and we enjoyed walking south to Whaler's Village for a few dinners (and taking a taxi back two nights since it's 2+ miles one way) as well as morning walks going north to Honokowai Beach Park and Bad Ass Coffee.

(7) It's a short walk to the Times Supermarket, Slappy Cakes, Shave Ice, Snorkel Bob's and other local fast food establishments, if one is not up for the hassle of driving to Lahaina.

One day before the end of our vacation, we decided to extend by three days and Perry's villa was unfortunately not available. So we stayed at the Makena Beach Resort in Wailea, which was a very nice hotel, but it is, in fact, a hotel room and doesn't compare to the size, quality, amenities nor VALUE of Perry's villa!

Bottom line: Don't hesitate to rent from Perry for a fantastic vacation and superb accommodations! Thanks, again, Perry!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow - I can't tell you how it warms our hearts to hear that our villa played a role in a fantastic Maui vacation - thank you so much. We always try to answer questions as fast as we can and make sure our guests never wonder what's next in the rental process and while staying at our villa. I know that the "Meet and greet" service, which is free in our guests, gets our guests started on the right foot; someone to meet you as you drive up and show you how to use all the high-end appliances in our villa, and to show our guests around Honua Kai. Many of our Canadian guests arrive in Maui after midnight and they report it is very comforting to know that someone will meet them and help them check in to the villa even at 3 AM; many guests order some groceries, which our meet and greet gals stock in the refrigerator, so breakfast can be easily made as family members wake up. I can't take credit for Maui but we do take a lot of pride being involved in the vacation of a lifetime to the number 1 island in the world - Maui. Thanks again for the kind words - we really appreciate it.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 13

Perfect honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot thank Perry enough for making our stay so comfortable. Perry was extremely responsive and made the whole process very easy.

The unit itself is immaculate and had all the amenities we needed. I would definitely recommend Honua Kai because it has all the services of a hotel. We went to dinner at Dukes and the food was great. The beach was definitely the best beach we saw off the coast. It wasn't crowded like the other beaches. The staff even arranged for a company to drop off a stand up paddle board for us to use for 24 hours which we could store with the parking attendants. The condo had chairs and umbrella was included in the unit. This was a bonus because the resort charged $50/ day for an umbrella and chairs.

Thanks so much Perry!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, thanks for the great review - I appreciate it. Honua Kai is THE place to stay in North Maui, it is 40 years newer than anything on Ka'anapali beach and a villa is 1,000 better than vacationing/honeymooning is a hotel room. My best wishes to the both of you and when you revisit Maui remember that I offer a 10% discount to all returning guests. Thanks again, it makes my heart warm to hear great experiences at our villa, Honua Kai, Ka'anapali beach, Maui, and Hawaii.....
Did you find this review helpful?
8 12
Los Angeles, CA

Awesome unit!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from our week in Maui and stayed at Perry's condo at Honua Kai. Awesome unit; very clean, very modern, great location and very comfortable. The pictures are accurate and what you see is what you get. The unit has all of the conveniences of home and everything you need for a home away from home. Kaanapali Beach is right outside your front door but the 3 pool areas are also quite lovely. We especially enjoyed our evening walks along the boardwalk which runs the length of Kaanapali Beach. A Safeway is about 10 minutes away if you decide to cook in but there are also plenty of fine restaurants in the area. We've used VRBO before and this unit did not disappoint. Highly recommended, we'd gladly stay here again on our next trip.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed our villa and had a great time in Maui. Returning guests get a 10% discount on future stays so keep us in mind when you return to Maui. Thanks again for the kind words and I really appreciate this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 11
portland, or

Wonderful and amazing experience

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here the end of July and we were blown away by the location/resort and price. Perry was extremely wonderful to work with and very responsive. Honua Kai is very nice.. The resort seemed very quiet and I couldn't hear very much unless the door or lanai was open. Loved the location.. We visited Makena and Napili Beach... and Kaanapali was by far the best beach for relaxation/gentle waves and small crowds. I hope to take my kids to this beach in the future.

I was a little nervous as this was my first time w/ VRBO.. But after staying here, I can confidently recommend Perry and this condo to anyone!! Amazing stay for an amazing price. Thank you, Perry!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andrea, thank you so much for the kind words! Our dream was to buy a vacation condo and enjoy it and while not there let others enjoy it. We are very happy you enjoyed our condo, Honua Kai, and Maui. About 30% of our guests are now repeat guests and you get a 10% discount from the current rate on all future stays. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you and your family all the best. Perry
Did you find this review helpful?
5 13


Aina Gourmet Market
Coffee Shop
Duke's Beach House
Seafood Restaurant
Slappy Cakes
Breakfast Restaurant
Pailolo Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Nachos Grande
Mexican Restaurant
Pulehu, An Italian Grill
Italian Restaurant
Pizza Paradiso Mediterranean Grill
Mediterranean Restaurant
Java Jazz
L & L Hawaiian BBQ Honokowai
Hawaiian Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
Teppanyaki 2 Go
Fish Market Maui
Seafood Market
Honokowai Okazuya & Deli
Ohana Tacos - Maui
Taco Restaurant
Castaway Cafe
American Restaurant
Bad Ass Coffee
Coffee Shop
Royal Ocean Terrace Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
China Bowl Asian Cuisine
Chinese Restaurant
Hanks Haute Dogs
Fast Food Restaurant
Black Rock Steak & Seafood
Seafood Restaurant
Teppan-yaki Dan
Japanese Restaurant
The Cliff Dive Bar
Bar & Grill
Round Table Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Island Press Coffee
Coffee Shop
Ka’anapali Beach
Tiki Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Tiki Terrace
Hawaiian Restaurant
Legends of Ka'anapali Luau
Hawaiian Restaurant
Hula Grill Kaanapali
Hawaiian Restaurant
Häagen-Dazs® Ice Cream Shop
Dessert Shop
Whalers Village
Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman - Ka'anapali
New American Restaurant
Island Vintage Coffee
Nikki's Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Leilani's on the Beach
Hawaiian Restaurant
Joey's Kitchen at Whalers Village Shopping Center
Hawaiian Restaurant
Relish Oceanside
Steak House
Relish Burger Bistro
American Restaurant
Wailele Polynesian Luau
Hawaiian Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
Beach House Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Beachwalk Market & Pantry
Pizza Restaurant
Miso Phat Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Ka'anapali Grille & Tap Room
Dollie's Pub & Café
Pizza Restaurant
Drums of the Pacific Lu'au
Dinner Theater
Japanese Restaurant
Hawaiian Village Coffee
Coffee Shop
Son'z Steakhouse
Steak House
Hawaiian Restaurant
Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Pacific Ocean

Swimming pools all over the place: 1) Beach pool (sandy bottom), 2) Slide & Waterfall Pool, 3) Keiki Pool (Children's), 4) Adult (Formal) Pool, 5) Lazy River Pool, and Jacuzzi's throughout the tropical grounds.

Maui's best restaurant is ocean front on property it's Duke's Beach House with pool side service to all pools.

Aina Coffee Bar & Gourmet Market in our lobby.

Whaler's General Store onsite

There is a 1 mile beach walk south to the Sheraton, and Black Rock with nightly cliff diving ceremonies at sunset and the best snorkeling in Maui continuing south to Whalers Village - a 45 minute walk from the Honua Kai




Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Underground Parking $75 + Tax
Exit cleaning $195 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

***We DO NOT charge the Resort Fee of $29 per day ***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund